DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed August 19, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
This application is a continuation of Application 16/707,906 now US Patent 11,550,687 and application 18/082,489 now US Patent 12,066,916. The claims herein are examined as entitled to the earlier filing date of December 9, 2019.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7,1,8, and 14 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 11,550,687 in view of “Tascillo”(US PG Pub 2018/0347493). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are obviously in view of the patented claims as aligned herein below.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12,066,916 view of “Tascillo”(US PG Pub 2018/0347493). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are obviously in view of the patented claims as aligned herein below expected the bolded portions below.
This Application
US Patent 11,550,687
US Patent 12,066,916
1. A method, comprising: determining by a controller coupled to a memory device a first temperature threshold of a temperature sensor among a plurality of temperature sensors embedded in the memory device; determining by the controller a second temperature threshold of the temperature sensor among the plurality of temperature sensors embedded in the memory device; determining by the controller a quantity of motion values detected by a motion sensor embedded in the memory device; in response to the plurality of temperature sensors each detecting a value, generating a weighted average of the detected temperature sensor values, wherein a weight of each detected temperature sensor value is determined based on a location of each of the plurality of temperature sensors; configuring the memory device to transmit an indication responsive to the generated weighted average of the detected temperature sensor values being greater than the first threshold or less than the second threshold and the motion sensor detecting the quantity of motion values; transmitting the indication, via a sensor output, to another device; analyzing, by a controller in the other device, the received indication; and initiating, by the controller in the other device, operations of the vehicle based at least in part on the transmitted indication.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein responsive to receiving the indication via the sensor output, the other device activates a cooling component.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein responsive to receiving the indication via the sensor output, the other device activates a heating component.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the other device is coupled to a vehicle and the temperature sensor embedded in the memory device is coupled to the vehicle and is configured to generate a temperature value of the interior of the vehicle.
5. The method of claim 4, further comprising transmitting, via the sensor output, a signal representing the temperature value to a user interface coupled to the vehicle.
6. The method of claim 4, further comprising: configuring, by the controller, the first threshold to be a high temperature threshold of the interior of the vehicle; and configuring, by the controller, the second threshold to be a low temperature threshold of the interior of the vehicle.
7. The method of claim 4, further comprising: receiving, by the other device coupled to the vehicle, a temperature value via the sensor output, wherein the temperature value is generated by the temperature sensor embedded in the memory device; determining that the temperature value is in-between the first threshold and the second threshold; and refraining from activating a temperature control component based on the temperature value.
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting, by the controller, a change in an operation of the other device; altering, by the controller, the first threshold of the sensor embedded in the memory device; and altering, by the controller, the second threshold of the sensor embedded in the memory device, wherein the first threshold and the second threshold are altered based at least in part on the detected change in operation of the other device.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the other device is coupled to a vehicle and the change in operation is the vehicle changing from a parked operation to a moving operation.
10. A method, comprising: determining, by a controller, a first threshold of a temperature sensor among a plurality of temperature sensors embedded in a memory device; determining a second threshold of a motion sensor embedded in the memory device; in response to the plurality of temperature sensors each detecting a value, generating a weighted average of the detected temperature sensor values, wherein a weight of each detected temperature sensor value is determined based on a location of each of the plurality of temperature sensors; configuring, by the controller, the memory device to transmit an indication responsive to the generated weighted average of temperature sensor values being greater than or less than the first threshold and the motion sensor detecting a second value greater than or less than the second threshold; transmitting the indication to another device, via a sensor output coupling the temperature sensor and the motion sensor to the other device, wherein the indication is based on the first value and the second value; analyzing, by a controller in the other device, the received indication; and initiating, by the controller in the other device, operations of the vehicle based at least in part on the transmitted indication.
11. The method of claim 10, wherein: the other device is coupled to a vehicle; the temperature sensor is embedded in the memory device to determine a temperature value of an interior of the vehicle; and the motion sensor is embedded in the memory device to detect motion within the interior of the vehicle.
12. The method of claim 11, wherein the second threshold is a quantity of motion values detected by the motion sensor embedded in the memory device within a predetermined period of time.
13. The method of claim 10, further comprising configuring the memory device to refrain from transmitting the indication responsive to the temperature sensor detecting the first value is greater than or less than the first threshold and responsive to the motion sensor detecting the second value is not greater than or less than the second threshold.
14. The method of claim 10, further comprising detecting, by the controller, a change in an operation of the other device, wherein the other device is coupled to a vehicle and the change in operation is the vehicle changing from a parked operation to a moving operation.
15. The method of claim 14, further comprising: altering, by the controller, the first threshold of the temperature sensor embedded in memory device; and altering, by the controller, the second threshold of the motion sensor embedded in the memory device, wherein the first threshold and the second threshold are altered based at least in part on the detected change in operation of the vehicle.
16. The method of claim 14, further comprising disabling the motion sensor embedded in the memory device based on the detection, by the controller that the vehicle is in motion.
17. A system, comprising: a wireless communication device configured to communicate using a wireless peer-to-peer or machine-type-communication protocol coupled to a vehicle; a memory device coupled to the wireless communication device; a plurality of temperature sensors and a motion sensor embedded in the memory device and coupled to the wireless communication device via a sensor output, the memory device configured to: determine respective thresholds for each of the plurality of temperature sensors and the motion sensor embedded in the memory device; in response to the plurality of temperature sensors each detecting a value, generate a weighted average of the detected temperature sensor values, wherein a weight of each detected temperature sensor value is determined based on a location of each of the plurality of temperature sensors; transmit an indication, via the sensor output, to the wireless communication device, wherein the indication is responsive to the generated weighted average of the detected temperature sensor values being greater than or less than the respective threshold for the temperature sensor and the motion sensor detecting a value that is greater than or less than the respective threshold for the motion sensor; analyze the received indication; and initiate operations of the vehicle based at least in part on the transmitted indication.
