DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-21 are pending in this Office Action.
Double Patenting
2. Claims 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,15,16,17,18,19,20 and 21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1,2,3,4,5,7,8,10,2,6,7,8,11,3,4,5,14,15,7 and 8 of Co-pending Application No. 19297013. This is a provisional double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented. The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the referenced co-pending application and would be covered by any patent granted on that co-pending application since the referenced copending application and the instant application are claiming common subject matter, as follows (NOTE: Within the Instant application the matching claim limitation matching the Copending Application are underlined for Clarity of Comparison):
Present Application
Co-pending Application 19/297,013
As per claim 1, An optical assembly, comprising: an optical module configured to receive a light beam, wherein the optical module is configured to produce a plurality of optical signals using the light beam, wherein the optical module comprises a plurality of transmitters, and wherein a portion of the light beam is directed to a corresponding transmitter; and
an optical coupler operably coupled to each of the plurality of transmitters via at least one transmitter optical fiber, wherein the optical coupler is configured to split the portion of the light beam from each transmitter into a plurality of optical signals based on wavelength,
polarization, or wavelength-polarization combinations of each optical signal for transmission to a corresponding receiver via a plurality of receiver optical fibers, wherein each of the plurality of receiver optical fibers is independently routable from the optical coupler to the corresponding receiver, and wherein the number of transmitter optical fibers connecting the plurality of transmitters of the optical module to the optical coupler is less than the number of receiver optical fibers connecting the optical coupler to the corresponding receivers.
As per Claim 1, An optical assembly, comprising: an optical module comprising a plurality of transmitters; at least one transmitter optical fiber; an optical coupler operably coupled to the optical module via the at least one transmitter optical fiber; and a plurality of optical output ports coupleable to corresponding receiver optical fibers; wherein the optical module is configured to receive a light beam, direct portions of the light beam to corresponding transmitters of the plurality of transmitters to produce a plurality of optical signals from the light beam, and combine the plurality of optical signals into the at least one transmitter optical fiber as at least one combined optical signal; wherein the optical coupler is configured to split the at least one combined optical signal into a plurality of optical signals based on a wavelength, a polarization, or wavelength-polarization combinations of each optical signal, and route the plurality of optical signals to corresponding optical output ports for transmission to corresponding receivers via a plurality of receiver optical fibers, and wherein a number of transmitter optical fibers is less than a number of optical output ports.
As per claim 2,The optical assembly of claim 1,
wherein the optical module further comprises a power splitter operably coupled to the plurality of transmitters, wherein the power splitter is configured to split the light beam into multiple portions such that each portion of the light beam from the power splitter is directed to the corresponding transmitter.
As per claim 2, The optical assembly of claim 1, wherein the optical module further comprises a power splitter operably coupled to the plurality of transmitters, wherein the power splitter is configured to split the light beam into multiple portions such that each portion of the light beam from the power splitter is directed to the corresponding transmitter.
As per claim 3,The optical assembly of claim 1, wherein a ratio of receiver optical fibers to transmitter optical fibers is 16:1.
As per claim 3, The optical assembly of claim 1, wherein a ratio of optical output ports to transmitter optical fibers is 16:1.
As per claim 4,The optical assembly of claim 1,wherein the optical coupler comprises a demultiplexer (DMUX).
As per claim 4,The optical assembly of claim 1, wherein the optical coupler comprises a demultiplexer (DMUX).
As per claim 5,The optical assembly of claim 1,wherein the optical module is a co-packaged optics (CPO) module.
As per claim 5,The optical assembly of claim 1, wherein the optical module is a co-packaged optics (CPO) module.
As per claim 6,The optical assembly of claim 1, wherein the optical module further comprises a sense line operably coupling a light source and the optical coupler, wherein the sense line is configured to detect characteristics of the portions of the light beam received at the optical coupler such that a configuration of the light source is adjusted based on the characteristics detected.
As per claim 7,The optical assembly of claim 1, wherein the optical module further comprises a sense line operably coupling a light source and the optical coupler, wherein the sense line is configured to detect characteristics of light received at the optical coupler such that a configuration of the light source is adjusted based on the characteristics detected.
As per claim 7,The optical assembly of claim 1, wherein the optical module further comprises a sensor configured to detect characteristics of the portions of the light beam at the optical module and a sense line operably coupled to the sensor and a light source, wherein the sense line is configured to relay an indication of the detected characteristics to the light source such that a configuration of the light source is adjusted based on the detected characteristics.
As per claim 8, The optical assembly of claim 1, wherein the optical module further comprises a sensor configured to detect characteristics of the portions of the light beam at the optical module and a sense line operably coupled to the sensor and a light source, wherein the sense line is configured to relay an indication of the detected characteristics to the light source such that a configuration of the light source is adjusted based on the detected characteristics.
As per claim 8, A system comprising: a light source configured to generate a light beam comprising a plurality of wavelengths, a plurality of polarizations, or a plurality of wavelength-polarization combinations, an optical module operably coupled to the light source, wherein the optical module is configured to produce a plurality of optical signals using the light beam, wherein the optical module comprises a plurality of transmitters, wherein a portion of the light beam is directed to a corresponding transmitter; and
an optical coupler operably coupled to each of the plurality of transmitters via at least one transmitter optical fiber,
wherein the optical coupler is configured to split the portion of the light beam from each transmitter into a plurality of optical signals based on wavelength, polarization, or wavelength-polarization combinations of each optical signal for transmission to a corresponding receiver via a plurality of receiver optical fibers,
wherein each of the plurality of receiver optical fibers is independently routable from the optical coupler to the corresponding receiver, and wherein the number of transmitter optical fibers connecting the plurality of transmitters of the optical module to the optical coupler is less than the number of receiver optical fibers connecting the optical coupler to the corresponding receivers.
