Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
In regard to Claim 1, Claim 1 recites: “in case that the at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the terminal is updated” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether or not the update is required in the claim. The examiner suggests including in the claim the words in response to, so that the above claim excerpt states: in response to the at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the terminal is updated.
Claims 2-7 are rejected through dependence from Claim 1.
In regard to Claim 3, Claim 3 recites: “in case that an identity of an AMF entity included in the second registration request message corresponds to a same core network” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether or not the correspondence is required in the claim. The examiner suggests including in the claim the words in response to, so that the above claim excerpt states: in response to an identity of an AMF entity included in the second registration request message corresponds to a same core network.
In regard to Claim 5, Claim 5 recites: “in case that the at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the terminal is updated” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether or not the update is required in the claim. The examiner suggests including in the claim the words in response to, so that the above claim excerpt states: in response to the at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the terminal is updated.
In regard to Claim 8, Claim 8 recites: “in case that the at least one of a multi-access network selection list, or the information on the policy for the terminal is updated” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether or not the update is required in the claim. The examiner suggests including in the claim the words in response to, so that the above claim excerpt states: in response to the at least one of a multi-access network selection list, or the information on the policy for the terminal is updated.
Claims 9-10 are rejected through dependence from Claim 8.
In regard to Claim 11, Claim 11 recites: “in case that the at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the terminal is updated” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether or not the update is required in the claim. The examiner suggests including in the claim the words in response to, so that the above claim excerpt states: in response to the at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the terminal is updated.
Claim 11 recites: “the at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the, and select a second base station” (emphasis added). It appears that the word terminal should appear between “for the” and “, and”.
Claims 12-17 are rejected through dependence from Claim 11.
In regard to Claim 13, Claim 13 recites: “in case that an identity of an AMF entity included in the second registration request message corresponds to a same core network” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether or not the correspondence is required in the claim. The examiner suggests including in the claim the words in response to, so that the above claim excerpt states: in response to an identity of an AMF entity included in the second registration request message corresponds to a same core network.
In regard to Claim 15, Claim 15 recites: “in case that the at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the terminal is updated” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether or not the update is required in the claim. The examiner suggests including in the claim the words in response to, so that the above claim excerpt states: in response to the at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the terminal is updated.
In regard to Claim 18, Claim 18 recites: “in case that the at least one of a multi-access network selection list, or the information on the policy for the terminal is updated” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether or not the update is required in the claim. The examiner suggests including in the claim the words in response to, so that the above claim excerpt states: in response to the at least one of a multi-access network selection list, or the information on the policy for the terminal is updated.
Claims 19-20 are rejected through dependence from Claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, 11 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salkintzis (Pub. No.: US 20200336940 A1) in view of Paladugu et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230247445 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Salkintzis and Paladugu.
In regard to Claim 1, Salkintzis teaches A method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system (UE 205, Para. 111, FIG. 5A), the method comprising: transmitting, to a first access and mobility management function (AMF) entity (AMF 240 (see communication 506), Para. 111, FIG. 5A) via a first base station (a 3GPP access network 120 containing at least one cellular base unit 121, Para. 36, FIG. 1), a first registration request message (the UE 205 requests the MA-PDU session via the 5G RAN 215 by sending an RRC message containing the UL NAS Transport message (see communication 504) and the 5G RAN 215 sends a NGAP UL NAS Transport message to the AMF 240 (see communication 506), Para. 111, FIG. 5A) for a multiple access (a Non-3GPP Access Network 220, such as a WLAN, Para. 56, FIG. 2A. The user-plane resources on both accesses have been reserved and, thus, the UE 205 can send and receive PDU session traffic (i.e. user data) over the non-3GPP access (via the N3IWF 135, see communications 546), Para. 121, FIG. 5B).
Salkintzis teaches receiving, from the first AMF entity (The AMF 240 sends a NAS message to the UE 205, Para. 121, FIG. 5B) via the first base station (via the 5G RAN 215, Para. 121, FIG. 5B), a first registration response message including at least one of a multi-access network selection list or information on a policy for the terminal (The AMF 240 sends a NAS message to the UE 205 via the 5G RAN 215, here a DL NAS Transport message (see communications 530 and 532). The NAS message includes a PDU Session Establishment Accept message, which in turn contains (a) the Measurement Assistance Policy rules provided by PCF and (b) the ATSSS rules, Para. 121, FIG. 5B) in response to transmitting the first registration request message (the UE 205 requests the MA-PDU session via the 5G RAN 215 by sending an RRC message containing the UL NAS Transport message (see communication 504), Para. 111, FIG. 5A), in case that the at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the terminal is updated (The PCF 235 derives the SM policy for the MA-PDU session, which includes Traffic Steering policy (see block 514), Para. 116, FIG. 5A. After deriving the Traffic Steering rules and corresponding Measurement Assistance Policy rules, the PCF 235 sends to the SMF 230 the created SM policy for the MA-PDU session, which includes PCC rules containing the derived Traffic Steering rules and the Measurement Assistance Policy rules (see communication 520). Note that the SMF 230 uses the traffic steering rules in the PCC rules to create an ATSSS policy having one or more ATSSS rules, Para. 118, FIG. 5A. The SMF 230 initiates the establishment of user-plane resources over the non-3GPP access, (see block 522), Para. 119, FIG. 5B).
