DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 8/19/2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the sheet numbering is in the top margin of sheets 1-11. These numbers must be placed in the middle of the top of the sheet, but not in the margin. Each sheet must include a top margin of at least 1 inch, a left side margin of at least 1 inch, a right side margin of at least 5/8 inch, and a bottom margin of at least 3/8 inch. One of the shorter sides of the sheet is regarded as its top. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office Action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the Examiner, the Applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office Action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ozturk et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0328689 A1) (hereinafter Ozturk).
Regarding claim 1, Ozturk discloses an operation method of a relay terminal for relaying radio communication between a base station and a remote terminal (Figure 5 and paragraphs 0116 and 0117 disclose at 518, the RAN node 506 may then broadcast the paging message within the cell including the relay UE 504 (e.g., based on the S-TMSI included in the paging message and the cell ID table). At 520, the relay UE 504 may monitor for the paging message for the remote UE 502 during the paging occasion of the remote UE 502. Upon receiving the paging message from the RAN node 506 within the paging occasion, at 522, the relay UE 504 may forward the paging message to the remote UE 502 via the relay link therebetween), the operation method comprising:
receiving, from the remote terminal, association information of a paging occasion for receiving a paging message destined for the remote terminal (Figure 5 and paragraph 0112 disclose at 510, when the remote UE 502 enters an RRC idle state, the remote UE 502 may transmit paging identifier(s) identifying the remote UE 502 to the relay UE 504 over the relay link. For example, the paging identifier(s) may include the S-TMSI. The paging identifier(s) may be transmitted, for example, within paging information that may further include the paging cycle or paging occasions of the remote UE 502);
receiving the paging message from the base station by performing a monitoring operation on the paging occasion indicated by the association information (Figure 5 and paragraphs 0116 and 0117 disclose at 518, the RAN node 506 may then broadcast the paging message within the cell including the relay UE 504 (e.g., based on the S-TMSI included in the paging message and the cell ID table). For example, the RAN node 506 may index on the S-TMSI included the received paging message in the cell ID table to determine the cell ID of the cell within which to page the remote UE 502. The RAN node 506 may broadcast the paging message during a paging occasion of the remote UE 502 (e.g., as determined from the S-TMSI included in the paging message). At 520, the relay UE 504 may monitor for the paging message for the remote UE 502 during the paging occasion of the remote UE 502. The relay UE 504 may calculate the paging occasion based on, for example, the S-TMSI and paging cycle of the remote UE 502 or the relay UE 504 may receive the paging occasion within the paging information provided by the remote UE 502. Upon receiving the paging message from the RAN node 506 within the paging occasion, at 522, the relay UE 504 may forward the paging message to the remote UE 502 via the relay link therebetween);
determining a destination of the paging message based on information included in the paging message (Figure 9 and paragraphs 0146 and 0148 disclose at 912, the RAN node 906 may broadcast a paging message including a paging identifier (PI) within a cell including the relay UE 904. At 914, the relay UE 904 may determine whether the PI associated with the received paging message is within the list of registered remote UEs. For example, the relay UE 904 may compare the PI in the received paging message with the paging identifiers of the registered remote UEs in the list to determine whether the paging message is intended for a remote UE registered with the relay UE 904 for relay communication. At 918, the relay UE 904 may optionally forward the paging message to the remote UE 902. For example, the relay UE 904 may forward the paging message to the remote UE 902 when the PI in the received paging message matches a paging identifier included in the list of registered remote UEs (e.g., the PI included in the received paging message matches the paging identifier of the remote UE 902)); and
transmitting the paging message to the remote terminal when the destination of the paging message is the remote terminal (Figure 9 and paragraphs 0146 and 0148 disclose at 912, the RAN node 906 may broadcast a paging message including a paging identifier (PI) within a cell including the relay UE 904. At 914, the relay UE 904 may determine whether the PI associated with the received paging message is within the list of registered remote UEs. For example, the relay UE 904 may compare the PI in the received paging message with the paging identifiers of the registered remote UEs in the list to determine whether the paging message is intended for a remote UE registered with the relay UE 904 for relay communication. At 918, the relay UE 904 may optionally forward the paging message to the remote UE 902. For example, the relay UE 904 may forward the paging message to the remote UE 902 when the PI in the received paging message matches a paging identifier included in the list of registered remote UEs (e.g., the PI included in the received paging message matches the paging identifier of the remote UE 902)).
