DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed 8/19/2024.
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim, U.S. PGPUB No. 2017/0308289 (“Kim”).
With regard to Claim 1, Kim teaches a system comprising:
at least one processor; and memory storing instructions (Fig. 2) that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to be operable to:
receive, from a user, and while a keyboard is being rendered at a graphical user interface of a client device, natural language user input ([0027] describes that a keyboard receives input from a user, from which one or more words or phrases can be determined);
determine to incorporate additional content, that is generated based on the natural language user input, into an entry field of the keyboard, that is being rendered at the graphical user interface of the client device, and in lieu of content that verbatim corresponds to the natural language user input ([0032] describes that a keyboard can execute a function to present iconographic symbols, emoticons, and emoji as selectable elements within a region, instead of suggested words or other linguistic information derived from the language model, where [0027] describes that the language model determines one or more candidate inputs corresponding specifically to the sequence of characters entered);
in response to determining to incorporate the additional content, that is generated based on the natural language user input, into the entry field of the keyboard, that is being rendered at the graphical user interface of the client device, and in lieu of the content that verbatim corresponds to the natural language user input: cause the additional content to be incorporated into the entry field of the keyboard, that is being rendered at the graphical user interface of the client device, and in lieu of the content that verbatim corresponds to the natural language user input ([0032] describes that the determined symbols, emoticons, and emoji are presented as selectable elements within the region instead of the linguistic information).
Claim 6 recites a method which is carried out by the system of Claim 1, and is similarly rejected. Claim 11 recites a non-transitory medium (Fig. 2) storing instructions which execute to implement the system of Claim 1, and is likewise rejected.
With regard to Claim 2, Kim teaches that the at least one processor is further operable to: generate the additional content locally at the client device. [0064] describes that the search module can access a local emoji data store in some embodiments, thereby enabling the generation of emoji suggestions to occur locally at the client device.
Claim 7 recites a method which is carried out by the system of Claim 2, and is similarly rejected. Claim 12 recites a non-transitory medium (Fig. 2) storing instructions which execute to implement the system of Claim 2, and is likewise rejected.
With regard to Claim 3, Kim teaches that the at least one processor is further operable to: transmit, over one or more networks and to a remote system, a request to generate the additional content, wherein transmitting the request to generate the additional content over the one or more networks and to the remote system causes the remote system to generate the additional content; and receive, over the one or more networks and from the remote system, the additional content. [0064] describes that the search module in some embodiments can access a remote emoji data store for conducting an emoji search, thereby causing the remote system to provide the emoji which are presented in the user interface.
Claim 8 recites a method which is carried out by the system of Claim 3, and is similarly rejected. Claim 13 recites a non-transitory medium (Fig. 2) storing instructions which execute to implement the system of Claim 3, and is likewise rejected.
With regard to Claim 4, Kim teaches that the additional content is a particular emoji, and wherein natural language user input is descriptive of the particular emoji. [0040] and Fig. 1D describe that the content are emoji which correspond to the input description of “Italian food,” by providing emoji of different types of Italian foods.
Claim 9 recites a method which is carried out by the system of Claim 4, and is similarly rejected. Claim 14 recites a non-transitory medium (Fig. 2) storing instructions which execute to implement the system of Claim 4, and is likewise rejected.
With regard to Claim 5, Kim teaches that the natural language user input is spoken input or typed input. [0026]-[0027] describe that the input language data is provided by typing the input into the keyboard using the keyboard’s graphical keys.
Claim 10 recites a method which is carried out by the system of Claim 5, and is similarly rejected. Claim 15 recites a non-transitory medium (Fig. 2) storing instructions which execute to implement the system of Claim5, and is likewise rejected.
Conclusion
/KEITH D BLOOMQUIST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171
6/15/2026