Salkintzis teaches updating, based on the first registration response message (The AMF 240 sends a NAS message to the UE 205 via the 5G RAN 215, (see communications 530 and 532), Para. 121, FIG. 5B), the at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the terminal (The NAS message includes a PDU Session Establishment Accept message, which in turn contains (a) the Measurement Assistance Policy rules provided by PCF and (b) the ATSSS rules, Para. 121, FIG. 5B).
Salkintzis teaches selecting a second base station (a non-3GPP access network 130 containing at least one access point 131, Para. 36, FIG. 1. A non-3GPP access network 130 connects to the mobile core network 140 via a non-3GPP interworking function (“N3IWF”) 135, Para. 43, FIG. 1. N3IWF 135, Para. 121, FIG. 5B) for the multiple access (a Non-3GPP Access Network 220, such as a WLAN, Para. 56, FIG. 2A. The user-plane resources on both accesses have been reserved and, thus, the UE 205 can send and receive PDU session traffic (i.e. user data) over the non-3GPP access (via the N3IWF 135, see communications 546), Para. 121, FIG. 5B) based on the updated at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the terminal (The NAS message includes a PDU Session Establishment Accept message, which in turn contains (a) the Measurement Assistance Policy rules provided by PCF and (b) the ATSSS rules, Para. 121, FIG. 5B).
Although Salkintzis provides an implicit teaching, Salkintzis fails to explicitly teach updating, based on the first registration response message, the at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the terminal.
Paladugu teaches updating (the remote UE may update one or more ATSSS rules, Para. 94, FIG. 8), based on the first registration response message (As shown by reference number 810, the remote UE may perform 5GS registration. For example, the remote UE may register with the AMF, Para. 87, FIG. 8. A network entity may provision the one or more ATSSS rules to the UE, Para. 94, FIG. 8), the at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the terminal (At reference number 845, the network entity such as the SMF may update the one or more ATSSS rules based at least in part on the MA-PDU session, Para. 94, FIG. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Paladugu with the teachings of Salkintzis since Paladugu provides a technique for UE to update network rules after registering with an AMF and provision of rules by a network, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Salkintzis to permit UE to update policy rules after receiving an PDU Session Establishment Accept message from an AMF.
In regard to Claim 7, Salkintzis teaches the first registration request message (The UE 205 requests a MA-PDU session by sending a NAS message (e.g., a UL NAS Transport message) to the AMF 240, Para. 111, FIG. 5A) for the multiple access (a Non-3GPP Access Network 220, such as a WLAN, Para. 56, FIG. 2A. The user-plane resources on both accesses have been reserved and, thus, the UE 205 can send and receive PDU session traffic (i.e. user data) over the non-3GPP access (via the N3IWF 135, see communications 546), Para. 121, FIG. 5B) includes at least one of information of a capability for the terminal (the NAS message also includes a PMF Supported indication, which indicates that the UE 205 supports Access Measurements, Para. 112), a terminal indication, a network indication, requested network slice identities, a cell identity for the terminal, or an access type for the terminal.
In regard to Claim 8, Salkintzis teaches A method performed by a first access and mobility management function (AMF) entity in a wireless communication system (AMF 240 (see communication 506), Para. 111, FIG. 5A), the method comprising: receiving, from a terminal (UE 205, Para. 111, FIG. 5A) via a first base station (a 3GPP access network 120 containing at least one cellular base unit 121, Para. 36, FIG. 1), a first registration request message (The UE 205 requests a MA-PDU session by sending a NAS message (e.g., a UL NAS Transport message) to the AMF 240. The UE 205 requests the MA-PDU session via the 5G RAN 215 by sending an RRC message containing the UL NAS Transport message (see communication 504) and the 5G RAN 215 sends a NGAP UL NAS Transport message to the AMF 240 (see communication 506), Para. 111, FIG. 5A) for a multiple access (a Non-3GPP Access Network 220, such as a WLAN, Para. 56, FIG. 2A. The user-plane resources on both accesses have been reserved and, thus, the UE 205 can send and receive PDU session traffic (i.e. user data) over the non-3GPP access (via the N3IWF 135, see communications 546), Para. 121, FIG. 5B).
Salkintzis teaches, wherein the first registration request message (The UE 205 requests a MA-PDU session by sending a NAS message (e.g., a UL NAS Transport message) to the AMF 240, Para. 111, FIG. 5A) for the multiple access (a Non-3GPP Access Network 220, such as a WLAN, Para. 56, FIG. 2A. The user-plane resources on both accesses have been reserved and, thus, the UE 205 can send and receive PDU session traffic (i.e. user data) over the non-3GPP access (via the N3IWF 135, see communications 546), Para. 121, FIG. 5B) includes at least one of information of a capability for the terminal (the NAS message also includes a PMF Supported indication, which indicates that the UE 205 supports Access Measurements, Para. 112), a terminal indication, a network indication, a requested network slice identities, a cell identity for the terminal, or an access type for the terminal.
Salkintzis teaches determining whether to update at least one of a multi-access network selection list or information on a policy for the terminal (The SMF 230 invokes the N1N2 Message Transfer operation (e.g., the Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer service operation) to the AMF 240, here to establish the user plane resources over 3GPP access for the MA-PDU session (see communication 528), Para. 121, FIG. 5B).
