DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is an initial office action in response to communication(s) filed on August 19, 2024.
Claims 1-9 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 19, 2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogata (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0192261 A1, hereinafter as “Ogata”) above, and further in view of Fontoura (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0114316 A1, hereinafter as “Fontoura”).
With regard to claim 1, the claim is drawn to an image processing apparatus (see Ogata, i.e. in fig. 1, 2 and etc., disclose the image forming apparatus), comprising circuitry configured to:
acquire a plurality of input images by imaging media (see Ogata, i.e. in fig. 2, para. 28, and etc., disclose that “[0028] The medium detector 12 detects the medium M that is moving on the conveyance route R by means of the conveyer 16, at a predetermined position, here, at a position a predetermined distance short of a position of image forming by the image forming operation section 14. For the medium detector 12, for example, an optical sensor (e.g., a photodiode) that detects presence of a medium M according to interruption of light by the medium M or detects reaching of a medium M to the predetermined position according to changes in detected intensity of reflected light depending on whether or not the medium M is present is used. Based on a timing of detection of a leading edge of the medium M by the medium detector 12 and a speed of conveyance by the conveyer 16, a timing for image forming by the image forming operation section 14 is controlled to form an image at a proper position on the medium M.”);
execute image processing on a specific number of input images among the plurality of input images (Ogata, i.e. in fig. 5, step S111 para. 64 and etc., disclose that “[0064] The controller 15 refers to exceptional settings stored in the storage 17 and determines whether or not the measurement results fall within respective physical property ranges for exceptional setting mediums set in advance (step S103). If it is determined that the measurement results fall within the physical property ranges for any of exceptional setting mediums (“YES” in step S103), the controller 15 selects the relevant exceptional setting medium (step S111). Then, the processing in the controller 15 transitions to step S107…”); and
output a recommendation to omit the image processing or change an imaging method for a medium when a degree of unnecessariness or redundancy of the image processing for the specific number of input images meets a predetermined criterion (see Ogata, i.e. in fig. 5 step, S107-S109, para. 67-81 and etc., disclose that “[0067] The controller 15 determines whether or not a selection operation has been performed (step S108). The controller 15 determines whether or not an operation of selecting any of the rows on the sheet type candidate display screen B1 has been performed, whether or not an operation of selecting a tray to which image forming settings are applied on the sheet tray selection screen B2 has been performed, and whether or not an operation of selecting the “OK” button on the operation selection button display screen B3 has subsequently been performed. If it is determined that at least any of these operations has not been performed (“NO” in step S108), the controller 15 repeats the processing in step S108…”; also see teachings of Fontoura supplemented below).
The teachings of Ogata merely lack in explicitly disclose the aspect relating to “…. a recommendation to omit the image processing or change an imaging method for a medium”.
However, Fontoura discloses an analogous inventio relates to a system and method for parsing documents in query processing comprises producing at least one index of a document written in a mark-up language, corresponding the index to the document, scanning the document, and selectively skipping portions of the document based on instructions from the index (see original disclosure, i.e. abstract, etc.). More specifically, i.e. in Fontoura, i.e. in fig. 1, steps 120, 130 and etc., para. 22 and etc., disclose that “[0022] FIG. 1 depicts a flowchart illustrating a method for parsing documents in query processing comprising producing 100 at least one index of a document written in a mark-up language, corresponding 110 the index to the document, scanning 120 the document, and selectively skipping 130 portions of the document based on instructions from the index... ” [or as “a recommendation to omit the image processing or change an imaging method for a medium…”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ogata to include the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Fontoura, with the aspect(s) discussed above, as the cited prior arts are at least considered to be analogous arts if not also in the same field of endeavor relating to image and/or document processing art. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ogata by the teachings of Fontoura, and to incorporate the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Fontoura, thereby “… reducing parsing time of documents by using intra-document indices to improve querying streams of XML data” (see Fontoura, i.e. in para. 2 and etc.).
With regard to claim 2, the claim is drawn to the image processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to output the recommendation to omit the image processing or change the imaging method for a medium when a medium is newly read without changing settings for imaging processing or the image processing after the specific number of input images are generated in an image reading apparatus (see Ogata, i.e. in para. 81 and etc., disclose that “[0081] As described above, the image forming apparatus 1 (setting determination apparatus) according to the present embodiment includes the physical property measurer 13 that measures physical properties of a medium M and the controller 15. The controller 15 specifies combinations of basis weights and types of medium M based on results of measurement by the physical property measurer 13 and the combinations are output as medium setting candidates for image forming operation settings…”).
With regard to claim 3, the claim is drawn to the image processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to acquire the specific number of input images by imaging corresponding media that are collectively placed on a media tray and sequentially conveyed to be imaged in an image reading apparatus (see Ogata, i.e. in para. 87, discloses that “[0087] Also, where both of coated paper and non-coated paper are output as setting candidates, the controller 15 outputs these types of paper in an order with the coated paper prioritized. If distinguishing between coated paper and non-coated paper based on characteristic measurement is difficult, setting candidates are output and displayed in such a manner that coated paper is preferentially set and thus image quality is more stably maintained without being lowered. Also, if stapling processing is performed in post-processing, a staple less easily penetrates through coated paper than non-coated paper and an upper limit of the number of sheets of coated paper through which a stable can penetrate is small. Making settings with coated paper prioritized reduce failures in post-processing, that is, the present image forming apparatus 1 enables making settings favorable not only for image forming operation but also for post-processing operation…”).
