DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
In response to the application filed on 08/19/2024, claims 1-20 are currently pending for the examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/19/2024 has been placed in the application file, and the information referred therein has been considered as to the merits.
Drawings
Drawing figures submitted on 08/19/2024 have been reviewed and accepted.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over the invention of the US Patent: US12096413B2. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. This is an obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding pending claims 1, 8, and 16; the claims 1, 8, and 16 recite limitations substantially the same as in the US Patent: US12096413B2. These limitations are fully covered by the claims of the US Patent: US12096413B2.
The compared table below (i.e. underlined claim elements) shows only Example (sample) of how each of these claims are anticipated and mapped by claims such as claims, respectively of the US Patent: US12096413B2.
Instant Application: 18808636
US Patent: US12096413B2
1. A user equipment, comprising: a processing system including a processor; and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising:
receiving a slot format to be used for sidelink communications, the slot format including an offset parameter indicating an amount of time the user equipment will delay before re-transmitting the slot format; receiving first equipment version information associated with the slot format;
determining whether the first equipment version information matches second equipment version information associated with the user equipment;
in response to the first equipment version information being determined to match the second equipment version information, using the slot format to update a resource map used to transmit sidelink communication data, resulting in an updated resource map; and broadcasting the slot format, wherein broadcasting the slot format is performed according to a previous slot format applied by the user equipment before receiving the slot format and after the amount of time indicated by the offset parameter.
8. A method, comprising: receiving, by a system comprising a processor, a message comprising a slot format and first equipment version information, wherein the slot format comprises a group of slots that are able to be used for sidelink communications, and an offset parameter indicating an amount of time the system will delay before re-transmitting the slot format; determining, by the system, whether the first equipment version information matches second equipment version information stored in a memory; in response to the first equipment version information being determined to match the second equipment version information, using, by the system, the slot format to update a resource map used to transmit sidelink communication data, resulting in an updated resource map; and broadcasting, by the system, the slot format, wherein broadcasting the slot format is performed according to a previous slot format applied by the system before receiving the slot format and after the amount of time indicated by the offset parameter.
16. A non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor at a first user equipment, facilitate performance of operations, comprising:
receiving an updated slot format via a direct sidelink connection with a second user equipment, wherein the updated slot format is different than a current slot format, and the updated slot format includes an offset parameter indicating an amount of time the first user equipment will delay before re-transmitting the updated slot format; receiving first equipment version information associated with the updated slot format; determining whether the first equipment version information matches second equipment version information associated with the first user equipment; and in response to the first equipment version information being determined to match the second equipment version information, using the updated slot format to update a resource map used to transmit sidelink communication data, resulting in an updated resource map, and broadcasting the updated slot format after the amount of time indicated by the offset parameter.
1: A user equipment, comprising: a processor; and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, facilitate performance of operations, comprising:
receiving a slot format comprising a group of orthogonal frequency division multiplexed symbols that are able to be used for sidelink communications; receiving first equipment version information associated with the slot format;
determining whether the first equipment version information matches second equipment version information associated with the user equipment; and
in response to the first equipment version information being determined to match the second equipment version information, using the slot format to update a resource map used to transmit sidelink communication data, resulting in an updated resource map; and
broadcasting the slot format, wherein broadcasting the slot format is performed according to a previous slot format applied by the user equipment before receiving the slot format.
8. A method, comprising:
receiving, by a system comprising a processor, a message comprising a slot format and first equipment version information, wherein the slot format comprises a group of slots that are able to be used for sidelink communications; determining, by the system, whether the first equipment version information matches second equipment version information stored in a memory; and in response to the first equipment version information being determined to match the second equipment version information, using, by the system, the slot format to update a resource map used to transmit sidelink communication data, resulting in an updated resource map; and broadcasting, by the system, the slot format, wherein broadcasting the slot format is performed according to a previous slot format applied before receiving the slot format.
16. A non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor at a first user equipment, facilitate performance of operations, comprising:
receiving an updated slot format via a direct sidelink connection with a second user equipment, wherein the updated slot format is different than a current slot format; receiving first equipment version information associated with the updated slot format; determining whether the first equipment version information is same as second equipment version information associated with the first user equipment; and in response to the first equipment version information being determined to be the same as the second equipment version information, using the updated slot format to update a resource map used to transmit sidelink communication data, resulting in an updated resource map.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites “wherein the system comprises a vehicle” without proper antecedent basic. After applying the broadest reasonable interpretation to the claim, the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are not clear, thus the claim is indefinite and should be rejected. It is recommended that the claim language be amended such that the exact meaning of the above quoted limitation is clear. For the purpose of examinations, Examiner will interpret the claims as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, and 5-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (US 2019/0037555 A1) in view of KIM-2 (US 2017/0164381 A1), and further in view of Pelletier et al. (US 2009/0168750 A1).
