DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 12, 2026 with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1, 9 and 17 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that if the Office thinks that one of the scenarios of monitoring interval results in a reduction in control channel monitoring frequency, this will contradict with Examiner’s position that both the reducing of the control monitoring frequency with a first type parameters and reducing the control channel monitoring frequency with a second type parameter cannot be supported by such a position.
It is not Examiner’s position that both monitoring modes of the claimed invention are met by the cited disclosure of Ryu et al. It is Examiner’s position that at least one of the monitoring modes of the claimed invention is disclosed by Ryu et al. since the claimed invention requires that the monitoring mode is one of a first monitoring mode with a first type of parameters and a second monitoring mode with a second type of parameters. At paragraphs 127 and 133, Ryu et al. disclose multiple PDCCH monitoring intervals, one of which being long on the base since bandwidth supported by the terminal is large. This results in reduced monitoring frequency with parameters of the interval and the bandwidth. For these reasons, the claimed invention remains rejected over Ryu et al.
Applicant argues that Ryu et al. do not provide any such indication that duration of monitoring interval or bandwidth supported by a UE are used for reducing control channel monitoring frequency. Applicant notes the use of short/long TTI to control monitoring intervals and argues that this is not according to UE capability.
Examiner argues that while Ryu et al. may not provide an explicit indication that interval and bandwidth supported by a UE are used for reducing control channel monitoring frequency, this functionality is still the result of the disclosure in Ryu et al. In paragraphs 127 and 133, a longer PDCCH monitoring interval results in PDCCH monitoring being performed less frequently because there is a greater amount of time between monitoring events. The large bandwidth supported by the UE, which is UE capability, provides for the long PDCCH monitoring interval. For these reasons, the claimed invention remains rejected over Ryu et al.
Applicant's arguments filed August 12, 2026 with respect to the Double Patenting rejection of claims 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection is maintained and not held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-9, 11, 13-16 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,108,265. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 12,108,265 recites a wireless communication method (Claim 1, A wireless communication method), comprising:
transmitting, by a user equipment to a base station, a feature list comprising a control channel monitoring mode supported by the user equipment (Claim 1, transmitting, by a user equipment to a base station, a feature list comprising a control channel monitoring mode supported by the user equipment);
receiving, in response to the transmitting the feature list, information that indicates a monitoring mode for a control channel (Claim 1, receiving, in response to the transmitting the feature list, information that indicates a monitoring mode for a control channel),
wherein the monitoring mode is one of a first monitoring mode that reduces a control channel monitoring frequency with a first type of parameters and a second monitoring mode that reduces the control channel monitoring frequency with a second type of parameters (Claim 1, wherein the monitoring mode is…the second monitoring mode that reduces the control channel monitoring frequency… wherein a second set of parameters of the second monitoring mode include…; Claim 3, wherein the monitoring mode is one of a third monitoring mode that reduces a control channel monitoring frequency with a first type of parameters and the second monitoring mode that reduces the control channel monitoring frequency with a second type of parameters); and
monitoring, by the user equipment, the control channel according to the monitoring mode (Claim 1, monitoring, by the user equipment, the control channel according to the monitoring mode).
Regarding claim 2, U.S. Patent No. 12,108,265 recites wherein the monitoring mode is any one of a third monitoring mode that skips control channel monitoring (Claim 1, wherein the monitoring mode is the first monitoring mode that skips control channel monitoring) and a fourth monitoring mode that reduces the control channel monitoring frequency (Claim 3, wherein the monitoring mode is one of a third monitoring mode that reduces a control channel monitoring frequency with a first type of parameters and the second monitoring mode that reduces the control channel monitoring frequency with a second type of parameters).
Regarding claim 3, U.S. Patent No. 12,108,265 recites wherein a first set of parameters of the third monitoring mode include: a duration for skipping the control channel monitoring, and wherein a second set of parameters of the fourth monitoring mode include: a control channel monitoring periodicity, a starting position offset, a monitoring duration in a periodicity, and monitoring symbols of a slot in the monitoring duration (Claim 1, wherein a first set of parameters of the first monitoring mode include a duration for skipping control channel monitoring, and wherein a second set of parameters of the second monitoring mode include: a control channel monitoring periodicity, a starting position offset, a monitoring duration in a periodicity, and monitoring symbols of a slot in the monitoring duration).