Salkintzis teaches transmitting, to the terminal (UE 205, Para. 111, FIG. 5A) via the first base station (via the 5G RAN 215, Para. 121, FIG. 5B), a first registration response message including at least one of the at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the terminal (The AMF 240 sends a NAS message to the UE 205 via the 5G RAN 215, here a DL NAS Transport message (see communications 530 and 532). The NAS message includes a PDU Session Establishment Accept message, which in turn contains (a) the Measurement Assistance Policy rules provided by PCF and (b) the ATSSS rules, Para. 121, FIG. 5B) in response to receiving the first registration request message (the UE 205 requests the MA-PDU session via the 5G RAN 215 by sending an RRC message containing the UL NAS Transport message (see communication 504), Para. 111, FIG. 5A) in case that the at least one of a multi-access network selection list, or the information on the policy for the terminal is updated (The PCF 235 derives the SM policy for the MA-PDU session, which includes Traffic Steering policy (see block 514), Para. 116, FIG. 5A. After deriving the Traffic Steering rules and corresponding Measurement Assistance Policy rules, the PCF 235 sends to the SMF 230 the created SM policy for the MA-PDU session, which includes PCC rules containing the derived Traffic Steering rules and the Measurement Assistance Policy rules (see communication 520). Note that the SMF 230 uses the traffic steering rules in the PCC rules to create an ATSSS policy having one or more ATSSS rules, Para. 118, FIG. 5A. The SMF 230 initiates the establishment of user-plane resources over the non-3GPP access, (see block 522), Para. 119, FIG. 5B).
Although Salkintzis provides an implicit teaching, Salkintzis fails to explicitly teach determining whether to update at least one of a multi-access network selection list or information on a policy for the terminal.
Paladugu teaches determining whether to update at least one of a multi-access network selection list or information on a policy for the terminal (a network entity such as the SMF may provision the one or more ATSSS rules to the UE. The one or more ATSSS rules may indicate whether traffic should be routed via the direct path or the indirect path. For example, an ATSSS rule may indicate how to steer traffic (e.g., selecting a link or path for user plane traffic based at least in part on a service associated with the user plane traffic), how to switch a link (e.g., how to perform handover of a link or path without service interruption to the remaining link or path), and/or how to split traffic. At reference number 845, the network entity such as the SMF may update the one or more ATSSS rules based at least in part on the MA-PDU session via the indirect path and the direct path, Para. 94, FIG. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Paladugu with the teachings of Salkintzis since Paladugu provides a technique for a network entity to provision rules for a rules update involving UE, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Salkintzis to permit an AMF to update policy rules to UE after sending an PDU Session Establishment Accept message.
In regard to Claim 11, Salkintzis teaches A terminal in a wireless communication system (UE 205, Para. 111, FIG. 5A), the terminal comprising: a transceiver (first transceiver 325, Para. 76, FIG. 3); and at least one processor (processor 305, Para. 77, FIG. 3) configured to: transmit via the transceiver, to a first access and mobility management function (AMF) entity (AMF 240 (see communication 506), Para. 111, FIG. 5A) via a first base station (a 3GPP access network 120 containing at least one cellular base unit 121, Para. 36, FIG. 1), a first registration request message (the UE 205 requests the MA-PDU session via the 5G RAN 215 by sending an RRC message containing the UL NAS Transport message (see communication 504) and the 5G RAN 215 sends a NGAP UL NAS Transport message to the AMF 240 (see communication 506), Para. 111, FIG. 5A) for a multiple access (a Non-3GPP Access Network 220, such as a WLAN, Para. 56, FIG. 2A. The user-plane resources on both accesses have been reserved and, thus, the UE 205 can send and receive PDU session traffic (i.e. user data) over the non-3GPP access (via the N3IWF 135, see communications 546), Para. 121, FIG. 5B).
Salkintzis teaches receive, from the first AMF entity (The AMF 240 sends a NAS message to the UE 205, Para. 121, FIG. 5B) via the first base station (via the 5G RAN 215, Para. 121, FIG. 5B), a first registration response message including at least one of a multi-access network selection list or information on a policy for the terminal (The AMF 240 sends a NAS message to the UE 205 via the 5G RAN 215, here a DL NAS Transport message (see communications 530 and 532). The NAS message includes a PDU Session Establishment Accept message, which in turn contains (a) the Measurement Assistance Policy rules provided by PCF and (b) the ATSSS rules, Para. 121, FIG. 5B) in response to transmitting the first registration request message (the UE 205 requests the MA-PDU session via the 5G RAN 215 by sending an RRC message containing the UL NAS Transport message (see communication 504), Para. 111, FIG. 5A), in case that the at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the terminal is updated (The PCF 235 derives the SM policy for the MA-PDU session, which includes Traffic Steering policy (see block 514), Para. 116, FIG. 5A. After deriving the Traffic Steering rules and corresponding Measurement Assistance Policy rules, the PCF 235 sends to the SMF 230 the created SM policy for the MA-PDU session, which includes PCC rules containing the derived Traffic Steering rules and the Measurement Assistance Policy rules (see communication 520). Note that the SMF 230 uses the traffic steering rules in the PCC rules to create an ATSSS policy having one or more ATSSS rules, Para. 118, FIG. 5A. The SMF 230 initiates the establishment of user-plane resources over the non-3GPP access, (see block 522), Para. 119, FIG. 5B).
