DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Applicant’s communication filed on 6/2/26, wherein group 1 (claims 1-10) have been elected without traverse. Claims 1-10, 22-28 are currently pending; Clams 1-2, 5 have been amended; Claims 22-28 have been added; Claims 11-21 have been cancelled.
Claim Objections
Claim 28 is objected to because of the following informalities: the acronym MIPI, USP need to be written out. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 22-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CARITHERS ET AL (US 2021/0276203) in view of NGUYEN ET AL (US 2022/0241962). Herein after CARITHER and NGUYEN
As for claim 1, CARITHERS discloses an end effector {see at least figures 1, 3 and pars. 0063-0064 shows end effector 670} for a robot, the end effector comprising: a mounting interface for removably attaching a tool {see at least figure 3, 9 pars. 0011, 0064-0065 see the picker 675 (tool) is attached to the effector 670}, the mounting interface comprising:
a latch mechanism configured for locking the tool to the end effector {see at least figure 14-15, par 0089 which discloses the picker 675 may comprise a switch 166 and a unique switch actuator collar 162 that may be positioned and attached on a fitting 164 by a set screw (e.g., such as a screw positioned in hole 174). An exemplary fitting 164 may include a cylindrical thread adapter, such as one used to connect the pneumatic tube 150 to a level compensator 168 positioned proximally from the suction cup 170 on the end effector 670}
a vision module configured for detecting and imaging {see at least figure 9, pars. 0070, 0099, 0102, sensor 610 such as 3D camera}
first pogo pins configured for contacting second pogo pins on the tool {see at least figures 3, 9 pars. 0070 discloses pins 134 such as spring load contact pins (i.e., an end effector electrical connector).
CARITHERS discloses the vision module attached on the effector, and the tool can be removable from the effector or attachable to the effector as indicated above. However, CARITHERS does not explicitly disclose a vision module configured for detecting the attachment or detachment of the tool at the mounting interface.
However, NGUYEN discloses this limitation as shown at least in figure 3C, 13, 14B, pars. 0171, 0179 e.g. end effector tool changer for a pick, sort, and place robotic system, in accordance with one embodiment of the invention. A tool plate 361 comprises a tool sensor 362, which is configured to detect the presence of a tool attachment portion 365 in the slot 366 corresponding to the tool plate 361; par. 0226 discloses the system combines data from one or more of the vision system, the weight sensor, the tool wire, and the pressure sensor, to determine whether a tool is attached at the end effector, whether an object was successfully picked by the robotic arm, whether an object was released or dropped by the robotic arm, whether more than one object is grasped by an attached tool, whether a tool is damaged, and whether a tool has fallen or become detached}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective of filing date of the claimed invention to provide the vision module attached on the effector of CARITHERS to include the vision module configured to detected whether the tool is detached or attached to the effector as taught by NGUYEN in order to provide the system of CARITHERS the capability to detect or determine that the tool is attached to the effector or the tool is detached to the effector more efficient using the vision module.
As for claim 2, CARITHERS discloses wherein the latch mechanism is a rotary mechanical latch including a helical collar for engaging a helical groove on the tool {see at least figures 14-15, par. 0089}.
As for claim 3, CARITHERS discloses a servo motor for rotating the end effector relative to the tool to screw the helical collar into the helical groove {see at least figure 9, pars. 0089, 0009}.
As for claim 5, which discloses wherein vision module includes at least one camera and a proximity sensor {see CARITHERS at least figure 9, pars. 0070, 0099, 0102, sensor 610 such as 3D camera}.
As for claim 6, which discloses wherein the pogo pins are on a front face of the mounting interface {see CARITHERS at least figures 3, 8, 9 pars. 0070}.
As for claim 7, which discloses wherein the pogo pins are on a side face of the mounting interface {see CARITHERS at least figures 3, 8, 9 pars. 0070}.
As for claim 8, which discloses first pneumatic or hydraulic connectors on the mounting interface for engaging second pneumatic or hydraulic connectors on the tool; and fluid supply lines connected to the first pneumatic or hydraulic connectors, the fluid supply lines being routed internally through an opening in the end effector {see CARITHERS at least figure 12, 16, pars. 0011, 0019, 0054-0055, 0069, 0071}
As for claim 9, which discloses wherein the first pogo pins are configured to form electrical connections with the second pogo pins, the electrical connections including power and input/output signal communication lines {see CARITHERS at least figures 8, 9, pars. 0070, 0076-0077}.
As for claim 10, which r a high-intensity UV light source for self-sanitization of the robot, wherein the UV light source is activated upon detachment of the tool from the end effector {see at least NGUYEN pars. 0120, 0151, 0208}
As for claim 22, which discloses the end effector of claim 1 removably attached to the robot {see CARITHERS at least figures 3, 9, pars. 0022, 0063-0064}.
As for claim 23, which discloses wherein the end effector is removably attached to a terminal limb segment of the robot {see CARITHERS at least figures 3, 9, pars. 0022, 0063-0064}.
As for claim 24, which discloses wherein the latch mechanism is a translational mechanical latch.
As for claim 25, which discloses wherein the proximity sensor is a time-of-flight sensor {see CARITHERS at least par. 0120}.
As for claims 26-27, which discloses wherein the at least one camera includes two RGB cameras, a far-infrared {see CARITHERS at least pars. 0018, 0070, 0120; NGUYEN at least par. 0118}.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CARITHERS in view of NGUYEN as applied to claims above and further in view of KOHNO ET AL (US 2016/0100748). Herein after KOHNO
As for claim 28, CARITHERS/NGUYEN discloses claimed invention as indicated above except for a dedicated integrated circuit configured for converting signals received from the vision module from MIPI or 12C interface to USB. However, such limitation is taught in KOHNO at least in par. 0062. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective of filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of NGUYEN/CARITHERS into the system of KOHNO for universal plug-and-play compatibility. Further since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately which one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Moosman et al (US 2020/0171673): FIG. 2, par. 0060 discloses the effector assembly 106 includes one or more work piece latches 204. In one example the work piece latches 204 include one or more posts, pins, interfittings or the like configured to engage with corresponding components of the work piece 108.
Kadshai et al (US 2022/0409303): Systems and methods for changing an end effector are provided. A robot flange may have a first receiver and a first electrical connection. An end effector may have a second receiver, a second electrical connection, and a locking assembly. The locking assembly may be configured to releasably secure the end effector to the robot flange.
Cameron et al (US 2022/0331029): A system for robotic surgery makes use of an end-effector which has been configured so that any selected one of a group of surgical tools may be selectively connected to such end-effector. The end-effector makes use of a tool-insert locking mechanism which secures a selected one of the surgical tools at not only a respective.
Rizk (US 2012/0207538): An automated tool change assembly and method for automatically coupling a robotic end effector to a robotic manipulator. The automated tool change assembly of the present invention provides first and second light-weight mechanical joint members for automated coupling to provide a rigid connection that can include an electrical connection to pass power and signals between the end effector and the manipulator.
/KIRA NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656