DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 10, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 10; the limitation, “causing or allowing” appears to lack support in the application as originally filed. The present disclosure does not provide details on what constitutes these limitations for one of ordinary skill in the art would measure, maintain, or ensure this condition.
Claims 2-9 and 11-19 are rejected based upon their dependency from claims 1 and 10, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blecher et al. (U.S. Patent No.: 5,586,437), hereinafter referred to as Blecher et al. ‘437.
Regarding claim 1, Blecher et al. ‘437 disclose a method, comprising: causing or allowing a cryogen (liquid refrigerant) within a core (20) of a cryogenic cell (10) to vaporize, forming a vaporized cryogen, in response to a thermal load in a pressurizable space of the cryogenic cell, the pressurizable space being in at least partial thermal communication with the core according to a pressure within the pressurizable space {as shown in Fig. 1: Col 2, line 63 - Col 3, line 65}; removing (40) the vaporized cryogen from the core {as shown in Fig. 1: Col 3, line 25-35}; and regenerating the vaporized cryogen external to the cryogenic cell {as shown in Fig. 1: Col 3, line 36-56; wherein the refrigerant loop from 40 to 34 constitutes regenerating the vaporized cryogen external to the cryogenic cell}.
Regarding claim 2, Blecher et al. ‘437 disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising returning the regenerated cryogen to the core {as shown in Fig. 1: Col 3, lines 40-56; wherein put 34 depicts returning of the regenerated cryogen to the core}.
Regarding claim 3, Blecher et al. ‘437 disclose the method of claim 2, wherein said returning comprises returning the regenerated cryogen to the core in liquid phase {as shown in Fig. 1: Col 3, lines 50-56; wherein after compression (41) and aftercooler (43), the gaseous state refrigerant is condensed into liquid phase and return to the core via input port 34}.
Regarding claim 4, Blecher et al. ‘437 disclose the method of claim 2, wherein said regenerating comprises compressing the vaporized cryogen {as shown in Fig. 1: Col 3, lines 49-56}.
Regarding claim 5, Blecher et al. ‘437 disclose the method of claim 2, wherein said removing comprises withdrawing the vaporized cryogen from a first port (40) in the core {as shown in Fig. 1: Col 3, lines 41-49}.
Regarding claim 6, Blecher et al. ‘437 disclose the method of claim 5, wherein said returning comprises returning the regenerated cryogen to a second port (34) in the core {as shown in Fig. 1: Col 3, lines 51-55}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blecher et al. ‘437, in view of BARJHOUX et al (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2017/0219265 A1), hereinafter referred to as BARJHOUX et al ‘265. 20
Regarding claims 7-9, Blecher et al. ‘437 disclose the method of claim 2, further comprising a parameter indicative of the thermal load, and wherein the parameter comprises pressure and temperature {see Col 3, lines 11-55}.
However, Blecher et al. ‘437 fail to further disclose the limitations of measuring a parameter indicative of the thermal load and adjusting a rate of said removing and said returning in accordance with the measured parameter.
BARJHOUX et al ‘265 teach: the concept of measuring (13, 15, 16, 28) a parameter indicative of the thermal load and adjusting a rate (30) of said removing and said returning in accordance with the measured parameter {see ¶¶ [0010], [0012-0014], [0017], [0033], [0043], [0046], [0048], [0055], [0058], [0063-0065], [0072] and [0076]; wherein the controller (50) is configured to perform the measurement via sensors}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Blecher et al. ‘437 method in view of BARJHOUX et al ‘265 to measuring a parameter indicative of the thermal load and adjusting a rate of said removing and said returning in accordance with the measured parameter, in order to makes it possible to get as close as possible to predetermined optimum operation {BARJHOUX et al ‘265 – ¶ [0018]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Blecher et al. ‘437 in view of BARJHOUX et al ‘265 to obtain the invention as specified in claims 7-9.
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-11448459-B1 to Barker; Donald Wade.
US-7474099-B2 to Boesel; Johannes.
US-6107905-A to Itoh; Koji.
/EMMANUEL E DUKE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
04/04//2026
/FRANTZ F JULES/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763