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Ozturk further discloses wherein the association information includes an identifier of the remote terminal (Figure 5 and paragraph 0112 disclose at 510, when the remote UE 502 enters an RRC idle state, the remote UE 502 may transmit paging identifier(s) identifying the remote UE 502 to the relay UE 504 over the relay link. For example, the paging identifier(s) may include the S-TMSI. The paging identifier(s) may be transmitted, for example, within paging information that may further include the paging cycle or paging occasions of the remote UE 502), and
the receiving of the paging message from the base station comprises:
performing a monitoring operation on a paging occasion associated with the identifier of the remote terminal (Figure 5 and paragraphs 0116 and 0117 disclose at 518, the RAN node 506 may then broadcast the paging message within the cell including the relay UE 504 (e.g., based on the S-TMSI included in the paging message and the cell ID table). For example, the RAN node 506 may index on the S-TMSI included the received paging message in the cell ID table to determine the cell ID of the cell within which to page the remote UE 502. The RAN node 506 may broadcast the paging message during a paging occasion of the remote UE 502 (e.g., as determined from the S-TMSI included in the paging message). At 520, the relay UE 504 may monitor for the paging message for the remote UE 502 during the paging occasion of the remote UE 502. The relay UE 504 may calculate the paging occasion based on, for example, the S-TMSI and paging cycle of the remote UE 502 or the relay UE 504 may receive the paging occasion within the paging information provided by the remote UE 502. Upon receiving the paging message from the RAN node 506 within the paging occasion, at 522, the relay UE 504 may forward the paging message to the remote UE 502 via the relay link therebetween); and
receiving the paging message from the base station in the paging occasion (Figure 5 and paragraphs 0116 and 0117 disclose at 518, the RAN node 506 may then broadcast the paging message within the cell including the relay UE 504 (e.g., based on the S-TMSI included in the paging message and the cell ID table). For example, the RAN node 506 may index on the S-TMSI included the received paging message in the cell ID table to determine the cell ID of the cell within which to page the remote UE 502. The RAN node 506 may broadcast the paging message during a paging occasion of the remote UE 502 (e.g., as determined from the S-TMSI included in the paging message). At 520, the relay UE 504 may monitor for the paging message for the remote UE 502 during the paging occasion of the remote UE 502. The relay UE 504 may calculate the paging occasion based on, for example, the S-TMSI and paging cycle of the remote UE 502 or the relay UE 504 may receive the paging occasion within the paging information provided by the remote UE 502. Upon receiving the paging message from the RAN node 506 within the paging occasion, at 522, the relay UE 504 may forward the paging message to the remote UE 502 via the relay link therebetween).