As per claim 10, A system comprising: a light source configured to generate a light beam comprising a plurality of different wavelengths, polarizations, and/or wavelength-polarization combinations; and an optical assembly comprising: an optical module comprising a plurality of transmitters; at least one transmitter optical fiber; an optical coupler operably coupled to the optical module via the at least one transmitter optical fiber; and a plurality of optical output ports coupleable to corresponding receiver optical fibers; wherein the optical module is configured to receive a light beam, direct portions of the light beam to corresponding transmitters of the plurality of transmitters to produce a plurality of optical signals from the light beam, and combine the plurality of optical signals into the at least one transmitter optical fiber as at least one combined optical signal; wherein the optical coupler is configured to split the at least one combined optical signal into a plurality of optical signals based on a wavelength, a polarization, or wavelength-polarization combinations of each optical signal, and route the plurality of optical signals to corresponding optical output ports for transmission to corresponding receivers via a plurality of receiver optical fibers, and wherein a number of transmitter optical fibers is less than a number of optical output ports, wherein the optical module of the optical assembly comprises, or is operably coupled to, the light source.
As per claim 9, The system of claim 8,
wherein the optical module further comprises a power splitter operably coupled to the plurality of transmitters, wherein the power splitter is configured to split the light beam into multiple portions such that each portion of the light beam from the power splitter is directed to the corresponding transmitter.
As per claim 2, The optical assembly of claim 1, wherein the optical module further comprises a power splitter operably coupled to the plurality of transmitters, wherein the power splitter is configured to split the light beam into multiple portions such that each portion of the light beam from the power splitter is directed to the corresponding transmitter.
As per claim 10,The system of claim 8,
further comprising an optical circuit switch (OCS) operably coupled between the plurality of transmitters of the optical module and the optical coupler.
As per claim 6, The optical assembly of claim 1, further comprising an optical circuit switch (OCS) operably coupled between the plurality of transmitters of the optical module and the optical coupler.
As per claim 11,The system of claim 8,
wherein the system further comprises a sensor configured to detect characteristics of the portions of the light beam received at the optical coupler and a sense line operably coupled to the sensor and the light source, wherein the sense line is configured to relay an indication of the detected characteristics to the light source such that a configuration of the light source is adjusted based on the detected characteristics.
As per claim 7,The optical assembly of claim 1, wherein the optical module further comprises a sense line operably coupling a light source and the optical coupler, wherein the sense line is configured to detect characteristics of light received at the optical coupler such that a configuration of the light source is adjusted based on the characteristics detected.
As per claim 12, The system of claim 8, wherein the system further comprises a sensor configured to detect characteristics of the portions of the light beam at the optical module and a sense line operably coupled to the sensor and the light source, wherein the sense line is configured to relay an indication of the detected characteristics to the light source such that a configuration of the light source is adjusted based on the detected characteristics.
As per claim 8, The optical assembly of claim 1, wherein the optical module further comprises a sensor configured to detect characteristics of the portions of the light beam at the optical module and a sense line operably coupled to the sensor and a light source, wherein the sense line is configured to relay an indication of the detected characteristics to the light source such that a configuration of the light source is adjusted based on the detected characteristics.
As per claim 13, The system of claim 8, wherein the light source comprises an array of lasers, wherein each laser is configured to generate a respective light beam comprising at least one wavelength.
As per claim 11, The system of claim 10, wherein the light source comprises an array of lasers, wherein each laser is configured to generate a respective light beam comprising at least one wavelength.
As per claim 15, The system of claim 8,
wherein a ratio of receiver optical fibers to transmitter optical fibers is 16:1.
As per claim 3, The optical assembly of claim 1, wherein a ratio of optical output ports to transmitter optical fibers is 16:1.
As per claim 16,The system of claim 8,
wherein the optical coupler comprises a demultiplexer (DMUX).
As per claim 4,The optical assembly of claim 1, wherein the optical coupler comprises a demultiplexer (DMUX).
As per claim 17, The system of claim 8,
wherein the optical module is a co-packaged optics (CPO) module.
As per claim 5,The optical assembly of claim 1, wherein the optical module is a co-packaged optics (CPO) module.
As per claim 18, The system of claim 8,
wherein the system is configured to operably interact with at least one of: a system for performing simulation operations; a system for performing simulation operations to test or validate autonomous machine applications; a system for performing digital twin operations; a system for performing light transport simulation; a system for rendering graphical output; a system for performing deep learning operations; a system for performing generative AI operations using a large language model (LLM); a system implemented using an edge device; a system for generating or presenting virtual reality (VR) content; a system for generating or presenting augmented reality (AR) content; a system for generating or presenting mixed reality (MR) content; a system incorporating one or more Virtual Machines (VMs); a system implemented at least partially in a data center; a system for performing hardware testing using simulation; a system for performing generative operations using a language model (LM); a system for synthetic data generation; a collaborative content creation platform for 3D assets; or a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources.
14. The system of claim 10, wherein the system is configured to operably interact with at least one of: a system for performing simulation operations; a system for performing simulation operations to test or validate autonomous machine applications; a system for performing digital twin operations; a system for performing light transport simulation; a system for rendering graphical output; a system for performing deep learning operations; a system for performing generative AI operations using a large language model (LLM); a system implemented using an edge device; a system for generating or presenting virtual reality (VR) content; a system for generating or presenting augmented reality (AR) content; a system for generating or presenting mixed reality (MR) content; a system incorporating one or more Virtual Machines (VMs); a system implemented at least partially in a data center; a system for performing hardware testing using simulation; a system for performing generative operations using a language model (LM); a system for synthetic data generation; a collaborative content creation platform for 3D assets; or a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources.