18. The system of claim 17, further comprising: a temperature sensor embedded in the memory device and configured with a first threshold associated with a temperature characteristic; and a motion sensor embedded in the memory device and configured to with a second threshold associated with a characteristic of relative motion of another object.
19. The system of claim 18, further comprising a controller coupled to the memory device, the controller configured to transmit the indication to the wireless communication device via the sensor output responsive to a determination that a first value detected by the temperature sensor is greater than or less than the first threshold value and responsive to a determination that a second value detected by the motion sensor is greater than or less than the second threshold, wherein the indication causes the wireless communication device to unlock doors of a vehicle communicatively coupled to the wireless communication device.
20. The system of claim 18, further comprising a controller coupled to the memory device, the controller configured to cause the memory device to refrain from transmitting the indication to the wireless device via the sensor output responsive to a determination that a first value detected by the temperature sensor is greater than or less than the first threshold value and responsive to a determination that a second value detected by the motion sensor is greater than or less than the second threshold.
1. A method, comprising: determining by a controller coupled to a memory device a first temperature threshold of a temperature sensor embedded in the memory device; determining by the controller a second temperature threshold of the temperature sensor embedded in the memory device; determining by the controller a quantity of motion values when a vehicle is in park detected by a motion sensor embedded in the memory device; configuring the memory device, via a multiplexer embedded in the memory device, to transmit an indication responsive to the temperature sensor detecting a value greater than the first temperature threshold or less than the second temperature threshold and the motion sensor detecting the quantity of motion values; and transmitting the indication, via a sensor output, to another device and data from a memory array of the memory device, via a data input/output bus, to the another device; detecting, by the controller, a change in an operation of the other device; altering, by the controller, the first temperature threshold of the temperature sensor embedded in memory device; and altering, by the controller, the second temperature threshold of the temperature sensor embedded in the memory device, wherein the first temperature threshold and the second temperature threshold are altered based at least in part on the detected change in operation of the other device.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein responsive to receiving the indication via the sensor output, the other device activates a cooling component.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein responsive to receiving the indication via the sensor output, the other device activates a heating component.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the other device is coupled to the vehicle and the temperature sensor embedded in the memory device coupled to the vehicle, to generate a temperature value of the interior of the vehicle.
5. The method of claim 4, further comprising transmitting, via the sensor output, a signal representing the temperature value to a user interface coupled to the vehicle.
6. The method of claim 4, further comprising: configuring, by the controller, the first temperature threshold to be a high temperature threshold of the interior of the vehicle; and configuring, by the controller, the second temperature threshold to be a low temperature threshold of the interior of the vehicle.
7. The method of claim 4, further comprising: receiving, by the other device coupled to the vehicle, a temperature value via the sensor output, wherein the temperature value is generated by the temperature sensor embedded in the memory device; determining that the temperature value is in-between the first temperature threshold and the second temperature threshold; and refraining from activating a temperature control component based on the temperature value.
[see claim 1 above]
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the other device is coupled to the vehicle and the change in operation is the vehicle changing from the parked operation to a moving operation.
14. A system, comprising: a wireless communication device configured to communicate using a wireless peer-to-peer or machine-type-communication protocol coupled to a vehicle; a memory device coupled to the wireless communication device; a temperature sensor and a motion sensor coupled to a multiplexer embedded in the memory device and coupled to the wireless communication device via a sensor output, the memory device configured to: determine a first temperature threshold of the temperature sensor embedded in the memory device; determine a second temperature threshold of the temperature sensor embedded in the memory device; determine the vehicle is in a parked operation; transmit an indication, via a sensor output, and data from a memory array of the memory device, via a data input/output bus, to the wireless communication device responsive to the temperature sensor detecting a value that is greater than or less than the respective temperature thresholds and responsive to determining the vehicle is in the parked operation; detect a change in an operation of the other device; and alter the first temperature threshold of the temperature sensor embedded in memory device and the second temperature threshold of the temperature sensor embedded in the memory device, wherein the first temperature threshold and the second temperature threshold are altered based at least in part on the detected change in operation of the other device.
1. A method, comprising: determining by a controller coupled to a memory device a first temperature threshold of a temperature sensor among a plurality of temperature sensors embedded in the memory device; determining by the controller a second temperature threshold of the temperature sensor among the plurality of temperature sensors embedded in the memory device; determining by the controller a quantity of motion values when a vehicle is in park detected by a motion sensor embedded in the memory device; determining by the controller a quantity of pressure values when the vehicle is in park detected by a pressure sensor embedded in the memory device and storing the quantity of pressure values in a memory array of the memory device; in response to the plurality of temperature sensors each detecting a value, generating a weighted average of the detected temperature sensor values, wherein a weight of each detected temperature sensor value is determined based on a location of each of the plurality of temperature sensors; configuring the memory device to transmit an indication responsive to the generated weighted average of the detected temperature sensor values being greater than the first threshold or less than the second threshold and the motion sensor detecting the quantity of motion values; transmitting the indication, via a sensor output, to another device and the quantity of pressure values from the memory array of the memory device, via a data input/output bus, to the another device; analyzing, by a controller in the other device, the received indication and the quantity of pressure values; and initiating, by the controller in the other device, operations of the vehicle based at least in part on the transmitted indication and the quantity of pressure values.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein responsive to receiving the indication via the sensor output, the other device activates a cooling component.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein responsive to receiving the indication via the sensor output, the other device activates a heating component.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the other device is coupled to a vehicle and the temperature sensor embedded in the memory device is coupled to the vehicle and is configured to generate a temperature value of the interior of the vehicle.