Regarding claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Ozturk further discloses wherein the association information includes an identifier of the remote terminal and a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle of the remote terminal (Paragraph 0096 discloses a DRX cycle (paging cycle). Figure 5 and paragraph 0112 disclose at 510, when the remote UE 502 enters an RRC idle state, the remote UE 502 may transmit paging identifier(s) identifying the remote UE 502 to the relay UE 504 over the relay link. For example, the paging identifier(s) may include the S-TMSI. The paging identifier(s) may be transmitted, for example, within paging information that may further include the paging cycle or paging occasions of the remote UE 502), and
the receiving of the paging message from the base station comprises:
performing a monitoring operation on the paging occasion associated with the identifier of the remote terminal and the DRX cycle (Figure 5 and paragraphs 0116 and 0117 disclose at 518, the RAN node 506 may then broadcast the paging message within the cell including the relay UE 504 (e.g., based on the S-TMSI included in the paging message and the cell ID table). For example, the RAN node 506 may index on the S-TMSI included the received paging message in the cell ID table to determine the cell ID of the cell within which to page the remote UE 502. The RAN node 506 may broadcast the paging message during a paging occasion of the remote UE 502 (e.g., as determined from the S-TMSI included in the paging message). At 520, the relay UE 504 may monitor for the paging message for the remote UE 502 during the paging occasion of the remote UE 502. The relay UE 504 may calculate the paging occasion based on, for example, the S-TMSI and paging cycle of the remote UE 502 or the relay UE 504 may receive the paging occasion within the paging information provided by the remote UE 502. Upon receiving the paging message from the RAN node 506 within the paging occasion, at 522, the relay UE 504 may forward the paging message to the remote UE 502 via the relay link therebetween); and
receiving the paging message from the base station in the paging occasion (Figure 5 and paragraphs 0116 and 0117 disclose at 518, the RAN node 506 may then broadcast the paging message within the cell including the relay UE 504 (e.g., based on the S-TMSI included in the paging message and the cell ID table). For example, the RAN node 506 may index on the S-TMSI included the received paging message in the cell ID table to determine the cell ID of the cell within which to page the remote UE 502. The RAN node 506 may broadcast the paging message during a paging occasion of the remote UE 502 (e.g., as determined from the S-TMSI included in the paging message). At 520, the relay UE 504 may monitor for the paging message for the remote UE 502 during the paging occasion of the remote UE 502. The relay UE 504 may calculate the paging occasion based on, for example, the S-TMSI and paging cycle of the remote UE 502 or the relay UE 504 may receive the paging occasion within the paging information provided by the remote UE 502. Upon receiving the paging message from the RAN node 506 within the paging occasion, at 522, the relay UE 504 may forward the paging message to the remote UE 502 via the relay link therebetween).
Regarding claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, Ozturk further discloses when the association information includes an identifier of the remote terminal, transmitting the identifier of the remote terminal to the base station (Figure 5 and paragraphs 0112 and 0113 disclose at 510, when the remote UE 502 enters an RRC idle state, the remote UE 502 may transmit paging identifier(s) identifying the remote UE 502 to the relay UE 504 over the relay link. For example, the paging identifier(s) may include the S-TMSI. The paging identifier(s) may be transmitted, for example, within paging information that may further include the paging cycle or paging occasions of the remote UE 502, At 512, the relay UE 504 may forward the paging identifier(s) of the remote UE 502 to the RAN node 506).
Regarding claim 7, Ozturk discloses a relay terminal for relaying radio communication between a base station and a remote terminal, the relay terminal comprising at least one processor, wherein at least one processor causes the relay terminal to perform (Figure 5 and paragraphs 0116 and 0117 disclose at 518, the RAN node 506 may then broadcast the paging message within the cell including the relay UE 504 (e.g., based on the S-TMSI included in the paging message and the cell ID table). At 520, the relay UE 504 may monitor for the paging message for the remote UE 502 during the paging occasion of the remote UE 502. Upon receiving the paging message from the RAN node 506 within the paging occasion, at 522, the relay UE 504 may forward the paging message to the remote UE 502 via the relay link therebetween. Figure 10 and paragraphs 0149, 0150, and 0153 disclose a hardware implementation for an exemplary user equipment (UE) 1000 employing a processing system 1014. For example, the UE 1000 may be a UE or scheduled entity as illustrated in any one or more of FIG. 1, and/or 3-9. The UE 1000 may be implemented with a processing system 1014 that includes one or more processors 1004. One or more processors 1004 in the processing system may execute software):
receive from the remote terminal, association information of a paging occasion for receiving a paging message destined for the remote terminal (Figure 5 and paragraph 0112 disclose at 510, when the remote UE 502 enters an RRC idle state, the remote UE 502 may transmit paging identifier(s) identifying the remote UE 502 to the relay UE 504 over the relay link. For example, the paging identifier(s) may include the S-TMSI. The paging identifier(s) may be transmitted, for example, within paging information that may further include the paging cycle or paging occasions of the remote UE 502);
