DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 8/19/2024.
Claims 1-15 are examined and rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20220287114 A1, hereinafter “Liu”) in view of Liu* (US 20240276529 A1, hereinafter “Liu*”).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a transmitting device (see FIG. 7), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the transmitting device to:
transmit, to a receiving device, a request associated with a sidelink message (see paras 83-84, FIG. 7., illustrating messaging for UAV (unmanned ariel vehicle) sidelink communication between UAV (first UE) and a second UE. the first UE establishes a PC5 unicast link with the second UE by initiating a direct communication request/i.e., representing handshake to establish direct communications);
receive, from the receiving device, a response to the request (see paras 88-89, receive, from the second UE PC5 RRC messages including UAV information such as a UAV status (e.g., on ground or in air), height/elevation, and/or other flying information (e.g., speed and/or direction) associated with the first UE); and
transmit, to the receiving device, the sidelink message, wherein a quantity of retransmissions is reduced based at least in part on a handshake including the request and the response (see para 98, The second UE determines not to transmit the HARQ feedback based at least in part on a determination that the second UE is not within the minimum communication range (MCR) associated with the first UE -- e.g., the 3D distance/i.e., measured using the sidelink request/response or handshake, between the first UE and the second UE is greater than (or greater than or equal to the MCR).
Liu teaches the above limitations, but does not specify the underlined limitation “… quantity of retransmissions is reduced based at least in part on a handshake including the request and the response…”.
In other words, Liu does not teach reduced HARQ retransmission requests based on the distance between the UEs.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu* teaches this limitation: see para 91, for UAV detect and avoid (DAA) transmissions, the broadcast range requirement is less than 1 km, which allows for less number of blind retransmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the distance based retransmission taught by Liu, so as to set a range requirement for broadcast to allow for less retransmissions, as taught by Liu*, so as to configure sidelink parameters for restrictions on sidelink transmission parameters for user equipments (UEs) (see Liu*, Technical Filed).
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the sidelink message comprises a unicast or a groupcast message (see paras 83-84, FIG. 7., illustrating messaging for UAV (unmanned ariel vehicle) sidelink communication between UAV (first UE) and a second UE. the first UE establishes a PC5 unicast link with the second UE by initiating a direct communication request/i.e., representing handshake to establish direct communication as unicast message).
Regarding claim 3, Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the transmitting device comprises an unmanned aerial vehicle (see FIG. 7., illustrating the first UE is an UAV (unmanned ariel vehicle) for sidelink communication between UAV (first UE) and the second UE).
Regarding claim 4, Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and teaches a minimum communication range associated with the first UE (UAV) in the sidelink communications request.
Liu does not teach details regarding the underlined limitation: the request indicates that a distance between the transmitting device and a ground node satisfies a power reduction threshold, and wherein the quantity of retransmissions is reduced in response to the distance satisfying the power reduction threshold.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu* teaches this limitation: see paras 91-92, the broadcast range requirement less than 1 km, which allows for a reduced transmission power and for less number of blind retransmission … the range threshold comprises a three-dimensional range for different traffic associated with a QoS flow. The range threshold is used to restrict or control an upper bound of transmission power for PSSCH and/or PSCCH.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the distance based retransmission taught by Liu, so as to set a range requirement for broadcast to allow for less retransmissions, as taught by Liu*, so as to configure sidelink parameters for restrictions on sidelink transmission parameters for user equipments (UEs) (see Liu*, Technical Filed).
Regarding claim 5, Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and teaches receiving a minimum communication range associated with the first UE (UAV) in the sidelink communications, in a response message from the second UE to the first UE.
Liu does not teach details regarding the underlined limitation: the response indicates that a distance between the receiving device and a ground node satisfies a power reduction threshold, and wherein the quantity of retransmissions is reduced in response to the distance satisfying the power reduction threshold.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu* teaches this limitation: see paras 91-92, the broadcast range requirement less than 1 km, which allows for a reduced transmission power and for less number of blind retransmission … the range threshold comprises a three-dimensional range for different traffic associated with a QoS flow. The range threshold is used to restrict or control an upper bound of transmission power for PSSCH and/or PSCCH.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the distance based retransmission taught by Liu, so as to set a range requirement for broadcast to allow for less retransmissions, as taught by Liu*, so as to configure sidelink parameters for restrictions on sidelink transmission parameters for user equipments (UEs) (see Liu*, Technical Filed).