As per claim 19, A method comprising: receiving a light beam at an optical module, wherein the optical module is configured to produce a plurality of optical signals using the light beam; directing a portion of the light beam to a plurality of transmitters;
transmitting the portion of the light beam from the plurality of transmitters to an optical coupler via at least one transmitter optical fiber; splitting, at the optical coupler,
the portion of the light beam from each transmitter into a plurality of optical signals based on wavelength, polarization, or wavelength-polarization combinations of each optical signal; and
transmitting the plurality of optical signals to a plurality of receivers via a plurality of receiver optical fibers, wherein each of the plurality of receiver optical fibers is independently routable from the optical coupler to a corresponding receiver, and wherein the number of transmitter optical fibers connecting the transmitter of the optical module to the optical coupler is less than the number of receiver optical fibers connecting the optical coupler to the corresponding receivers.
As per claim 15, A method comprising: receiving a light beam at an optical module of an optical assembly; directing portions of the light beam to a plurality of corresponding transmitters of the optical module to produce a plurality of optical signals; combining the plurality of optical signals into at least one transmitter optical fiber as at least one combined optical signal; transmitting the at least one combined optical signal to an optical coupler via the at least one transmitter optical fiber; splitting, at the optical coupler, the at least one combined optical signal into a plurality of optical signals based on wavelength, polarization, or wavelength-polarization combinations of each optical signal; and routing the plurality of optical signals to corresponding optical output ports of the optical assembly for transmission to corresponding receivers via a plurality of receiver optical fibers; wherein a number of transmitter optical fibers is less than a number of optical output ports.
As per claim 20,The method of claim 19,
further comprising detecting characteristics of the portions of the light beam received at the optical coupler and triggering adjustment of a configuration of a light source based on the characteristics detected.
As per claim 7,The optical assembly of claim 1, wherein the optical module further comprises a sense line operably coupling a light source and the optical coupler, wherein the sense line is configured to detect characteristics of light received at the optical coupler such that a configuration of the light source is adjusted based on the characteristics detected.
As per claim 21, The method of claim 19,
further comprising detecting characteristics of the light beam received at the optical module and triggering adjustment of a configuration of a light source based on the characteristics detected.
As per claim 8, The optical assembly of claim 1, wherein the optical module further comprises a sensor configured to detect characteristics of the portions of the light beam at the optical module and a sense line operably coupled to the sensor and a light source, wherein the sense line is configured to relay an indication of the detected characteristics to the light source such that a configuration of the light source is adjusted based on the detected characteristics.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,15,16,17,18,19,20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being patentable over Di Mola et al. ( USPUB 20220052759) in view of Wei Shi et al. ( NPL Doc : " Scaling capacity of fiber-optic transmission systems via silicon photonics," 22nd October 2020, Nanophotonics 2020; 9(16),Pages 4629-4654 ) in further view of Winzer et al. ( USPUB 20220244465).
As per claim 1,Di Mola et al. teaches An optical assembly ( FIG. 1 – transceiver 100 and Paragraph [0015]) , comprising: an optical module configured to receive a light beam ( Paragraph [0015]- “…modulate light from an external light source 117…”) , wherein the optical module is configured to produce a plurality of optical signals using the light beam ( Paragraphs [0018-0019]- “…[0018] A data transmitter 105 of the optical transceiver 100 can receive the electrical signals from hardware device 150, which are then converted into optical signals via one or more transmitter modules in the PIC 110 (e.g., an optical modulator, waveguides, a modulator driver). The PIC 110 can then output the optical signals via optical links,…” ) , wherein the optical module comprises a plurality of transmitters (Plurality of transmitter taught within Paragraphs [0030-0031]- “…. The transceivers 350 are PAM4 transceivers of different types including a PAM4-SR transceiver (“TRxO”) transmitting/receiving PAM4 data over 100 meters using single or multiple fibers, PAM4-FR transceiver (“TRx1”) transmitting/receiving PAM4 data over 2 kilometers using single or multiple fibers, PAM4-DR transceivers (“TRx2”) transmitting/receiving PAM4 data over 500 meters using single or multiple fibers, and PAM4-LR transceiver (“TRx3”) transmitting/receiving PAM4 data over 10 kilometers. Although in the example of FIG. 3 (and FIG. 5), the PAM CPO module 330 comprises four transceivers, it is appreciated that the PAM CPO module 330 can include a different number of transceivers (e.g., 1 PAM transceiver, 20 PAM transceivers), or transmitters without receivers, ….”) , and wherein a portion of the light beam is directed to a corresponding transmitter ( Paragraphs [0032-0033]) ; and
an optical coupler operably coupled to each of the plurality of transmitters via at least one transmitter optical fiber ( Paragraphs [0033-0034]- “…specific CPO modules using few-mode couplers, including spatial mode couplers 315 and 325, and a polarization maintaining few mode fiber 320 (PM-FMF), which support different spatial modes of light. Generally, few mode components (e.g., fibers, couplers) transmit multiple mode channels (multiple wavelength channels can be used to transmit light in each mode) in a single component (e.g., fiber, coupler), where each mode channel takes an independent spatial pathway (e.g., different modes)…”) , wherein the optical coupler is configured to split the portion of the light beam from each transmitter into a plurality of optical signals based on wavelength ( Paragraph [0014]- “…co-packaged architecture comprises a plurality of optical transmitters that can transmit in different modulation formats, such as m-ary pulse amplitude modulation (M-PAM), or m-ary quadrature amplitude modulation (M-QAM). The different channels or beams of light from the different light sources that are destined to different transceiver modules can be combined and separated using one or more spatial mode couplers that convert each channel of light into a different higher order optical mode and couple the channels in the different higher order modes on a fiber that transmits multiple optical modes (e.g., few mode fiber). The optical sourceless co-packaged architecture is coupled to the fiber and receives the different channels and separates them based on their different spatial modes using another mode coupler that operates as a mode-based splitter that also converts each channel of light into a lower order mode (e.g., fundamental mode, Gaussian mode). The separated channels are then input to different transmitter modules for modulation and transfer to various destinations (e.g., remote receivers, internal receivers),…”) ,
Di Mola et al. does not explicitly teach polarization, or wavelength-polarization combinations of each optical signal for transmission to a corresponding receiver via a plurality of receiver optical fibers, wherein each of the plurality of receiver optical fibers is independently routable from the optical coupler to the corresponding receiver, and wherein the number of transmitter optical fibers connecting the plurality of transmitters of the optical module to the optical coupler is less than the number of receiver optical fibers connecting the optical coupler to the corresponding receivers.
