DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 08/19/2024 is/are being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 1 and 7, both have preambles which end with the transitional phrase “having”. According to MPEP 2111.03, IV, “Transitional phrases such as “having” must be interpreted in light of the specification to determine whether open or closed claim language is intended.” When looking to the Specification, particularly Figure 2, it is clear that other elements aside from those claimed are present in what Applicant considers to be their inventive system. Therefore, one or ordinary skill would conclude that “having” in this case would be open-ended, akin to “comprising”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 7, both recite “a sensor arranged in a receive path of the first optical communications terminal; an optical phased array architecture in a receive path of the first optical communications terminal” (emphasis added) and then go on to recite “a second SOA arranged in the receive path of the first optical communications terminal” (emphasis added). However, since two separate instances of “a receive path of the first optical communications terminal” have been recited, it is unclear which of the two “the receive path” is referring to. For the purposes of prior art rejections, the claims will be interpreted to be consistent with the Specification i.e. having a singular receive path. Dependent claims 2-6 and 8-13 do not cure claims 1 and 7 of this issue and are similarly rejected.
Regarding claims 15 and 17, both recite “the power of the first incoming optical communications signal at an optical phased array architecture”. However, the previous recitation of “power” was at a sensor leading to an inconsistency in the claim language. For the purposes of prior art rejections, the power recited in claims 15 and 17 will be taken to be a distinct power.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erkmen et al, U.S. Publication No. 2023/0085936 in view of Wang et al, U.S. Publication No. 2017/0041074 and Juarez et al, U.S. Publication No. 2013/0004181.
Regarding claim 1, Erkmen teaches a system comprising a first optical communications terminal (see Erkmen Figure 2) having:
a sensor arranged in a receive path of the first optical communications terminal (see Figure 2, sensor 118 and paragraph [0030]);
an optical phased array architecture in a receive path of the first optical communications terminal (see Figure 2, optical phased array chip 114 and paragraph [0031]);
a first semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA) arranged in a transmit path of the first optical communications terminal (see Figure 2, amplifier 204 and paragraph [0029]); and
a second SOA arranged in the receive path of the first optical communications terminal (see Figure 2, amplifier 208 and paragraph [0030]).
Erkmen does not expressively teach
the first SOA is configured to adjust an outgoing optical communications signal according to power of a first incoming optical communications signal at the sensor; and
the second SOA is configured to adjust a second incoming optical communications signal according to the power of the first incoming optical communications signal at the sensor.
However, Wang in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches a first optical communications terminal configured for receiving a first incoming optical communications signal (see Wang Figure 7A, link 322 and paragraph [0027]) at a sensor via a receive path, (see Figure 7A, receiver optics 308a with power sensing 316 of first terminal 302a and paragraph [0040]) comprising a first optical amplifier (see Figure 7A, amplifier 304b connected to transmitter 400 and paragraph [0035]) as taught in Erkmen wherein
the first optical amplifier is configured to adjust an outgoing optical communications signal according to power of a first incoming optical communications signal at the sensor (see Figure 7A, optical power 330 and paragraph [0039]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of controlling an amplifier of a transmit path based on power of a received path as taught in Wang with the system taught in Erkmen, the motivation being to account for link loss in the free space path connecting terminals (see Wang paragraph [0002]).
Erkmen in view of Wang does not expressively teach the second SOA is configured to adjust a second incoming optical communications signal according to power of the first incoming optical communications signal at the sensor.
However, Juarez in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches first optical communications terminal configured for receiving a first incoming optical communications signal (Juarez Figure 2, Rx beam 112 and paragraph [0052]) at a sensor via a receive path (see Figure 2, OAGC system 202 of system 104. Figure 3 shows details of the OAGC system with stage 310. Figure 8 then shows the details of stage 310 with detector 814 and paragraph [0129]), comprising a second optical amplifier (see Figure 4, stage 308 with optical amplifier 320) as taught in Erkmen in view of Wang wherein
the second optical amplifier is configured to adjust a second incoming optical communications signal according to the power of the first incoming optical communications signal at the sensor (see Figure 7 which shows the details of stage 308, pump power control 738 and paragraph [0129]. Figure 9 shows the output of detector 814 input into controller 312 which outputs pump power control 738).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of controlling an optical amplifier in the receive path based on received power as taught in Juarez with system adjusting an optical amplifier in a transmit path taught in Erkmen in view Wang, the motivation being to ensure the incoming data can be accurately decoded while also maintaining power within a machine safe range.