Regarding claim 1; KIM discloses a user equipment, comprising: a processor; and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, facilitate performance of operations, comprising:
receiving a slot format (See Fig. 27: In step S2710, the eNB 2704 may transmit an SPS configuration message including SPS resource allocation information to the UE 2702. ¶. [0512]) comprises a group of orthogonal frequency division multiplexed symbols that are able to be used for sidelink communications (See Fig. 21: One slot includes a plurality of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in the time domain and includes a plurality of resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain. ¶. [0067]);
receiving first equipment version information associated with the slot format (See Fig. 27: After the UE 2702 generates the uplink message, the UE 2702 may receive an SPS resource allocation message (SPS UL grant or SPS activation message) (i.e., first equipment version info) from the eNB 2704 in step S2730. Note: the received messages are in OFDM slot format which is in both time and frequency domains. ¶. [0517]);
determining whether the first equipment version information matches second equipment version information associated with the user equipment (See Fig. 27: To this end, in step S2740, the UE 2702 may compare (i.e., match) the timing when the first SPS UL grant was received (timing when the SPS resource allocation message was received in step S2730) (i.e., first equipment version info) with the generation timing of the message (timing when the uplink message was generated in step S2720) (i.e., second equipment version info). ¶. [0520]); and
in response to the first equipment version information being determined to match the second equipment version information (See Fig. 27: In other words, the UE 2702 may calculate an offset value between the two timings by comparing the two timings (i.e., first and second equipment version information). ¶. [0521]), using the slot format to update a resource map used to transmit sidelink communication data, resulting in an updated resource map (See Fig. 27: Thereafter, in step S2750, the UE 2702 may request a change (i.e., update) of the configuration for the transmission timing (i.e., update the resource map) of a (subsequent) SPS UL grant from the eNB. In this case, the UE 2702 may transmit an SPS resource allocation request message including SPS resource allocation offset information to the eNB 2704. ¶. [0522]); and broadcasting the slot format (Kim- the configuration information may be transmitted through a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and may be transmitted to all of UEs within a cell in common through a broadcast channel as broadcast information. ¶ [0076]).
KIM doesn’t explicitly teach using data symbols for sidelink transmissions. However, KIM-2 discloses using data symbols for sidelink transmissions (KIM-2: See Fig. 15: The sidelink transmission may operate in uplink spectrum in the case of the FDD and in the uplink (alternatively, downlink) subframe in the case of the TDD. For multiplexing the sidelink transmission and the uplink transmission, time division multiplexing (TDM) may be used. ¶. [0269]-[0272]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the method of using data symbols for sidelink transmissions as taught by KIM-2 to have incorporated in the system of KIM, so that it would provide that the D2D direct communication scheme has advantages of reducing latency and using smaller wireless resources as compared with the existing indirect communication scheme through the base station. KIM-2: ¶. [0254].
Neither Kim nor Kim-2 discloses wherein broadcasting the slot format is performed according to a previous slot format applied by the user equipment before receiving the slot format and after the amount of time indicated by the offset parameter.
However, Pelletier teaches wherein broadcasting the slot format is performed according to a previous slot format applied by the user equipment before receiving the slot format and after the amount of time indicated by the offset parameter (Pelletier-transmits a random access channel (RACH) preamble and receives an acquisition indicator acknowledging the RACH preamble via an acquisition indicator channel (AICH) and an index to an enhanced dedicated channel (E-DCH) resource. The WTRU determines a start of an E-DCH frame. An F-DPCH timing offset is defined with respect to one of the RACH access slot and an AICH access slot carrying the acquisition indicator. A relative F-DPCH timing offset may be signaled to the WTRU and the WTRU may determine a start of an E-DCH frame based on the relative F-DPCH timing offset and timing of an AICH access slot including the acquisition indicator. The WTRU may transmit a dedicated physical control channel (DPCCH) power control preamble before starting an E-DCH transmission. See Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the method of broadcasting the slot format is performed according to a previous slot format applied by the user equipment before receiving the slot format and after the amount of time indicated by the offset parameter as taught by Pelletier to have incorporated in the system of KIM, so that it would provide to determine a start of an E-DCH frame based on the relative F-DPCH timing offset and timing of an AICH access slot including the acquisition indicator. The WTRU may transmit a DPCCH power control preamble before starting an E-DCH transmission. Pelletier: ¶. [0254].
