DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 26 March 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 19 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 26 March 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: resection feature in claims 1-3 and 12; attachment feature in claims 1, 10 and 12; resection features in claim 6; and engagement feature in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 6, 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 6 recites “wherein the vertex is prepositioned such that an osteotomy formed in two of the resection features forms a living hinge at a cortex of the bone.”
Claim 10 recites “wherein the bone attachment feature forms at least one hole in the bone, the at least one hole configured to serve as an anchor hole for a fixation device.”
Claim 18 recites “wherein the second section is positioned within the resection guide such that the second section protects sesamoids that are plantar to a head of the metatarsal from dissection.”
It appears bones are being positively recited as limitations of the claims. It is suggested application amend the claims such that the bones are functionally recited, i.e. “is configured to form a living hinge at a cortex of the bone,” “is configured to form at least one hole in the bone,” and “is configured to protect sesamoids that are plantar to a head of the metatarsal from dissection.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 10, 12-14, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graser, U.S. Patent 5,843,085 in view of Goldberg et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2022/0313453.
Regarding claim 1, Graser discloses an apparatus for remediating a bone condition present in a patient’s foot, comprising: a resection guide (75) comprising: a body having an anterior side, a posterior side, a medial side, a lateral side, a superior side, and an inferior side; a first resection feature (20) configured to guide a cutting tool to form a first osteotomy in a bone, the first resection feature extending through the resection guide from the medial side to the lateral side along a first trajectory; a second resection feature (80) configured to guide a cutting tool to form a second osteotomy in the bone, the second resection feature extending through the resection guide form the medial side to the lateral side along a second trajectory; a third resection feature (30) configured to guide a cutting tool to form a third osteotomy in the bone, the third resection feature extending through the resection guide from the medial side to the lateral side along a third trajectory; and a bone attachment feature (K-wire via pin holes 50 and 60) configured to secure the resection guide to the bone (Figs. 2A-2D and Col. 6 lines 11-18).
Graser does not disclose wherein at least one of the first trajectory, the second trajectory, and the third trajectory are at least partially determined based on a bone model of at least a portion of the bone, the bone model based on medical imaging of the patient’s foot and configured to resemble an anatomy of the patient’s foot.
Goldberg et al. discloses designing patient specific cut guides to have trajectories (112, 114, 116) determined based on a bone model of at least a portion of a bone that is based on medical imaging of a patient and configured to resemble an anatomy of the patient’s foot as such permits the cut line trajectories to depend at least partially on geometric properties and/or relationships between anatomical points to get an ideal osteotomy location (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0048], [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first, second, and third trajectories of Graser to be at least partially determined based on a bone model of at least a portion of the bone, the bone model based on medical imaging of the patient’s foot and configured to resemble an anatomy of the patient’s foot in view of Goldberg et al. to permit the trajectories to depend at least partially on geometric properties and/or relationships between anatomical points to get an ideal osteotomy location.
Regarding claim 2, Graser discloses wherein the third resection feature (30) intersects the first resection feature (20) and the second resection feature (80) at an intersection angle (90) of between about 45 and about 135 degrees (Fig. 2A and Col. 6, lines 2-5).
Regarding claim 3, Graser discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for wherein the third resection feature intersects both the first resection feature and the second resection feature at an intersection angle of about 90 degrees. However, Graser does disclose wherein the third resection feature (80) intersects both the first resection feature (20) and the second resection feature (30) at an intersection angle (90) of about 180 degrees or less (Fig. 2A and Col. 6, lines 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the intersection angle of Graser to be about 90 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 4-6, Goldberg et al. discloses trajectories (112, 114, 116) converging at a vertex having a wedge angle to form a wedge osteotomy determined based, at least in part, on the bone model, the vertex being positioned between a lateral cortex of bone and a resection guide when the resection guide is designed for the bone, and such that the vertex is prepositioned such that a osteotomy formed in two of the resection features is configured to form a living hinge at a cortex of the bone (examiner annotated Fig. 4 below and paragraph [0048], [0059]).
Therefore, the combination of Graser as modified in view of Goldberg et al. (see claim 1 above) discloses the limitations of claims 4-6 for the purposes of to permitting the trajectories to depend at least partially on geometric properties and/or relationships between anatomical points to get an ideal osteotomy location.
Regarding claim 10, Graser discloses wherein the bone attachment feature (K-wire via pin holes 50 and 60) is configured to form at least one hole in the bone, the at least one hole configured to serve as an anchor hole for a fixation device (Fig. 2A and Col. 6 lines 11-18).