receive the paging message from the base station by performing a monitoring operation on the paging occasion indicated by the association information (Figure 5 and paragraphs 0116 and 0117 disclose at 518, the RAN node 506 may then broadcast the paging message within the cell including the relay UE 504 (e.g., based on the S-TMSI included in the paging message and the cell ID table). For example, the RAN node 506 may index on the S-TMSI included the received paging message in the cell ID table to determine the cell ID of the cell within which to page the remote UE 502. The RAN node 506 may broadcast the paging message during a paging occasion of the remote UE 502 (e.g., as determined from the S-TMSI included in the paging message). At 520, the relay UE 504 may monitor for the paging message for the remote UE 502 during the paging occasion of the remote UE 502. The relay UE 504 may calculate the paging occasion based on, for example, the S-TMSI and paging cycle of the remote UE 502 or the relay UE 504 may receive the paging occasion within the paging information provided by the remote UE 502. Upon receiving the paging message from the RAN node 506 within the paging occasion, at 522, the relay UE 504 may forward the paging message to the remote UE 502 via the relay link therebetween);
determine a destination of the paging message based on information included in the paging message (Figure 9 and paragraphs 0146 and 0148 disclose at 912, the RAN node 906 may broadcast a paging message including a paging identifier (PI) within a cell including the relay UE 904. At 914, the relay UE 904 may determine whether the PI associated with the received paging message is within the list of registered remote UEs. For example, the relay UE 904 may compare the PI in the received paging message with the paging identifiers of the registered remote UEs in the list to determine whether the paging message is intended for a remote UE registered with the relay UE 904 for relay communication. At 918, the relay UE 904 may optionally forward the paging message to the remote UE 902. For example, the relay UE 904 may forward the paging message to the remote UE 902 when the PI in the received paging message matches a paging identifier included in the list of registered remote UEs (e.g., the PI included in the received paging message matches the paging identifier of the remote UE 902)); and
transmit the paging message to the remote terminal when the destination of the paging message is the remote terminal (Figure 9 and paragraphs 0146 and 0148 disclose at 912, the RAN node 906 may broadcast a paging message including a paging identifier (PI) within a cell including the relay UE 904. At 914, the relay UE 904 may determine whether the PI associated with the received paging message is within the list of registered remote UEs. For example, the relay UE 904 may compare the PI in the received paging message with the paging identifiers of the registered remote UEs in the list to determine whether the paging message is intended for a remote UE registered with the relay UE 904 for relay communication. At 918, the relay UE 904 may optionally forward the paging message to the remote UE 902. For example, the relay UE 904 may forward the paging message to the remote UE 902 when the PI in the received paging message matches a paging identifier included in the list of registered remote UEs (e.g., the PI included in the received paging message matches the paging identifier of the remote UE 902)).
Regarding claim 8, as applied to claim 7 above, Ozturk further discloses wherein the association information includes an identifier of the remote terminal (Figure 5 and paragraph 0112 disclose at 510, when the remote UE 502 enters an RRC idle state, the remote UE 502 may transmit paging identifier(s) identifying the remote UE 502 to the relay UE 504 over the relay link. For example, the paging identifier(s) may include the S-TMSI. The paging identifier(s) may be transmitted, for example, within paging information that may further include the paging cycle or paging occasions of the remote UE 502), and
in the step of receiving of the paging message from the base station, at least one processor causes the relay terminal to perform:
perform a monitoring operation on a paging occasion associated with the identifier of the remote terminal (Figure 5 and paragraphs 0116 and 0117 disclose at 518, the RAN node 506 may then broadcast the paging message within the cell including the relay UE 504 (e.g., based on the S-TMSI included in the paging message and the cell ID table). For example, the RAN node 506 may index on the S-TMSI included the received paging message in the cell ID table to determine the cell ID of the cell within which to page the remote UE 502. The RAN node 506 may broadcast the paging message during a paging occasion of the remote UE 502 (e.g., as determined from the S-TMSI included in the paging message). At 520, the relay UE 504 may monitor for the paging message for the remote UE 502 during the paging occasion of the remote UE 502. The relay UE 504 may calculate the paging occasion based on, for example, the S-TMSI and paging cycle of the remote UE 502 or the relay UE 504 may receive the paging occasion within the paging information provided by the remote UE 502. Upon receiving the paging message from the RAN node 506 within the paging occasion, at 522, the relay UE 504 may forward the paging message to the remote UE 502 via the relay link therebetween); and
receive the paging message from the base station in the paging occasion (Figure 5 and paragraphs 0116 and 0117 disclose at 518, the RAN node 506 may then broadcast the paging message within the cell including the relay UE 504 (e.g., based on the S-TMSI included in the paging message and the cell ID table). For example, the RAN node 506 may index on the S-TMSI included the received paging message in the cell ID table to determine the cell ID of the cell within which to page the remote UE 502. The RAN node 506 may broadcast the paging message during a paging occasion of the remote UE 502 (e.g., as determined from the S-TMSI included in the paging message). At 520, the relay UE 504 may monitor for the paging message for the remote UE 502 during the paging occasion of the remote UE 502. The relay UE 504 may calculate the paging occasion based on, for example, the S-TMSI and paging cycle of the remote UE 502 or the relay UE 504 may receive the paging occasion within the paging information provided by the remote UE 502. Upon receiving the paging message from the RAN node 506 within the paging occasion, at 522, the relay UE 504 may forward the paging message to the remote UE 502 via the relay link therebetween).