Regarding claim 2, Erkmen in view of Wang and Juarez teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but does not expressively teach wherein the second SOA is further configured to adjust the second incoming optical communications signal according to power of the first incoming optical communications signal at the optical phased array architecture.
However, Juarez further teaches wherein the second optical amplifier is further configured to adjust the second incoming optical communications signal according to power of the first incoming optical communications signal at an area upstream of the second optical amplifier (see Juarez Figure 4, feed-forward power from stage 304 and paragraphs [0068]-[0069]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of measuring power upstream of a second optical amplifier as taught in Juarez with the optical phased array architecture which is upstream from the second SOA of Erkmen Figure 2, the motivation being to have more robust control of the power via feed-forward and feedback mechanisms.
Regarding claim 3, Erkmen in view of Wang and Juarez teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches a controller configured to control the second SOA based on the power of the first incoming optical communications signal at the sensor (see Juarez Figure 4, controller 312 and paragraph [0068]).
Erkmen in view of Wang and Juarez does not expressively teach wherein the controller is a state machine. However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious as a matter of simple substitution to replace the controller with a state machine as claimed to yield the predictable results of successfully controlling the SOA.
Regarding claim 4, Erkmen in view of Wang and Juarez teaches all the limitations of claim 3, but does not expressively teach wherein the state machine is further configured to control the second SOA based on power of the first incoming optical communications signal at the optical phased array architecture.
However, Juarez further teaches wherein the second optical amplifier is further configured to adjust the second incoming optical communications signal according to power of the first incoming optical communications signal at an area upstream of the second optical amplifier (see Juarez Figure 4, feed-forward power from stage 304 and paragraphs [0068]-[0069]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of measuring power upstream of a second optical amplifier as taught in Juarez with the optical phased array architecture which is upstream from the second SOA of Erkmen Figure 2, the motivation being to have more robust control of the power via feed-forward and feedback mechanisms.
Regarding claim 5, Erkmen in view of Wang and Juarez teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches a controller configured to control the first SOA based on the power of the first incoming optical communications signal at the sensor (see Wang Figure 7A, control hardware 800a and paragraph [0040]).
Erkmen in view of Wang and Juarez does not expressively teach wherein the controller is a state machine. However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious as a matter of simple substitution to replace the controller with a state machine as claimed to yield the predictable results of successfully controlling the SOA.
Regarding claim 6, Erkmen in view of Wang and Juarez teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches a second optical communications terminal, wherein the second optical communications terminal is configured to transmit the first incoming optical communications signal and the second incoming optical communications signal (see Erkmen Figure 1, communication device 122 and paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 7, Erkmen teaches a system comprising a first optical communications terminal (see Erkmen Figure 2) having:
a sensor arranged in a receive path of the first optical communications terminal (see Figure 2, sensor 118 and paragraph [0030]);
an optical phased array architecture in a receive path of the first optical communications terminal (see Figure 2, optical phased array chip 114 and paragraph [0031]);
a first semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA) arranged in a transmit path of the first optical communications terminal (see Figure 2, amplifier 204 and paragraph [0029]); and
a second SOA arranged in the receive path of the first optical communications terminal (see Figure 2, amplifier 208 and paragraph [0030]).
Erkmen does not expressively teach
the first SOA is configured to adjust an outgoing optical communications signal according to information included in a first incoming optical communications signal; and
the second SOA is configured to adjust a second incoming optical communications signal according to power of the first incoming optical communications signal at the sensor.
However, Wang in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches a first optical communications terminal configured for receiving a first incoming optical communications signal (see Wang Figure 7A, link 322 and paragraph [0027]) at a sensor via a receive path, (see Figure 7A, receiver optics 308a with telemetry receiver 712 of first terminal 302a and paragraph [0051]) comprising a first optical amplifier (see Figure 7A, amplifier 304b connected to transmitter 400 and paragraph [0035]) as taught in Erkmen wherein
the first optical amplifier is configured to adjust an outgoing optical communications signal according to information included in a first incoming optical communications signal (see Figure 7A, telemetry analyzer 714 and paragraph [0051]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of controlling an amplifier of information sent via the received path as taught in Wang with the system taught in Erkmen, the motivation being to account for link loss in the free space path connecting terminals (see Wang paragraph [0002]).