Regarding claim 4, U.S. Patent No. 12,108,265 recites wherein the first type of parameters of the first monitoring mode include: a first control channel monitoring periodicity Ks1, and a first monitoring duration in a periodicity Ts1, and wherein the second type of parameters of the second monitoring mode include: a second control channel monitoring periodicity Ks2, and a second monitoring duration in a periodicity Ts2 (Claim 4, wherein a first set of parameters of the first monitoring mode include: a first control channel monitoring periodicity Ks1, and a first monitoring duration in a periodicity Ts1, and wherein a second set of parameters of the second monitoring mode include: a second control channel monitoring periodicity Ks2, and a second monitoring duration in a periodicity Ts2).
Regarding claim 5, U.S. Patent No. 12,108,265 recites wherein Ts1/Ks1>Ts2/Ks2, or Ks1<Ks2, or Ts1>Ts2 (Claim 5, wherein Ts1/Ks1>Ts2/Ks2, or Ks1<Ks2, or Ts1>Ts2).
Regarding claim 6, U.S. Patent No. 12,108,265 recites wherein the information includes: a radio resource control (RRC) layer control signaling, or a downlink control information (DCI) (Claim 6, wherein the information includes: a radio resource control (RRC) layer control signaling, or a downlink control information (DCI)).
Regarding claim 7, U.S. Patent No. 12,108,265 recites wherein the control channel is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Claim 7, wherein the control channel is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)).
Regarding claim 8, U.S. Patent No. 12,108,265 recites wherein the control channel monitoring mode supported by the user equipment comprises one monitoring mode that skips control channel monitoring and another monitoring mode that reduces the control channel monitoring frequency (Claim 1, wherein the control channel monitoring mode supported by the user equipment comprises a first monitoring mode that skips control channel monitoring and a second monitoring mode that reduces control channel monitoring frequency).
Regarding claim 9, U.S. Patent No. 12,108,265 recites a user equipment for wireless communication comprising at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the user equipment to (Claim 8, A user equipment for wireless communication comprising at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the user equipment to):
transmit, to a base station, a feature list comprising a control channel monitoring mode supported by the user equipment (Claim 8, transmit, by the user equipment to a base station, a feature list comprising a control channel monitoring mode supported by the user equipment);
receive, in response to the transmit the feature list, information that indicates a monitoring mode for a control channel (Claim 8, receive, in response to the transmit the feature list, information that indicates a monitoring mode for a control channel),
wherein the monitoring mode is one of a first monitoring mode that reduces a control channel monitoring frequency with a first type of parameters and a second monitoring mode that reduces the control channel monitoring frequency with a second type of parameters (Claim 1, a second monitoring mode that reduces a control channel monitoring frequency…a second set of parameters of the second monitoring mode include…); and
monitor the control channel according to the monitoring mode (Claim 8, monitor, by the user equipment, the control channel according to the monitoring mode).
Regarding claim 10, U.S. Patent No. 12,108,265 recites wherein the monitoring mode is any one of a third monitoring mode that skips control channel monitoring (Claim 8, wherein the control channel monitoring mode supported by the user equipment comprises a first monitoring mode that skips control channel monitoring; Claim 9, wherein the monitoring mode is one of the first monitoring mode that skips control channel monitoring) and a fourth monitoring mode that reduces the control channel monitoring frequency (Claims 8 and 9, monitoring mode that reduces a control channel monitoring frequency).