5. The method of claim 4, further comprising transmitting, via the sensor output, a signal representing the temperature value to a user interface coupled to the vehicle.
6. The method of claim 4, further comprising: configuring, by the controller, the first threshold to be a high temperature threshold of the interior of the vehicle; and configuring, by the controller, the second threshold to be a low temperature threshold of the interior of the vehicle.
7. The method of claim 4, further comprising: receiving, by the other device coupled to the vehicle, a temperature value via the sensor output, wherein the temperature value is generated by the temperature sensor embedded in the memory device; determining that the temperature value is in-between the first threshold and the second threshold; and refraining from activating a temperature control component based on the temperature value.
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting, by the controller, a change in an operation of the other device; altering, by the controller, the first threshold of the sensor embedded in the memory device; and altering, by the controller, the second threshold of the sensor embedded in the memory device, wherein the first threshold and the second threshold are altered based at least in part on the detected change in operation of the other device.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the other device is coupled to a vehicle and the change in operation is the vehicle changing from a parked operation to a moving operation.
10. A method, comprising: determining, by a controller, a first threshold of a temperature sensor among a plurality of temperature sensors embedded in a memory device; determining a second threshold of a motion sensor embedded in the memory device; determining a third threshold of a pressure sensor embedded in the memory device; in response to the plurality of temperature sensors each detecting a value, generating a weighted average of the detected temperature sensor values, wherein a weight of each detected temperature sensor value is determined based on a location of each of the plurality of temperature sensors; configuring, by the controller, the memory device to transmit an indication responsive to the generated weighted average of temperature sensor values being greater than or less than the first threshold and the motion sensor detecting a second value greater than or less than the second threshold; configuring, by the controller, the memory device to transmit data responsive to the pressure sensor detecting a third value greater than or less than the third threshold, wherein the data corresponds to the third value and is stored in a memory array of the memory device; transmitting the indication to another device, via a sensor output coupling the temperature sensor and the motion sensor to the other device, wherein the indication is based on the first value and the second value and transmitting the data from the memory array, via a data input/output bus, to the another device; analyzing, by a controller in the other device, the received indication and data; and initiating, by the controller in the other device, operations of the vehicle based at least in part on the transmitted indication and data.
11. The method of claim 10, wherein: the other device is coupled to a vehicle; the temperature sensor is embedded in the memory device to determine a temperature value of an interior of the vehicle; the motion sensor is embedded in the memory device to detect motion within the interior of the vehicle; and the pressure sensor is embedded in the memory device to detect an occupant within the interior of the vehicle.
12. The method of claim 11, wherein the second threshold is a quantity of motion values detected by the motion sensor embedded in the memory device within a predetermined period of time.
13. The method of claim 10, further comprising configuring the memory device to refrain from transmitting the indication responsive to the temperature sensor detecting the first value is greater than or less than the first threshold and responsive to the motion sensor detecting the second value is not greater than or less than the second threshold.
14. The method of claim 10, further comprising detecting, by the controller, a change in an operation of the other device, wherein the other device is coupled to a vehicle and the change in operation is the vehicle changing from a parked operation to a moving operation.
15. The method of claim 14, further comprising: altering, by the controller, the first threshold of the temperature sensor embedded in memory device; and altering, by the controller, the second threshold of the motion sensor embedded in the memory device, wherein the first threshold and the second threshold are altered based at least in part on the detected change in operation of the vehicle.
16. The method of claim 14, further comprising disabling the motion sensor embedded in the memory device based on the detection, by the controller that the vehicle is in motion.
17. A system, comprising: a wireless communication device configured to communicate using a wireless peer-to-peer or machine-type-communication protocol coupled to a vehicle; a memory device coupled to the wireless communication device; a plurality of temperature sensors, a motion sensor, and a pressure sensor embedded in the memory device and coupled to the wireless communication device via a sensor output, the memory device configured to: determine respective thresholds for each of the plurality of temperature sensors, motion sensor, and pressure sensor embedded in the memory device; in response to the plurality of temperature sensors each detecting a value, generate a weighted average of the detected temperature sensor values, wherein a weight of each detected temperature sensor value is determined based on a location of each of the plurality of temperature sensors; transmit an indication, via the sensor output, and data, via the data input/output bus, to the wireless communication device, wherein the indication is responsive to the generated weighted average of the detected temperature sensor values being greater than or less than the respective threshold for the temperature sensor and the motion sensor detecting a value that is greater than or less than the respective threshold for the motion sensor and the data is responsive to the pressure sensor detecting a value that is greater than or less than the respective threshold for the pressure sensor, wherein the data corresponds to the pressure sensor value and is stored in a memory array of the memory device; analyze the received indication and data; and initiate operations of the vehicle based at least in part on the transmitted indication and data.
18. The system of claim 17, further comprising: a temperature sensor embedded in the memory device and configured with a first threshold associated with a temperature characteristic; and a motion sensor embedded in the memory device and configured to with a second threshold associated with a characteristic of relative motion of another object; and a pressure sensor embedded in the memory device and configured with a third threshold associated with a pressure characteristic.
19. The system of claim 18, further comprising a controller coupled to the memory device, the controller configured to transmit the indication to the wireless communication device via the sensor output responsive to a determination that a first value detected by the temperature sensor is greater than or less than the first threshold value and responsive to a determination that a second value detected by the motion sensor is greater than or less than the second threshold, wherein the indication causes the wireless communication device to unlock doors of a vehicle communicatively coupled to the wireless communication device.
