DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendment filed on June 29, 2026. Claims 1-11 and 13 and 21 are pending. Claim 12 has been canceled. Claims 1, 2, 10, 11, 13, 15, and 20 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “fire extinguish unit” in claim 1 and 11 and “flame blocking member” in claim 19 are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations uses a generic placeholder “unit” and “member” that is coupled with functional language “extinguishing” and “blocking” respectively without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
In light of the specification, the limitation “fire extinguishing unit” is interpreted to cover the corresponding structure “fire extinguishing pipe” as described in paragraph 0016.
In light of the specification, the limitation “flame blocking member” is interpreted to cover the corresponding structure “plate-shaped blocking member” as described in paragraph 00109-00110.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chapaton et al. (US 2023/0395849 A1) in view of Guo et al. (US 2021/0367286 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Chapaton discloses an energy storage device with a fire extinguishing function, comprising: a case having a mounting space inside the case (26); a plurality of battery cells (20) inside the case (Fig. 3); a fire extinguishing unit (22) extending inside of the case (26) and configured to supply a fire extinguishing agent to at least one of the battery cells or the mounting space (Par. [0048-0051]).
Chapaton does not disclose that the fire extinguishing unit comprises: a fire extinguishing pipe extending along a longitudinal direction of the case, wherein the fire extinguishing pipe is configured to melt and form a passage in the fire extinguishing pipe in response to being exposed to heat having a predetermined threshold temperature or higher, and wherein the fire extinguishing pipe is configured to supply the fire extinguishing agent to at least one of the battery cells or the mounting space through the passage formed in the fire extinguishing pipe by the heat.
Guo teaches a fire extinguishing unit comprising a fire extinguishing pipe (52) extending along a longitudinal direction of the case (Fig. 3), wherein the fire extinguishing pipe is configured to melt and form a passage in the fire extinguishing pipe in response to being exposed to heat having a predetermined threshold temperature or higher (Par. [0065]), and wherein the fire extinguishing pipe is configured to supply the fire extinguishing agent to at least one of the battery cells or the mounting space through the passage formed in the fire extinguishing pipe by the heat (Par. [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire extinguishing unit of Chapaton, by replacing with the fire extinguishing pipe (52) as taught by Guo, doing it would provide a device for automatically extinguishing a fire or a starting fire that is autonomous in that it reacts directly to the heat generated by this fire or starting fire (Par. [0082]).
With regard to claim 2, the device of Chapaton as modified by Guo discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Guo further discloses a connecting pipe (3) connecting the fire extinguishing pipe and a supply pipe located outside the case (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 3, the device of Chapaton as modified by Guo discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 2 above. Chapaton further discloses that a melting temperature of the fire extinguishing pipe is in a range between 80 degrees Celsius (°C) and 300 °C (Par. [0044]).
With regard to claims 4 and 5, the device of Chapaton as modified by Guo discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 2 above. Guo further discloses that a material of the fire extinguishing pipe includes a plastic material and at least one of polypropylene (PP), linear low density polyethylene (LLDPE), poly vinyl chloride (PVC), polyamide 6 (PA6), or polyamide 66 (PA66) (see Par. [0081]).
With regard to claim 6, the device of Chapaton as modified by Guo discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 2 above. However, they do not disclose that an inner diameter of the fire extinguishing pipe is in a range of 3 millimeters (mm) to 20 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fire extinguishing pipe of Guo by having an inner diameter of the fire extinguishing pipe is in a range of 3 millimeters (mm) to 20 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In the instant case, changing pipe dimension, achieves the result of controlling fluid flow characteristics such as the fluid flow performance, and as such the pipe dimension is recognized in the art as a result effective variable. Further, a one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success at modifying the Guo fire extinguishing pipe as changes to pipe design, including dimensions, are well within the level of skill of the art. Finding the optimal maximum dimension would therefore be simply a matter of routine experimentation.
With regard to claim 7, the device of Chapaton as modified by Guo discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 2 above. Guo further discloses that the fire extinguishing pipe (52) is installed in a state of facing lateral sides of the battery cells (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 8, the device of Chapaton as modified by Guo discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claims 7 and 15 above. Guo further discloses that the battery cells (1) are arranged in multiple rows along a width direction of the case (Fig. 1), and the fire extinguishing pipe is between rows of the battery cells (Fig. 1)
With regard to claim 9, the device of Chapaton as modified by Guo discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Chapaton discloses that a lower panel (52) between a bottom surface of the case (28) and the battery cells (34) to support bottom portions of the battery cells (shown in Fig. 3, battery stack 20 sits on container 52) and block a movement of the fire extinguishing agent toward the bottom surface of the case to enable the fire extinguishing agent to be sprayed from the fire extinguishing unit inside the case (Par. [0052]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11 and 13-21 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOEL . ZHOU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/QINGZHANG ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752