Regarding claim 11, U.S. Patent No. 12,108,265 recites wherein a first set of parameters of the third monitoring mode include: a duration for skipping the control channel monitoring, and wherein a second set of parameters of the fourth monitoring mode include: a control channel monitoring periodicity, a starting position offset, a monitoring duration in a periodicity, and monitoring symbols of a slot in the monitoring duration (Claim 8, wherein a first set of parameters of the first monitoring mode include a duration for skipping control channel monitoring, and wherein a second set of parameters of the second monitoring mode include: a control channel monitoring periodicity, a starting position offset, a monitoring duration in a periodicity, and monitoring symbols of a slot in the monitoring duration).
Regarding claim 12, U.S. Patent No. 12,108,265 recites wherein the first type of parameters of the first monitoring mode include: a first control channel monitoring periodicity Ks1, and a first monitoring duration in a periodicity Ts1, and wherein the second type of parameters of the second monitoring mode include: a second control channel monitoring periodicity Ks2, and a second monitoring duration in a periodicity Ts2 (Claim 11, wherein a first set of parameters of the first monitoring mode include: a first control channel monitoring periodicity Ks1, and a first monitoring duration in a periodicity Ts1, and wherein a second set of parameters of the second monitoring mode include: a second control channel monitoring periodicity Ks2, and a second monitoring duration in a periodicity Ts2).
Regarding claim 13, U.S. Patent No. 12,108,265 recites wherein Ts1/Ks1>Ts2/Ks2, or Ks1<Ks2, or Ts1>Ts2 (Claim 12, wherein Ts1/Ks1>Ts2/Ks2, or Ks1<Ks2, or Ts1>Ts2).
Regarding claim 14, U.S. Patent No. 12,108,265 recites wherein the information includes: a radio resource control (RRC) layer control signaling, or a downlink control information (DCI) (Claim 13, wherein the information includes: a radio resource control (RRC) layer control signaling, or a downlink control information (DCI)).
Regarding claim 15, U.S. Patent No. 12,108,265 recites wherein the control channel is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Claim 14, wherein the control channel is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)).
Regarding claim 16, U.S. Patent No. 12,108,265 recites wherein the control channel monitoring mode supported by the user equipment comprises one monitoring mode that skips control channel monitoring and another monitoring mode that reduces the control channel monitoring frequency (Claim 8, wherein the control channel monitoring mode supported by the user equipment comprises a first monitoring mode that skips control channel monitoring and a second monitoring mode that reduces a control channel monitoring frequency).
Regarding claim 17, U.S. Patent No. 12,108,265 recites a non-transitory computer readable program storage medium having code stored thereon, the code, when executed by one or more processors, causing an apparatus to implement a method, comprising (Claim 15, A non-transitory computer readable program storage medium having code stored thereon, the code, when executed by at least one processor, causing the at least one processor to implement a method, comprising):
transmitting, by a user equipment to a base station, a feature list comprising a control channel monitoring mode supported by the user equipment (Claim 15, transmitting, by a user equipment to a base station, a feature list comprising a control channel monitoring mode supported by the user equipment);
receiving, in response to the transmitting the feature list, information that indicates a monitoring mode for a control channel (Claim 15, receiving, in response to the transmitting the feature list, information that indicates a monitoring mode for a control channel),
wherein the monitoring mode is one of a first monitoring mode that reduces a control channel monitoring frequency with a first type of parameters and a second monitoring mode that reduces the control channel monitoring frequency with a second type of parameters (Claim 15, a second monitoring mode that reduces a control channel monitoring frequency…wherein a second set of parameters of the second monitoring mode include…); and
monitoring, by the user equipment, the control channel according to the monitoring mode (Claim 15, monitoring, by the user equipment, the control channel according to the monitoring mode).
Regarding claim 18, U.S. Patent No. 12,108,265 recites wherein the monitoring mode is any one of a third monitoring mode that skips control channel monitoring and a fourth monitoring mode that reduces the control channel monitoring frequency (Claim 15, a first monitoring mode that skips control channel monitoring and a second monitoring mode that reduces a control channel monitoring frequency; Claim 16, wherein the monitoring mode is one of the first monitoring mode that skips control channel monitoring).
