DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/10/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2016/0357353; hereinafter Miura) in view of Xu et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2016/0313893; hereinafter Xu).
With reference to claim 1, 12 and 19, Miura discloses an electronic device (102), a method, and one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to perform operations (see paragraph 50), comprising:
a touch display (530) (see paragraph 54; Figs. 1, 5);
[a] memory (514), comprising one or more storage media, storing instructions which (see paragraphs 51, 55; Fig. 5); and
one or more processors (516) communicatively coupled to the touch display (530) and the memory (514) (see paragraphs 50-51, 54; Fig. 5);
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device (102) to:
in response to receiving a first user input applied to a first thumbnail image (#1-#14) (see paragraphs 23-25; Fig. 1), display, a first image (112) in a first area (104) of the touch display (130), the first image (112) corresponding to the first thumbnail image (#8, 110), the first thumbnail image corresponding to a first object among a plurality of objects (#1-#14) (see paragraphs 25-26; Figs. 1-2), and
in response to receiving a third user input applied to a second thumbnail (#5) corresponding to a second object among the plurality of objects (#5-8), which is different from the first object (#8), after the receiving of the user input applied to the first thumbnail image and while displaying the plurality of thumbnail images (#8a-c) corresponding to the first object (#8) together with the thumbnail images of the one or more objects (#5-8) (see paragraph 33-35; Fig. 2), display a second image (#5) corresponding to the second thumbnail image at a position of the touch display where the first image of the first area is displayed (see paragraphs 34-35) while continuously displaying the plurality of thumbnail images (#8a-#8c) corresponding to the first object (#8) in the second area together with the thumbnail images of the one or more other objects (#5-#7) (in teaching that the scrubber may contract back to standard size; see paragraph 34-35; Figure 2).
While Miura discloses displaying a plurality of thumbnail images in a second area corresponding to the first object (see paragraph 33-35; Fig. 2), and further teaching that individual frames in the second area are not apparent until the thumbnail is in the center location, has been selected (in the second area), and/or is also presented in the main viewing area (see paragraph 33), there fails to be disclosure of receiving a second user input for causing the displaying as recited.
Xu discloses a system and method for opening a file folder presented to the user (see abstract), wherein in response to receiving a first user input applied to a first thumbnail image (Folder 1) display a first image (see Fig. 4a), in response to receiving a second user input applied to the first thumbnail image (Folder 1) in a second area (thumbnail area) of the touch display different from the first area (E), after the receiving of the first user input applied to the first thumbnail image (Folder 1), display a plurality of thumbnail images (A-E) in an area wherein the plurality of thumbnail images correspond to the first object and are displayed together with thumbnail images of one or more other objects among the plurality of objects and different from the first object (see Figs. 4a-b).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow generation of the thumbnail images to be in response to touch input similar to that which is taught by Xu as an alternative to the thumbnails being generated in response to the displaying of an image similar to that which is taught by Miura to thereby provide an alternative method for generating the thumbnail images (see Xu; paragraph 297).
With reference to claims 2, 13 and 20, Miura and Xu disclose the electronic device of claim 1, 12, or 19, wherein Miura further discloses wherein the first object includes a video, and wherein the second object includes one of a photo or a video (see paragraphs 33-34; Fig. 1).
With reference to claims 3, Miura and Xu disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein Miura further discloses wherein instructions, when executed by the one or more processors (516) individually or collectively (see paragraph 50), further cause the electronic device to; in response to a fourth user input to the second thumbnail image display a plurality of thumbnail images corresponding to the second object in the second area (see paragraphs 33-34).
With reference to claim 4, Miura and Xu disclose the electronic device of claim 3, wherein Miura further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to; reduce a number of the plurality of thumbnail images corresponding to the first object, and in response to the fourth user input to the second thumbnail image, display the plurality of thumbnail images in the second area (in illustrating the number of thumbnails displayed when a video file is the image to be displayed; see paragraph 33; Figs. 1-2).
With reference to claims 5 and 15, Miura and Xu disclose the electronic device of claim 1 or 12, wherein Miura further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to; in response to receiving a scroll input applied to the plurality of thumbnail images corresponding to the first object display the first image at a position where the second image of the first area is displayed (see paragraph 34; Fig. 2).
With reference to claim 6, Miura and Xu disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein Miura further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to; when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to; reduce a number of the plurality of thumbnail images corresponding to the first object in case the plurality of thumbnail images corresponding to the first object move out of a screen displayed on the touch display in response to receiving a scroll input applied to the plurality of thumbnail images corresponding to the first object (in illustrating the number of thumbnails displayed when a video file is the image to be displayed; see paragraphs 23, 33; Figs. 1-2).