Erkmen in view of Wang does not expressively teach the second SOA is configured to adjust a second incoming optical communications signal according to power of the first incoming optical communications signal at the sensor.
However, Juarez in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches first optical communications terminal configured for receiving a first incoming optical communications signal (Juarez Figure 2, Rx beam 112 and paragraph [0052]) at a sensor via a receive path (see Figure 2, OAGC system 202 of system 104. Figure 3 shows details of the OAGC system with stage 310. Figure 8 then shows the details of stage 310 with detector 814 and paragraph [0129]), comprising a second optical amplifier (see Figure 4, stage 308 with optical amplifier 320) as taught in Erkmen in view of Wang wherein
the second optical amplifier is configured to adjust a second incoming optical communications signal according to power of the first incoming optical communications signal at the sensor (see Figure 7 which shows the details of stage 308, pump power control 738 and paragraph [0129]. Figure 9 shows the output of detector 814 input into controller 312 which outputs pump power control 738).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of controlling an optical amplifier in the receive path based on received power as taught in Juarez with system adjusting an optical amplifier in a transmit path taught in Erkmen in view Wang, the motivation being to ensure the incoming data can be accurately decoded while also maintaining power within a machine safe range.
Regarding claim 8, Erkmen in view of Wang and Juarez teaches all the limitations of claim 8, but does not expressively teach wherein the second SOA is further configured to adjust the second incoming optical communications signal according to power of the first incoming optical communications signal at the optical phased array architecture.
However, Juarez further teaches wherein the second optical amplifier is further configured to adjust the second incoming optical communications signal according to power of the first incoming optical communications signal at an area upstream of the second optical amplifier (see Juarez Figure 4, feed-forward power from stage 304 and paragraphs [0068]-[0069]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of measuring power upstream of a second optical amplifier as taught in Juarez with the optical phased array architecture which is upstream from the second SOA of Erkmen Figure 2, the motivation being to have more robust control of the power via feed-forward and feedback mechanisms.
Regarding claim 9, Erkmen in view of Wang and Juarez teaches all the limitations of claim 7, and further teaches a controller configured to control the second SOA based on the power of the first incoming optical communications signal at the sensor (see Wang Figure 7A, control hardware 800a and paragraph [0040]).
Erkmen in view of Wang and Juarez does not expressively teach wherein the controller is a state machine. However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious as a matter of simple substitution to replace the controller with a state machine as claimed to yield the predictable results of successfully controlling the SOA.
Regarding claim 10, Erkmen in view of Wang and Juarez teaches all the limitations of claim 9, but does not expressively teach wherein the state machine is further configured to control the second SOA based on power of the first incoming optical communications signal at the optical phased array architecture.
However, Juarez further teaches wherein the second optical amplifier is further configured to adjust the second incoming optical communications signal according to power of the first incoming optical communications signal at an area upstream of the second optical amplifier (see Juarez Figure 4, feed-forward power from stage 304 and paragraphs [0068]-[0069]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of measuring power upstream of a second optical amplifier as taught in Juarez with the optical phased array architecture which is upstream from the second SOA of Erkmen Figure 2, the motivation being to have more robust control of the power via feed-forward and feedback mechanisms.
Regarding claim 11, Erkmen in view of Wang and Juarez teaches all the limitations of claim 7, and further teaches a controller configured to control the first SOA based on the information (see Wang Figure 7A, control hardware 800a and paragraph [0051]).
Erkmen in view of Wang and Juarez does not expressively teach wherein the controller is a state machine. However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious as a matter of simple substitution to replace the controller with a state machine as claimed to yield the predictable results of successfully controlling the SOA.
Regarding claim 12, Erkmen in view of Wang and Juarez teaches all the limitations of claim 7, and further teaches wherein the information identifies power of a second outgoing optical communications signal received at a sensor of a second optical communications terminal, wherein the second outgoing optical communications signal was transmitted by the first optical communications terminal to the second optical communications terminal (see Wang Figure 18, signal 320b sent from first terminal to second terminal with receiver optics 308b and paragraph [0051]).
Regarding claim 13, Erkmen in view of Wang and Juarez teaches all the limitations of claim 7, and further teaches a second optical communications terminal, wherein the second optical communications terminal is configured to transmit the first incoming optical communications signal and the second incoming optical communications signal (see Erkmen Figure 1, communication device 122 and paragraph [0023]).