With regard to claim 4, the claim is drawn to the image processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to:
execute additional image processing on the plurality of input images, wherein the additional image processing is different from the image processing (see Ogata, i.e. in fig. 5, step S106, para. 65 and etc., disclose that “[0065] If it is determined that the measurement results fall within none of the physical property ranges for the exceptional setting mediums (“NO” in step S103), the controller 15 calculates a density from the obtained physical property measurement values (step S104). The controller 15 specifies a basis weight classification section from among those set for the respective image forming operation settings (step S105). The controller 15 specifies a paper type category from among those set for the respective image forming operation settings (step S106). Then, the processing in the controller 15 transitions to step S107. The processing in steps S101 to step S106 corresponds to a specification step in an image forming operation setting method according to the present embodiment…”); and
output the recommendation to omit the image processing after the additional image processing is completed (see Ogata, i.e. in fig. 5 step, S107-S109, para. 67-81 and etc., disclose that “[0067] The controller 15 determines whether or not a selection operation has been performed (step S108). The controller 15 determines whether or not an operation of selecting any of the rows on the sheet type candidate display screen B1 has been performed, whether or not an operation of selecting a tray to which image forming settings are applied on the sheet tray selection screen B2 has been performed, and whether or not an operation of selecting the “OK” button on the operation selection button display screen B3 has subsequently been performed. If it is determined that at least any of these operations has not been performed (“NO” in step S108), the controller 15 repeats the processing in step S108…”).
With regard to claim 5, the claim is drawn to the image processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to execute additional image processing on the plurality of input images in priority to and asynchronously with the image processing, wherein the additional image processing is different from the image processing (see Ogata, i.e. in para. 44 and etc., discloses that “[0044] In the image forming setting information 173, a plurality of combinations of the aforementioned medium types and basis weights are set and each of the combinations is held in association with operation setting data (control parameters) for image forming. Examples of the operation setting data can include, e.g., a driving voltage (or an amount of deviation from a reference driving voltage) and a fixing temperature (or an amount of deviation from a reference fixing temperature). The basis weight in each of the combinations is here indicated by ranges divided on a predetermined width basis but may be a representative value. The image forming operation section 14 performs an image forming operation based on control parameters acquired according to a selected and set medium type-basis weight combination. Also, the operation setting data for image forming (control parameters) may include not only operation setting parameters for operation of the image forming operation section 14 but also operation setting parameters for operation of the medium supplier 11 and operation of the post-processing apparatuses. Various operation settings such as a degree and/or a limit of pressing in various types of processing such as feeding, sorting, bending, cutting and stapling of a medium M may be set according to, e.g., a thickness, a hardness and/or a surface smoothness of the medium M….”).
With regard to claim 6, the claim is drawn to the image processing apparatus of claim 5, wherein the circuitry is configured to output the recommendation to omit the image processing regardless of whether the additional image processing on the plurality of input image is completed (in Fontoura, i.e. in fig. 1, steps 120, 130 and etc., para. 22 and etc., disclose that “[0022] FIG. 1 depicts a flowchart illustrating a method for parsing documents in query processing comprising producing 100 at least one index of a document written in a mark-up language, corresponding 110 the index to the document, scanning 120 the document, and selectively skipping 130 portions of the document based on instructions from the index... ” [or as “a recommendation to omit the image processing or change an imaging method for a medium…”]).