20. The system of claim 18, further comprising a controller coupled to the memory device, the controller configured to cause the memory device to refrain from transmitting the indication to the wireless device via the sensor output responsive to a determination that a first value detected by the temperature sensor is greater than or less than the first threshold value and responsive to a determination that a second value detected by the motion sensor is greater than or less than the second threshold.
The pending claims do not teach, but Tascillo teaches:
in response to the plurality of temperature sensors each detecting a value, generating a weighted average of the detected temperature sensor values, wherein a weight of each detected temperature sensor value is determined based on a location of each of the plurality of temperature sensors; (Tascillo ¶¶7,50 teaches calculating a weighted average of temperature differences within a thermal encapsulation system where the weights are determined based on the locations of the sensors therein.) In addition it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of the patented claims and Tascillo to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application because each is directed to sensor systems and Tascillo recognized device temperature changes may be handled “By calculating temperature differences based on multiple sensors under multiple operating conditions.” (¶8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4,6-13,17, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Pierce” (US Patent 9,809,085) in view of “Lloyd” (US PG Publication 2014/0260704) and further in view of “Tascillo”(US PG Pub 2018/0347493)
Regarding Claim 1, Pierce teaches:
1. A method, comprising:
determining by a controller coupled to a memory device a first temperature threshold of a temperature sensor among a plurality of temperature sensors [embedded in the memory device];( (Pierce See e.g. system of Figs. 6,7,8, See Col. 3, Ln 60 to Col. 4, Ln 13; Col. 8 Ln 60 to Col. 9, Ln 8 teaching adjustable high and low temperature thresholds to be tracked based on temperature sensor readings”)
determining by the controller a second temperature threshold of the temperature sensor among the plurality of temperature sensors [embedded in the memory device];( (Pierce See Col. 3, Ln 60 to Col. 4, Ln 13; Col. 8 Ln 60 to Col. 9, Ln 8 teaching adjustable high and low temperature thresholds to be tracked based on temperature sensor readings”)
determining by the controller a quantity of motion values detected by a motion sensor [embedded in the memory device];(Pierce See e.g. Systems of Fig.s 6-8, Col. 4, Ln 14-42 describing sensing and transmitting data indicating exceeding a threshold)
configuring the memory device to transmit an indication responsive to the generated weighted average of the detected temperature sensor values being greater than the first threshold or less than the second threshold and the motion sensor detecting the quantity of motion values;(See e.g. Systems of Fig.s 6-8, Col. 4, Ln 14-42 describing sensing and transmitting temperature data indicating exceeding a threshold) (Col. 2 Ln 10-22 describes a system which uses a motion sensor and temperature sensor in a vehicle to determine when to activate heating/cool, which activates only when the sensors indicate an out-of-range temperature and indicate motion. Inherently such a system requires a motion threshold of at least one motion value to activate heating/cooling during the time of the out-of-range temperature.)
transmitting the indication, via a sensor output, to another device;( (See e.g. Systems of Fig.s 6-8, Col. 4, Ln 14-42 describing sensing and transmitting temperature data indicating exceeding a threshold)
analyzing, by a controller in the other device, the received indication;( Pierce Col. 2 Ln 10-22 described below)
and initiating, by the controller in the other device, operations of the vehicle based at least in part on the transmitted indication. (Pierce Col. 2 Ln 10-22 describes a system which uses a motion sensor and temperature sensor in a vehicle to determine when to activate heating/cool, which activates only when the sensors indicate an out-of-range temperature and indicate motion. Inherently such a system requires a motion threshold of at least one motion value to activate heating/cooling during the time of the out-of-range temperature. Further other sensors such as the occupant sensor fig. 3, Col 9, Ln 38-52 are triggered by sensing values over a given weight threshold to indicate occupant presence and trigger transmission).
Pierce does not teach, but Lloyd teaches:
[sensors] embedded in the memory device; (See e.g. sensor system embedded in integrated sensor system with memory in e.g. Fig. 3 e.g. ¶6 “According to other embodiments of the present disclosure, an integrated sensor system having a plurality of embedded sensors and a sensor hub, wherein the plurality of embedded sensors and the sensor hub are on a single chip, is provided for. Further, the sensor hub of the system comprises a plurality of processors coupled to the plurality of embedded sensors to process measurement outputs from the plurality of embedded sensors and external sensors and memory, in one or more embodiments.”) In addition it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Pierce and Lloyd to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application because each is directed to sensor systems and Lloyd recognized “what is needed is a device and system that is able to facilitate efficient communication among the sensors to be used for data acquisition which is also able to provide processing of the received data to meet user needs.” (¶3).
Pierce does not teach, but Tascillo teaches:
in response to the plurality of temperature sensors each detecting a value, generating a weighted average of the detected temperature sensor values, wherein a weight of each detected temperature sensor value is determined based on a location of each of the plurality of temperature sensors; (Tascillo ¶¶7,50 teaches calculating a weighted average of temperature differences within a thermal encapsulation system where the weights are determined based on the locations of the sensors therein.) In addition it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Pierce and Tascillo to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application because each is directed to sensor systems and Tascillo recognized device temperature changes may be handled “By calculating temperature differences based on multiple sensors under multiple operating conditions.” (¶8).
