DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Applicant’s admitted prior art (APA).
APA, as specified in Applicant’s Background, clearly discloses the common concept of storing compressed video bitstreams.
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 8, 10-12, 14, 15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deshpande (2017/0134742) for the same reasons as set forth in Sec. 4 of the parent application 17/087,865, dated 3/18/22.
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, Deshpande discloses a computer system (and the corresponding method; and non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon a computer program for coding) for coding video data (para [0159]-[0165], [0178], [0179], [0285], [0286], [0395], [0431]), the computer system comprising one or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media configured to store computer program code (para [0159]-[0165], [0178], [0179], [0285], [0286], [0395], [0431]); and one or more computer processors configured to access said computer program code and operate as instructed by said computer program code, said computer program code including receiving code configured to cause the one or more computer processors obtaining video data comprising a current picture and one or more other pictures (para [0159]-[0165], [0178], [0179], [0285], [0286], [0395], [0431]); determining a first flag indicating whether the current picture is referenced by the one or more other pictures in an encoding/decoding order (para [0159]-[0165], [0178], [0179], [0285], [0286], [0395], [0431]); determining a second flag indicating to whether the current picture is output (para [0322], [0395], [0603]); and decoding/encoding the video data in accordance with the first flag and the second flag (para [0007], [0397]), a value of the second flag is inferred (e.g. 0) based on a value of the first flag ([0606], [0614], [0655], e.g. alt_output_layer_flag), the first flag and the second flag are signaled in a picture header or a slice header associated with the video data (para [0395], [0604]), and a value of the second flag is inferred based on the value of the first flag not being explicitly signaled (para [0395], [0397], [0411], [0437], [0440]); and transmitting the video bitstream 1014.
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Deshpande discloses the current picture is not encoded based on the first flag being set to one (para [0397], [0567]) and the second flag being set to zero (para [0397], [0567]).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Deshpande discloses the first flag corresponds to whether the current picture is referenced for motion compensation or parameter prediction (para [0395], [0397], [0437]).
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, Deshpande discloses the second flag corresponds to whether the current picture cropped and output for display or other purposes (para [0431], [0434]).
Regarding claims 7, and 14, Deshpande discloses the value of the second flag is inferred at the encoder side or at the decoder side (para [0103], [0368]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/24/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts on p. 7-8 of the Remarks that the reference fails to disclose the second flag is inferred. However, it is submitted that applicant concedes on p. 8 that Deshpande discloses that the value of the second flag may be inferred.
Conclusion
/Y LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485