DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 10, 11, 13, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The ‘sensor mechanism’ limitations of claim(s) 2-3 and 19-20.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12089948. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim(s) substantially anticipate(s) the identified claim(s) of this application.
Claim(s) 1 and 18 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 20 of U.S. Patent No. 10213151. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim(s) substantially anticipate(s) the identified claim(s) of this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
For claim(s) 8, the body of the claim(s) recites
“the controller is configured to provide a notification that the uterus is perforated to thereby characterize if the flow rate of the fluid flow does not drop below the predetermined minimum threshold level over the predetermined time interval after initiation of the fluid flow”
It is not clear, in the context of the claim(s), how the phrase ‘to thereby characterize if’ modifies the subsequent language in the claim(s) and as such the claim(s) as a whole is not clear. The scope of the claim is unclear enough that a determination of any applicable prior art cannot be made until the issues of clarity are resolved.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Examiner notes: for brevity, economy, and clarity of reading, select of the claims may be addressed jointly herein when instances of limitations with verbatim or near-verbatim similarity are recited in the body of differently numbered claims and/or when multiple different limitations are clearly addressed by a same/similar citation to/within a reference.
Claim(s) 1-6 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toth (US 20130310705 A1) in view of Freed (US 20100228239 A1).
For claim(s) 1 and 18, Toth teaches
an elongated probe [110] configured for trans-cervical introduction to a uterine cavity;
an energy applicator [150] for ablating uterine tissue in uterus, the energy applicator positioned at a distal end of the elongated probe, the energy applicator including a flexible polymeric membrane defining an interior chamber; [¶41]
and a first flow channel extending along the flexible polymeric membrane distal of a proximal end of the flexible polymeric membrane to a first distal outlet opening to an exterior of the flexible polymeric membrane;
a second flow channel extending along the flexible polymeric membrane distal of the proximal end of the flexible polymeric membrane to a second distal outlet opening to the exterior of the flexible polymeric membrane;
a pressurized fluid source [140A] adapted to deliver a fluid flow through the flow channel to exit the at least one distal outlet when the energy applicator is positioned in the uterine cavity;
and a controller [135] configured to monitor at least one fluid flow parameter of the fluid flow.
Toth fails to teach first and second flow channels and outlets extending distal of the proximal end of the membrane.
Freed teaches a uterine ablation device [abstract, ¶34 use for delivering fluid] having fluid delivery through first and second distal flow channels and outlets [Fig. 8 protrusions 402 with flow channels therebetween; Fig. 4-5 channels 400] which extend distal of a proximal end of, and are open to, an exterior of a polymeric membrane [50 in Fig(s). 5]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Toth to incorporate the first and second channels and outlets of Freed in order to ensure delivery of the fluid to the target anatomy (i.e., the uterus) during the procedure. As motivated by Freed ¶34.
For claim(s) 2, Toth teaches The system of claim 1,
wherein the controller is coupled to a sensor mechanism configured to monitor the at least one fluid flow parameter. [flow assessment to determined perforation in ¶¶62-67]
For claim(s) 3, Toth teaches The system of claim 2,
wherein the sensor mechanism is selected from the group of a flow rate meter, a pressure sensor and a flow volume meter. [¶49]
For claim(s) 4, Toth teaches The system of claim 1,
wherein the controller is configured to control a flow rate of the fluid flow at a rate of between 0.01 slpm and 1.0 slpm. [¶63]
For claim(s) 5, Toth teaches The system of claim 4,
wherein the controller is configured to determine if the flow rate of the fluid flow drops below a predetermined minimum threshold level over a predetermined time interval after initiation of the fluid flow. [¶63]
For claim(s) 6, Toth teaches The system of claim 5,
wherein the predetermined time interval is between 1 second and 20 seconds. [near the beginning of ¶63 - overlapping range of 1-60 s or 5-30s]
For claim(s) 12, Toth teaches The system of claim 1,
wherein the energy applicator is triangular-shaped in an expanded configuration. [Fig(s). 2]
For claim(s) 15, Toth teaches The system of claim 1,
wherein the at least one distal outlet is located at a distal tip of the flexible polymeric membrane. [202 in Fig(s). 5]
For claim(s) 16, Toth teaches The system of claim 1,
wherein the fluid flow comprises CO2. [¶59]
For claim(s) 17, Toth teaches The system of claim 1,
wherein the elongate probe includes a cervical seal [225] configured to prevent fluid leakage outwardly from the uterine cavity.
For claim(s) 19, Toth teaches The system of claim 18,
wherein the controller is coupled to a sensor mechanism configured to monitor the at least one fluid flow parameter. [¶49]
For claim(s) 20, Toth teaches The system of claim 19,
wherein the sensor mechanism is selected from the group of a flow rate meter, a pressure sensor and a flow volume meter. [¶49]
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toth in view of Sampson (US 20030191412 A1).
For claim(s) 9, Toth fails to teach the controller providing a perforation notification.
Sampson teaches a uterine perforation detection system [abstract] including a controller that alerts to a uterine perforation if a pressure drops below a threshold for a time. [¶12 ¶35 ¶38]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the controller of Toth to incorporate the alerting of Sampson in order to aid in determining whether a patient’s uterus is perforated. As motivated by Sampson ¶12 ¶35 ¶38.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN S MELHUS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791