Salkintzis teaches update, based on the first registration response message (The AMF 240 sends a NAS message to the UE 205 via the 5G RAN 215, (see communications 530 and 532), Para. 121, FIG. 5B), the at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the (The NAS message includes a PDU Session Establishment Accept message, which in turn contains (a) the Measurement Assistance Policy rules provided by PCF and (b) the ATSSS rules, Para. 121, FIG. 5B).
Salkintzis teaches select a second base station (a non-3GPP access network 130 containing at least one access point 131, Para. 36, FIG. 1. A non-3GPP access network 130 connects to the mobile core network 140 via a non-3GPP interworking function (“N3IWF”) 135, Para. 43, FIG. 1. N3IWF 135, Para. 121, FIG. 5B) for the multiple access (a Non-3GPP Access Network 220, such as a WLAN, Para. 56, FIG. 2A. The user-plane resources on both accesses have been reserved and, thus, the UE 205 can send and receive PDU session traffic (i.e. user data) over the non-3GPP access (via the N3IWF 135, see communications 546), Para. 121, FIG. 5B) based on the updated at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the terminal (The NAS message includes a PDU Session Establishment Accept message, which in turn contains (a) the Measurement Assistance Policy rules provided by PCF and (b) the ATSSS rules, Para. 121, FIG. 5B).
Although Salkintzis provides an implicit teaching, Salkintzis fails to explicitly teach update, based on the first registration response message, the at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the.
Paladugu teaches update (the remote UE may update one or more ATSSS rules, Para. 94, FIG. 8), based on the first registration response message (As shown by reference number 810, the remote UE may perform 5GS registration. For example, the remote UE may register with the AMF, Para. 87, FIG. 8. A network entity may provision the one or more ATSSS rules to the UE, Para. 94, FIG. 8), the at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the (At reference number 845, the network entity such as the SMF may update the one or more ATSSS rules based at least in part on the MA-PDU session, Para. 94, FIG. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Paladugu with the teachings of Salkintzis since Paladugu provides a technique for UE to update network rules after registering with an AMF and provision of rules by a network, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Salkintzis to permit UE to update policy rules after receiving an PDU Session Establishment Accept message from an AMF.
In regard to Claim 17, Salkintzis teaches the first registration request message (The UE 205 requests a MA-PDU session by sending a NAS message (e.g., a UL NAS Transport message) to the AMF 240, Para. 111, FIG. 5A) for the multiple access (a Non-3GPP Access Network 220, such as a WLAN, Para. 56, FIG. 2A. The user-plane resources on both accesses have been reserved and, thus, the UE 205 can send and receive PDU session traffic (i.e. user data) over the non-3GPP access (via the N3IWF 135, see communications 546), Para. 121, FIG. 5B) includes at least one of information of a capability for the terminal (the NAS message also includes a PMF Supported indication, which indicates that the UE 205 supports Access Measurements, Para. 112), a terminal indication, a network indication, requested network slice identities, a cell identity for the terminal, or an access type for the terminal.
In regard to Claim 18, Salkintzis teaches A first access and mobility management function (AMF) entity in a wireless communication system (AMF 240 (see communication 506), Para. 111, FIG. 5A), the AMF entity comprising: a transceiver (transceiver 425, Para. 92, FIG. 4); and at least one processor (processor 405, Para. 93, FIG. 4) configured to: receive via the transceiver, from a terminal (UE 205, Para. 111, FIG. 5A) via a first base station (a 3GPP access network 120 containing at least one cellular base unit 121, Para. 36, FIG. 1), a first registration request message (The UE 205 requests a MA-PDU session by sending a NAS message (e.g., a UL NAS Transport message) to the AMF 240. The UE 205 requests the MA-PDU session via the 5G RAN 215 by sending an RRC message containing the UL NAS Transport message (see communication 504) and the 5G RAN 215 sends a NGAP UL NAS Transport message to the AMF 240 (see communication 506), Para. 111, FIG. 5A) for a multiple access (a Non-3GPP Access Network 220, such as a WLAN, Para. 56, FIG. 2A. The user-plane resources on both accesses have been reserved and, thus, the UE 205 can send and receive PDU session traffic (i.e. user data) over the non-3GPP access (via the N3IWF 135, see communications 546), Para. 121, FIG. 5B).
Salkintzis teaches, wherein the first registration request message (The UE 205 requests a MA-PDU session by sending a NAS message (e.g., a UL NAS Transport message) to the AMF 240, Para. 111, FIG. 5A) for the multiple access (a Non-3GPP Access Network 220, such as a WLAN, Para. 56, FIG. 2A. The user-plane resources on both accesses have been reserved and, thus, the UE 205 can send and receive PDU session traffic (i.e. user data) over the non-3GPP access (via the N3IWF 135, see communications 546), Para. 121, FIG. 5B) includes at least one of information of a capability for the terminal (the NAS message also includes a PMF Supported indication, which indicates that the UE 205 supports Access Measurements, Para. 112), a terminal indication, a network indication, a requested network slice identities, a cell identity for the terminal, or an access type for the terminal.