Regarding claim 9, as applied to claim 7 above, Ozturk further discloses wherein the association information includes an identifier of the remote terminal and a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle of the remote terminal (Paragraph 0096 discloses a DRX cycle (paging cycle). Figure 5 and paragraph 0112 disclose at 510, when the remote UE 502 enters an RRC idle state, the remote UE 502 may transmit paging identifier(s) identifying the remote UE 502 to the relay UE 504 over the relay link. For example, the paging identifier(s) may include the S-TMSI. The paging identifier(s) may be transmitted, for example, within paging information that may further include the paging cycle or paging occasions of the remote UE 502), and
in the step of receiving of the paging message from the base station, at least one processor causes the relay terminal to perform:
perform a monitoring operation on the paging occasion associated with the identifier of the remote terminal and the DRX cycle (Figure 5 and paragraphs 0116 and 0117 disclose at 518, the RAN node 506 may then broadcast the paging message within the cell including the relay UE 504 (e.g., based on the S-TMSI included in the paging message and the cell ID table). For example, the RAN node 506 may index on the S-TMSI included the received paging message in the cell ID table to determine the cell ID of the cell within which to page the remote UE 502. The RAN node 506 may broadcast the paging message during a paging occasion of the remote UE 502 (e.g., as determined from the S-TMSI included in the paging message). At 520, the relay UE 504 may monitor for the paging message for the remote UE 502 during the paging occasion of the remote UE 502. The relay UE 504 may calculate the paging occasion based on, for example, the S-TMSI and paging cycle of the remote UE 502 or the relay UE 504 may receive the paging occasion within the paging information provided by the remote UE 502. Upon receiving the paging message from the RAN node 506 within the paging occasion, at 522, the relay UE 504 may forward the paging message to the remote UE 502 via the relay link therebetween); and
receive the paging message from the base station in the paging occasion (Figure 5 and paragraphs 0116 and 0117 disclose at 518, the RAN node 506 may then broadcast the paging message within the cell including the relay UE 504 (e.g., based on the S-TMSI included in the paging message and the cell ID table). For example, the RAN node 506 may index on the S-TMSI included the received paging message in the cell ID table to determine the cell ID of the cell within which to page the remote UE 502. The RAN node 506 may broadcast the paging message during a paging occasion of the remote UE 502 (e.g., as determined from the S-TMSI included in the paging message). At 520, the relay UE 504 may monitor for the paging message for the remote UE 502 during the paging occasion of the remote UE 502. The relay UE 504 may calculate the paging occasion based on, for example, the S-TMSI and paging cycle of the remote UE 502 or the relay UE 504 may receive the paging occasion within the paging information provided by the remote UE 502. Upon receiving the paging message from the RAN node 506 within the paging occasion, at 522, the relay UE 504 may forward the paging message to the remote UE 502 via the relay link therebetween).