However , within analogous art, Wei Shi et al. teaches polarization, or wavelength-polarization combinations of each optical signal for transmission to a corresponding receiver via a plurality of receiver optical fibers ( Page 4630- Col. 2- “…Polarization-division multiplexing: Exploriting two orthogonal states of polarization doubles the transmission capacity. Compact, broadband, and high performance polarization splitters/combiners and rotators can be readily implemented on the submicrometer silicon platform and monolithically integrated with coherent transceivers for polarization division multiplexing (PDM), which has been a remarkable advantage compared to InP….” AND Page 4632-Figure 3 – “…the local oscillators (at the receiver side). It can be either a high power optical frequency comb or an array of multiplexed single-mode lasers. Its power (including all the wavelengths) is split, equally in the ideal case, into M spatial paths. Each transceiver array consists of N × IQ modulators (IQ-Mod) and coherent receivers (Co-RXs). Pol-Mode (De)MUX, polarization mode (de)multiplexer.…”) , wherein each of the plurality of receiver optical fibers is independently routable from the optical coupler to the corresponding receiver ( Page 4632-Col. 2 – “…A diversity of passive components have been demonstrated for signals routing, filtering, mixing, (Error! Hyperlink reference not valid.de)multiplexing, and polarization control [21, 46, 47] (Section 4). Efficient optical inputs/outputs for fiber coupling are available in the forms of grating couplers and edge couplers [48, 49]. The grating couplers provide a convenient means of high-tolerance vertical surface…”)) ,
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Wei Shi et al. within the modified teaching of the External laser enabled co-packaged optics architectures mentioned by Di Mola et al. because the Data processing systems including optical communication modules mentioned Wei Shi et al. provides a system and method for implementing scalability of data communication within photonic integrated system module.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Data processing systems including optical communication modules mentioned Wei Shi et al. within the modified teaching of the External laser enabled co-packaged optics architectures mentioned by Di Mola et al. for implementation of a system and method for scalability of data communication within photonic integrated system module.
Combination of Di Mola et al. and Wei Shi et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the number of transmitter optical fibers connecting the plurality of transmitters of the optical module to the optical coupler is less than the number of receiver optical fibers connecting the optical coupler to the corresponding receivers.
However ,within analogous art, Winzer et al. teaches wherein the number of transmitter optical fibers connecting the plurality of transmitters of the optical module to the optical coupler is less than the number of receiver optical fibers connecting the optical coupler to the corresponding receivers ( The relationship between the numbers of optical fiber connection between the transmitters and receivers taught within Paragraphs [0634]- “…The port mappings of the optical fiber connectors shown in FIGS. 80D, 80E, 82D, and 82E are merely examples. Each optical fiber connector can include a greater number or a smaller number of transmitter fiber ports, a greater number or a smaller number of receiver fiber ports, and a greater number or a smaller number of optical power supply fiber ports, as compared to those shown in FIGS. 80D, 80E, 82D, and 82E. The arrangement of the relative positions of the transmitter, receiver, and optical power supply fiber ports can also be different from those shown in FIGS. 80D, 80E, 82D, and 82E….”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Winzer et al. within the combined modified teaching of the External laser enabled co-packaged optics architectures mentioned by Di Mola et al. and the Data processing systems including optical communication modules mentioned Wei Shi et al. because the Data processing systems including optical communication modules mentioned by Winzer et al. provides a system and method for implementing data processing optical module within integrated photonics communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Data processing systems including optical communication modules mentioned by Winzer et al. within the combined modified teaching of the External laser enabled co-packaged optics architectures mentioned by Di Mola et al. and the Data processing systems including optical communication modules mentioned Wei Shi et al. for implementation of a system and method for data processing optical module within integrated photonics communication system.
As per claim 2,Combination of Di Mola et al. and Wei Shi et al. and Winzer et al. teaches claim 1,
Combination of Di Mola et al. and Winzer et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the optical module further comprises a power splitter operably coupled to the plurality of transmitters, wherein the power splitter is configured to split the light beam into multiple portions such that each portion of the light beam from the power splitter is directed to the corresponding transmitter.
Within analogous art , Wei Shi et al. teaches wherein the optical module further comprises a power splitter operably coupled to the plurality of transmitters, wherein the power splitter is configured to split the light beam into multiple portions such that each portion of the light beam from the power splitter is directed to the corresponding transmitter ( Page 4632- Figure 3 - “…It can be either a high power optical frequency comb or an array of multiplexed single-mode lasers. Its power (including all the wavelengths) is split, equally in the ideal case, into M spatial paths. Each transceiver array consists of N × IQ modulators (IQ-Mod) and coherent receivers (Co- RXs). Pol-Mode (De)MUX, polarization mode (de)multiplexer….”) .