Salkintzis teaches determine whether to update at least one of a multi-access network selection list, or information on a policy for the terminal (The SMF 230 invokes the N1N2 Message Transfer operation (e.g., the Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer service operation) to the AMF 240, here to establish the user plane resources over 3GPP access for the MA-PDU session (see communication 528), Para. 121, FIG. 5B).
Salkintzis teaches transmit, to the terminal (UE 205, Para. 111, FIG. 5A) via the first base station (via the 5G RAN 215, Para. 121, FIG. 5B), a first registration response message including at least one of the at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the terminal (The AMF 240 sends a NAS message to the UE 205 via the 5G RAN 215, here a DL NAS Transport message (see communications 530 and 532). The NAS message includes a PDU Session Establishment Accept message, which in turn contains (a) the Measurement Assistance Policy rules provided by PCF and (b) the ATSSS rules, Para. 121, FIG. 5B) in response to receiving the first registration request message (the UE 205 requests the MA-PDU session via the 5G RAN 215 by sending an RRC message containing the UL NAS Transport message (see communication 504), Para. 111, FIG. 5A) in case that the at least one of a multi-access network selection list, or the information on the policy for the terminal is updated (The PCF 235 derives the SM policy for the MA-PDU session, which includes Traffic Steering policy (see block 514), Para. 116, FIG. 5A. After deriving the Traffic Steering rules and corresponding Measurement Assistance Policy rules, the PCF 235 sends to the SMF 230 the created SM policy for the MA-PDU session, which includes PCC rules containing the derived Traffic Steering rules and the Measurement Assistance Policy rules (see communication 520). Note that the SMF 230 uses the traffic steering rules in the PCC rules to create an ATSSS policy having one or more ATSSS rules, Para. 118, FIG. 5A. The SMF 230 initiates the establishment of user-plane resources over the non-3GPP access, (see block 522), Para. 119, FIG. 5B).
Although Salkintzis provides an implicit teaching, Salkintzis fails to explicitly teach determine whether to update at least one of a multi-access network selection list, or information on a policy for the terminal.
Paladugu teaches determine whether to update at least one of a multi-access network selection list, or information on a policy for the terminal (a network entity such as the SMF may provision the one or more ATSSS rules to the UE. The one or more ATSSS rules may indicate whether traffic should be routed via the direct path or the indirect path. For example, an ATSSS rule may indicate how to steer traffic (e.g., selecting a link or path for user plane traffic based at least in part on a service associated with the user plane traffic), how to switch a link (e.g., how to perform handover of a link or path without service interruption to the remaining link or path), and/or how to split traffic. At reference number 845, the network entity such as the SMF may update the one or more ATSSS rules based at least in part on the MA-PDU session via the indirect path and the direct path, Para. 94, FIG. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Paladugu with the teachings of Salkintzis since Paladugu provides a technique for a network entity to provision rules for a rules update involving UE, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Salkintzis to permit an AMF to update policy rules to UE after sending an PDU Session Establishment Accept message.
Claim(s) 2-3, 9, 12-13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salkintzis in view of Paladugu, and further in view of Ryu et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200305118 A1), hereafter referred to as Ryu.
In regard to Claim 2, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Salkintzis in view of Paladugu teaches the second base station.
Salkintzis in view of Paladugu fails to teach transmitting, to the second base station, a second registration request message for the multiple access, wherein the second registration request message is transmitted from the second base station to the first AMF entity.
Ryu teaches transmitting, to the second base station, a second registration request message for the multiple access, wherein the second registration request message is transmitted from the second base station to the first AMF entity (The wireless device 2000 may register with the same AMF 2008 via the second access network 2004, for example, by sending a second registration request message 2014 comprising a wireless device identity (e.g., a 5G globally unique temporary identifier (GUTI)) for the initial registration via the second access network 2004, Para. 217, FIG. 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ryu with the teachings of Salkintzis in view of Paladugu since Ryu provides a technique for a second access network to be utilized in a second registration process with an AMF of a previous registration, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Salkintzis in view of Paladugu to permit an access point of a non-3GPP access network to be utilized for a registration message to an AMF.
In regard to Claim 3, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Salkintzis in view of Paladugu teaches the second base station.
Salkintzis in view of Paladugu fails to teach the first AMF entity is selected by the second base station, in case that an identity of an AMF entity included in the second registration request message corresponds to a same core network.
Ryu teaches the first AMF entity is selected by the second base station, in case that an identity of an AMF entity included in the second registration request message corresponds to a same core network (An AMF may host functions such as inter Core Network (CN) node signaling, Para. 62. For a wireless device in an RRC-IDLE state, a core network (e.g., AMF) may manage the mobility of the wireless device, Para. 182. Sending a second registration request message 2014 comprising a wireless device identity (e.g., a 5G globally unique temporary identifier (GUTI)) for the initial registration via the second access network 2004, Para. 217, FIG. 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ryu with the teachings of Salkintzis in view of Paladugu since Ryu provides a technique for a second access network to be utilized in a second registration process with an AMF of a previous registration, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Salkintzis in view of Paladugu to permit an access point of a non-3GPP access network to be utilized for a registration message to an AMF.
In regard to Claim 9, as presented in the rejection of Claim 8, Salkintzis in view of Paladugu teaches the terminal.