Regarding Claim 10, Pierce teaches:
10. A method, comprising: determining, by a controller, a first threshold of a temperature sensor among a plurality of temperature sensors embedded in a memory device;(Col. 2 Ln 10-22 describes a system which uses a motion sensor and temperature sensor in a vehicle to determine when to activate heating/cool, which activates only when the sensors indicate an out-of-range temperature and indicate motion. Inherently such a system requires a motion threshold of at least one motion value to activate heating/cooling during the time of the out-of-range temperature).
determining a second threshold of a motion sensor [embedded in the memory device]; (See Pierce e.g. Systems of Fig.s 6-8, Col. 4, Ln 14-42 describing sensing and transmitting temperature data indicating exceeding a threshold) (Col. 2 Ln 10-22 describes a system which uses a motion sensor and temperature sensor in a vehicle to determine when to activate heating/cool, which activates only when the sensors indicate an out-of-range temperature and indicate motion. Inherently such a system requires a motion threshold of at least one motion value to activate heating/cooling during the time of the out-of-range temperature.)
configuring, by the controller, the memory device to transmit an indication responsive to the generated weighted average of temperature sensor values being greater than or less than the first threshold and the motion sensor detecting a second value greater than or less than the second threshold;(See Pierce e.g. Systems of Fig.s 6-8, Col. 4, Ln 14-42 describing sensing and transmitting temperature data indicating exceeding a threshold) (Col. 2 Ln 10-22 describes a system which uses a motion sensor and temperature sensor in a vehicle to determine when to activate heating/cool, which activates only when the sensors indicate an out-of-range temperature and indicate motion. Inherently such a system requires a motion threshold of at least one motion value to activate heating/cooling during the time of the out-of-range temperature.)
transmitting the indication to another device, via a sensor output coupling the temperature sensor and the motion sensor to the other device, wherein the indication is based on the first value and the second value; ;( (See e.g. Systems of Fig.s 6-8, Col. 4, Ln 14-42 describing sensing and transmitting temperature data indicating exceeding a threshold)
analyzing, by a controller in the other device, the received indication; ( Pierce Col. 2 Ln 10-22 described below)
and initiating, by the controller in the other device, operations of the vehicle based at least in part on the transmitted indication. . (Pierce Col. 2 Ln 10-22 describes a system which uses a motion sensor and temperature sensor in a vehicle to determine when to activate heating/cool, which activates only when the sensors indicate an out-of-range temperature and indicate motion. Inherently such a system requires a motion threshold of at least one motion value to activate heating/cooling during the time of the out-of-range temperature. Further other sensors such as the occupant sensor fig. 3, Col 9, Ln 38-52 are triggered by sensing values over a given weight threshold to indicate occupant presence and trigger transmission).
Pierce does not teach, but Lloyd teaches:
[sensors] embedded in the memory device; (See e.g. sensor system embedded in integrated sensor system with memory in e.g. Fig. 3 e.g. ¶6 “According to other embodiments of the present disclosure, an integrated sensor system having a plurality of embedded sensors and a sensor hub, wherein the plurality of embedded sensors and the sensor hub are on a single chip, is provided for. Further, the sensor hub of the system comprises a plurality of processors coupled to the plurality of embedded sensors to process measurement outputs from the plurality of embedded sensors and external sensors and memory, in one or more embodiments.”) In addition it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Pierce and Lloyd to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application because each is directed to sensor systems and Lloyd recognized “what is needed is a device and system that is able to facilitate efficient communication among the sensors to be used for data acquisition which is also able to provide processing of the received data to meet user needs.” (¶3).
Pierce does not teach, but Tascillo teaches:
in response to the plurality of temperature sensors each detecting a value, generating a weighted average of the detected temperature sensor values, wherein a weight of each detected temperature sensor value is determined based on a location of each of the plurality of temperature sensors; (Tascillo ¶¶7,50 teaches calculating a weighted average of temperature differences within a thermal encapsulation system where the weights are determined based on the locations of the sensors therein.) In addition it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Pierce and Tascillo to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application because each is directed to sensor systems and Tascillo recognized device temperature changes may be handled “By calculating temperature differences based on multiple sensors under multiple operating conditions.” (¶8).
Regarding Claim 17, Pierce teaches:
17. A system, comprising: a wireless communication device configured to communicate using a wireless peer-to-peer or machine-type-communication protocol coupled to a vehicle;( Pierce See wireless transmiters in Figs. 6,7,8, see e.g. Bluetooth, wi-fi communcations in Col. 11, Ln13-32). (See e.g. system of Figs. 6,7,8, See Col. 3, Ln 60 to Col. 4, Ln 13; Col. 8 Ln 60 to Col. 9, Ln 8 teaching adjustable high and low temperature thresholds to be tracked based on temperature sensor readings”)
a memory device coupled to the wireless communication device; (See e.g. system of Figs. 6,7,8, See Col. 3, Ln 60 to Col. 4, Ln 13; Col. 8 Ln 60 to Col. 9, Ln 8 teaching adjustable high and low temperature thresholds to be tracked based on temperature sensor readings”)
a plurality of temperature sensors and a motion sensor [embedded in the memory device] and coupled to the wireless communication device via a sensor output, the memory device configured to: determine respective thresholds for each of the plurality of temperature sensors and the motion sensor [embedded in the memory device];( Pierce See e.g. system of Figs. 6,7,8, See Col. 3, Ln 60 to Col. 4, Ln 13; Col. 8 Ln 60 to Col. 9, Ln 8 teaching adjustable high and low temperature thresholds to be tracked based on temperature sensor readings”; (Col. 2 Ln 10-22 describes a system which uses a motion sensor and temperature sensor in a vehicle to determine when to activate heating/cool, which activates only when the sensors indicate an out-of-range temperature and indicate motion. Inherently such a system requires a motion threshold of at least one motion value to activate heating/cooling during the time of the out-of-range temperature.))