As per claim 3, Combination of Di Mola et al. and Wei Shi et al. and Winzer et al. teaches claim 1,
Combination of Di Mola et al. and Winzer et al. does not explicitly teach wherein a ratio of receiver optical fibers to transmitter optical fibers is 16:1.
Within analogous art , Wei Shi et al. teaches wherein a ratio of receiver optical fibers to transmitter optical fibers is 16:1 ( Page 4653- Figure 25- “…Schematic of a 16-channel transceiver with a capacity of 896 Gb/s through 37 cores of a 61-channel fiber array: one core forCWinput, 32 for transmitter outputs and receiver inputs, 2 for reference test, and 2 for alignment [267]. CW, continuous wave; SDM, space-division multiplexing; MCF, multicore fiber….”) .
As per claim 4, Combination of Di Mola et al. and Wei Shi et al. and Winzer et al. teaches claim 1,
Di Mola et al. teaches wherein the optical coupler comprises a demultiplexer (DMUX) ( Paragraph [0030]- “…The PAM CPO module 330 can receive the light generated by one or more of the first set of lasers in the light source subassembly 305 and input the light into one or more PAM4 transceiver 350 using MUX 345A (e.g., a polarization maintaining multiplexer in demultiplexer/splitting mode). …” AND Paragraph [0034]- “The spatially multiplexed channels may be received using a spatial mode demultiplexer, which separates the channels by their different spatial modes for further routing (e.g., to different receivers for each channel, etc.)….”) .
As per claim 5, Combination of Di Mola et al. and Wei Shi et al. and Winzer et al. teaches claim 1,
Di Mola et al. teaches wherein the optical module is a co-packaged optics (CPO) module ( Paragraph [0030]- “… the PAM CPO module 330 comprises four transceivers, it is appreciated that the PAM CPO module 330 can include a different number of transceivers (e.g., 1 PAM transceiver, 20 PAM transceivers), or transmitters without receivers, ….”) .
As per claim 8, Di Mola et al. teaches A system( FIG. 1 – transceiver 100 and Paragraph [0015]) comprising: a light source configured to generate a light beam comprising a plurality of wavelengths ( Paragraph [0028]- “ The first set of lasers 0, 1, 2, 3, and X can be configured to generate multiple wavelengths of light, λ1-λ4, at the same or different powers, for use by a transmitter module,…”) , a plurality of polarizations, or a plurality of wavelength-polarization combinations, an optical module operably coupled to the light source ( Paragraph [0042]- “… The laser subassembly 640 can include multiple lasers, which are input via a polarization maintaining single mode fiber 645 (e.g., carrying multiple wavelengths of light) that is coupled into the sourceless co-packaged optical switch 605 by the optical interface 655 (e.g., splitter, demultiplexer). …”) , wherein the optical module is configured to produce a plurality of optical signals using the light beam ( Paragraph [0069]- “…The method of any of examples 1-17, wherein the plurality of beams are generated by one or more external laser assemblies….”) , wherein the optical module comprises a plurality of transmitters ( Paragraph [0052]- “… the plurality of co-packaged optics modules including at least one or more direct detection transceivers or coherent transceivers…”) , wherein a portion of the light beam is directed to a corresponding transmitter ( Paragraphs [0032-0033]) ; wherein the optical coupler is configured to split the portion of the light beam from each transmitter into a plurality of optical signals based on wavelength ( Paragraphs [0033-0034]- “…specific CPO modules using few-mode couplers, including spatial mode couplers 315 and 325, and a polarization maintaining few mode fiber 320 (PM-FMF), which support different spatial modes of light. Generally, few mode components (e.g., fibers, couplers) transmit multiple mode channels (multiple wavelength channels can be used to transmit light in each mode) in a single component (e.g., fiber, coupler), where each mode channel takes an independent spatial pathway (e.g., different modes)…”) , and an optical coupler operably coupled to each of the plurality of transmitters via at least one transmitter optical fiber ( Paragraphs [0046-0047]- “…operation 715, the multimode light propagates on a few mode fiber (e.g., FMF 320, FMF 665) and is input to the chip via an optical connector (e.g., FMF coupler 670, a lens, a grating). Additionally, at operation 715, multiwavelength light on a single fiber is input into the optical sourceless co-packaged chip, according to some example embodiments….”) , wherein the optical coupler is configured to split the portion of the light beam from each transmitter into a plurality of optical signals based on wavelength ( Paragraph [0014]- “…co-packaged architecture comprises a plurality of optical transmitters that can transmit in different modulation formats, such as m-ary pulse amplitude modulation (M-PAM), or m-ary quadrature amplitude modulation (M-QAM). The different channels or beams of light from the different light sources that are destined to different transceiver modules can be combined and separated using one or more spatial mode couplers that convert each channel of light into a different higher order optical mode and couple the channels in the different higher order modes on a fiber that transmits multiple optical modes (e.g., few mode fiber). The optical sourceless co-packaged architecture is coupled to the fiber and receives the different channels and separates them based on their different spatial modes using another mode coupler that operates as a mode-based splitter that also converts each channel of light into a lower order mode (e.g., fundamental mode, Gaussian mode). The separated channels are then input to different transmitter modules for modulation and transfer to various destinations (e.g., remote receivers, internal receivers),…”) ,
Di Mola et al. does not explicitly teach polarization, or wavelength-polarization combinations of each optical signal for transmission to a corresponding receiver via a plurality of receiver optical fibers, wherein each of the plurality of receiver optical fibers is independently routable from the optical coupler to the corresponding receiver, and wherein the number of transmitter optical fibers connecting the plurality of transmitters of the optical module to the optical coupler is less than the number of receiver optical fibers connecting the optical coupler to the corresponding receivers.