Regarding claim 2; KIM in view of KIM-2 discloses the user equipment wherein the operations further comprise using the updated resource map (KIM: ¶. [0522]) to transmit the sidelink communication data (KIM-2: ¶. [0269]-[0272]).
Regarding claim 3; KIM discloses the user equipment wherein the broadcasting the slot format comprises broadcasting the slot format using the updated resource map. (KIM: ¶. [0531 and 0532]).
Regarding claim 4; KIM discloses the user equipment wherein the broadcasting the slot format comprises broadcasting the slot format using the resource map. (KIM: ¶. [0531 and 0532]).
Regarding claim 6; KIM discloses the user equipment wherein the slot format is received via a sidelink (KIM-2: ¶. [0269]-[0272]).
Regarding claim 7; KIM discloses the user equipment of claim 1, wherein the updated slot format is received from a network node (KIM: In step S2710, the eNB 2704 may transmit an SPS configuration message including SPS resource allocation information to the UE 2702. ¶. [0514]).
Regarding claim 8; KIM discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, by a system comprising a processor, a message comprising a slot format (See Fig. 27: In step S2710, the eNB 2704 may transmit an SPS configuration message including SPS resource allocation information to the UE 2702. ¶. [0512]) and first equipment version information (See Fig. 27: After the UE 2702 generates the uplink message, the UE 2702 may receive an SPS resource allocation message (SPS UL grant or SPS activation message) (i.e., first equipment version info) from the eNB 2704 in step S2730. Note: the received messages are in OFDM slot format which is in both time and frequency domains. ¶. [0517]), wherein the slot format comprises a group of orthogonal frequency division multiplexed symbols that are able to be used for sidelink communications (See Fig. 21: One slot includes a plurality of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in the time domain and includes a plurality of resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain. ¶. [0067]);
determining, by the system, whether the first equipment version information matches second equipment version information associated stored in a memory (See Fig. 27: To this end, in step S2740, the UE 2702 may compare the timing when the first SPS UL grant was received (timing when the SPS resource allocation message was received in step S2730) (i.e., first equipment version info) with the generation timing of the message (timing when the uplink message was generated in step S2720) (i.e., second equipment version info). ¶. [0520]); and
in response to the first equipment version information being determined to match the second equipment version information (See Fig. 27: In other words, the UE 2702 may calculate an offset value between the two timings by comparing the two timings (i.e., first and second equipment version information). ¶. [0521]), using the slot format to update a resource map used to transmit sidelink communication data, resulting in an updated resource map (See Fig. 27: Thereafter, in step S2750, the UE 2702 may request a change (i.e., update) of the configuration for the transmission timing (i.e., update the resource map) of a (subsequent) SPS UL grant from the eNB. In this case, the UE 2702 may transmit an SPS resource allocation request message including SPS resource allocation offset information to the eNB 2704. ¶. [0522]) ; and broadcasting the slot format (Kim- the configuration information may be transmitted through a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and may be transmitted to all of UEs within a cell in common through a broadcast channel as broadcast information. ¶ [0076]).
KIM doesn’t explicitly teach using data symbols for sidelink transmissions. However, KIM-2 discloses using data symbols for sidelink transmissions (KIM-2: See Fig. 15: The sidelink transmission may operate in uplink spectrum in the case of the FDD and in the uplink (alternatively, downlink) subframe in the case of the TDD. For multiplexing the sidelink transmission and the uplink transmission, time division multiplexing (TDM) may be used. ¶. [0269]-[0272]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the method of using data symbols for sidelink transmissions as taught by KIM-2 to have incorporated in the system of KIM, so that it would provide that the D2D direct communication scheme has advantages of reducing latency and using smaller wireless resources as compared with the existing indirect communication scheme through the base station. KIM-2: ¶. [0254].
Neither Kim nor Kim-2 discloses wherein broadcasting the slot format is performed according to a previous slot format applied by the user equipment before receiving the slot format and after the amount of time indicated by the offset parameter.