transmit an indication, via the sensor output, to the wireless communication device, (See e.g. Systems of Fig. 6-8, Col. 4, Ln 14-42 describing sensing and transmitting temperature data indicating exceeding a threshold)
wherein the indication is responsive to the generated weighted average of the detected temperature sensor values being greater than or less than the respective threshold for the temperature sensor and the motion sensor detecting a value that is greater than or less than the respective threshold for the motion sensor;( (See e.g. system of Figs. 6,7,8, See Col. 3, Ln 60 to Col. 4, Ln 13; Col. 8 Ln 60 to Col. 9, Ln 8 teaching adjustable high and low temperature thresholds to be tracked based on temperature sensor readings and e.g. Col. 2, 10-22 describing adjusting heating/cooling based on the data values received from the sensors in consideration of the respective thresholds)
analyze the received indication;( ( Pierce Col. 2 Ln 10-22 described below)
and initiate operations of the vehicle based at least in part on the transmitted indication. (Pierce Col. 2 Ln 10-22 describes a system which uses a motion sensor and temperature sensor in a vehicle to determine when to activate heating/cool, which activates only when the sensors indicate an out-of-range temperature and indicate motion. Inherently such a system requires a motion threshold of at least one motion value to activate heating/cooling during the time of the out-of-range temperature. Further other sensors such as the occupant sensor fig. 3, Col 9, Ln 38-52 are triggered by sensing values over a given weight threshold to indicate occupant presence and trigger transmission).
Pierce does not teach, but Lloyd teaches:
[sensors] embedded in the memory device; (See e.g. sensor system embedded in integrated sensor system with memory in e.g. Fig. 3 e.g. ¶6 “According to other embodiments of the present disclosure, an integrated sensor system having a plurality of embedded sensors and a sensor hub, wherein the plurality of embedded sensors and the sensor hub are on a single chip, is provided for. Further, the sensor hub of the system comprises a plurality of processors coupled to the plurality of embedded sensors to process measurement outputs from the plurality of embedded sensors and external sensors and memory, in one or more embodiments.”) In addition it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Pierce and Lloyd to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application because each is directed to sensor systems and Lloyd recognized “what is needed is a device and system that is able to facilitate efficient communication among the sensors to be used for data acquisition which is also able to provide processing of the received data to meet user needs.” (¶3).
Pierce does not teach, but Tascillo teaches:
in response to the plurality of temperature sensors each detecting a value, generate a weighted average of the detected temperature sensor values, wherein a weight of each detected temperature sensor value is determined based on a location of each of the plurality of temperature sensors; (Tascillo ¶¶7,50 teaches calculating a weighted average of temperature differences within a thermal encapsulation system where the weights are determined based on the locations of the sensors therein.) In addition it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Pierce and Tascillo to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application because each is directed to sensor systems and Tascillo recognized device temperature changes may be handled “By calculating temperature differences based on multiple sensors under multiple operating conditions.” (¶8).
Regarding the dependent 2-4,6-9 claims, Pierce further teaches:
2. The method of claim 1, wherein responsive to receiving the indication via the sensor output, the other device activates a cooling component. (See e.g. Col. 3, Ln 32-60 teaches the system includes heating and cooling elements controlled to raise or lower the temperature in response to being outside of the adjustable thresholds for temperature).
3. The method of claim 1, wherein responsive to receiving the indication via the sensor output, the other device activates a heating component. (See e.g. Col. 3, Ln 32-60 teaches the system includes heating and cooling elements controlled to raise or lower the temperature in response to being outside of the adjustable thresholds for temperature).
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the other device is coupled to a vehicle and the sensor is a temperature sensor embedded in the memory device coupled to the vehicle, and is configured to generate a temperature value of the interior of the vehicle. (Col. 3, Ln 20 to Col. 4, Ln 42 describes sensing temperature values in a vehicle, comparing them to a threshold and activating heating or cooling elements where threshold temperatures are crossed).
6. The method of claim 4, further comprising: configuring, by the controller, the first threshold to be a high temperature threshold of the interior of the vehicle; (See e.g. system of Figs. 6,7,8, See Col. 3, Ln 60 to Col. 4, Ln 13; Col. 8 Ln 60 to Col. 9, Ln 8 teaching adjustable high and low temperature thresholds to be tracked based on temperature sensor readings”)
and configuring, by the controller, the second threshold to be a low temperature threshold of the interior of the vehicle. (See e.g. system of Figs. 6,7,8, See Col. 3, Ln 60 to Col. 4, Ln 13; Col. 8 Ln 60 to Col. 9, Ln 8 teaching adjustable high and low temperature thresholds to be tracked based on temperature sensor readings”)
7. The method of claim 4, further comprising: receiving, by the other device coupled to the vehicle, (Figs. 6-8,Col. 3, Ln 20 to Col. 4, Ln 42 describes sensing temperature values in a vehicle via temperature sensor, transmitting it to the CPU, comparing them to a threshold and activating heating or cooling elements where threshold temperatures are crossed). the temperature value via the sensor output, wherein he temperature value is generated by the temperature sensor embedded in the memory device; (Figs. 6-8,Col. 3, Ln 20 to Col. 4, Ln 42 describes sensing temperature values in a vehicle via temperature sensor, transmitting it to the CPU, comparing them to a threshold and activating heating or cooling elements where threshold temperatures are crossed). determining that the temperature value is in-between the first threshold and the second threshold; and refraining from activating a temperature control component based on the temperature value. (Figs. 6-8,Col. 3, Ln 20 to Col. 4, Ln 42 describes sensing temperature values in a vehicle via temperature sensor, transmitting it to the CPU, comparing them to a threshold and activating heating or cooling elements where threshold temperatures are crossed).