However , within analogous art, Wei Shi et al. teaches polarization, or wavelength-polarization combinations of each optical signal for transmission to a corresponding receiver via a plurality of receiver optical fibers ( Page 4630- Col. 2- “…Polarization-division multiplexing: Exploriting two orthogonal states of polarization doubles the transmission capacity. Compact, broadband, and high performance polarization splitters/combiners and rotators can be readily implemented on the submicrometer silicon platform and monolithically integrated with coherent transceivers for polarization division multiplexing (PDM), which has been a remarkable advantage compared to InP….” AND Page 4632-Figure 3 – “…the local oscillators (at the receiver side). It can be either a high power optical frequency comb or an array of multiplexed single-mode lasers. Its power (including all the wavelengths) is split, equally in the ideal case, into M spatial paths. Each transceiver array consists of N × IQ modulators (IQ-Mod) and coherent receivers (Co-RXs). Pol-Mode (De)MUX, polarization mode (de)multiplexer.…”) , wherein each of the plurality of receiver optical fibers is independently routable from the optical coupler to the corresponding receiver ( Page 4632-Col. 2 – “…A diversity of passive components have been demonstrated for signals routing, filtering, mixing, (de)multiplexing, and polarization control [21, 46, 47] (Section 4). Efficient optical inputs/outputs for fiber coupling are available in the forms of grating couplers and edge couplers [48, 49]. The grating couplers provide a convenient means of high-tolerance vertical surface…”)) ,
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Wei Shi et al. within the modified teaching of the External laser enabled co-packaged optics architectures mentioned by Di Mola et al. because the Data processing systems including optical communication modules mentioned Wei Shi et al. provides a system and method for implementing scalability of data communication within photonic integrated system module.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Data processing systems including optical communication modules mentioned Wei Shi et al. within the modified teaching of the External laser enabled co-packaged optics architectures mentioned by Di Mola et al. for implementation of a system and method for scalability of data communication within photonic integrated system module.
Combination of Di Mola et al. and Wei Shi et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the number of transmitter optical fibers connecting the plurality of transmitters of the optical module to the optical coupler is less than the number of receiver optical fibers connecting the optical coupler to the corresponding receivers.
However ,within analogous art, Winzer et al. teaches wherein the number of transmitter optical fibers connecting the plurality of transmitters of the optical module to the optical coupler is less than the number of receiver optical fibers connecting the optical coupler to the corresponding receivers( The relationship between the numbers of optical fiber connection between the transmitters and receivers taught within Paragraphs [0634]- “…The port mappings of the optical fiber connectors shown in FIGS. 80D, 80E, 82D, and 82E are merely examples. Each optical fiber connector can include a greater number or a smaller number of transmitter fiber ports, a greater number or a smaller number of receiver fiber ports, and a greater number or a smaller number of optical power supply fiber ports, as compared to those shown in FIGS. 80D, 80E, 82D, and 82E. The arrangement of the relative positions of the transmitter, receiver, and optical power supply fiber ports can also be different from those shown in FIGS. 80D, 80E, 82D, and 82E….”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Winzer et al. within the combined modified teaching of the External laser enabled co-packaged optics architectures mentioned by Di Mola et al. and the Data processing systems including optical communication modules mentioned Wei Shi et al. because the Data processing systems including optical communication modules mentioned by Winzer et al. provides a system and method for implementing data processing optical module within integrated photonics communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Data processing systems including optical communication modules mentioned by Winzer et al. within the combined modified teaching of the External laser enabled co-packaged optics architectures mentioned by Di Mola et al. and the Data processing systems including optical communication modules mentioned Wei Shi et al. for implementation of a system and method for data processing optical module within integrated photonics communication system.
As per claim 9, Combination of Di Mola et al. and Wei Shi et al. and Winzer et al. teaches claim 8,
Combination of Di Mola et al. and Winzer et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the optical module further comprises a power splitter operably coupled to the plurality of transmitters, wherein the power splitter is configured to split the light beam into multiple portions such that each portion of the light beam from the power splitter is directed to the corresponding transmitter.
Within analogous art , Wei Shi et al. teaches wherein the optical module further comprises a power splitter operably coupled to the plurality of transmitters, wherein the power splitter is configured to split the light beam into multiple portions such that each portion of the light beam from the power splitter is directed to the corresponding transmitter ( Page 4632- Figure 3 - “…It can be either a high power optical frequency comb or an array of multiplexed single-mode lasers. Its power (including all the wavelengths) is split, equally in the ideal case, into M spatial paths. Each transceiver array consists of N × IQ modulators (IQ-Mod) and coherent receivers (Co- RXs). Pol-Mode (De)MUX, polarization mode (de)multiplexer….”) .
As per claim 10, Combination of Di Mola et al. and Wei Shi et al. and Winzer et al. teaches claim 8,
Di Mola et al. teaches further comprising an optical circuit switch (OCS) operably coupled between the plurality of transmitters of the optical module and the optical coupler ( Paragraph [0041-0042]- “… FIG. 6 shows an optical sourceless co-packaged architecture 600, according to some example embodiments. In the example illustrated, the sourceless co-packaged optical switch 605 includes an electrical circuit, e.g., ASIC 610, that provides electrical interconnections for optical components, including, for example a first set of optical transceivers 615 and a second set of transceivers 620. …”) .
