DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 8, 10-12, 14, 15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deshpande (2017/0134742) for the same reasons as set forth in Sec. 4 of the parent application 17/087,865, dated 3/18/22.
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, Deshpande discloses a computer system (and the corresponding method; and non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon a computer program for coding) for coding video data (para [0159]-[0165], [0178], [0179], [0285], [0286], [0395], [0431]), the computer system comprising one or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media configured to store computer program code (para [0159]-[0165], [0178], [0179], [0285], [0286], [0395], [0431]); and one or more computer processors configured to access said computer program code and operate as instructed by said computer program code, said computer program code including receiving code configured to cause the one or more computer processors obtaining video data comprising a current picture and one or more other pictures (para [0159]-[0165], [0178], [0179], [0285], [0286], [0395], [0431]); determining a first flag indicating whether the current picture is referenced by the one or more other pictures in an encoding/decoding order (para [0159]-[0165], [0178], [0179], [0285], [0286], [0395], [0431]); determining a second flag indicating to whether the current picture is output (para [0322], [0395], [0603]); and decoding/encoding the video data in accordance with the first flag and the second flag (para [0007], [0397]), a value of the second flag is inferred (e.g. 0) based on a value of the first flag ([0606], [0614], [0655], e.g. alt_output_layer_flag), wherein the first flag and the second flag are signaled in a picture header or a slice header associated with the video data (para [0395], [0604]), and wherein a value of the second flag is inferred based on the value of the first flag not being explicitly signaled (para [0395], [0397], [0411], [0437], [0440]).
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Deshpande discloses the current picture is not encoded based on the first flag being set to one (para [0397], [0567]) and the second flag being set to zero (para [0397], [0567]).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Deshpande discloses the first flag corresponds to whether the current picture is referenced for motion compensation or parameter prediction (para [0395], [0397], [0437]).
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, Deshpande discloses the second flag corresponds to whether the current picture cropped and output for display or other purposes (para [0431], [0434]).
Regarding claims 7, and 14, Deshpande discloses the value of the second flag is inferred at the encoder side or at the decoder side (para [0103], [0368]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,095,958 and claims 1-3 of Patent 11,722,656 for the same reasons as set forth in Sec. 6 of the last OA, dated 11/26/25. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the application are broader than the ones in the patent (214 U.S.P.Q. 761 In re Van Ornum and Stanz).
18/808,959
US 12,095,958
A method for encoding video data, executable by at least one processor, comprising obtaining video data comprising
a current picture and one or more other pictures;
determining a first flag, the first flag indicating whether the current picture is referenced by the one or more other pictures in a decoding an order;
determining a second flag, indicating whether the current picture is
and decoding the video data in accordance with the first flag and flag, a value of the second flag is inferred based on a value of the first flag.
A non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon a computer program for coding video data, the computer program configured to cause one or more computer processors to:
receive coded video data comprising a current picture and one or more other pictures;
checking a first flag corresponding to whether the current picture is referenced by the one or more other pictures in a decoding order;
checking a second flag corresponding to whether the current picture is output
;
decode the video data based on values corresponding to the first flag and the second flag.
18/808,959
US 11,722,656
A method for encoding video data, executable by at least one processor, comprising obtaining video data comprising
a current picture and one or more other pictures;
determining a first flag, the first flag indicating whether the current picture is referenced by the one or more other pictures in a decoding an order;
determining a second flag, indicating whether the current picture is
and decoding the video data in accordance with the first flag and flag,
a value of the second flag is inferred based on a value of the first flag.
A method for decoding video data, executable by a processor, comprising:
receiving coded video data including a coded current picture and one or more subsequent pictures;
checking a first flag for indicating whether the coded current picture is referenced for compensation or parameter prediction by the one or more subsequent pictures in a decoding order;
checking a second flag for indicating whether the coded current picture can be cropped and outputted for display or other purposes, the second flag being different from the first flag; and
decoding the coded video data at least in part by discarding the coded current picture from the coded video data based on the first flag indicating a lack of use of the coded current picture as a reference picture and the second flag indicating a restriction preventing output of the coded current picture,
wherein the first flag and the second flag are signaled in one of a picture header and a slice header associated with the video data, and
wherein a value of the second flag is inferred during decoding based on a value of the first flag.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/7/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts on p. 7-8 of the Remarks that the reference fails to disclose the second flag is inferred. However, it is submitted that [0606], [0614], and [0655] of Deshpande disclose that the alt_output_layer_flag indicates whether a picture in the layer is output and is inferred to be 0 based on the inter layer prediction flag that enables picture prediction and reference between layers, wherein the value of the inter layer prediction flag is not being explicitly signaled (e.g. [0397], [0411], [0440]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Y LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485