Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application, continuation of 18/158,282 filed 1-23-23, now U.S. Patent No. 12075353, which is a continuation of 16/835,579 filed 3-31-20, now U.S. Patent No. 11564167, which has a provisional of 62/838,735 filed 4-3-19 and provisional of 62/827,810 filed 4-1-19, under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
These information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12-10-24 & 9-9-24. These submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, these information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 8-19-24. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 10-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10, line 1,
“a processor” should be changed to ---a wireless device---
Claim 10, line 3,
“at processing circuitry” should be changed to ---a processor---
Claim 10, lines 3-4,
“a wireless device” should be changed to ---the wireless device---
Claims 11-15, line 1,
“the processor” should be changed to ---the wireless device---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) 10 contains subject matter, e.g. “a processor comprising: a memory”{claim 10, lines 1-2}, which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
-Claims 11-15 are rejected in virtue of their dependencies on the independent claim 10.
Note that a wireless device {Specification (US 20240414647 A1): Fig.3} comprises a processor and a memory.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 10-12 & 16-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8 & 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,075,353 B2 (Kim-3) in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,564,167 B2 (Kim-7).
Regarding Claim 1. A method, comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a configuration of a power saving signal;
receiving, from the base station, the power saving signal, wherein the power saving signal comprises a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring skipping signal indicating a value corresponding to a predefined PDCCH monitoring skipping duration; and
remaining, based on the configuration and the power saving signal, in a power saving state without monitoring the PDCCH at least for the predefined PDCCH monitoring skipping duration.
Kim-3 (US 12075353 B2) discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 1 {Kim-3: patented claim 1}, except “a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring skipping signal”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim-7 (US 11564167 B2) discloses “a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring skipping signal”{Kim-7: patented claim 3}. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply Kim-7’s teaching to Kim-3’s system with the motivation being to “increase coverage and better serve the increasing demand and range of envisioned uses of wireless communication”{Kim-7: col.1, lines 44-45}.
Regarding Claim 2. The method of claim 1, wherein the configuration of the power saving signal is received via radio resource control (RRC) signaling {Kim-3: patented claim 1}.
Regarding Claim 3. The method of claim 1, wherein the configuration of the power saving signal indicates one or more functionalities of the power saving signal {Kim-3: patented claim 1}.
Regarding Claim 7+~. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
negotiating, with the base station, a gap between a power saving signal monitoring occasion for the power saving signal and a start of the predefined PDCCH monitoring skipping duration {Kim-3: patented claim 1, e.g. “request, from the base station, a minimum gap…and receive, from the base station, signal configuring the gap” as the claimed negotiating}.
Regarding Claim 8. The method of claim 7~, wherein negotiating the gap comprises:
requesting, from the base station, a minimum gap value; and receiving, from the base station, signaling configuring the gap from the base station {Kim-3: patented claim 1, e.g. “request, from the base station, a minimum gap…and receive, from the base station, signal configuring the gap”.
Regarding Claim 9. The method of claim 8~, wherein the signaling configuring the gap indicates a gap that is at least the minimum gap value {Kim-3: patented claim 1, e.g. “request, from the base station, a minimum gap…and receive, from the base station, signal configuring the gap”.
Regarding Claim 10. {Currently Corrected}
-With the same reasons as set forth in claim 1, and further as following:
A [[processor]] wireless device {Kim-3: patented claim 8}, comprising:
a memory {Kim-3: patented claim 8}; and
[[at processing circuitry]] a processor in communication with the memory and configured to cause a wireless device to:
receive, from a base station, a configuration of a power saving signal;
receive, from the base station, the power saving signal, wherein the power saving signal comprises a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring skipping signal indicating a value corresponding to a predefined PDCCH monitoring skipping duration; and
remain, based on the configuration and the power saving signal, in a power saving state without monitoring the PDCCH at least for the predefined PDCCH monitoring skipping duration.
Regarding Claim 11. {Currently Corrected} The [[processor]] wireless device of claim 10, wherein the configuration of the power saving signal is received via radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
-Claim 11 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claims 1, 10 & 2.
Regarding Claim 12. {Currently Corrected} The [[processor]] wireless device of claim 10, wherein the configuration of the power saving signal indicates one or more functionalities of the power saving signal.