Claim(s) 14, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al, U.S. Publication No. 2017/0041074 in view of Juarez et al, U.S. Publication No. 2013/0004181.
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches a method comprising:
receiving a first incoming optical communications signal (see Wang Figure 7A, link 322 and paragraph [0027]) at a sensor via a receive path of a first optical communications terminal (see Figure 7A, receiver optics 308a with power sensing 316 of first terminal 302a and paragraph [0040]);
adjusting an outgoing optical communications signal using a first optical amplifier arranged in a transmit path of the first optical communications terminal (see Figure 7A, amplifier 304b connected to transmitter 400 and paragraph [0035]), wherein the adjusting is according to power of the first incoming optical communications signal at the sensor (see Figure 7A, optical power 330 and paragraph [0039]).
Wang does not expressively teach wherein the first optical amplifier is a first semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA); and adjusting a second incoming optical communications signal using a second SOA arranged in the receive path of the first optical communications terminal, wherein the adjusting is according to power of the first incoming optical communications signal at the sensor.
However, Juarez in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches a method comprising: receiving a first incoming optical communications signal (Juarez Figure 2, Rx beam 112 and paragraph [0052]) at a sensor via a receive path of a first optical communications terminal (see Figure 2, OAGC system 202 of system 104. Figure 3 shows details of the OAGC system with stage 310. Figure 8 then shows the details of stage 310 with detector 814 and paragraph [0129]) as taught in Wang further comprising
adjusting a second incoming optical communications signal using a second optical amplifier arranged in the receive path of the first optical communications terminal (see Figure 4, stage 308 with optical amplifier 320), wherein the adjusting is according to power of the first incoming optical communications signal at the sensor (see Figure 7 which shows the details of stage 308, pump power control 738 and paragraph [0129]. Figure 9 shows the output of detector 814 input into controller 312 which outputs pump power control 738).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of controlling an optical amplifier in the receive path based on received power as taught in Juarez with system adjusting an optical amplifier in a transmit path taught in Wang, the motivation being to ensure the incoming data can be accurately decoded while also maintaining power within a machine safe range.
Wang in view of Juarez does not expressively teach wherein the first and second optical amplifiers are first and second semiconductor amplifiers (SOAs). However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious as a matter of simple substitution to replace the amplifiers of Wang in view of Juarez with SOAs claimed to yield the predictable results of successfully amplifying the signals.
Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches a method comprising:
receiving a first incoming optical communications signal (see Wang Figure 7A, link 322 and paragraph [0027]) at a sensor via a receive path of a first optical communications terminal (see Figure 7A, receiver optics 308a with telemetry receiver 712 of first terminal 302a and paragraph [0051]);
adjusting an outgoing optical communications signal using a first optical amplifier arranged in a transmit path of the first optical communications terminal (see Figure 7A, amplifier 304b connected to transmitter 400 and paragraph [0035]), wherein the adjusting is according to information included the first incoming optical communications signal (see Figure 7A, telemetry analyzer 714 and paragraph [0051]).
Wang does not expressively teach wherein the first optical amplifier is a first semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA); and adjusting a second incoming optical communications signal using a second SOA arranged in the receive path of the first optical communications terminal, wherein the adjusting is according to power of the first incoming optical communications signal at the sensor.
However, Juarez in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches a method comprising: receiving a first incoming optical communications signal (Juarez Figure 2, Rx beam 112 and paragraph [0052]) at a sensor via a receive path of a first optical communications terminal (see Figure 2, OAGC system 202 of system 104. Figure 3 shows details of the OAGC system with stage 310. Figure 8 then shows the details of stage 310 with detector 814 and paragraph [0129]) as taught in Wang further comprising
adjusting a second incoming optical communications signal using a second optical amplifier arranged in the receive path of the first optical communications terminal (see Figure 4, stage 308 with optical amplifier 320), wherein the adjusting is according to power of the first incoming optical communications signal at the sensor (see Figure 7 which shows the details of stage 308, pump power control 738 and paragraph [0129]. Figure 9 shows the output of detector 814 input into controller 312 which outputs pump power control 738).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of controlling an optical amplifier in the receive path based on received power as taught in Juarez with system adjusting an optical amplifier in a transmit path taught in Wang, the motivation being to ensure the incoming data can be accurately decoded while also maintaining power within a machine safe range.
Wang in view of Juarez does not expressively teach wherein the first and second optical amplifiers are first and second semiconductor amplifiers (SOAs).
