DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species I, claims 21-27, 32-34, 42-43, 45 in the reply filed on 4/27/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Objections
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 27, lines 1-2, delete the extra “the”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 23-27, 32-34, 42-43, 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Barbour (US 2020/0051184).
With respect to claim 21, Barbour discloses a mobile data center (figure 6 discloses a mobile blockchain mining equipment) comprising: a transportable enclosure defining an interior space (figure 6 discloses portable enclosure 98); and a distributed computing system comprising: a plurality of distributed computing units located within the interior space of the enclosure, each of the plurality of distributed computing units in communication with a network (figure 4 discloses a plurality of computing units 92); a power system located at least partially within the interior space of the enclosure, the power system in electrical communication with the plurality of distributed computing units such that the power system receives an electrical input and powers each of the plurality of distributed computing units (figure 4 discloses receiving power from a generator and distributing the power to the different components of the blockchain), the power system including remotely controllable power distribution units in communication with the plurality of distributed computing units (paragraphs 0014, 0068 discloses that the power system/controller is accessed/controlled remotely via a network interface); and a monitoring and control system in communication with remotely controllable power distribution units, the monitoring and control system adapted to: receive inputs from a remote client device; and control the remotely controllable power distribution units in response to the inputs (paragraph 0068, figures 4 and 6 discloses monitoring conditions of the mining device and remotely controlling the operations of the mining device).
With respect to claims 23-24, Barbour discloses the mobile data center as recited in claim 21, wherein some or all of the plurality of distributed computing units each include a graphics processing unit, wherein the plurality of distributed computing units each comprise an ASIC processor and are adapted to mine a cryptocurrency. Paragraph 0068 discloses that the mining processors comprise GPU (graphics processing unit) and ASIC (application specific integrated circuit).
With respect to claim 25, Barbour discloses the mobile data center as recited in claim 21, wherein the electrical input received by the remotely controllable power distribution units is from about 208 V to about 240 V. Paragraph 0067 discloses the units run on 208V.
With respect to claims 26, 42, Barbour discloses the mobile data center as recited in claim 21, wherein the enclosure of the first mobile data center comprises: a length of from about 20 feet to about 40 feet; a width of about 8 feet; and a height of from about 8.5 feet to about 9.5 feet, wherein the enclosure is a shipping container. Paragraph 0065 discloses that the mobile data center is larger rectangular standardized shipping container.
With respect to claim 27, Barbour discloses the mobile data center as recited in claim 21, wherein the plurality of distributed computing units comprises graphics processing units adapted to perform one or more of execute mathematical operations in relation to training computationally neural networks, generative adversarial networks, gradient boosting machines, random forests, classification and regression trees, linear, polynomial, exponential and generalized linear regressions, logistic regression, reinforcement learning, deep reinforcement learning, hyperparameter optimization, cross validation, support vector machines, principal component analysis, singular value decomposition, convex optimization, and/or independent component analysis. Paragraphs 0014, 0068 and figure 6 discloses that the mining processors comprise GPU (graphics processing unit) and ASIC (application specific integrated circuit) that perform peer to peer analysis, for example.
With respect to claim 32, 45, Barbour discloses the mobile data center as recited in claim 21, wherein the power system includes remotely controllable breaker panels including switches remotely controllable to turn on/off power to some or all of the plurality of distributed computing units. Figure 4 discloses a remotely controlled controller/network equipment that controls the distribution panel 82 and contactor panel to turn on/off power to mining processors 92.
With respect to claim 33, Barbour discloses the mobile data center as recited in claim 32, wherein each of the breaker panels is in electrical communication with one or more of the power distribution units. Figure 4 discloses that the panels are electrical connected to the power distribution units in the mining processors.
With respect to claim 34, Barbour discloses the mobile data center as recited in claim 21, wherein the power distribution units are adapted to be remotely power-cycled to reset, reboot or restart malfunctioning equipment of the distributed computing system. Paragraph 0068 discloses that the controller controls the switches to open and close circuits to add or remove mining processors from operation.
With respect to claim 43, Barbour discloses the mobile data center as recited in claim 21, wherein the enclosure is a prefabricated housing. Paragraph 0064-0065 discloses designing and building enclosure 98
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barbour (US 2020/0051184) in view of Loucks et al. (US 2015/0168976) (“Loucks”).
With respect to claim 22, Barbour discloses the mobile data center as recited in claim 21; except for, wherein the monitoring and control system includes a monitoring and control application running thereon adapted to communicate with a client application running the client device, the monitoring and control application configured to enable the client application to interact with the remotely controllable power distribution units via the monitoring and control system.
Loucks discloses in paragraphs 0032, 0052 an operation module 130 and computer 132 that is remotely controlled via an application running on a smart phone and that the controller and ATS 108 monitors the power form the utility and any number of electrical systems in within the facility.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modify Barbour and include the control application of Loucks to allow a user to control the system via mobile device, for example.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARLOS AMAYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836