Regarding claim 19, U.S. Patent No. 12,108,265 recites wherein a first set of parameters of the third monitoring mode include: a duration for skipping the control channel monitoring, and wherein a second set of parameters of the fourth monitoring mode include: a control channel monitoring periodicity, a starting position offset, a monitoring duration in a periodicity, and monitoring symbols of a slot in the monitoring duration (Claim 15, wherein a first set of parameters of the first monitoring mode include a duration for skipping control channel monitoring, and wherein a second set of parameters of the second monitoring mode include: a control channel monitoring periodicity, a starting position offset, a monitoring duration in a periodicity, and monitoring symbols of a slot in the monitoring duration).
Regarding claim 20, U.S. Patent No. 12,108,265 recites wherein the first type of parameters of the first monitoring mode include: a first control channel monitoring periodicity Ks1, and a first monitoring duration in a periodicity Ts1, and wherein the second type of parameters of the second monitoring mode include: a second control channel monitoring periodicity Ks2, and a second monitoring duration in a periodicity Ts2 (Claim 18, wherein a first set of parameters of the first monitoring mode include: a first control channel monitoring periodicity Ks1, and a first monitoring duration in a periodicity Ts1, and wherein a second set of parameters of the second monitoring mode include: a second control channel monitoring periodicity Ks2, and a second monitoring duration in a periodicity Ts2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 9, 12-15, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al. (US 2018/0049168) in view of Yi et al. (US 2019/0356524).
Regarding claim 1, Ryu et al. disclose a wireless communication method, comprising:
receiving information that indicates a monitoring mode for a control channel (Paragraphs 127 and 133, the base station may configuration the PDCCH monitoring interval; Figure 18 and paragraph 200, in step S1810, if the base station transmits the information on the PDCCH monitoring interval (or control channel monitoring information) through the MIB in step S1810, the terminal proceeds to step S1820 to receive the MIB; Figure 20 and paragraph , First, in step S2010, if the base station transmits the information on the PDCCH monitoring interval through the SIB, the terminal may receive the SIB),
wherein the monitoring mode is one of a first monitoring mode that reduces a control channel monitoring frequency with a first type of parameters and a second monitoring mode that reduces the control channel monitoring frequency with a second type of parameters (Paragraphs 127 and 133, terminal bandwidth capability is corresponds to PDCCH monitoring interval being long on the time based with bandwidth for monitoring being large on the frequency based or short on the time base with bandwidth for monitoring being short on the frequency base. The monitoring intervals/bandwidths correspond to first/second type parameters, and the monitoring intervals directly correspond to increasing/decreasing monitoring frequencies); and
monitoring, by the user equipment, the control channel according to the monitoring mode (Figure 18 and paragraph 200, In step S1830, the terminal receives the information on the PDCCH monitoring interval; Figure 20 and paragraph 220, receive (or acquire) the information on the PDCCH monitoring interval in step S2030; Paragraph 259, the control channel monitoring information includes the offset information and the interval information, and the offset information and the interval information may be used to determine the timing and the resource location when and where the first terminal or the second terminal monitors the control channel).
Ryu et al. suggest transmitting, by a user equipment to a base station, a feature list comprising a control channel monitoring mode supported by the user equipment and receiving, in response to the transmitting the feature list, the information that indicates the monitoring mode at paragraphs 127 and 133. Herein, Ryu et al. disclose that the based configures PDCCH monitoring interval based on the capability that the terminal supports, the terminal capability being PDCCH monitoring bandwidth. The capability supported by the terminal corresponds to the feature list comprising control channel monitoring mode.
Yi et al. specifically disclose transmitting the feature list by the UE to the base station (Yi et al., Paragraph 319, UE reports its control channel monitoring capability, such as whether the UE monitoring capability is smaller than slot duration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu et al. with the cited disclosure from Yi et al. in order to further provide control channel configuration (Yi et al., Title).