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting, by the controller, a change in an operation of the other device; (See e.g. Col. 8 Ln 60 to Col 9, Ln 8 – describes the user entering new temp thresholds in a GUI) altering, by the controller, the first threshold of the sensor embedded in memory device; (See e.g. Col. 8 Ln 60 to Col 9, Ln 8 – updating the threshold in response to input of new thresholds) and altering, by the controller, the second threshold of the sensor embedded in the memory device, (See e.g. Col. 8 Ln 60 to Col 9, Ln 8 – updating the threshold in response to input of new thresholds)
wherein the first threshold and the second threshold are altered based at least in part on the detected change in operation of the other device. (See e.g. Col. 8 Ln 60 to Col 9, Ln 8 – updating the threshold in response to input of new thresholds)
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the other device is coupled to a vehicle and the change in operation is the vehicle changing from a parked operation to a moving operation. (Figs. 6-8,Col. 3, Ln 20 to Col. 4, Ln 42 describes sensing temperature values in a vehicle via temperature sensor, transmitting it to the CPU, comparing them to a threshold and activating heating or cooling elements where threshold temperatures are crossed).
Regarding Claims 11-13, Pierce further teaches:
11. The method of claim 10, wherein: the other device is coupled to a vehicle; (Figs. 6-8,Col. 3, Ln 20 to Col. 4, Ln 42 describes sensing temperature values in a vehicle via temperature sensor, transmitting it to the CPU, comparing them to a threshold and activating heating or cooling elements where threshold temperatures are crossed). the temperature sensor embedded in the memory device to determine a temperature value of an interior of the vehicle; (Figs. 6-8,Col. 3, Ln 20 to Col. 4, Ln 42 describes sensing temperature values in a vehicle via temperature sensor, transmitting it to the CPU, comparing them to a threshold and activating heating or cooling elements where threshold temperatures are crossed). and motion sensor embedded the memory device to detect motion within the interior of the vehicle. (See e.g. Motion Sensor in Col. 10 Ln 27-42)
12. The method of claim 11, wherein the second threshold is a quantity of motion values detected by the motion sensor embedded in the memory device within a predetermined period of time. (Col. 2 Ln 10-22 describes a system which uses a motion sensor and temperature sensor in a vehicle to determine when to activate heating/cool, which activates only when the sensors indicate an out-of-range temperature and indicate motion. Inherently such a system requires a motion threshold of at least one motion value to activate heating/cooling during the time of the out-of-range temperature).
13. The method of claim 10, further comprising configuring the memory device to refrain from transmitting the indication responsive to the temperature sensor detecting the first value is greater than or less than the first threshold and responsive to the motion sensor detecting the second value is not greater than or less than the second threshold. (Figs. 6-8,Col. 3, Ln 20 to Col. 4, Ln 42 describes sensing temperature values in a vehicle via temperature sensor, transmitting it to the CPU, comparing them to a threshold and activating heating or cooling elements where threshold temperatures are crossed).
Regarding Claim 18, Pierce teaches: 18. The system of claim 17, further comprising: a temperature sensor …and configured with a first threshold associated with a temperature characteristic; . (See e.g. system of Figs. 6,7,8, See Col. 3, Ln 60 to Col. 4, Ln 13; Col. 8 Ln 60 to Col. 9, Ln 8 teaching adjustable high and low temperature thresholds to be tracked based on temperature sensor readings”)
and a motion sensor …(See e.g. Motion Sensor in Col. 10, Ln 27-42, also e.g. Occupancy Sensor Fig. 8). and configured to with a second threshold associated with a characteristic of relative motion of another object. (Col. 2 Ln 10-22 describes a system which uses a motion sensor and temperature sensor in a vehicle to determine when to activate heating/cool, which activates only when the sensors indicate an out-of-range temperature and indicate motion. Inherently such a system requires a motion threshold of at least one motion value to activate heating/cooling during the time of the out-of-range temperature).
Pierce does not teach, but Lloyd teaches:
embedded in the memory device(See e.g. sensor system embedded in integrated sensor system with memory in e.g. Fig. 3 e.g. ¶6)
embedded in the memory device (See e.g. sensor system embedded in integrated sensor system with memory in e.g. Fig. 3 e.g. ¶6)
embedded in the memory device (See e.g. sensor system embedded in integrated sensor system with memory in e.g. Fig. 3 e.g. ¶6)
In addition it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Pierce and Lloyd to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application because each is directed to sensor systems and Lloyd recognized “what is needed is a device and system that is able to facilitate efficient communication among the sensors to be used for data acquisition which is also able to provide processing of the received data to meet user needs.” (¶3).
Regarding Claim 20, Pierce teaches:
20. The system of claim 18, further comprising a controller coupled to the memory device, the controller configured to cause the memory device to refrain from transmitting the indication to the wireless device via the sensor output responsive to a determination that a first value detected by the temperature sensor is greater than or less than the first threshold value and responsive to a determination that a second value detected by the motion sensor is greater than or less than the second threshold. . (Col. 2 Ln 10-22 describes a system which uses a motion sensor and temperature sensor in a vehicle to determine when to activate heating/cool, which activates only when the sensors indicate an out-of-range temperature and indicate motion. Inherently such a system requires a motion threshold of at least one motion value to activate heating/cooling during the time of the out-of-range temperature).