With reference to claims 7 and 17, Miura and Xu disclose the electronic device of claim 1 or 12, wherein Miura further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to; differently set a number of the plurality of thumbnail images corresponding to the first object displayed in the second area of the touch display depending on a type of the electronic device (in teaching adjusting the size of the thumbnails based on the video content, which will therefore be adjusted based on the capability of the screen size depending on the type of electronic device; see paragraphs 39-40, 49).
With reference to claim 9, Miura and Xu disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein Miura further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to determine a number of the plurality of thumbnail images corresponding to the first object displayed in the second area of the touch display based on at least one of a width of the electronic device, a size of the second area, a video ratio of the first object, or a width of a thumbnail (in teaching adjusting the size of the thumbnails based on the video content, which will therefore be adjusted based on the capability of the screen size depending on the type of electronic device; see paragraphs 39-40, 49).
With reference to claim 10, Miura and Xu disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein Miura further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: extract a frame having a largest difference in delta value from a previous frame among frames in a set timestamp, and determine the extracted frame as a thumbnail image (see paragraphs 30-31, 36-37, 39; Figs. 2).
With reference to claim 11, Miura and Xu disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein Miura further discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of thumbnail images corresponding to the first object is constituted of a predicted frame (P-frame) having a largest capacity among a plurality of P-frames in a set timestamp range. (in teaching content item #8 presented in a visually distinct manner from the other thumb nails of the video (see paragraph 34; Fig. 2)
With reference to claims 14, Miura and Xu disclose the electronic device of claim 12, wherein Miura further discloses: in response to receiving a fourth user input applied to the second thumbnail image displaying, by the electronic device, a plurality of thumbnail images corresponding to the second object in the second area (see paragraphs 33-34); reducing, by the electronic device, a number of the plurality of thumbnail images corresponding to the first object; and in response to receiving the fourth user input to the second thumbnail image, displaying the plurality of thumbnail images in the second area (in illustrating the number of thumbnails displayed when a video file is the image to be displayed; see paragraph 33; Figs. 1-2).
With reference to claims 16, Miura and Xu disclose the electronic device of claim 12, wherein Miura further discloses: reducing, by the electronic device, a number of the plurality of thumbnail images corresponding to the first object based on the plurality of thumbnail images for the first object moving out of a screen displayed on the display in response to receiving a scroll input applied to the plurality of thumbnail images corresponding to the first object (see paragraph 30).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura and Xu as applied to claim 1 or 12 above, and further in view of Rufin (US Patent Publication No. 2018/0367858).
With reference to claim 8 and 18, Miura and Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 1 or 12, however fails to disclose arranging the thumbnails in a predetermined in an area as recited.
Rufin discloses a method for navigating through video content using a graphical user interface displayed on a touch screen (see abstract), wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively (see paragraphs 50, 86), further cause the electronic device (1) to; arrange, by the electronic device, the plurality of thumbnail images (27-31) corresponding to the first object displayed in the second area of the touch display in an area except for a predetermined area of each of a left side and a right side of the second area (see paragraph 71; Fig. 2C).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow usage of a navigating method similar to that which is taught by Rufin to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Miura and Xu to thereby provide alternative arrangements of the content viewer (see Rufin; paragraph 68).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With reference to claims 1, 12, and 19, the applicant argues that Miura fails to disclose continuously displaying the video scrubber in response to receiving a third user input applied to another content item. The examiner finds that the claim recites in response to receiving a third user input applied to a second thumbnail image display a second image corresponding to the second thumbnail in a first area while continuously displaying the plurality of thumbnail images corresponding to the first object in the second area together with the thumbnail images of the one or more objects. Miura discloses receiving a user input applied to a second thumbnail image (#5) and displaying that image in the main display area and further discloses that the plurality of thumbnail images (video scrubber; 202) corresponding to the first object may convert back to normal size, not disappear as argued by the applicant. Therefore the examiner finds that Miura discloses the third input as recited. Arguments directed towards the usage of Lee are moot, as the reference is no longer relied upon.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
FLINT et al. (US2015/0346984) discloses video frame timelines are presented to provide a frame-by-frame video navigation tool display as a graphical user interface element that is displayed over a portion of a display screen and used to navigate frames of a video clip (see abstract; paragraphs 16-43; Figs. 1-6).
Conclusion
/ADE/Examiner, Art Unit 2625
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625