- Claim 12 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claims 1, 10 & 3.
Regarding Claim 16.
- Claim 16 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claims 1 & 10.
A non-transitory computer readable memory medium storing program instructions executable by a processor to cause a wireless device to:
receive, from a base station, a configuration of a power saving signal;
receive, from the base station, the power saving signal, wherein the power saving signal comprises a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring skipping signal indicating a value corresponding to a predefined PDCCH monitoring skipping duration; and
remain, based on the configuration and the power saving signal, in a power saving state without monitoring the PDCCH at least for the predefined PDCCH monitoring skipping duration.
Regarding Claim 17. The non-transitory computer readable memory medium of claim 16, wherein the configuration of the power saving signal is received via radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
- Claim 17 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claims 1-2, 10-11 & 16.
Regarding Claim 18. The non-transitory computer readable memory medium of claim 16, wherein the configuration of the power saving signal indicates one or more functionalities of the power saving signal.
- Claim 18 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claims 1, 3, 10, 12 & 16.
Claims 4-6, 13-15 & 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8 & 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,075,353 B2 (Kim-3) in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,564,167 B2 (Kim-7), and further in view of WU (US 20200229092 A1).
Regarding Claim 4. With the same reasons as set forth in the method of claim 1, Kim-3 does not explicitly disclose monitoring, during an active mode, a search space for the power saving signal.
However, in the same field of endeavor, WU (US 20200229092 A1) disclose monitoring, during an active mode, a search space for the power saving signal {WU: ¶0012, ¶0116-¶0117, ¶0172-¶0176 & ¶0253 and Fig.13}. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply WU’s teaching to Kim-3’s system with the motivation being to provide “more accurately control the UE power saving behavior, the system may use a corresponding physical layer power saving signal for each PDCCH search space”{WU: ¶0172}.
Regarding Claim 5. With the same reasons as set forth in the method of claim 1, Kim-3 does not explicitly disclose wherein the value corresponds to the predefined PDCCH monitoring skipping duration is an index value of a plurality of index values that correspond to a predefined plurality of PDCCH monitoring skipping durations.
However, in the same field of endeavor, WU (US 20200229092 A1) disclose wherein the value corresponds to the predefined PDCCH monitoring skipping duration is an index value of a plurality of index values that correspond to a predefined plurality of PDCCH monitoring skipping durations {WU: ¶0253 wherein “when the indication value is “10”, the UE should stop monitoring the PDCCH within the preconfigured time window, that is, skip the monitoring of the PDCCH of the two PDCCH search spaces”, also ¶0241-¶0245, ¶0247-¶0252, ¶0254 and PDCCH Skipping in Fig.18 & ¶0237}. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply WU’s teaching to Kim-3’s system with the motivation being for “the UE sav[ing] power”{WU: ¶0004}.
Regarding Claim 6. With the same reasons as set forth in the method of claim 5, wherein a first index value of the plurality of index values corresponds to no skipping of PDCCH monitoring {WU: ¶0253 wherein “When the indication value is “00”, the UE should continue monitoring the PDCCH of the two search spaces”, also ¶0241-¶0245, ¶0247-¶0252, ¶0254}.
Regarding Claim 13. {Currently Corrected} The [[processor]] wireless device of claim 10, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the wireless device to:
monitor, during an active mode, a search space for the power saving signal.
- Claim 13 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claims 1, 10 & 4.
Regarding Claim 14. {Currently Corrected} The [[processor]] wireless device of claim 10, wherein the value corresponds to the predefined PDCCH monitoring skipping duration is an index value of a plurality of index values that correspond to a predefined plurality of PDCCH monitoring skipping durations.
- Claim 14 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claims 1, 10 & 5.
Regarding Claim 15. {Currently Corrected} The [[processor]] wireless device of claim 10, wherein a first index value of the plurality of index values corresponds to no skipping of PDCCH monitoring.
- Claim 15 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claims 1, 10 & 6.
Regarding Claim 19. The non-transitory computer readable memory medium of claim 16, wherein the value corresponds to the predefined PDCCH monitoring skipping duration is an index value of a plurality of index values that correspond to a predefined plurality of PDCCH monitoring skipping durations.