Claim 5, 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Pierce” (US Patent 9,809,085) and “Lloyd” (US PG Publication 2014/0260704) and further in view of “Tascillo”(US PG Pub 2018/0347493) applied above and further in view of “DeGrazia” (US PG Publication 2016/0272112).
Regarding Claim 5, Pierce does not teach, but DeGrazia teaches:
5. The method of claim 4, further comprising transmitting, via the sensor output, a signal representing the temperature value to a user interface coupled to the vehicle. (See e.g. Fig. 6 UI electronically linked to vehicle displaying internal temperature received from vehicle sensor)
In addition it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pierce et al with those of DeGrazia as each is directed to safety applications of sensors in vehicles and DeGrazia recognized “the prior art was limited by the device requiring the responsible party to be located within a limited proximity to the vehicle” (¶7).
Regarding Claim 14, Pierce et al do not teach, but DeGrazia teaches:
14. The method of claim 10, further comprising detecting, by the controller, a change in an operation of the other device, wherein the other device is coupled to a vehicle and the change in operation is the vehicle changing from a parked operation to a moving operation. (See e.g. DeGrazia ¶¶49-51 describing the ECMU, with motion and temperature sensors therein, deactivated when the user is driving and activated for detection when the vehicle is parked and the user has left the vehicle).
In addition it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pierce et al with those of DeGrazia as each is directed to safety applications of sensors in vehicles and DeGrazia recognized “the prior art was limited by the device requiring the responsible party to be located within a limited proximity to the vehicle” (¶7).
Regarding Claim 15, Pierce further teaches:
15. The method of claim 14, further comprising: altering, by the controller, the first threshold of the temperature sensor embedded in memory device; (See e.g. system of Figs. 6,7,8, See Col. 3, Ln 60 to Col. 4, Ln 13; Col. 8 Ln 60 to Col. 9, Ln 8 teaching adjustable high and low temperature thresholds to be tracked based on temperature sensor readings”)
and altering, by the controller, the second threshold of the motion sensor embedded in the memory device, (See e.g. system of Figs. 6,7,8, See Col. 3, Ln 60 to Col. 4, Ln 13; Col. 8 Ln 60 to Col. 9, Ln 8 teaching adjustable high and low temperature thresholds to be tracked based on temperature sensor readings”)
and DeGrazia further teaches:
wherein the first threshold and the second Micron 2019-1269.00/US33 BCH Docket No. 1019.0030001threshold are altered based at least in part on the detected change in operation of the vehicle. (See e.g. DeGrazia ¶¶49-51 describing the ECMU, with motion and temperature sensors therein, deactivated when the user is driving and activated for detection when the vehicle is parked and the user has left the vehicle).
In addition it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pierce et al with those of DeGrazia as each is directed to safety applications of sensors in vehicles and DeGrazia recognized “the prior art was limited by the device requiring the responsible party to be located within a limited proximity to the vehicle” (¶7). .
Regarding Claim 16, DeGrazia further teaches:
16. The method of claim 14, further comprising disabling the motion sensor embedded in the memory device based on the detection, by the controller that the vehicle is in motion (See e.g. DeGrazia ¶¶49-51 describing the ECMU, with motion and temperature sensors therein, deactivated when the user is driving and activated for detection when the vehicle is parked and the user has left the vehicle).
Claim 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Pierce” (US Patent 9,809,085) and “Lloyd” (US PG Publication 2014/0260704) and further in view of “Tascillo”(US PG Pub 2018/0347493) as applied above and further in view of “Williams” (US PG Pub 2020/0256112).
Regarding Claim 19, Pierce further teaches:
19. The system of claim 18, further comprising a controller coupled to the memory device, the controller configured to transmit the indication to the wireless communication device via the sensor output responsive to a determination that a Micron 2019-1269.00/US34 BCH Docket No. 1019.0030001first value detected by the temperature sensor is greater than or less than the first threshold value and responsive to a determination that a second value detected by the motion sensor is greater than or less than the second threshold. . (Col. 2 Ln 10-22 describes a system which uses a motion sensor and temperature sensor in a vehicle to determine when to activate heating/cool, which activates only when the sensors indicate an out-of-range temperature and indicate motion. Inherently such a system requires a motion threshold of at least one motion value to activate heating/cooling during the time of the out-of-range temperature).
Pierce et al do not teach, but Williams teaches:
wherein the indication causes the wireless communication device to unlock doors of a vehicle communicatively coupled to the wireless communication device. (Williams ¶42 “In some embodiments, system 200 may also include a power lock controller (not shown in FIG. 2) for controlling power locks of the doors and/or convertible roof of vehicle 100. The doors of vehicle 100 may include a front driver side door, front passenger side door, rear driver side door, a rear passenger side door, sliding doors, hatchback doors, custom doors, etc. In some embodiments, the power lock controller may unlock the associated locks in addition to and/or instead of adjusting windows, so that emergency personnel or others from outside the vehicle, or those inside the vehicle, may open the doors more easily.” See further e.g. ¶52 “This could help attract attention of people in the vicinity of the vehicle so that they may be able to provide aide if needed. In some embodiments, one or more doors may be automatically unlocked as well or instead of activating sound and/or light features.”)
In addition it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Pierce and Williams to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application because each is directed to sensor systems and Williams recognized “there is a need for improved systems and methods to minimize the risk and dangers associated with an increase in internal cabin temperature of a non-moving vehicle.” (¶4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Prior Art cited in the attached PTO-892 form includes prior art relevant to applicant’s disclosure including addition prior art relevant to vehicle sensor data monitoring using thresholds.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MJB
9/28/2026
/MATTHEW J BROPHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2191