However, Pelletier teaches wherein broadcasting the slot format is performed according to a previous slot format applied by the user equipment before receiving the slot format and after the amount of time indicated by the offset parameter (Pelletier-transmits a random access channel (RACH) preamble and receives an acquisition indicator acknowledging the RACH preamble via an acquisition indicator channel (AICH) and an index to an enhanced dedicated channel (E-DCH) resource. The WTRU determines a start of an E-DCH frame. An F-DPCH timing offset is defined with respect to one of the RACH access slot and an AICH access slot carrying the acquisition indicator. A relative F-DPCH timing offset may be signaled to the WTRU and the WTRU may determine a start of an E-DCH frame based on the relative F-DPCH timing offset and timing of an AICH access slot including the acquisition indicator. The WTRU may transmit a dedicated physical control channel (DPCCH) power control preamble before starting an E-DCH transmission. See Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the method of broadcasting the slot format is performed according to a previous slot format applied by the user equipment before receiving the slot format and after the amount of time indicated by the offset parameter as taught by Pelletier to have incorporated in the system of KIM, so that it would provide to determine a start of an E-DCH frame based on the relative F-DPCH timing offset and timing of an AICH access slot including the acquisition indicator. The WTRU may transmit a DPCCH power control preamble before starting an E-DCH transmission. Pelletier: ¶. [0254].
Regarding claim 9; KIM discloses the method further comprising using, by the system, the updated resource map (KIM: ¶. [0522]) to transmit the sidelink communication data (KIM-2: ¶. [0269]-[0272]).
Regarding claim 10; KIM in view of KIM-2 discloses the method of claim 9, wherein using the updated resource map (KIM: the UE 2702 may request a change of the configuration for the transmission timing of a (subsequent) SPS UL grant from the eNB. In this case, the UE 2702 may transmit an SPS resource allocation request message including SPS resource allocation offset information to the eNB 2704. ¶. [0522]) to transmit the sidelink communication data (KIM-2: ¶. [0269]-[0272]) comprises employing available resource elements indicated in the updated resource map (KIM: See Fig. 21: One slot includes a plurality of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in the time domain and includes a plurality of resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain. ¶. [0067]);
Regarding claim 11; KIM discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising broadcasting, by the system, the slot format using the resource map (KIM: D2D communication transmitted along with the SSS may be called a physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) or a physical D2D synchronization channel (PD2DSCH) as another name. ¶. [0403]).
Regarding claim 12; KIM discloses the method of claim 8, wherein receiving the message comprising the slot format comprises receiving the message via a sidelink (KIM-2: ¶. [0269]-[0272]).
Regarding claim 13; KIM discloses the system comprises a vehicle (KIM: the UE 2702 may compare the timing when the first SPS UL grant was received (timing when the SPS resource allocation message was received in step S2730) with the generation timing of the message (timing when the uplink message was generated in step S2720) (i.e., received previously slot format). ¶. [0520]).
Regarding claim 14; KIM discloses the method further comprising facilitating, by the system, establishing a sidelink with a communication device comprising establishing a direct communication with the communication device prior to receiving the message (See Fig. 19: A UE2, that is, a reception UE for the UE1, receives a configuration for the resource pool in which the UE1 may send a signal, and detects the signal of the UE1 within the corresponding pool. ¶. [0391-0392]).
Regarding claim 15; KIM discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the slot format further comprises a group of orthogonal frequency division multiplexed symbols (KIM: ¶. [0067]).
