DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 4/13/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of species A in the reply filed on 4/13/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the search for each of the species would not impose a serious search burden on the examiner This is not found persuasive because the search for each of the patentable distinct heat transfer device with different location of the thermally conductive assembly of hot area in the heat transfer device would require different text search queries for each of the patentable distinct species. This will place a serious search burden and consideration on the examiner.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation of “the second capillary structure and the extended thermally conductive structures of hot area can have different perforated capillary with pores” renders the scope of the claim indefinite since it is not clear whether applicant is claiming that each of the second capillary structure and the extended thermally conductive structure have a perforated capillary with pore; and the pore of the second capillary structure and the pore of the extended thermally conductive structure are different from each other. Furthermore, the limitation of “can have” renders the scope of the claim indefinite since it is not clear whether the second capillary structure and the extend thermally conductive structure have or does not have but capable of having different perforated capillary with pores.
Claim 8 is further rejected as can be best understood by the examiner in which the second capillary structure and the extended thermally conductive structure, have different perforated capillary with pores.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 20230184491A1). Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses (figure 6) a three-dimensional heat transfer device comprising a first thermal conductive shell (120a); a second thermal conductive shell (110A) that is connected with the first thermally conductive shell (120A) to form a liquid tight chamber (S); a plurality of heat pipes (200A) that are connected with the first thermally conductive shell (120A) and in fluid communication with the liquid tight chamber; at least one thermally conductive assembly of hot area (see figure A) arranged in the liquid-tight chamber and disposed on the second thermally conductive shell (110A), the at least one thermally conducive assembly of hot area includes a plurality of extended thermally conductive structure of hot area (see figure A); and at least one thermally conductive assembly of cold area arranged adjacent to the at least one thermally conductive assembly of hot area, the at least one thermally conductive assembly of cold area includes at least two extended thermally conductive structure of cold area that are separated to form a pressure drop notch therebetween. (see figure A). Regarding the limitation of “hot area” and “cold area”, since hot and cold are relative term. In this case, the inner area as shown in figure A is considered to read on the hot area and the outer area as shown in figure A is considered to read on the cold area.
Regarding claim 2, Wang further discloses (figure A) the second thermally conductive shell includes a base plate, a first protruding structure, a second protruding structure, the first protruding structure protrudes from the base plate and away from the first thermally conductive shell (121A), the second protruding structure protrudes from the first protruding structure and away from the first thermally conductive shell, the second protruding structure having an inner surface facing the first thermally conductive shell, and the at least one thermally conductive assembly of hot area and the at least one thermally conductive assembly of cold area protruding from the inner surface (upper surface of the second protruding structure 112a in contact with the chamber S, shown in figure 7) of the second protruding structure.
Regarding claim 3, the limitations of thermally conductive structures and supporting structure have been interpreted as shown in figure B. Wang further discloses (figure B) a plurality of supporting structures of hot area and a plurality of supporting structure of cold area, wherein the plurality of supporting structures (115) of hot area protrude from the plurality of extended thermally conductive structure (113) of hot area, the plurality of support structures of cold area protrude from the plurality of extended thermally conductive structures of cold area; and the plurality of supporting structures of the hot area having lengths greater than the plurality of supporting structures of cold area. (see figure B, length of the support structure 115 in the cold area or outside area is shorter than the support structure 115 of the hot area or inside area).
Regarding claim 4, Wang further discloses (figure 7) that a first capillary structure (400A) in contact with the first thermally conductive shell (120A).
Regarding claim 5, Wang further discloses (figure 7 and paragraph 42) a second capillary structure (300A) in contact with the second thermally conductive shell (100A), the at least one thermally conductive assembly of hot area, the at least one thermally conductive assembly of cold area, the plurality of supporting structure of hot area, and the plurality of supporting structure of cold area.
Regarding claim 9, Wang further discloses (figure A) that the second protruding structure includes a bottom side (lower side), a top side, (top side), a left side and right side, the bottom side is opposite to the top side, the left side is opposite to the right side, and the at least one thermal conductive assembly of hot area is adjacent to the top side and the right side of the second protruding structure. (the thermally conductive of hot area is adjacent to the upper side and extending from left to right side, therefore, it is adjacent to the right side).
Figure A: the modified figure corresponds to figure 6 of Wang with limitations shown.
Figure B: the modified figure corresponds to figure 6 of Wang with limitation shown.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20230184491A1) in view of Liu, Li Juan (CN 208026113U). Wang substantially discloses all of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above except for the limitation that the plurality of extended thermally conductive structure of hot area and the second capillary structure are integrated into a single structure. Wang further discloses (figure 7 and paragraph 43) that the second capillary structure (300) may be a composite of sintered powder or a groove. Liu discloses (figures 1-2) that the capillary structure is made of groove (32) integrated with the thermally conductive structure (31) into a single structure for a purpose of reducing the number of separate parts of the heat transfer device. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Liu’s teaching in Wang’s device for a purpose of reducing the number of separate parts of the heat transfer device.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20230184491A1) in view of Hoffman et al. (US 2009/0025910A1).
Regarding claim 6, Wang substantially discloses all of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above except for the limitation that the plurality of extended thermally conductive structure of hot area and the second capillary structure are integrated into a single structure. Hoffman discloses (figures 5, 15 and 15A) that vapor chamber that that the secondary capillary structure (12) and extended thermally conductive structures (14 or 12’) formed as a single structure (sintered body) for a purpose of easing the manufacturing of the heat transfer device by using a single method of sintering to form both capillary structure and thermally conductive structure. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Hoffman’s teaching in Wang’s device for a purpose of easing the manufacturing of the heat transfer device by using a single method of sintering to form both the capillary structure and thermally conductive material.
Regarding claim 7, Wang substantially discloses all of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above except for the limitation that the thermally conductive structure of hot area are powder-sintered structure, which are independent structures that are different from the second protruding structure. Hoffman discloses (figures 5, 15 and 15A) that the thermally conductive structure are powder sintered structure (14 or 12’), which are independent structure from the second protruding structure (protruding from base plate (102)) for a purpose of achieving the boiling and fluid flow properties desired (paragraph 96). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Hoffman’ s teaching in Wang’s device for a purpose of achieving the boiling and fluid flow properties desired (paragraph 96).
Regarding claim 8, Wang substantially discloses all of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above except for the limitation that the second capillary structure and the extended conductive structure of hot area can have different perforated capillary with pores. Hoffman discloses (figures 5, 15 and 15A) that the thermally conductive structure are powder sintered structure (12), have different perforated capillary with pores from the thermally conductive structures (14 or 12’) for a purpose of achieving the boiling and fluid flow properties desired (paragraph 96). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Hoffman’ s teaching in Wang’s device for a purpose of achieving the boiling and fluid flow properties desired (paragraph 96).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
.
Hamakawa et al. (WO 2018030478A1) discloses a vapor chamber.
Liu et al. (US 20230358482A1) discloses a three dimensional heat exchanger.
Wang et al. (US 20230213288A1) discloses a three dimensional heat transfer device.
Chen (US 20200355444A1) discloses a vapor chamber.
Zhao et al. (US 8,356,657) discloses heat pipe system.
Hou (US 20110008198A1) discloses a method for manufacturing a plate type heat pipe.
Siu (US 2006/0196640A1) discloses a vapor chamber with boiling enhanced multi-wick structure.
/THO V DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763