- Claim 19 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claims 1, 5, 10, 14 & 16.
Regarding Claim 20. The non-transitory computer readable memory medium of claim 19, wherein a first index value of the plurality of index values corresponds to no skipping of PDCCH monitoring.
- Claim 20 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claims 1, 6, 10, 15 & 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 10-13 & 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1-2) as being anticipated by Zhou (US 2020/0100179 A1).
Regarding Claim 1. A method, comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a configuration of a power saving signal {Zhou (US 2020/0100179 A1): UE 4401-Fig.44 receiving RRC configuration of Power Saving parameters from Base Station 4402-Fig.44 & ¶0428-¶0432};
receiving, from the base station, the power saving signal, wherein the power saving signal comprises a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring skipping signal indicating a value corresponding to a predefined PDCCH monitoring skipping duration {Zhou (US 2020/0100179 A1): UE 4401-Fig.44 receiving 1st Command enabling Power Saving mode from Base Station 4402-Fig.44 & ¶0434-¶0435}; and
remaining, based on the configuration and the power saving signal, in a power saving state without monitoring the PDCCH at least for the predefined PDCCH monitoring skipping duration {Zhou (US 2020/0100179 A1): ¶0435 wherein “in response to receiving the first command (from Base Station 4402-Fig.44), the wireless device (UE 4401-Fig.44) may skip monitoring, for a response to a preamble for the BFR, a PDCCH on a search space/control resource set dedicated for the BFR (during the Power Saving mode)”; In other words, in response to the 1st command, the UE 4401-Fig.44 skips the monitoring PDCCH on the search space/control resource set during the Power Saving mode ¶0431, thus the UE 4401-Fig.44 inherently remains in the Power Saving state/mode without PDCCH monitoring, emphasis added}.
Regarding Claim 2. The method of claim 1, wherein the configuration of the power saving signal is received via radio resource control (RRC) signaling {Zhou (US 2020/0100179 A1): ¶0428}.
Regarding Claim 3. The method of claim 1, wherein the configuration of the power saving signal indicates one or more functionalities of the power saving signal {Zhou (US 2020/0100179 A1): ¶0428-¶0432}.
Regarding Claim 4. The method of claim 1, further comprising: monitoring, during an active mode, a search space for the power saving signal {Zhou (US 2020/0100179 A1): ¶0428-¶0432, e.g. ¶0432 wherein “a smaller number of search spaces/control resources sets/RNTIs/DCI formats being configured for PDCCH monitoring in a power saving mode”}.
Regarding Claim 10. (Currently Corrected)
-Claim 10 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claim 1, and further as following:
A [[processor]] wireless device {Zhou: computing device 5200-Fig.52}, comprising:
a memory {Zhou: RAM 5203, Removable Media 5204, ROM 5202 in Fig.52}; and
[[at processing circuitry]] a processor {Zhou: ¶0482-¶0484, ¶0486 & ¶0488} in communication with the memory and configured to cause [[a]] the wireless device to:
receive, from a base station, a configuration of a power saving signal;
receive, from the base station, the power saving signal, wherein the power saving signal comprises a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring skipping signal indicating a value corresponding to a predefined PDCCH monitoring skipping duration; and
remain, based on the configuration and the power saving signal, in a power saving state without monitoring the PDCCH at least for the predefined PDCCH monitoring skipping duration.
Regarding Claim 11. {Currently Corrected} The [[processor]] wireless device of claim 10, wherein the configuration of the power saving signal is received via radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
- Claim 11 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claims 1, 10 & 2.
Regarding Claim 12. {Currently Corrected} The [[processor]] wireless device of claim 10, wherein the configuration of the power saving signal indicates one or more functionalities of the power saving signal.
- Claim 12 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claims 1, 10 & 3.
Regarding Claim 13. {Currently Corrected} The [[processor]] wireless device of claim 10, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the wireless device to:
monitor, during an active mode, a search space for the power saving signal.
- Claim 13 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claims 1, 10 & 4.
Regarding Claim 16.
- Claim 16 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claims 1 & 10.