Regarding claim 4, Ryu et al. disclose wherein the first type of parameters of the first monitoring mode include: a first control channel monitoring periodicity Ks1 (Paragraphs 127 and 133, long/short TTI [Ks1] per EMBB/URLLC service), and a first monitoring duration in a periodicity Ts1 (Paragraphs 127 and 133, If the bandwidth that the terminal may support is large, the PDCCH monitoring interval may be long [Ts1] on the time base), and wherein the second type of parameters of the second monitoring mode include: a second control channel monitoring periodicity Ks2 (Paragraphs 127 and 133, long/short TTI [Ks2] per EMBB/URLLC service), and a second monitoring duration in a periodicity Ts2 (Paragraphs 127 and 133, if the bandwidth that may be supported by the terminal is small, the PDCCH monitoring interval may be short [Ts2] on the time base).
Regarding claim 5, Ryu et al. disclose wherein Ts1/Ks1>Ts2/Ks2, or Ks1<Ks2, or Ts1>Ts2 (Paragraphs 127 and 123, long PDCCH monitoring interval [Ts1] > short PDCCH monitoring interval [Ts2]).
Regarding claim 6, Ryu et al. disclose wherein the information includes: a radio resource control (RRC) layer control signaling (Paragraph 251, the PDCCH monitoring information that the base station may support through the cell-specific or UE-specific RRC signaling), or a downlink control information (DCI) (Paragraph 249, the SIB using the embedded default PDCCH monitoring interval, and receive the UE-specific DCI).
Regarding claim 7, Ryu et al. disclose wherein the control is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Paragraphs 127 and 133, PDCCH monitoring).
Regarding claim 9, Ryu et al. disclose a user equipment (Figure 26 and paragraph 266, terminal) for wireless communication method comprising at least one processor (Figure 26, controller 2630), wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the user equipment to:
receive information that indicates a monitoring mode for a control channel (Paragraphs 127 and 133, the base station may configuration the PDCCH monitoring interval; Figure 18 and paragraph 200, in step S1810, if the base station transmits the information on the PDCCH monitoring interval (or control channel monitoring information) through the MIB in step S1810, the terminal proceeds to step S1820 to receive the MIB; Figure 20 and paragraph , First, in step S2010, if the base station transmits the information on the PDCCH monitoring interval through the SIB, the terminal may receive the SIB),
wherein the monitoring mode is one of a first monitoring mode that reduces a control channel monitoring frequency with a first type of parameters and a second monitoring mode that reduces the control channel monitoring frequency with a second type of parameters (Paragraphs 127 and 133, terminal bandwidth capability is corresponds to PDCCH monitoring interval being long on the time based with bandwidth for monitoring being large on the frequency based or short on the time base with bandwidth for monitoring being short on the frequency base. The monitoring intervals/bandwidths correspond to first/second type parameters); and
monitor, by the user equipment, the control channel according to the monitoring mode (Figure 18 and paragraph 200, In step S1830, the terminal receives the information on the PDCCH monitoring interval; Figure 20 and paragraph 220, receive (or acquire) the information on the PDCCH monitoring interval in step S2030; Paragraph 259, the control channel monitoring information includes the offset information and the interval information, and the offset information and the interval information may be used to determine the timing and the resource location when and where the first terminal or the second terminal monitors the control channel).
Ryu et al. suggest transmitting, by a user equipment to a base station, a feature list comprising a control channel monitoring mode supported by the user equipment and receiving, in response to the transmitting the feature list, the information that indicates the monitoring mode at paragraphs 127 and 133. Herein, Ryu et al. disclose that the based configures PDCCH monitoring interval based on the capability that the terminal supports, the terminal capability being PDCCH monitoring bandwidth. The capability supported by the terminal corresponds to the feature list comprising control channel monitoring mode.
Yi et al. specifically disclose transmitting the feature list by the UE to the base station (Yi et al., Paragraph 319, UE reports its control channel monitoring capability, such as whether the UE monitoring capability is smaller than slot duration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu et al. with the cited disclosure from Yi et al. in order to further provide control channel configuration (Yi et al., Title).