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Bhattad (WO 2013074401 A2, hereinafter “Bhattad”).
Regarding claim 6, Liu teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a transmitting device, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the transmitting device to:
transmit, to a receiving device, a sidelink message in an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) PC5 band (see paras 83-84, FIG. 7., illustrating messaging for UAV (unmanned ariel vehicle) sidelink communication between UAV (first UE) and a second UE… the first UE establishes a PC5 unicast link with the second UE by initiating a direct communication request/i.e., representing handshake to establish direct communications; steps 705 and 710/collectively representing transmitting sidelink message to second UE); and
receive, from the receiving device, feedback associated with the sidelink message (see FIG. 7., step 715 indicates receiving OC5 message from second UE to the first UE in response to steps 705 and 710/collectively representing transmitting sidelink message to second UE),
wherein the feedback is received on a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) (see para 63, The PSFCH is used to communicate sidelink feedback, such as HARQ feedback (e.g., acknowledgement or negative acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) information), transmit power control (TPC), and/or a scheduling request (SR))
Liu does not teach details regarding: SPFCH allocated to avoid one or more edge resources of the UAV PC5 band.
Bhattad teaches this limitation: see paras 81-82, To avoid uplink ACK/NACK messages being sent on undesired uplink subframes, a base station may schedule downlink messages to the UE on downlink subframes with an ACK/NACK configuration matching desired uplink subframes. To avoid UE to UE interference, scheduling of uplink resources of potential aggressor UEs may be prioritized to avoid edge resource blocks of subframes that would cause the interference.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the resources used for feedback (ACK/NACL) as taught by Liu, so as to avoid assigning edge resources to the feedback (PSFCH), as taught by Bhattad, so as to avoid UE-to-UE interference (see Bhattad, para 82).
Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the sidelink message comprises a unicast or a groupcast message (see paras 83-84, FIG. 7., illustrating messaging for UAV (unmanned ariel vehicle) sidelink communication between UAV (first UE) and a second UE. the first UE establishes a PC5 unicast link with the second UE by initiating a direct communication request/i.e., representing handshake to establish direct communication as unicast message).
Regarding claim 8, Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the feedback comprises hybrid automatic repeat request feedback (see para 81, the UE may determine whether to transmit HARQ feedback for a sidelink communication transmitted by the UAV UE based at least in part on a three-dimensional (3D) distance determined using the height information).
Regarding claim 9, Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the transmitting device comprises an unmanned aerial vehicle (see FIG. 7., illustrating the first UE is an UAV (unmanned ariel vehicle) for sidelink communication between UAV (first UE) and the second UE).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Bhattad, in view of Sienkiewicz (US 20240098719A1, hereinafter “S”).
Regarding claim 10, Liu in view of Bhattad teaches the apparatus of claim 6, but does not teach details regarding: the one or more edge resources are associated with maximum power reduction values that satisfy a maximum power reduction threshold.
S teaches this limitation: see paras 101-117, for sidelink communications…para 156, applying a power reduction in the block bandwidth to fulfill the limit. The power reduction may be an allowed maximum power reduction (MPR) and/or an addition MPR (A MPR). Alternatively. the configuration message may be indicative of the power reduction and/or the allowed MPR or A-MPR for at least one of inner radio resources (e.g., inner PRBs) within the block bandwidth, edge radio resources (e.g., edge PRBs) at the edges of the block bandwidth, and/or outer radio resources (e.g., outer PRBs) outside of the block bandwidth.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combined systems of Liu and Bhattad, to include maximum allowed power reduction for edge resources during sidelink communications as taught by S, the motivation being for scheduling and operating a radio device in a block bandwidth within a channel bandwidth of a radio access technology (see S, Technical Field).
Claim(s) 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Wu (US20220346118 A1, hereinafter “Wu”).
