DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: resection feature in claims 1-3 and 12; attachment feature in claims 1, 10 and 12; resection features in claim 6; and engagement feature in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 10, 12-14, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graser, U.S. Patent 5,843,085 in view of Kunz et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2014/0343403.
Regarding claim 1, Graser discloses an apparatus for remediating a bone condition present in a patient’s foot, comprising: a resection guide (75) comprising: a body having an anterior side, a posterior side, a medial side, a lateral side, a superior side, and an inferior side; a first resection feature (20) configured to guide a cutting tool to form a first osteotomy in a metatarsal (230), the first resection feature extending through the resection guide from the medial side to the lateral side along a first trajectory; a second resection feature (80) configured to guide a cutting tool to form a second osteotomy in the metatarsal, the second resection feature extending through the resection guide form the medial side to the lateral side along a second trajectory; a third resection feature (30) configured to guide a cutting tool to form a third osteotomy in the metatarsal, the third resection feature extending through the resection guide from the medial side to the lateral side along a third trajectory; and a bone attachment feature (K-wire via pin holes 50 and 60) configured to secure the resection guide to the metatarsal (Figs. 2A-2D and Col. 6 lines 11-18).
Graser does not disclose wherein at least one of the first trajectory and the second trajectory are at least partially determined based on using a three-dimensional bone model of at least a portion of the metatarsal, the three-dimensional bone model based on medical imaging of the patient’s foot and representing at least a portion of the patient’s foot.
Kunz et al. discloses designing a guidance tool for intraoperative use during bone or joint surgery that is specific to the anatomy of the patient being treated, the process comprising creating a 3-D surface model of the patient’s anatomy, using the 3-D surface model to preoperatively determine a trajectory for placement at a predetermined trajectory relative to the patient’s anatomy and adjusting the design as necessary to achieve a correct fit (paragraph [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify at least one of the first and second trajectories of Graser to at least be partially determined based on using a three-dimensional bone model of at least a portion of the metatarsal, the three-dimensional bone model based on medical imaging of the patient’s foot and representing at least a portion of the patient’s foot in view of Kunz et al. to permit the apparatus to be designed as necessary to achieve a correct fit and to determine proper trajectory placement.
Regarding claim 2, Graser discloses wherein the third resection feature (30) intersects the first resection feature (20) and the second resection feature (80) at an intersection angle (90) of between about 45 and about 135 degrees (Fig. 2A and Col. 6, lines 2-5).
Regarding claim 3, Graser discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for wherein the third resection feature intersects both the first resection feature and the second resection feature at an intersection angle of about 90 degrees. However, Graser does disclose wherein the third resection feature (80) intersects both the first resection feature (20) and the second resection feature (30) at an intersection angle (90) of about 180 degrees or less (Fig. 2A and Col. 6, lines 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the intersection angle of Graser to be about 90 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 10, Graser discloses wherein the bone attachment feature (K-wire via pin holes 50 and 60) is configured to form at least one hole in the bone, the at least one hole configured to serve as an anchor hole for a fixation device (Fig. 2A and Col. 6 lines 11-18).
Regarding claim 12, Graser discloses an apparatus for remediating a bone condition present in a patient’s foot, comprising: a body (75) having an anterior side, a posterior side, a medial side, a lateral side, a superior side, and an inferior side; a resection feature (20, 80, 30) configured to guide a cutting tool to form a wedge osteotomy in a metatarsal, the wedge osteotomy forming a wedge bone fragment; and a bone attachment feature (K-wire via pin holes 50 and 60) configured to secure the resection guide to the metatarsal (Figs. 2A-2D and Col. 6 lines 11-18).
Graser does not disclose wherein at least one of a position, an orientation, and a configuration of the resection feature relative to the body is determined based at least in part on a three-dimensional bone model of at least a portion of the metatarsal, the three-dimensional bone model based on medical imaging of the patient’s foot and representing at least a portion of an anatomy of the patient’s foot.
Kunz et al. discloses designing a guidance tool for intraoperative use during bone or joint surgery that is specific to the anatomy of the patient being treated, the process comprising creating a 3-D surface model of the patient’s anatomy, using the 3-D surface model to preoperatively determine a trajectory for placement at a predetermined trajectory relative to the patient’s anatomy and adjusting the design as necessary to achieve a correct fit (paragraph [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resection feature of Graser such that at least one of a position, an orientation, and a configuration of the resection feature relative to the body is determined based at least in part on a three-dimensional bone model of at least a portion of the metatarsal, the three-dimensional bone model based on medical imaging of the patient’s foot and representing at least a portion of an anatomy of the patient’s foot in view of Kunz et al. to permit the apparatus to be designed as necessary to achieve a correct fit and to determine proper trajectory placement.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Graser discloses wherein the resection feature (20, 80, 30) is configured to form a shelf in a head of a metatarsal (fully capable of forming a shelf if using a saw blade making a cut with 80 and 30 with the portion of 30 extending past 80 towards pin hole 50 forming the shelf); and wherein the resection feature is configured to form a planar surface on a proximal side of the wedge osteotomy, the planar surface configured to engage with the shelf during fusion to provide increased bone contact for fusion of the wedge osteotomy (Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 16, the limitations of claim 16 further define the functional language of line 6 of claim 12; therefore, Graser as modified in view of Kunz et al. discloses such limitations.