However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious as a matter of simple substitution to replace the amplifiers of Wang in view of Juarez with SOAs claimed to yield the predictable results of successfully amplifying the signals.
Regarding claim 18, Wang in view of Juarez teaches all the limitations of claim 16, and further teaches wherein the information identifies power of a second outgoing optical communications signal received at a sensor of a second optical communications terminal, and the method further comprises transmitting the second outgoing optical communications signal by the first optical communications terminal to the second optical communications terminal (see Wang Figure 18, signal 320b sent from first terminal to second terminal with receiver optics 308b and paragraph [0051]).
Claim(s) 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al, U.S. Publication No. 2017/0041074 in view of Juarez et al, U.S. Publication No. 2013/0004181 and Erkmen et al, U.S. Publication No. 2023/0085936.
Regarding claim 15, Wang in view of Juarez teaches all the limitations of claim 14, but does not expressively teach adjusting the second incoming optical communications signal further according to the power of the first incoming optical communications signal at an optical phased array architecture of the first optical communications terminal.
However, Erkmen in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches a method involving a first optical communications terminal (see Erkmen Figure 2) having: a sensor arranged in a receive path of the first optical communications terminal (see Figure 2, sensor 118 and paragraph [0030]); a first semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA) arranged in a transmit path of the first optical communications terminal (see Figure 2, amplifier 204 and paragraph [0029]); and a second SOA arranged in the receive path of the first optical communications terminal (see Figure 2, amplifier 208 and paragraph [0030]) and taught in Wang in view of Juarez further comprising
an optical phased array architecture in a receive path of the first optical communications terminal (see Figure 2, optical phased array chip 114 and paragraph [0031]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of an optical phased array at a first optical communications terminal as taught in Erkmen with the method taught in Wang in view of Juarez, the motivation being to allow better control of incoming and outgoing beams via such an architecture.
Wang in view of Juarez and Erkmen does not expressively teach adjusting the second incoming optical communications signal further according to the power of the first incoming optical communications signal at [the] optical phased array architecture of the first optical communications terminal.
However, Juarez further teaches wherein the second optical amplifier is further configured to adjust the second incoming optical communications signal according to power of the first incoming optical communications signal at an area upstream of the second optical amplifier (see Juarez Figure 4, feed-forward power from stage 304 and paragraphs [0068]-[0069]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of measuring power upstream of a second optical amplifier as taught in Juarez with the optical phased array architecture which is upstream from the second SOA of Erkmen Figure 2 as combined with Wang, the motivation being to have more robust control of the power via feed-forward and feedback mechanisms.
Regarding claim 17, Wang in view of Juarez teaches all the limitations of claim 16, but does not expressively teach adjusting the second incoming optical communications signal further according to the power of the first incoming optical communications signal at an optical phased array architecture of the first optical communications terminal.
However, Erkmen in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches a method involving a first optical communications terminal (see Erkmen Figure 2) having: a sensor arranged in a receive path of the first optical communications terminal (see Figure 2, sensor 118 and paragraph [0030]); a first semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA) arranged in a transmit path of the first optical communications terminal (see Figure 2, amplifier 204 and paragraph [0029]); and a second SOA arranged in the receive path of the first optical communications terminal (see Figure 2, amplifier 208 and paragraph [0030]) and taught in Wang in view of Juarez further comprising
an optical phased array architecture in a receive path of the first optical communications terminal (see Figure 2, optical phased array chip 114 and paragraph [0031]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of an optical phased array at a first optical communications terminal as taught in Erkmen with the method taught in Wang in view of Juarez, the motivation being to allow better control of incoming and outgoing beams via such an architecture.
Wang in view of Juarez and Erkmen does not expressively teach adjusting the second incoming optical communications signal further according to the power of the first incoming optical communications signal at [the] optical phased array architecture of the first optical communications terminal.
However, Juarez further teaches wherein the second optical amplifier is further configured to adjust the second incoming optical communications signal according to power of the first incoming optical communications signal at an area upstream of the second optical amplifier (see Juarez Figure 4, feed-forward power from stage 304 and paragraphs [0068]-[0069]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of measuring power upstream of a second optical amplifier as taught in Juarez with the optical phased array architecture which is upstream from the second SOA of Erkmen Figure 2 as combined with Wang, the motivation being to have more robust control of the power via feed-forward and feedback mechanisms.
Conclusion
/CASEY L KRETZER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635