Regarding claim 12, Graser discloses an apparatus for remediating a bone condition present in a patient’s foot, comprising: a body (75) having an anterior side, a posterior side, a medial side, a lateral side, a superior side, and an inferior side; a resection feature (20, 80, 30) configured to guide a cutting tool to form a wedge osteotomy in a metatarsal, the wedge osteotomy forming a wedge bone fragment; and a bone attachment feature (K-wire via pin holes 50 and 60) configured to secure the resection guide to the bone (Figs. 2A-2D and Col. 6 lines 11-18).
Graser does not disclose the wedge osteotomy at least partially determined based on a bone model of at least a portion of the metatarsal.
Goldberg et al. discloses designing patient specific cut guides to have trajectories (112, 114, 116) determined based on a bone model of at least a portion of a bone that is based on medical imaging of a patient and configured to resemble an anatomy of the patient’s foot as such permits the cut line trajectories to depend at least partially on geometric properties and/or relationships between anatomical points to get an ideal osteotomy location (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0048], [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resection feature of Graser such that cutting trajectories are configured to guide the cutting tool to form the wedge osteotomy based on a bone model of at least a portion of the metatarsal in view of Goldberg et al. to permit forming the wedge osteotomy at an ideal location.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Graser discloses wherein the resection feature (20, 80, 30) is configured to form a shelf in a head of a metatarsal (fully capable of forming a shelf if using a saw blade making a cut with 80 and 30 with the portion of 30 extending past 80 towards pin hole 50 forming the shelf); and wherein the resection feature is configured to form a planar surface on a proximal side of the wedge osteotomy, the planar surface configured to engage with the shelf during fusion to provide increased bone contact for fusion of the wedge osteotomy (Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 16, the limitations of claim 16 further define the functional language of line 5 of claim 12; therefore, Graser as modified in view of Goldberg et al. discloses such limitations.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Graser discloses the resection features (20, 80, 30) comprising a first section extending through the resection guide (75) form the medial side to the lateral side, the first section comprising: a first leg (20) extending through the resection guide along a first trajectory; a second leg (80) extending through the resection guide along a second trajectory; and a second section extending through the resection guide from the medial side to the lateral side (via 30), the second section intersecting the first leg at a first turn having a first intersection angle and the second leg at a second turn having a second intersection angle (both 90), the second section extending through the resection guide along a third trajectory (via 30); and wherein the second section is positioned within the resection guide such that the second section is configured to protect sesamoids that are plantar to a head of the metatarsal from dissection (Figs. 2A-2D).
Claim(s) 7-9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graser, U.S. Patent 5,843,085 in view of Goldberg et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2022/0313453 as applied above, and further in view of Iannotti et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2019/0069913.
Regarding claims 7-9 and 15, Graser in view of Goldberg et al. discloses wherein the resection guide (75) comprises a bone engagement surface on one of a lateral side and a medial side of the body configured to engage with at least a portion of the bone at a position (Figs. 2A-2B of Graser), but does not disclose the bone engagement surface substantially matching a model position of a model of the resection guide engaging the bone model and configured to at least partially match a contour of a surface of the bone when the resection guide is positioned for use.
Iannotti et al. discloses a guide having a bone engagement surface (520) configured to match a contour of a surface of bone to provide the guide with at least one of location and stabilization assistance with respect to patient tissue (Fig. 5 and paragraph [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bone engagement surface of Graser to substantially match a model position of a model of the resection guide engaging the bone model and configured to at least partially match a contour of a surface of the bone when the resection guide is positioned for use further in view of Iannotti et al. to permit the guide with at least one of location and stabilization assistance with respect to patient bone.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graser, U.S. Patent 5,843,085 in view of Goldberg et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2022/0313453 as applied above, and further in view of Kulwin, U.S. PG-Pub 2023/0027816.
Regarding claim 11, Graser in view of Goldberg et al. discloses the third resection feature (30) being closed on both ends (Fig. 2A of Graser), but does not disclose the third resection feature comprising an open end.
Kulwin discloses a resection guide having resection features (150) having a closed end and an open end (Figs. 2-3) to allow for a wider range of saw blade use (paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the third resection feature of Graser to have an open end further in view of Kulwin to permit allowing for a wider range of saw blade use.
Conclusion
/ERIC S GIBSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775