Regarding claim 17, Graser discloses the resection features (20, 80, 30) comprising a first section extending through the resection guide (75) form the medial side to the lateral side, the first section comprising: a first leg (20) extending through the resection guide along a first trajectory; a second leg (80) extending through the resection guide along a second trajectory; and a second section extending through the resection guide from the medial side to the lateral side (via 30), the second section intersecting the first leg at a first turn having a first intersection angle and the second leg at a second turn having a second intersection angle (both 90), the second section extending through the resection guide along a third trajectory (via 30) (Figs. 2A-2D).
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graser, U.S. Patent 5,843,085 in view of Kunz et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2014/0343403 as applied above, and further in view of Goldberg et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2022/0313453.
Regarding claim 4-6, Graser in view of Kunz et al. discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for wherein the first trajectory converges with the second trajectory at a vertex having a wedge angle, and the third trajectory intersects the first trajectory and the second trajectory to form a wedge osteotomy, the wedge angle determined based, at least in part, on the three-dimensional bone model; wherein the vertex is prepositioned to be between a lateral cortex of the metatarsal and the resection guide when the resection guide is designed for the metatarsal; and wherein the vertex is prepositioned such that the first resection feature and the second resection feature are configured to guide the cutting tool for form osteotomies that define a living hinge at a cortex of the metatarsal.
Goldberg et al. discloses trajectories (112, 114, 116) converging at a vertex having a wedge angle to form a wedge osteotomy determined based, at least in part, on the bone model, the vertex being positioned between a lateral cortex of bone and a resection guide when the resection guide is designed for the bone, and such that the vertex is prepositioned such that a osteotomy formed in two of the resection features is configured to form a living hinge at a cortex of the bone for the purposes of permitting the trajectories to depend at least partially on geometric properties and/or relationships between anatomical points to get an ideal osteotomy location (examiner annotated Fig. 4 below and paragraph [0048], [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second trajectories of Graser such that the first trajectory converges with the second trajectory at a vertex having a wedge angle, and the third trajectory intersects the first trajectory and the second trajectory to form a wedge osteotomy, the wedge angle determined based, at least in part, on the three-dimensional bone model; wherein the vertex is prepositioned to be between a lateral cortex of the metatarsal and the resection guide when the resection guide is designed for the metatarsal; and wherein the vertex is prepositioned such that the first resection feature and the second resection feature are configured to guide the cutting tool for form osteotomies that define a living hinge at a cortex of the metatarsal further in view of Goldberg et al. to permit the trajectories to depend at least partially on geometric properties and/or relationships between anatomical points to get an ideal osteotomy location.
Claim(s) 7-9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graser, U.S. Patent 5,843,085 in view of Kunz et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2014/0343403 as applied above, and further in view of Iannotti et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2019/0069913.
Regarding claims 7-9 and 15, Graser in view of Kunz et al. discloses wherein the resection guide (75) comprises a bone engagement surface on one of a lateral side and a medial side of the body configured to engage with at least a portion of the metatarsal at a position (Figs. 2A-2B of Graser), but does not disclose the bone engagement surface substantially matching a model position of a model of the resection guide engaging the three-dimensional bone model and configured to at least partially match a contour of a surface of the metatarsal when the resection guide is positioned for use.
Iannotti et al. discloses a guide having a bone engagement surface (520) configured to match a contour of a surface of bone to provide the guide with at least one of location and stabilization assistance with respect to patient tissue (Fig. 5 and paragraph [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bone engagement surface of Graser to substantially match a model position of a model of the resection guide engaging the three-dimensional bone model and configured to at least partially match a contour of a surface of the metatarsal when the resection guide is positioned for use further in view of Iannotti et al. to permit the guide with at least one of location and stabilization assistance with respect to patient bone.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graser, U.S. Patent 5,843,085 in view of Kunz et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2014/0343403 as applied above, and further in view of Kulwin, U.S. PG-Pub 2023/0027816.
Regarding claim 11, Graser in view of Goldberg et al. discloses the third resection feature (30) being closed on both ends (Fig. 2A of Graser), but does not disclose the third resection feature comprising an open end.
Kulwin discloses a resection guide having resection features (150) having a closed end and an open end (Figs. 2-3) to allow for a wider range of saw blade use (paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the third resection feature of Graser to have an open end further in view of Kulwin to permit allowing for a wider range of saw blade use.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 20 August 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 6, 10 and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 6, 10 and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 20 August 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made to Graser, U.S. Patent 5,843,085 in view of Kunz et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2014/0343403.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC S GIBSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775