Regarding claim 10, as applied to claim 7 above, Ozturk further discloses when the association information includes an identifier of the remote terminal, transmit the identifier of the remote terminal to the base station (Figure 5 and paragraphs 0112 and 0113 disclose at 510, when the remote UE 502 enters an RRC idle state, the remote UE 502 may transmit paging identifier(s) identifying the remote UE 502 to the relay UE 504 over the relay link. For example, the paging identifier(s) may include the S-TMSI. The paging identifier(s) may be transmitted, for example, within paging information that may further include the paging cycle or paging occasions of the remote UE 502, At 512, the relay UE 504 may forward the paging identifier(s) of the remote UE 502 to the RAN node 506).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozturk in view of Li et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0387498 A1) (hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, Ozturk discloses the claimed invention except explicitly disclosing wherein in the transmitting of the paging message to the remote terminal, the relay terminal transmits the paging message to the remote terminal by using a unicast transmission scheme, a broadcast transmission scheme, or a groupcast transmission scheme.
In analogous art, Li discloses wherein in the transmitting of the paging message to the remote terminal, the relay terminal transmits the paging message to the remote terminal by using a unicast transmission scheme, a broadcast transmission scheme, or a groupcast transmission scheme (Paragraph 0094 discloses upon the receipt of the paging message including the identity of the remote UE, the relay UE may perform a paging broadcasting operation on the received paging message through the paging relay resource pool, and a paging occasion for the paging broadcasting operation may follow the paging occasions calculated in accordance with the DRX configuration parameter of the remote UE).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate a relay UE broadcasting a paging message to a remote UE, as described in Li, with a relay UE forwarding a paging message to a remote UE, as described in Ozturk, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining a relay UE broadcasting a paging message to a remote UE of Li with a relay UE forwarding a paging message to a remote UE of Ozturk was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Li.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Ozturk and Li to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
Regarding claim 11, as applied to claim 7 above, Ozturk discloses the claimed invention except explicitly disclosing wherein in the step of transmitting of the paging message to the remote terminal, the relay terminal transmits the paging message to the remote terminal by using a unicast transmission scheme, a broadcast transmission scheme, or a groupcast transmission scheme.
In analogous art, Li discloses wherein in the step of transmitting of the paging message to the remote terminal, the relay terminal transmits the paging message to the remote terminal by using a unicast transmission scheme, a broadcast transmission scheme, or a groupcast transmission scheme (Paragraph 0094 discloses upon the receipt of the paging message including the identity of the remote UE, the relay UE may perform a paging broadcasting operation on the received paging message through the paging relay resource pool, and a paging occasion for the paging broadcasting operation may follow the paging occasions calculated in accordance with the DRX configuration parameter of the remote UE).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate a relay UE broadcasting a paging message to a remote UE, as described in Li, with a relay UE forwarding a paging message to a remote UE, as described in Ozturk, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining a relay UE broadcasting a paging message to a remote UE of Li with a relay UE forwarding a paging message to a remote UE of Ozturk was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Li.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Ozturk and Li to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
Claims 6 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozturk in view of Shi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0023639 A1) (disclosed on Applicant’s IDS, hereinafter Shi).
Regarding claim 6, as applied to claim 1 above, Ozturk discloses the claimed invention except explicitly disclosing receiving, from the remote terminal, a relay stop request for the paging message; and stopping relaying of the paging message destined for the remote terminal according to the relay stop request.