Salkintzis in view of Paladugu fails to teach receiving, from a second base station, a second registration request message for the multiple access, the second base station being selected by the terminal based on the updated at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the terminal.
Ryu teaches receiving, from a second base station, a second registration request message for the multiple access, the second base station being selected by the terminal based on the updated at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the terminal (The wireless device 2000 may register with the same AMF 2008 via the second access network 2004, for example, by sending a second registration request message 2014 comprising a wireless device identity (e.g., a 5G globally unique temporary identifier (GUTI)) for the initial registration via the second access network 2004, Para. 217, FIG. 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ryu with the teachings of Salkintzis in view of Paladugu since Ryu provides a technique for a second access network to be utilized in a second registration process with an AMF of a previous registration, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Salkintzis in view of Paladugu to permit an access point of a non-3GPP access network to be utilized for a registration message to an AMF.
In regard to Claim 12, as presented in the rejection of Claim 11, Salkintzis in view of Paladugu teaches the second base station.
Salkintzis in view of Paladugu fails to teach the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, to the second base station via the transceiver, a second registration request message for the multiple access, and wherein the second registration request message is transmitted from the second base station to the first AMF entity.
Ryu teaches the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, to the second base station via the transceiver, a second registration request message for the multiple access, and wherein the second registration request message is transmitted from the second base station to the first AMF entity (The wireless device 2000 may register with the same AMF 2008 via the second access network 2004, for example, by sending a second registration request message 2014 comprising a wireless device identity (e.g., a 5G globally unique temporary identifier (GUTI)) for the initial registration via the second access network 2004, Para. 217, FIG. 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ryu with the teachings of Salkintzis in view of Paladugu since Ryu provides a technique for a second access network to be utilized in a second registration process with an AMF of a previous registration, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Salkintzis in view of Paladugu to permit an access point of a non-3GPP access network to be utilized for a registration message to an AMF.
In regard to Claim 13, as presented in the rejection of Claim 11, Salkintzis in view of Paladugu teaches the second base station.
Salkintzis in view of Paladugu fails to teach the first AMF entity is selected by the second base station, in case that an identity of an AMF entity included in the second registration request message corresponds to a same core network.
Ryu teaches the first AMF entity is selected by the second base station, in case that an identity of an AMF entity included in the second registration request message corresponds to a same core network (An AMF may host functions such as inter Core Network (CN) node signaling, Para. 62. For a wireless device in an RRC-IDLE state, a core network (e.g., AMF) may manage the mobility of the wireless device, Para. 182. Sending a second registration request message 2014 comprising a wireless device identity (e.g., a 5G globally unique temporary identifier (GUTI)) for the initial registration via the second access network 2004, Para. 217, FIG. 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ryu with the teachings of Salkintzis in view of Paladugu since Ryu provides a technique for a second access network to be utilized in a second registration process with an AMF of a previous registration, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Salkintzis in view of Paladugu to permit an access point of a non-3GPP access network to be utilized for a registration message to an AMF.
In regard to Claim 19, as presented in the rejection of Claim 18, Salkintzis in view of Paladugu teaches the terminal.
Salkintzis in view of Paladugu fails to teach the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from a second base station via the transceiver, a second registration request message for the multiple access, the second base station being selected by the terminal based on the updated at least one of the multi-access network selection list, or the information on the policy for the terminal.
Ryu teaches the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from a second base station via the transceiver, a second registration request message for the multiple access, the second base station being selected by the terminal based on the updated at least one of the multi-access network selection list, or the information on the policy for the terminal (The wireless device 2000 may register with the same AMF 2008 via the second access network 2004, for example, by sending a second registration request message 2014 comprising a wireless device identity (e.g., a 5G globally unique temporary identifier (GUTI)) for the initial registration via the second access network 2004, Para. 217, FIG. 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ryu with the teachings of Salkintzis in view of Paladugu since Ryu provides a technique for a second access network to be utilized in a second registration process with an AMF of a previous registration, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Salkintzis in view of Paladugu to permit an access point of a non-3GPP access network to be utilized for a registration message to an AMF.
Claim(s) 4-5 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salkintzis in view of Paladugu, and further in view of Kumar et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200120585 A1), hereafter referred to as Kumar.
In regard to Claim 4, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Salkintzis in view of Paladugu teaches the second base station.
Salkintzis in view of Paladugu fails to teach a second registration request message is transmitted from the second base station to a second AMF entity.
Kumar teaches a second registration request message is transmitted from the second base station to a second AMF entity (when the UE 100 is moved to the new AMF i.e. second AMF 200b and triggered the mobility registration through the 3GPP access. The second AMF 200b is able to fetch the context from first AMF 200a via the communication UE context transfer successfully. The second AMF 200b shall send the registration accept/registration reject or detach message to the UE 100. The UE 100 shall consider that its currently not registered with the second AMF 200b for the non-3GPP access and initiates the NAS message over the non-3GPP access (example registration procedure or service request) to establish the non-3GPP access context, Para. 85, FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kumar with the teachings of Salkintzis in view of Paladugu since Kumar provides a technique for a UE that has moved to a new area to register with a second AMF through one of two networks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Salkintzis in view of Paladugu to permit an access point to be utilized for a UE that is to register with a different AMF of a new area and the associated access point that the UE has moved to.