As per claim 11, Combination of Di Mola et al. and Wei Shi et al. and Winzer et al. teaches claim 8,
Di Mola et al. teaches wherein the optical coupler comprises a demultiplexer (DMUX) ( Paragraph [0030]- “…The PAM CPO module 330 can receive the light generated by one or more of the first set of lasers in the light source subassembly 305 and input the light into one or more PAM4 transceiver 350 using MUX 345A (e.g., a polarization maintaining multiplexer in demultiplexer/splitting mode). …” AND Paragraph [0034]- “The spatially multiplexed channels may be received using a spatial mode demultiplexer, which separates the channels by their different spatial modes for further routing (e.g., to different receivers for each channel, etc.)….”) .
As per claim 12, Combination of Di Mola et al. and Wei Shi et al. and Winzer et al. teaches claim 8,
Di Mola et al. teaches wherein the optical module is a co-packaged optics (CPO) module ( Paragraph [0030]- “… the PAM CPO module 330 comprises four transceivers, it is appreciated that the PAM CPO module 330 can include a different number of transceivers (e.g., 1 PAM transceiver, 20 PAM transceivers), or transmitters without receivers, ….”) .
As per claim 13, Combination of Di Mola et al. and Wei Shi et al. and Winzer et al. teaches claim 8,
Di Mola et al. teaches wherein the light source comprises an array of lasers, wherein each laser is configured to generate a respective light beam comprising at least one wavelength ( Paragraph [0042]- “… laser subassembly 635 and laser subassembly 640. The laser subassembly 640 can include multiple lasers, which are input via a polarization maintaining single mode fiber 645 (e.g., carrying multiple wavelengths of light)…”) .
As per claim 14, Combination of Di Mola et al. and Wei Shi et al. and Winzer et al. teaches claim 8,
Di Mola et al. teaches wherein the light source is external to the optical module ( Paragraph [0014]- “…optical sourceless co-packaged architecture can receive light from one or more light banks, or laser sub-assemblies that are external to the optical sourceless co-packaged architecture and can be changed as required per implementation…”) .
As per claim 15, Combination of Di Mola et al. and Wei Shi et al. and Winzer et al. teaches claim 8,
Combination of Di Mola et al. and Winzer et al. does not explicitly teach wherein a ratio of receiver optical fibers to transmitter optical fibers is 16:1.
Within analogous art , Wei Shi et al. teaches wherein a ratio of receiver optical fibers to transmitter optical fibers is 16:1 ( Page 4653- Figure 25- “…Schematic of a 16-channel transceiver with a capacity of 896 Gb/s through 37 cores of a 61-channel fiber array: one core forCWinput, 32 for transmitter outputs and receiver inputs, 2 for reference test, and 2 for alignment [267]. CW, continuous wave; SDM, space-division multiplexing; MCF, multicore fiber….”) .
As per claim 16, Combination of Di Mola et al. and Wei Shi et al. and Winzer et al. teaches claim 8,
Di Mola et al. teaches wherein the optical coupler comprises a demultiplexer (DMUX) ( Paragraph [0030]- “…The PAM CPO module 330 can receive the light generated by one or more of the first set of lasers in the light source subassembly 305 and input the light into one or more PAM4 transceiver 350 using MUX 345A (e.g., a polarization maintaining multiplexer in demultiplexer/splitting mode). …” AND Paragraph [0034]- “The spatially multiplexed channels may be received using a spatial mode demultiplexer, which separates the channels by their different spatial modes for further routing (e.g., to different receivers for each channel, etc.)….”) .
As per claim 17, Combination of Di Mola et al. and Wei Shi et al. and Winzer et al. teaches claim 8,
Di Mola et al. teaches wherein the optical module is a co-packaged optics (CPO) module ( Paragraph [0030]- “… the PAM CPO module 330 comprises four transceivers, it is appreciated that the PAM CPO module 330 can include a different number of transceivers (e.g., 1 PAM transceiver, 20 PAM transceivers), or transmitters without receivers, ….”) .
As per claim 19, Di Mola et al. teaches A method comprising: receiving a light beam at an optical module( Paragraph [0015]- “…modulate light from an external light source 117…”), wherein the optical module is configured to produce a plurality of optical signals using the light beam ( Paragraph [0069]- “…The method of any of examples 1-17, wherein the plurality of beams are generated by one or more external laser assemblies….”); directing a portion of the light beam to a plurality of transmitters ( Paragraph [0052]- “… the plurality of co-packaged optics modules including at least one or more direct detection transceivers or coherent transceivers…”); transmitting the portion of the light beam from the plurality of transmitters to an optical coupler via at least one transmitter optical fiber( Paragraphs [0046-0047]- “…operation 715, the multimode light propagates on a few mode fiber (e.g., FMF 320, FMF 665) and is input to the chip via an optical connector (e.g., FMF coupler 670, a lens, a grating). Additionally, at operation 715, multiwavelength light on a single fiber is input into the optical sourceless co-packaged chip, according to some example embodiments….”); splitting, at the optical coupler, the portion of the light beam from each transmitter into a plurality of optical signals based on wavelength ( Paragraph [0014]- “…co-packaged architecture comprises a plurality of optical transmitters that can transmit in different modulation formats, such as m-ary pulse amplitude modulation (M-PAM), or m-ary quadrature amplitude modulation (M-QAM). The different channels or beams of light from the different light sources that are destined to different transceiver modules can be combined and separated using one or more spatial mode couplers that convert each channel of light into a different higher order optical mode and couple the channels in the different higher order modes on a fiber that transmits multiple optical modes (e.g., few mode fiber). The optical sourceless co-packaged architecture is coupled to the fiber and receives the different channels and separates them based on their different spatial modes using another mode coupler that operates as a mode-based splitter that also converts each channel of light into a lower order mode (e.g., fundamental mode, Gaussian mode). The separated channels are then input to different transmitter modules for modulation and transfer to various destinations (e.g., remote receivers, internal receivers),…”) ,
Di Mola et al. does not explicitly teach polarization, or wavelength-polarization combinations of each optical signal; and transmitting the plurality of optical signals to a plurality of receivers via a plurality of receiver optical fibers, wherein each of the plurality of receiver optical fibers is independently routable from the optical coupler to a corresponding receiver, and wherein the number of transmitter optical fibers connecting the transmitter of the optical module to the optical coupler is less than the number of receiver optical fibers connecting the optical coupler to the corresponding receivers.