Regarding claim 12, Ryu et al. disclose wherein the first type of parameters of the first monitoring mode include: a first control channel monitoring periodicity Ks1 (Paragraphs 127 and 133, long/short TTI [Ks1] per EMBB/URLLC service), and a first monitoring duration in a periodicity Ts1 (Paragraphs 127 and 133, If the bandwidth that the terminal may support is large, the PDCCH monitoring interval may be long [Ts1] on the time base), and wherein the second type of parameters of the second monitoring mode include: a second control channel monitoring periodicity Ks2 (Paragraphs 127 and 133, long/short TTI [Ks2] per EMBB/URLLC service), and a second monitoring duration in a periodicity Ts2 (Paragraphs 127 and 133, if the bandwidth that may be supported by the terminal is small, the PDCCH monitoring interval may be short [Ts2] on the time base).
Regarding claim 13, Ryu et al. disclose wherein Ts1/Ks1>Ts2/Ks2, or Ks1<Ks2, or Ts1>Ts2 (Paragraphs 127 and 123, long PDCCH monitoring interval [Ts1] > short PDCCH monitoring interval [Ts2]).
Regarding claim 14, Ryu et al. disclose wherein the information includes: a radio resource control (RRC) layer control signaling (Paragraph 251, the PDCCH monitoring information that the base station may support through the cell-specific or UE-specific RRC signaling), or a downlink control information (DCI) (Paragraph 249, the SIB using the embedded default PDCCH monitoring interval, and receive the UE-specific DCI).
Regarding claim 15, Ryu et al. disclose wherein the control is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Paragraphs 127 and 133, PDCCH monitoring).
Regarding claim 17, Ryu et al. disclose a non-transitory computer readable program storage medium having code stored thereon, the code, when executed by one or more processors, causing an apparatus to implement a method (Figure 26 and paragraph 268, The storage 2620 may store various programs and the like so that the terminal may be operated according to the embodiment of the present disclosure), comprising:
receiving information that indicates a monitoring mode for a control channel (Paragraphs 127 and 133, the base station may configuration the PDCCH monitoring interval; Figure 18 and paragraph 200, in step S1810, if the base station transmits the information on the PDCCH monitoring interval (or control channel monitoring information) through the MIB in step S1810, the terminal proceeds to step S1820 to receive the MIB; Figure 20 and paragraph , First, in step S2010, if the base station transmits the information on the PDCCH monitoring interval through the SIB, the terminal may receive the SIB),
wherein the monitoring mode is one of a first monitoring mode that reduces a control channel monitoring frequency with a first type of parameters and a second monitoring mode that reduces the control channel monitoring frequency with a second type of parameters (Paragraphs 127 and 133, terminal bandwidth capability is corresponds to PDCCH monitoring interval being long on the time based with bandwidth for monitoring being large on the frequency based or short on the time base with bandwidth for monitoring being short on the frequency base. The monitoring intervals/bandwidths correspond to first/second type parameters); and
monitoring, by the user equipment, the control channel according to the monitoring mode (Figure 18 and paragraph 200, In step S1830, the terminal receives the information on the PDCCH monitoring interval; Figure 20 and paragraph 220, receive (or acquire) the information on the PDCCH monitoring interval in step S2030; Paragraph 259, the control channel monitoring information includes the offset information and the interval information, and the offset information and the interval information may be used to determine the timing and the resource location when and where the first terminal or the second terminal monitors the control channel).
Ryu et al. suggest transmitting, by a user equipment to a base station, a feature list comprising a control channel monitoring mode supported by the user equipment and receiving, in response to the transmitting the feature list, the information that indicates the monitoring mode at paragraphs 127 and 133. Herein, Ryu et al. disclose that the based configures PDCCH monitoring interval based on the capability that the terminal supports, the terminal capability being PDCCH monitoring bandwidth. The capability supported by the terminal corresponds to the feature list comprising control channel monitoring mode.
Yi et al. specifically disclose transmitting the feature list by the UE to the base station (Yi et al., Paragraph 319, UE reports its control channel monitoring capability, such as whether the UE monitoring capability is smaller than slot duration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu et al. with the cited disclosure from Yi et al. in order to further provide control channel configuration (Yi et al., Title).