With regard to claim 7, the claim is drawn to the image processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to calculate the degree of unnecessariness or redundancy of the image processing based on feature information of the plurality of input images regardless of whether the image processing has been executed on the plurality of input images. [0044] In the image forming setting information 173, a plurality of combinations of the aforementioned medium types and basis weights are set and each of the combinations is held in association with operation setting data (control parameters) for image forming. Examples of the operation setting data can include, e.g., a driving voltage (or an amount of deviation from a reference driving voltage) and a fixing temperature (or an amount of deviation from a reference fixing temperature). The basis weight in each of the combinations is here indicated by ranges divided on a predetermined width basis but may be a representative value. The image forming operation section 14 performs an image forming operation based on control parameters acquired according to a selected and set medium type-basis weight combination. Also, the operation setting data for image forming (control parameters) may include not only operation setting parameters for operation of the image forming operation section 14 but also operation setting parameters for operation of the medium supplier 11 and operation of the post-processing apparatuses. Various operation settings such as a degree and/or a limit of pressing in various types of processing such as feeding, sorting, bending, cutting and stapling of a medium M may be set according to, e.g., a thickness, a hardness and/or a surface smoothness of the medium M…”)
With regard to claim 8, the claim is drawn to an image processing system (see Ogata, i.e. in fig. 2, image forming apparatus, and etc.) comprising:
an image reading apparatus including first circuitry (see Ogata, i.e. in fig. 2, medium detector 12); and
an information processing apparatus including second circuitry (see Ogata, i.e. in fig. 2, controller 15),
the first circuitry and second circuitry being configured to operate in cooperation to:
acquire a plurality of input images by imaging media (see Ogata, i.e. in fig. 2, para. 28, and etc., disclose that “[0028] The medium detector 12 detects the medium M that is moving on the conveyance route R by means of the conveyer 16, at a predetermined position, here, at a position a predetermined distance short of a position of image forming by the image forming operation section 14. For the medium detector 12, for example, an optical sensor (e.g., a photodiode) that detects presence of a medium M according to interruption of light by the medium M or detects reaching of a medium M to the predetermined position according to changes in detected intensity of reflected light depending on whether or not the medium M is present is used. Based on a timing of detection of a leading edge of the medium M by the medium detector 12 and a speed of conveyance by the conveyer 16, a timing for image forming by the image forming operation section 14 is controlled to form an image at a proper position on the medium M.”);
execute image processing on a specific number of input images among the plurality of input images (Ogata, i.e. in fig. 5, step S111 para. 64 and etc., disclose that “[0064] The controller 15 refers to exceptional settings stored in the storage 17 and determines whether or not the measurement results fall within respective physical property ranges for exceptional setting mediums set in advance (step S103). If it is determined that the measurement results fall within the physical property ranges for any of exceptional setting mediums (“YES” in step S103), the controller 15 selects the relevant exceptional setting medium (step S111). Then, the processing in the controller 15 transitions to step S107…”); and
output a recommendation to omit the image processing or change an imaging method for a medium when a degree of unnecessariness or redundancy of the image processing for the specific number of input images meets a predetermined criterion (see Ogata, i.e. in fig. 5 step, S107-S109, para. 67-81 and etc., disclose that “[0067] The controller 15 determines whether or not a selection operation has been performed (step S108). The controller 15 determines whether or not an operation of selecting any of the rows on the sheet type candidate display screen B1 has been performed, whether or not an operation of selecting a tray to which image forming settings are applied on the sheet tray selection screen B2 has been performed, and whether or not an operation of selecting the “OK” button on the operation selection button display screen B3 has subsequently been performed. If it is determined that at least any of these operations has not been performed (“NO” in step S108), the controller 15 repeats the processing in step S108…”).
With regard to claim 9, the claim is drawn to an image processing method (see Ogata, i.e. fig. 3, 5, 7, para. 53, and etc.), comprising:
acquiring a plurality of input images by imaging media (see Ogata, i.e. in fig. 2, para. 28, and etc., disclose that “[0028] The medium detector 12 detects the medium M that is moving on the conveyance route R by means of the conveyer 16, at a predetermined position, here, at a position a predetermined distance short of a position of image forming by the image forming operation section 14. For the medium detector 12, for example, an optical sensor (e.g., a photodiode) that detects presence of a medium M according to interruption of light by the medium M or detects reaching of a medium M to the predetermined position according to changes in detected intensity of reflected light depending on whether or not the medium M is present is used. Based on a timing of detection of a leading edge of the medium M by the medium detector 12 and a speed of conveyance by the conveyer 16, a timing for image forming by the image forming operation section 14 is controlled to form an image at a proper position on the medium M.”);
executing image processing on a specific number of input images among the plurality of input images (Ogata, i.e. in fig. 5, step S111 para. 64 and etc., disclose that “[0064] The controller 15 refers to exceptional settings stored in the storage 17 and determines whether or not the measurement results fall within respective physical property ranges for exceptional setting mediums set in advance (step S103). If it is determined that the measurement results fall within the physical property ranges for any of exceptional setting mediums (“YES” in step S103), the controller 15 selects the relevant exceptional setting medium (step S111). Then, the processing in the controller 15 transitions to step S107…”); and
outputting a recommendation to omit the image processing or change an imaging method for a medium when a degree of unnecessariness or redundancy of the image processing for the specific number of input images meets a predetermined criterion (see Ogata, i.e. in fig. 5 step, S107-S109, para. 67-81 and etc., disclose that “[0067] The controller 15 determines whether or not a selection operation has been performed (step S108). The controller 15 determines whether or not an operation of selecting any of the rows on the sheet type candidate display screen B1 has been performed, whether or not an operation of selecting a tray to which image forming settings are applied on the sheet tray selection screen B2 has been performed, and whether or not an operation of selecting the “OK” button on the operation selection button display screen B3 has subsequently been performed. If it is determined that at least any of these operations has not been performed (“NO” in step S108), the controller 15 repeats the processing in step S108…”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yokogawa (U.S. Pat/Pub No. 2025/0078452 A1, PFU Limited) disclose an invention relates to image processing apparatus, image processing system and method.
Tsuda (U.S. Pat/Pub No. 2024/0414275 A1, PFU Limited) disclose an invention relates to image processing apparatus, image processing system and method.
The Art Unit (or Workgroup) location of your application in the USPTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Art Unit 2681.
/JACKY X ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681