DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 08/19/2024.
Claims 1- 20 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 08/19/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 20210392628 A1), hereinafter “Wu”; and in further view of Lee et al. (US 20190150135 A1), hereinafter “Lee”.
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches A method for performing sidelink communication comprising:
detecting a synchronization signal on a Uu interface between a user equipment (UE) and a base station, wherein the synchronization signal is detected according to a first radio access technology (RAT) [Wu: Abstract: Methods, systems, and devices for wireless communication are described. A user equipment (UE) may receive a message indicating that a base station supports allocating resources for sidelink communications using a first radio access technology (RAT) and a second RAT that is different from the first RAT];
sending, to a radio frequency (RF) interface, a message for transmission, based at least in part on the reference value, to the other UE over the PC5 interface, wherein the message is transmitted according to a second RAT [Wu: Abstract; Fig. 2; Par. 96 teaches A user equipment (UE) may receive a message indicating that a base station supports allocating resources for sidelink communications using a first radio access technology (RAT) and a second RAT that is different from the first RAT]
Wu does not explicitly teach determining, based on the synchronization signal, a reference value for sidelink communication over a PC5 interface with another UE.
However, Lee, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches determining, based on the synchronization signal, a reference value for sidelink communication over a PC5 interface with another UE [Lee: Par. 65-73; Fig. 4 teaches interworking via a reference point between UEs using PC5].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention was made to utilize the teaching of Lee for using PC5 interface. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivate to utilize the teaching of Lee in the Wu system in order to intercommunicate with UES [Lee: Par. 65].
Regarding claim 2, the combined Wu in view of Lee teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wu in view of Lee further teaches wherein the synchronization signal is detected in resources allocated for communication according to the first RAT [Wu: Par. 96 teaches using second RAT for communication and allocation].
Regarding claim 3, the combined Wu in view of Lee teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wu in view of Lee further teaches wherein the reference value is one of a reference timing or a reference frequency for sidelink communication over the PC5 interface with the other UE according to the second RAT [Lee: Par. 65].
Regarding claim 4, the combined Wu in view of Lee teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wu in view of Lee further teaches wherein the message is transmitted according to the second RAT via physical channels [Lee: Par. 112 teaches using PSSCH for transmitting in RATs].
Regarding claim 5, the combined Wu in view of Lee teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 4. Wu in view of Lee further teaches wherein the physical channels comprise a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) and a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) [Lee: Par. 112 teaches using PSSCH for transmitting in RATs].
Regarding claim 6, the combined Wu in view of Lee teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wu in view of Lee further teaches wherein the message is transmitted in resources allocated for sidelink transmission according to the second RAT [Wu: Par. 96 teaches using second RAT for communication and allocation].
Regarding claim 7, the combined Wu in view of Lee teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wu in view of Lee further teaches wherein the synchronization signal is at least one of: a primary synchronization signal (PSS) [Lee: Par. 118].
Regarding claim 9, Wu teaches An apparatus, comprising:
a memory; and
a processor in communication with the memory and configured to [Wu: Fig. 9]:
detect a synchronization signal on a Uu interface between a user equipment (UE) and a base station, wherein the synchronization signal is detected according to a first radio access technology (RAT [Wu: Abstract: Methods, systems, and devices for wireless communication are described. A user equipment (UE) may receive a message indicating that a base station supports allocating resources for sidelink communications using a first radio access technology (RAT) and a second RAT that is different from the first RAT];
send, to a radio frequency (RF) interface, a message for transmission, based at least in part on the reference value, to the other UE over the PC5 interface, wherein the message is transmitted according to a second RA [Wu: Abstract; Fig. 2; Par. 96 teaches A user equipment (UE) may receive a message indicating that a base station supports allocating resources for sidelink communications using a first radio access technology (RAT) and a second RAT that is different from the first RAT]
Wu does not explicitly teach determine, based on the synchronization signal, a reference value for sidelink communication over a PC5 interface with another UE.
Lee, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches determine, based on the synchronization signal, a reference value for sidelink communication over a PC5 interface with another UE [Lee: Par. 65-73; Fig. 4 teaches interworking via a reference point between UEs using PC5].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention was made to utilize the teaching of Lee for using PC5 interface. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivate to utilize the teaching of Lee in the Wu system in order to intercommunicate with UES [Lee: Par. 65].
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 7.
Regarding claim 16, Wu teaches A non-transitory computer readable memory medium storing program instructions executable by a processor to [Wu: Fig. 9; Par. 165]:
detect a synchronization signal on a Uu interface between a user equipment (UE) and a base station, wherein the synchronization signal is detected according to a first radio access technology (RAT [Wu: Abstract: Methods, systems, and devices for wireless communication are described. A user equipment (UE) may receive a message indicating that a base station supports allocating resources for sidelink communications using a first radio access technology (RAT) and a second RAT that is different from the first RAT];
send, to a radio frequency (RF) interface, a message for transmission, based at least in part on the reference value, to the other UE over the PC5 interface, wherein the message is transmitted according to a second RA [Wu: Abstract; Fig. 2; Par. 96 teaches A user equipment (UE) may receive a message indicating that a base station supports allocating resources for sidelink communications using a first radio access technology (RAT) and a second RAT that is different from the first RAT]
Wu does not explicitly teach determine, based on the synchronization signal, a reference value for sidelink communication over a PC5 interface with another UE.
Lee, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches determine, based on the synchronization signal, a reference value for sidelink communication over a PC5 interface with another UE [Lee: Par. 65-73; Fig. 4 teaches interworking via a reference point between UEs using PC5].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention was made to utilize the teaching of Lee for using PC5 interface. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivate to utilize the teaching of Lee in the Wu system in order to intercommunicate with UES [Lee: Par. 65].
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6.
Claims 8, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 20210392628 A1), hereinafter “Wu”; and in further view of Lee et al. (US 20190150135 A1), hereinafter “Lee”; and in further view of Chae et al. (US 20210176720 A1), hereinafter “Chae”.
Regarding claim 8, the combined Wu in view of Lee teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. However, Wu in view of Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the synchronization signal includes a cell-specific reference signal (CRS).
Nevertheless, Chae, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the synchronization signal includes a cell-specific reference signal (CRS) [Chae: Par. 66, 215 teaches using CRS for synchronization signal transmitting].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention was made to utilize the teaching of Chae for using CRS signal. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivate to utilize the teaching of Chae in the Wu/ Lee system in order to have option of prefer transmission signal [Chae: Par. 215].
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412