A non-transitory computer readable memory medium storing program instructions executable by a processor to cause a wireless device to:
receive, from a base station, a configuration of a power saving signal;
receive, from the base station, the power saving signal, wherein the power saving signal comprises a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring skipping signal indicating a value corresponding to a predefined PDCCH monitoring skipping duration; and
remain, based on the configuration and the power saving signal, in a power saving state without monitoring the PDCCH at least for the predefined PDCCH monitoring skipping duration.
Regarding Claim 17. The non-transitory computer readable memory medium of claim 16, wherein the configuration of the power saving signal is received via radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
- Claim 17 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claims 1-2, 10-11 & 16.
Regarding Claim 18. The non-transitory computer readable memory medium of claim 16, wherein the configuration of the power saving signal indicates one or more functionalities of the power saving signal.
- Claim 18 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claims 1, 3, 10, 12 & 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6, 14-15 & 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 2020/0100179 A1) in view of WU (US 20200229092 A1).
Regarding Claim 5. With the same reasons as set forth in the method of claim 1, Kim-3 does not explicitly disclose wherein the value corresponds to the predefined PDCCH monitoring skipping duration is an index value of a plurality of index values that correspond to a predefined plurality of PDCCH monitoring skipping durations.
However, in the same field of endeavor, WU (US 20200229092 A1) disclose wherein the value corresponds to the predefined PDCCH monitoring skipping duration is an index value of a plurality of index values that correspond to a predefined plurality of PDCCH monitoring skipping durations {WU: ¶0253 wherein “when the indication value is “10”, the UE should stop monitoring the PDCCH within the preconfigured time window, that is, skip the monitoring of the PDCCH of the two PDCCH search spaces”, also ¶0241-¶0245, ¶0247-¶0252, ¶0254 and PDCCH Skipping in Fig.18 & ¶0237}. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply WU’s teaching to Kim-3’s system with the motivation being for “the UE sav[ing] power”{WU: ¶0004}.
Regarding Claim 6. With the same reasons as set forth in the method of claim 5, wherein a first index value of the plurality of index values corresponds to no skipping of PDCCH monitoring {WU: ¶0253 wherein “When the indication value is “00”, the UE should continue monitoring the PDCCH of the two search spaces”, also ¶0241-¶0245, ¶0247-¶0252, ¶0254}.
Regarding Claim 14. {Currently Corrected} The [[processor]] wireless device of claim 10, wherein the value corresponds to the predefined PDCCH monitoring skipping duration is an index value of a plurality of index values that correspond to a predefined plurality of PDCCH monitoring skipping durations.
- Claim 14 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claims 1, 10 & 5.
Regarding Claim 15. {Currently Corrected} The [[processor]] wireless device of claim 10, wherein a first index value of the plurality of index values corresponds to no skipping of PDCCH monitoring.
- Claim 15 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claims 1, 10 & 6.
Regarding Claim 19. The non-transitory computer readable memory medium of claim 16, wherein the value corresponds to the predefined PDCCH monitoring skipping duration is an index value of a plurality of index values that correspond to a predefined plurality of PDCCH monitoring skipping durations.
- Claim 19 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claims 1, 5, 10, 14 & 16.
Regarding Claim 20. The non-transitory computer readable memory medium of claim 19, wherein a first index value of the plurality of index values corresponds to no skipping of PDCCH monitoring.
- Claim 20 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claims 1, 6, 10, 15 & 16.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhou (US 20210243763 A1) discloses that a wireless device receives a downlink control information (DCI) comprising a first field indicating a transition of a cell to a dormant state and a second field indicating a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback timing. The wireless device transmits, in response to the DCI indicating the transition and via a physical uplink control channel resource, a positive acknowledgement of a reception of the DCI at a time interval based on the HARQ feedback timing {Figs.1-40}.
Guo (US 20220182942 A1) discloses methods, systems, and devices for power saving schemes in wireless communication. A wireless communication method is provided to comprise monitoring, by a user device, power saving indications transmitted from a network device during corresponding monitoring occasions predefined or configured by a higher layer parameter, the power saving indications including a first typed power saving indication or a second typed power saving indication; and performing a next action based on a predefined condition {Figs.1-10}.
/PHUONGCHAU BA NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464