Regarding claim 16; Kim teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor at a first user equipment, facilitate performance of operations, comprising:
receiving, by a system comprising a processor, a message comprising a slot format (See Fig. 27: In step S2710, the eNB 2704 may transmit an SPS configuration message including SPS resource allocation information to the UE 2702. ¶. [0512]) and first equipment version information (See Fig. 27: After the UE 2702 generates the uplink message, the UE 2702 may receive an SPS resource allocation message (SPS UL grant or SPS activation message) (i.e., first equipment version info) from the eNB 2704 in step S2730. Note: the received messages are in OFDM slot format which is in both time and frequency domains. ¶. [0517]), wherein the slot format comprises a group of orthogonal frequency division multiplexed symbols that are able to be used for sidelink communications (See Fig. 21: One slot includes a plurality of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in the time domain and includes a plurality of resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain. ¶. [0067]);
determining, by the system, whether the first equipment version information matches second equipment version information associated stored in a memory (See Fig. 27: To this end, in step S2740, the UE 2702 may compare the timing when the first SPS UL grant was received (timing when the SPS resource allocation message was received in step S2730) (i.e., first equipment version info) with the generation timing of the message (timing when the uplink message was generated in step S2720) (i.e., second equipment version info). ¶. [0520]); and
in response to the first equipment version information being determined to match the second equipment version information (See Fig. 27: In other words, the UE 2702 may calculate an offset value between the two timings by comparing the two timings (i.e., first and second equipment version information). ¶. [0521]), using the slot format to update a resource map used to transmit sidelink communication data, resulting in an updated resource map (See Fig. 27: Thereafter, in step S2750, the UE 2702 may request a change (i.e., update) of the configuration for the transmission timing (i.e., update the resource map) of a (subsequent) SPS UL grant from the eNB. In this case, the UE 2702 may transmit an SPS resource allocation request message including SPS resource allocation offset information to the eNB 2704. ¶. [0522]) ; and broadcasting the slot format (Kim- the configuration information may be transmitted through a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and may be transmitted to all of UEs within a cell in common through a broadcast channel as broadcast information. ¶ [0076]).
KIM doesn’t explicitly teach using data symbols for sidelink transmissions. However, KIM-2 discloses using data symbols for sidelink transmissions (KIM-2: See Fig. 15: The sidelink transmission may operate in uplink spectrum in the case of the FDD and in the uplink (alternatively, downlink) subframe in the case of the TDD. For multiplexing the sidelink transmission and the uplink transmission, time division multiplexing (TDM) may be used. ¶. [0269]-[0272]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the method of using data symbols for sidelink transmissions as taught by KIM-2 to have incorporated in the system of KIM, so that it would provide that the D2D direct communication scheme has advantages of reducing latency and using smaller wireless resources as compared with the existing indirect communication scheme through the base station. KIM-2: ¶. [0254].
Neither Kim nor Kim-2 discloses wherein broadcasting the slot format is performed according to a previous slot format applied by the user equipment before receiving the slot format and after the amount of time indicated by the offset parameter.
However, Pelletier teaches wherein broadcasting the slot format is performed according to a previous slot format applied by the user equipment before receiving the slot format and after the amount of time indicated by the offset parameter (Pelletier-transmits a random access channel (RACH) preamble and receives an acquisition indicator acknowledging the RACH preamble via an acquisition indicator channel (AICH) and an index to an enhanced dedicated channel (E-DCH) resource. The WTRU determines a start of an E-DCH frame. An F-DPCH timing offset is defined with respect to one of the RACH access slot and an AICH access slot carrying the acquisition indicator. A relative F-DPCH timing offset may be signaled to the WTRU and the WTRU may determine a start of an E-DCH frame based on the relative F-DPCH timing offset and timing of an AICH access slot including the acquisition indicator. The WTRU may transmit a dedicated physical control channel (DPCCH) power control preamble before starting an E-DCH transmission. See Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the method of broadcasting the slot format is performed according to a previous slot format applied by the user equipment before receiving the slot format and after the amount of time indicated by the offset parameter as taught by Pelletier to have incorporated in the system of KIM, so that it would provide to determine a start of an E-DCH frame based on the relative F-DPCH timing offset and timing of an AICH access slot including the acquisition indicator. The WTRU may transmit a DPCCH power control preamble before starting an E-DCH transmission. Pelletier: ¶. [0254].
Regarding claim 17; KIM discloses the method further comprising using, by the system, the updated resource map (KIM: ¶. [0522]) to transmit the sidelink communication data (KIM-2: ¶. [0269]-[0272]).
Regarding claim 19; Kim teaches the non-transitory machine-readable medium wherein the first user equipment comprises a vehicle (KIM: the UE 2702 may compare the timing when the first SPS UL grant was received (timing when the SPS resource allocation message was received in step S2730) with the generation timing of the message (timing when the uplink message was generated in step S2720) (i.e., received previously slot format). ¶. [0520]).
Regarding claim 20; Kim teaches the non-transitory machine-readable medium wherein the updated slot format comprises at least one of: a group of slots that are able to be used for sidelink communications (KIM-2: ¶. [0269]-[0272]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon the rejected base claims 1, 8, and 16, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 16-20 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
SHAO et al. (US 2014/0307668 A1).
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Noel Beharry can be reached on 571-270-5630. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAI AUNG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416