In regard to Claim 5, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Salkintzis in view of Paladugu teaches the second base station.
Salkintzis in view of Paladugu fails to teach receiving, from the second AMF entity via the second base station, a second registration response message including at least one of a multi-access network selection list or information on a policy for the terminal in case that the at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the terminal is updated based on the second registration request message; and updating the at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the terminal based on the second registration response message.
Kumar teaches receiving, from the second AMF entity via the second base station, a second registration response message including at least one of a multi-access network selection list or information on a policy for the terminal in case that the at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the terminal is updated based on the second registration request message; and updating the at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the terminal based on the second registration response message (The second AMF 200b shall send the registration accept/registration reject or detach message to the UE 100. The UE 100 shall consider that its currently not registered with the second AMF 200b for the non-3GPP access and initiates the NAS message over the non-3GPP access (example registration procedure or service request) to establish the non-3GPP access context, Para. 85, FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kumar with the teachings of Salkintzis in view of Paladugu since Kumar provides a technique for a UE that has moved to a new area to register with a second AMF through one of two networks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Salkintzis in view of Paladugu to permit an access point to be utilized for a UE that is to register with a different AMF of a new area and the associated access point that the UE has moved to.
In regard to Claim 14, as presented in the rejection of Claim 11, Salkintzis in view of Paladugu teaches the second base station.
Salkintzis in view of Paladugu fails to teach a second registration request message is transmitted from the second base station to a second AMF entity.
Kumar teaches a second registration request message is transmitted from the second base station to a second AMF entity (when the UE 100 is moved to the new AMF i.e. second AMF 200b and triggered the mobility registration through the 3GPP access. The second AMF 200b is able to fetch the context from first AMF 200a via the communication UE context transfer successfully. The second AMF 200b shall send the registration accept/registration reject or detach message to the UE 100. The UE 100 shall consider that its currently not registered with the second AMF 200b for the non-3GPP access and initiates the NAS message over the non-3GPP access (example registration procedure or service request) to establish the non-3GPP access context, Para. 85, FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kumar with the teachings of Salkintzis in view of Paladugu since Kumar provides a technique for a UE that has moved to a new area to register with a second AMF through one of two networks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Salkintzis in view of Paladugu to permit an access point to be utilized for a UE that is to register with a different AMF of a new area and the associated access point that the UE has moved to.
In regard to Claim 15, as presented in the rejection of Claim 11, Salkintzis in view of Paladugu teaches the second base station.
Salkintzis in view of Paladugu fails to teach the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from the second AMF entity via the second base station, a second registration response message including at least one of a multi-access network selection list, or information on a policy for the terminal in case that the at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the terminal is updated based on the second registration request message; and update the at least one of the multi-access network selection list, or the information on the policy for the terminal based on the second registration response message.
Kumar teaches the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from the second AMF entity via the second base station, a second registration response message including at least one of a multi-access network selection list, or information on a policy for the terminal in case that the at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the terminal is updated based on the second registration request message; and update the at least one of the multi-access network selection list, or the information on the policy for the terminal based on the second registration response message (The second AMF 200b shall send the registration accept/registration reject or detach message to the UE 100. The UE 100 shall consider that its currently not registered with the second AMF 200b for the non-3GPP access and initiates the NAS message over the non-3GPP access (example registration procedure or service request) to establish the non-3GPP access context, Para. 85, FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kumar with the teachings of Salkintzis in view of Paladugu since Kumar provides a technique for a UE that has moved to a new area to register with a second AMF through one of two networks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Salkintzis in view of Paladugu to permit an access point to be utilized for a UE that is to register with a different AMF of a new area and the associated access point that the UE has moved to.
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salkintzis in view of Paladugu, and further in view of Shih et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220132395 A1), hereafter referred to as Shih.
In regard to Claim 6, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Salkintzis in view of Paladugu teaches the second base station.
Salkintzis in view of Paladugu fails to teach selecting the second base station comprises: determining whether to select a stand-alone non-public network (SNPN) or a public land mobile network (PLMN) from a multi-access network access selection list, and wherein the second base station for the multiple access is selected based on one of the SNPN or the PLMN.
Shih teaches selecting the second base station comprises: determining whether to select a stand-alone non-public network (SNPN) or a public land mobile network (PLMN) from a multi-access network access selection list, and wherein the second base station for the multiple access is selected based on one of the SNPN or the PLMN (The indicator may be an integer that uniquely indicates a selected PLMN sharing the NR gNB 104. The integer set as 1 may indicate that the first PLMN is selected from the PLMN list information in the minimum SI (e.g., SIB1), and the integer set as 2 may indicate that the second PLMN is selected from the PLMN list information in the minimum SI (e.g., SIB1). The maximum value of the integer may be the maximum number of the PLMNs sharing the NR gNB 104, Para. 82).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shih with the teachings of Salkintzis in view of Paladugu since Shih provides a technique for selecting PLMN in relation to a gNB, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Salkintzis in view of Paladugu to permit UE an ability to select PLMNs as needed in relation to a selected non-3GPP interworking function.
In regard to Claim 16, as presented in the rejection of Claim 11, Salkintzis in view of Paladugu teaches the second base station.