Regarding claim 20, Ryu et al. disclose wherein the first type of parameters of the first monitoring mode include: a first control channel monitoring periodicity Ks1 (Paragraphs 127 and 133, long/short TTI [Ks1] per EMBB/URLLC service), and a first monitoring duration in a periodicity Ts1 (Paragraphs 127 and 133, If the bandwidth that the terminal may support is large, the PDCCH monitoring interval may be long [Ts1] on the time base), and wherein the second type of parameters of the second monitoring mode include: a second control channel monitoring periodicity Ks2 (Paragraphs 127 and 133, long/short TTI [Ks2] per EMBB/URLLC service), and a second monitoring duration in a periodicity Ts2 (Paragraphs 127 and 133, if the bandwidth that may be supported by the terminal is small, the PDCCH monitoring interval may be short [Ts2] on the time base).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 8, 10, 11, 16, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al. in view of Yi et al. as applied to claims 1, 9 and 17 above, and further in view of Nam et al. (US 2020/0112917).
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 18, Ryu et al. in view of Yi et al. disclose the claimed invention above but do not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Nam et al.: wherein the monitoring mode is any one of a third monitoring mode that skips control channel monitoring and a fourth monitoring mode that reduces the control channel monitoring frequency (Nam et al., Paragraph 4, to reduce the frequency of the control channel monitoring, the UE may monitor for a wakeup signal using a low complexity receiver and may skip a control channel monitoring opportunity if no wakeup signal is received; Paragraph70, to reduce the frequency of the control channel monitoring, the UE may monitor for a wakeup signal using a low complexity receiver while in a low power mode…if the UE does not detect a wakeup signal transmitted by the base station, the UE may skip a full-power control channel monitoring opportunity and instead return to a deep sleep mode, improving the power savings at the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ryu et al. and Yi et al. with the cited disclosure from Nam et al. in order to improve power saving at the UE (Nam et al., Paragraph 4).
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 19, Nam et al. disclose wherein a first set of parameters of the third monitoring mode include: a duration for skipping the control channel monitoring (Paragraphs 4, 70, 109, skip a control channel monitoring opportunity; The opportunity corresponds to a duration for the skipping function), and wherein a second set of parameters of the fourth monitoring mode include: a control channel monitoring periodicity, a starting position offset (Paragraph 72, resource configuration parameters may include time resource information (e.g., a start symbol index and a duration for a monitoring period), a monitoring duration in a periodicity, and monitoring symbols of a slot in the monitoring duration (Paragraph 15, at least one resource configuration parameter indicates a starting symbol within a TTI,…monitoring the downlink control channel according to the first search space configuration for the wakeup signal transmission beginning at the starting symbol within the TTI…the at least one resource configuration parameter indicates a number of symbols within the TTI…beginning within the TTI at the starting symbol and continuing for the number of symbols; Paragraph 122, a base station 105 may configure the UE 115 with configuration parameters. Additionally, the durations, periods, and cycles described herein may span any length of time (e.g., a number of symbols, slots, subframes, frames, etc.) based on the UE or base station configuration).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Ryu et al. in view of Yi et al. disclose the claimed invention above but do not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Nam et al.: wherein the control channel monitoring mode supported by the user equipment comprises one monitoring mode that skips control channel monitoring and another monitoring mode that reduces the control channel monitoring frequency (Nam et al., Paragraph 4, to reduce the frequency of the control channel monitoring, the UE may monitor for a wakeup signal using a low complexity receiver and may skip a control channel monitoring opportunity if no wakeup signal is received; Paragraph70, to reduce the frequency of the control channel monitoring, the UE may monitor for a wakeup signal using a low complexity receiver while in a low power mode…if the UE does not detect a wakeup signal transmitted by the base station, the UE may skip a full-power control channel monitoring opportunity and instead return to a deep sleep mode, improving the power savings at the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ryu et al. and Yi et al. with the cited disclosure from Nam et al. in order to improve power saving at the UE (Nam et al., Paragraph 4).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OTIS L THOMPSON, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477
June 16, 2026