In analogous art, Shi discloses receiving, from the remote terminal, a relay stop request for the paging message (Paragraphs 0162 and 0163 disclose remote WTRU may initiate a stop monitoring procedure. In an example, a PC5-S stop monitoring request or a similar PC5 message may be sent to the relay WTRU. A stop monitoring request message may be configured to include the information that the relay WTRU should cease transmitting. For example, a remote WTRU may indicate to a relay WTRU to stop transmitting (e.g., only) the remote WTRU paging message. A relay WTRU may stop relaying information (e.g., expressly and/or impliedly) indicated in a message, for example, when the relay WTRU receives the message. The relay WTRU may (e.g., also) stop reading the Uu paging channel with the remote WTRU's ID and the remote WTRU's paging occasion (PO), for example, if the paging message information is included by the remote WTRU in the stop monitoring request); and
stopping relaying of the paging message destined for the remote terminal according to the relay stop request (Paragraphs 0162 and 0163 disclose remote WTRU may initiate a stop monitoring procedure. In an example, a PC5-S stop monitoring request or a similar PC5 message may be sent to the relay WTRU A stop monitoring request message may be configured to include the information that the relay WTRU should cease transmitting. For example, a remote WTRU may indicate to a relay WTRU to stop transmitting (e.g., only) the remote WTRU paging message. A relay WTRU may stop relaying information (e.g., expressly and/or impliedly) indicated in a message, for example, when the relay WTRU receives the message. The relay WTRU may (e.g., also) stop reading the Uu paging channel with the remote WTRU's ID and the remote WTRU's paging occasion (PO), for example, if the paging message information is included by the remote WTRU in the stop monitoring request).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate a remote WTRU sending a message to a relay WTRU causing the relay WTRU to stop relaying, as described in Shi, with a relay UE relaying messages to a remote UE, as described in Ozturk, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining a remote WTRU sending a message to a relay WTRU causing the relay WTRU to stop relaying of Shi with a relay UE relaying messages to a remote UE of Ozturk was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Shi.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Ozturk and Shi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
Regarding claim 12, as applied to claim 7 above, Ozturk discloses the claimed invention except explicitly disclosing receive from the remote terminal, a relay stop request for the paging message; and stop relaying of the paging message destined for the remote terminal according to the relay stop request.
In analogous art, Shi discloses receive from the remote terminal, a relay stop request for the paging message (Paragraphs 0162 and 0163 disclose remote WTRU may initiate a stop monitoring procedure. In an example, a PC5-S stop monitoring request or a similar PC5 message may be sent to the relay WTRU. A stop monitoring request message may be configured to include the information that the relay WTRU should cease transmitting. For example, a remote WTRU may indicate to a relay WTRU to stop transmitting (e.g., only) the remote WTRU paging message. A relay WTRU may stop relaying information (e.g., expressly and/or impliedly) indicated in a message, for example, when the relay WTRU receives the message. The relay WTRU may (e.g., also) stop reading the Uu paging channel with the remote WTRU's ID and the remote WTRU's paging occasion (PO), for example, if the paging message information is included by the remote WTRU in the stop monitoring request); and
stop relaying of the paging message destined for the remote terminal according to the relay stop request (Paragraphs 0162 and 0163 disclose remote WTRU may initiate a stop monitoring procedure. In an example, a PC5-S stop monitoring request or a similar PC5 message may be sent to the relay WTRU A stop monitoring request message may be configured to include the information that the relay WTRU should cease transmitting. For example, a remote WTRU may indicate to a relay WTRU to stop transmitting (e.g., only) the remote WTRU paging message. A relay WTRU may stop relaying information (e.g., expressly and/or impliedly) indicated in a message, for example, when the relay WTRU receives the message. The relay WTRU may (e.g., also) stop reading the Uu paging channel with the remote WTRU's ID and the remote WTRU's paging occasion (PO), for example, if the paging message information is included by the remote WTRU in the stop monitoring request).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate a remote WTRU sending a message to a relay WTRU causing the relay WTRU to stop relaying, as described in Shi, with a relay UE relaying messages to a remote UE, as described in Ozturk, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining a remote WTRU sending a message to a relay WTRU causing the relay WTRU to stop relaying of Shi with a relay UE relaying messages to a remote UE of Ozturk was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Shi.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Ozturk and Shi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Martin et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0261309 A1) discloses wireless telecommunications apparatuses and methods;
Agiwal et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0132464 A1) discloses a method and apparatus for transmitting and receiving a signal in the wireless communication system;
Ji et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0322283 A1) discloses handling of paging messages in communication endpoint to network relaying scenarios;
Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0093649 A1) discloses a communication method and apparatus;
Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0319782 A1) discloses a communication method and apparatus; and
Wei et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0007908 A1) discloses a communications device, infrastructure equipment and methods.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on (571) 272-7915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/Mark G. Pannell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642