DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei (US 2024/0147478 A1) hereinafter “Babaei”, in view of Li et al. (US 2025/0267655 A1) hereinafter “Li”.
Regarding claim 1:
Babaei discloses a wireless device (e.g., Fig. 15, 1502) comprising: one or more processors (Fig. 15, 1524); and memory (Fig. 15, 1512) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to:
receive at least one configured grant (CG) configuration indicating: one or more first parameters indicating a plurality of CGs (e.g., [0164], “a wireless device may be provided/configured with a plurality of PUSCH transmission occasions in a configured grant period … the plurality of PUSCH transmission occasions may be associated with a plurality of configured grant configuration,” [0169], “a configuration parameter indicating the value of N … a configuration parameter and/or DCI indicating the number of PUSCH transmission occasion(s) within the CG period”); and determine an amount of data available for transmission via one or more first CGs of the plurality of CGs (e.g., [0149], “video frame size and the number of PUSCHs needed to transmit the video frame,” and [0165]-[0166]); and transmit the UCI via a second CG of the plurality of CGs, wherein the UCI indicates whether uplink resources of the one or more first CGs are going to be used or unused for uplink transmissions (e.g., [0149], “If there are one or more unused PUSCHs, the UE may indicate the unused CG PUSCHs to the gNB via UCI or MAC CE, for example in the first CG PUSCH occasion,” and [0165]-[0166]); and transmitting the UCI is based on the amount of data (e.g., [0149], [0166]).
Babaei is silent regarding a configuration parameter, comprising a value, indicating transmission of uplink control information (UCI) is enabled, wherein the UCI indicates unused transmission occasions associated with the plurality of CGs; transmitting the UCI is based on the configuration parameter comprising the value.
Li teaches a configuration parameter, comprising a value, indicating transmission of uplink control information (UCI) is enabled, wherein the UCI indicates unused transmission occasions associated with the plurality of CGs; transmitting the UCI is based on the configuration parameter comprising the value (e.g., [0070], “As the access node may provide configuration information 611 which may cause the UE to return a dynamic indication 621, the access node may control whether or not the UE performs any reporting of unused CG resources.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Babaei based on Li to include the feature of a configuration parameter, comprising a value, indicating transmission of uplink control information (UCI) is enabled, wherein the UCI indicates unused transmission occasions associated with the plurality of CGs, and transmitting the UCI is based on the configuration parameter comprising the value, in order to achieve more configuration flexibility for uplink resource utilization.
Regarding claim 2:
Babaei further discloses the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the data, of the amount of data, comprises data from one or more logical channels associated with the CG configuration (e.g., [0166]).
Regarding claim 3:
Babaei further discloses the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to determine that the data, of the amount of data, is available for transmission via one or more uplink grants that are not indicated by the CG configuration (e.g., [0161], [0165]).
Regarding claim 4:
Babaei further discloses the wireless device of claim 3, wherein the one or more uplink grants indicate one or more physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resources (e.g., [0161], [0165]).
Regarding claim 5:
Babaei further discloses the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the one or more first CGs occur after: the second CG; or the amount of data is determined (e.g., [0149], Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 6:
Babaei further discloses the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to transmit one or more portions of the data, of the amount of data, via the one or more first CGs in response to the UCI indicating the one or more first CG are going to be used (e.g., [0165], [0166], Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 7:
Babaei further discloses the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to not transmit one or more portions of the data, of the amount of data, via the one or more first CG in response to the UCI indicating the one or more first CG are going to be unused (e.g., [0165], [0166], Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 9:
Babaei further discloses the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the UCI is transmitted on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (e.g., [0149], [0166]).
Regarding claim 10:
Babaei further discloses the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the data, of the amount of data, comprises data for transmission on one or more transmission occasions associated with the plurality of CGs (e.g., [0149], [0165], [0166]).
Regarding claim 11:
Babaei discloses a base station (e.g., Fig. 15, 1542) comprising: one or more processors (Fig. 15, 1564); and memory (Fig. 15, 1552) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the base station to: transmit, to a wireless device, at least one configured grant (CG) configuration indicating: one or more first parameters indicating a plurality of CGs; and receive the UCI via a second CG of the plurality of CGs, wherein the UCI indicates whether uplink resources of one or more first CGs, of the plurality of CGs, are going to be used or unused for uplink transmissions based on an amount of data available for transmission by the wireless device via the one or more first CGs (See rejection of claim 1 regarding similar features).
Babaei is silent regarding a configuration parameter, comprising a value, indicating transmission of uplink control information (UCI) is enabled, wherein the UCI indicates unused transmission occasions associated with the plurality of CGs; transmitting the UCI is based on the configuration parameter comprising the value.
Li teaches a configuration parameter, comprising a value, indicating transmission of uplink control information (UCI) is enabled, wherein the UCI indicates unused transmission occasions associated with the plurality of CGs; transmitting the UCI is based on the configuration parameter comprising the value (e.g., [0070], “As the access node may provide configuration information 611 which may cause the UE to return a dynamic indication 621, the access node may control whether or not the UE performs any reporting of unused CG resources.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Babaei based on Li to include the feature of a configuration parameter, comprising a value, indicating transmission of uplink control information (UCI) is enabled, wherein the UCI indicates unused transmission occasions associated with the plurality of CGs, and transmitting the UCI is based on the configuration parameter comprising the value, in order to achieve more configuration flexibility for uplink resource utilization.
Regarding claims 12-16, and 19:
See rejections of claims 2-4 and 6-10 regarding similar features.
Regarding claim 20:
Babaei discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium (e.g., Fig. 15, 1512, [0122]) comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a wireless device (Fig. 15, 1502), cause the wireless device to: receive at least one configured grant (CG) configuration indicating: one or more first parameters indicating a plurality of CGs; determine an amount of data available for transmission via one or more first CGs of the plurality of CGs; transmit the UCI via a second CG of the plurality of CGs, wherein the UCI indicates whether uplink resources of the one or more first CGs are going to be used or unused for uplink transmissions; and transmitting the UCI is based on the amount of data (See rejection of claim 1 regarding similar features).
Babaei is silent regarding a configuration parameter, comprising a value, indicating transmission of uplink control information (UCI) is enabled, wherein the UCI indicates unused transmission occasions associated with the plurality of CGs; transmitting the UCI is based on the configuration parameter comprising the value.
Li teaches a configuration parameter, comprising a value, indicating transmission of uplink control information (UCI) is enabled, wherein the UCI indicates unused transmission occasions associated with the plurality of CGs; transmitting the UCI is based on the configuration parameter comprising the value (e.g., [0070], “As the access node may provide configuration information 611 which may cause the UE to return a dynamic indication 621, the access node may control whether or not the UE performs any reporting of unused CG resources.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Babaei based on Li to include the feature of a configuration parameter, comprising a value, indicating transmission of uplink control information (UCI) is enabled, wherein the UCI indicates unused transmission occasions associated with the plurality of CGs, and transmitting the UCI is based on the configuration parameter comprising the value, in order to achieve more configuration flexibility for uplink resource utilization.
Conclusion
/BO HUI A ZHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465