DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the limitation "a pair of cutting portions" is as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim exactly what constitutes a portion. In order to examine the claims an advance prosecution, Examiner has interpreted the limitation to mean any part of a whole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Townsend, et alia (US 3,237,300), hereinafter Townsend.
Regarding Claim 1, Townsend discloses a wire stripper ( Col 1, Ln 9; as illustrated in at least Fig 1) comprising:
a plier head (2) (as illustrated in at least Fig 1) having a pair of cutting portions (4), (Col 2, Ln 30-32) the pair of cutting portions having a plurality of pairs of semicircular jaws (7), (7a) (Col 2, Ln 32; as illustrated in at least Fig 1); and
a handle assembly (3) (Col 2, Ln 52; as illustrated in at least Fig 1) pivoted to the plier head (Col 3, Ln 35-39);
where the handle assembly has a pair of arms (1), the pair of arms have a positioning member (14), (16) (Col 2, Ln 51-58; as illustrated in at least Fig 1) and a cutting member (6), (6a) (Col 2, Ln 31-32; as illustrated in at least Fig 1) opposing each other at upper inner sides thereof, the positioning member being provided with a transverse groove (11) (Col 2, Ln 42-43) and a longitudinal groove (18) (Col 3, Ln 5-8), the cutting member having a round cutting edge (Col 2,Ln Ln 42-43; as illustrated in Fig 1), and the round cutting edge being aligned with the transverse groove as illustrated in Fig 1/2).
Regarding Claim 2, Townsend discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Townsend further discloses the positioning member and the cutting member are each secured to one of the pair of arms by a screw member (as illustrated in Fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Townsend, in view of Yoshimori (US 6,138,362), hereinafter Yoshimori.
Regarding Claim 3, Townsend discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Townsend is silent to the positioning member is made of plastic.
Yoshimori teaches a wire stripper (1) having a positioning member (8) made of plastic (Col 2, Ln 38, 50-54, respectively). A skilled Artisan would recognize the utility of plastic in that it may be easily formed and is durable, providing economy in manufacture and longevity in use.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wire stripper, as disclosed by Townsend, to a include a positioning member (8) made of plastic, as taught by Yoshimori, in order to provide economy in manufacture and longevity in use.
Regarding Claim 4, Townsend discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Townsend is silent to the round cutting edge is made of metal.
Yoshimori teaches a wire stripper (1) (Col 2, Ln 38) having a round cutting edge is made of metal (Col 4, Ln 4). A skilled Artisan would recognize the utility of metal cutting blades in that they may be easily formed and is durable, providing economy in manufacture and longevity in use.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wire stripper, as disclosed by Townsend, to a include a round cutting edge is made of metal, as taught by Yoshimori, in order to provide economy in manufacture and longevity in use.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Townsend, in view of Williams (US 1,566,297), hereinafter Williams.
Regarding Claim 5, Townsend discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Townsend is silent to a rotatable spacer having an eccentric pivot.
Williams teaches a wire stripper (as illustrated in at least Fig 2), having a rotatable spacer (14) having an eccentric pivot (Col 2, Ln 90-93). Williams further teaches a plurality of rotatable positioning points for adjusting a distance between the cutting member and the positioning member to provide a plurality of different stripping depths (Col 2, Ln 93-101). Williams further teaches various sizes of wires may be stripped using this arrangement, a design which would be recognized by a skilled Artisan as providing economy in use.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wire stripper, as disclosed by Townsend, to a include a cutting member further includes a rotatable spacer having an eccentric pivot and a plurality of rotatable positioning points for adjusting a distance between the cutting member and the positioning member to provide a plurality of different stripping depths, as taught by Williams, in order to provide economical use of the tool.
Examiner notes the limitation "rotatable spacer" is recited without criticality, and the DISLCOSURE of the INSTANT APPLICATION fails to provide any definition as to the intent or use of the spacer, with regard to any facilitating of spacing or making space between objects, either in the apparatus or the use of the apparatus. Examiner has therefore interpreted the limitation to mean a rotatable element, having no further definition.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 3,010,205 to Pearl teaches a wire stripper.
/FRED C HAMMERS/
Examiner
Art Unit 3724
/BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724