However , within analogous art, Wei Shi et al. teaches polarization, or wavelength-polarization combinations of each optical signal; and transmitting the plurality of optical signals to a plurality of receivers via a plurality of receiver optical fibers ( Page 4630- Col. 2- “…Polarization-division multiplexing: Exploriting two orthogonal states of polarization doubles the transmission capacity. Compact, broadband, and high performance polarization splitters/combiners and rotators can be readily implemented on the submicrometer silicon platform and monolithically integrated with coherent transceivers for polarization division multiplexing (PDM), which has been a remarkable advantage compared to InP….” AND Page 4632-Figure 3 – “…the local oscillators (at the receiver side). It can be either a high power optical frequency comb or an array of multiplexed single-mode lasers. Its power (including all the wavelengths) is split, equally in the ideal case, into M spatial paths. Each transceiver array consists of N × IQ modulators (IQ-Mod) and coherent receivers (Co-RXs). Pol-Mode (De)MUX, polarization mode (de)multiplexer.…”) , wherein each of the plurality of receiver optical fibers is independently routable from the optical coupler to a corresponding receiver ( Page 4632-Col. 2 – “…A diversity of passive components have been demonstrated for signals routing, filtering, mixing, (de)multiplexing, and polarization control [21, 46, 47] (Section 4). Efficient optical inputs/outputs for fiber coupling are available in the forms of grating couplers and edge couplers [48, 49]. The grating couplers provide a convenient means of high-tolerance vertical surface…”)) ,
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Wei Shi et al. within the modified teaching of the External laser enabled co-packaged optics architectures mentioned by Di Mola et al. because the Data processing systems including optical communication modules mentioned Wei Shi et al. provides a system and method for implementing scalability of data communication within photonic integrated system module.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Data processing systems including optical communication modules mentioned Wei Shi et al. within the modified teaching of the External laser enabled co-packaged optics architectures mentioned by Di Mola et al. for implementation of a system and method for scalability of data communication within photonic integrated system module.
Combination of Di Mola et al. and Wei Shi et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the number of transmitter optical fibers connecting the transmitter of the optical module to the optical coupler is less than the number of receiver optical fibers connecting the optical coupler to the corresponding receivers.
However ,within analogous art, Winzer et al. teaches wherein the number of transmitter optical fibers connecting the transmitter of the optical module to the optical coupler is less than the number of receiver optical fibers connecting the optical coupler to the corresponding receivers ( The relationship between the numbers of optical fiber connection between the transmitters and receivers taught within Paragraphs [0634]- “…The port mappings of the optical fiber connectors shown in FIGS. 80D, 80E, 82D, and 82E are merely examples. Each optical fiber connector can include a greater number or a smaller number of transmitter fiber ports, a greater number or a smaller number of receiver fiber ports, and a greater number or a smaller number of optical power supply fiber ports, as compared to those shown in FIGS. 80D, 80E, 82D, and 82E. The arrangement of the relative positions of the transmitter, receiver, and optical power supply fiber ports can also be different from those shown in FIGS. 80D, 80E, 82D, and 82E….”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Winzer et al. within the combined modified teaching of the External laser enabled co-packaged optics architectures mentioned by Di Mola et al. and the Data processing systems including optical communication modules mentioned Wei Shi et al. because the Data processing systems including optical communication modules mentioned by Winzer et al. provides a system and method for implementing data processing optical module within integrated photonics communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Data processing systems including optical communication modules mentioned by Winzer et al. within the combined modified teaching of the External laser enabled co-packaged optics architectures mentioned by Di Mola et al. and the Data processing systems including optical communication modules mentioned Wei Shi et al. for implementation of a system and method for data processing optical module within integrated photonics communication system.
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Examiner’s Notes
4. The Examiner acknowledges the following prior arts below as pertinent to the current applications claim limitations and inventive concept, although the following prior arts shown below were not relied upon to address the limitations within the claim, they are analogous art mentioning the inventive concept key points on ( co packaging photonic integrated circuit, optical fiber connectors, plurality transmitters , plurality receivers ,external optical source multiplexing optical signal , demultiplexing optical signal etc.).
1) Brandon Buscaino et al.,"External vs. Integrated Light Sources for Intra-Data
Center Co-Packaged Optical Interfaces," 9th December 2020, JOURNAL OF LIGHTWAVE TECHNOLOGY, VOL. 39, NO. 7, APRIL 1, 2021,Pages 1984-1993.
2) William M. Mellette et al.," Partially configurable optical switching for data center networks," 23rd November 2017, 2017 IEEE Photonics Conference (IPC),Pages 123-124.
3) Winzer (USPUB -20220159860)
4) Winzer et al. (USPUB 20220244465)
5) Sawyer et al. (USPUB 20220264759)
6) Elsinger et al. (USPUB 20220291461)
7) GILES CLINTON RANDY (WO 2022251855)
8) Giles et al. (USPUB 20220404566 )
9) Winzer et al. (USPUB 20230043794)
10) Winzer ( USPUB 20230077979 )
11) Winzer et al. ( USPUB 20230375793)
12) Winzer et al. ( USPUB 20240036254)
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http:/ If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, David C. Payne can be reached on (571)272-3024. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300.
/OMAR S ISMAIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635