Regarding claim 11, Liu teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a transmitting device, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the transmitting device to:
transmit, to a receiving device, a sidelink message on a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (see para 91, FIG. 7., The second UE receives the SCI transmitted by the first UE. The SCI may be associated with a sidelink communication (e.g., a PSSCH communication) to be transmitted by the first UE); and
receive, from the receiving device, feedback associated with the sidelink message (see para 99, FIG. 7., at step 735, the second UE transmits a HARQ feedback to the first UE),
Liu does not teach details regarding: the feedback consists of a non-acknowledgement signal based at least in part on a maximum power reduction value, associated with the sidelink message, satisfying a maximum power reduction threshold.
Examiners Note: Using BRI consistent with the specification, the above limitation is interpreted as: when the sidelink feedback is nack, the UE adjusts its transmission power, and to satisfy/meet a maximum power reduction threshold value. Based on this interpretation, see Wu: para 792, when the received feedback information carried by the PSFCH is NACK, the sidelink transmit power control command is to increase the transmit power by a predefined or preconfigured value.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the feedback associated with the sidelink message of Liu, so as to increase the UE transmit power in case the sidelink feedback is NACK, as taught by Wu, to support calculation of closed loop transmit power based on the sidelink pathloss between two UEs (see Wu, para 12).
Regarding claim 12, Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the sidelink message comprises a unicast or a groupcast message (see paras 83-84, FIG. 7., illustrating messaging for UAV (unmanned ariel vehicle) sidelink communication between UAV (first UE) and a second UE. the first UE establishes a PC5 unicast link with the second UE by initiating a direct communication request/i.e., representing handshake to establish direct communication as unicast message).
Regarding claim 13, Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the feedback comprises hybrid automatic repeat request feedback (see para 81, the UE may determine whether to transmit HARQ feedback for a sidelink communication transmitted by the UAV UE based at least in part on a three-dimensional (3D) distance determined using the height information).
Regarding claim 14, Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the transmitting device comprises an unmanned aerial vehicle (see FIG. 7., illustrating the first UE is an UAV (unmanned ariel vehicle) for sidelink communication between UAV (first UE) and the second UE).
Regarding claim 15, Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 11, but does not teach details regarding: transmit, to the receiving device, a retransmission of the sidelink message on the PSSCH in response to the feedback; and refrain from an additional retransmission in response to receiving no feedback from the receiving device.
Wu teaches these limitations: see para 558, if the pre-empted resource is reserved for data retransmission which is the HARQ feedback-based retransmission, then when the HARQ feedback received by the UE is ACK, the resource reserved for data retransmission will not be used. In this case, the UE may not initiate a resource retransmission for the pre-empted resource; also see para 739, In the NR V2X system, the unicast transmission between the TX UE and the RX UE may support ACK/NACK feedback-based retransmission, that is, the RX UE needs to transmit the PSFCH, and the TX UE determines whether to retransmit the PSSCH according to the received PSFCH. The unicast transmission between the TX UE and the RX UE may also support blind retransmission, that is, the RX UE does not need to transmit the PSFCH, and the TX UE always blindly retransmits the PSSCH. Whether to support HARQ-ACK feedback may be preconfigured through high layer signaling. After enabling ACK/NACK feedback through high layer signaling, the TX UE may also dynamically indicate through SCI whether the currently transmitted PSSCH needs to feedback ACK/NACK. if the SCI indicates that the currently transmitted PSSCH needs to feedback ACK/NACK, the RX UE needs to transmit the PSFCH to feed back the ACK/NACK of the PSSCH; if the SCI indicates that the currently transmitted PSSCH does not need to feedback ACK/NACK, the RX UE does not need to transmit the PSFCH.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the feedback associated with the sidelink message of Liu, so as to decrease the number of retransmissions as taught by Wu, to support ACK/NACK feedback based retransmission (see Wu, para 739).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yang (WO 2025033691A1) teaches maximum power reduction. When the peak-to-average power ratio (PAPR) value of the signal transmitted from the UE increases, in order to limit the transmission power, the UE applies a maximum output power reduction (MPR) value to the transmission power. By doing so, it is possible to reduce the linearity of the power amplifier PA inside the transceiver of the UE.
/DEEPA BELUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472