Salkintzis in view of Paladugu fails to teach the at least one processor is further configured to: determine whether to select a stand-alone non-public network (SNPN) or a public land mobile network (PLMN) from a multi-access network access selection list, and wherein the second base station for the multiple access is selected based on one of the SNPN or the PLMN.
Shih teaches the at least one processor is further configured to: determine whether to select a stand-alone non-public network (SNPN) or a public land mobile network (PLMN) from a multi-access network access selection list, and wherein the second base station for the multiple access is selected based on one of the SNPN or the PLMN (The indicator may be an integer that uniquely indicates a selected PLMN sharing the NR gNB 104. The integer set as 1 may indicate that the first PLMN is selected from the PLMN list information in the minimum SI (e.g., SIB1), and the integer set as 2 may indicate that the second PLMN is selected from the PLMN list information in the minimum SI (e.g., SIB1). The maximum value of the integer may be the maximum number of the PLMNs sharing the NR gNB 104, Para. 82).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shih with the teachings of Salkintzis in view of Paladugu since Shih provides a technique for selecting PLMN in relation to a gNB, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Salkintzis in view of Paladugu to permit UE an ability to select PLMNs as needed in relation to a selected non-3GPP interworking function.
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salkintzis in view of Paladugu, and further in view of Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 20260012397 A1), hereafter referred to as Kim.
In regard to Claim 10, as presented in the rejection of Claim 8, Salkintzis in view of Paladugu teaches the terminal.
Salkintzis in view of Paladugu fails to teach transmitting, to a unified data management (UDM), a request message for subscription data; determining whether a multiple access service is available for the terminal based on information obtained in response to transmitting the request message; and determining, based on policy control function (PCF) entity information, whether a multiple access support condition is met.
Kim teaches transmitting, to a unified data management (UDM), a request message for subscription data; determining whether a multiple access service is available for the terminal based on information obtained in response to transmitting the request message; and determining, based on policy control function (PCF) entity information, whether a multiple access support condition is met (Step 4: SMF may retrieve the session management subscription data from the UDM, Para. 157, FIG. 5. Step 5: The SMF transmits either Create SM Context Response message (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Response) or Update SM Context Response message (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Response) to the AMF, depending on the request received in step 3, Para. 158, FIG. 5. Step 7b: The SMF may perform an SM Policy Association Establishment procedure to establish an SM Policy association with the PCF and get the default PCC rules for the PDU session, Para. 163, FIG. 5. In step 10a, the SMF may send an N4 Session Establishment/Modification Request to the UPF. In step 10b, the UPF may acknowledge by sending an N4 Session Establishment/Modification Response, Para. 167, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Salkintzis in view of Paladugu since Kim provides a technique for utilizing subscription data from UDM and PCF for determining session establishment, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Salkintzis in view of Paladugu to permit PCF and subscription information from UDM to aid in determining network access.
In regard to Claim 20, as presented in the rejection of Claim 8, Salkintzis in view of Paladugu teaches the terminal.
Salkintzis in view of Paladugu fails to teach the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, to a unified data management (UDM) via the transceiver, a request message for subscription data, determine whether a multiple access service is available for the terminal based on information obtained in response to transmitting the request message, and determine, based on a policy control function (PCF) entity information, whether a multiple-access support condition is met.
Kim teaches the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, to a unified data management (UDM) via the transceiver, a request message for subscription data, determine whether a multiple access service is available for the terminal based on information obtained in response to transmitting the request message, and determine, based on a policy control function (PCF) entity information, whether a multiple-access support condition is met (Step 4: SMF may retrieve the session management subscription data from the UDM, Para. 157, FIG. 5. Step 5: The SMF transmits either Create SM Context Response message (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Response) or Update SM Context Response message (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Response) to the AMF, depending on the request received in step 3, Para. 158, FIG. 5. Step 7b: The SMF may perform an SM Policy Association Establishment procedure to establish an SM Policy association with the PCF and get the default PCC rules for the PDU session, Para. 163, FIG. 5. In step 10a, the SMF may send an N4 Session Establishment/Modification Request to the UPF. In step 10b, the UPF may acknowledge by sending an N4 Session Establishment/Modification Response, Para. 167, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Salkintzis in view of Paladugu since Kim provides a technique for utilizing subscription data from UDM and PCF for determining session establishment, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Salkintzis in view of Paladugu to permit PCF and subscription information from UDM to aid in determining network access.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Faccin et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190028961 A1) teaches updating the at least one of the multi-access network selection list or the information on the policy for the terminal (At 710, core network 130-f may transmit a UE configuration update command to UE 115-f In some aspects, the UE configuration update command may include the control plane service information. The UE configuration update command may also include mobility restrictions, a 5G-GUTI, a tracking area identifier (TAI), NSSAI information, and policy information, Para. 145, FIG. 7. At 715, UE 115-f may transmit a UE configuration update command to core network 130-f, Para. 146, FIG. 7).
LEE et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230239826 A1) teaches transmitting, to the second base station, a second registration request message for the multiple access, wherein the second registration request message is transmitted from the second base station to the first AMF entity (In operation 240, the UE 100 may access the N3IWF 115 and transmit a registration request message, Para. 83, FIG. 2. In operation 244, the N3IWF 115 may forward the registration request message to the AMF 120 selected in the operation 242, Para. 89, FIG. 2). The examiner notes that this reference has the same Applicant as the current application.
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
9-12-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477