CTNF 18/809,171 CTNF 83556 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-05 The claims (Claim 30) in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Double Patenting 08-33 AIA The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The filing of a terminal disclaimer by itself is not a complete reply to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection. A complete reply requires that the terminal disclaimer be accompanied by a reply requesting reconsideration of the prior Office action. Even where the NSDP rejection is provisional the reply must be complete. See MPEP § 804, subsection I.B.1. For a reply to a non-final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.111(a). For a reply to final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.113(c). A request for reconsideration while not provided for in 37 CFR 1.113(c) may be filed after final for consideration. See MPEP §§ 706.07(e) and 714.13. The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The actual filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA/25, or PTO/AIA/26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer. 08-34 AIA Claim s 1-13, 17-27, 29-30 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11558088 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in patent 11558088 anticipated the claims in the instant application as shown in the table below . Instant application Patent 11558088 1. A wireless node, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the wireless node to: receive an indication of a beam tapering configuration of a plurality of beam tapering configurations; and transmit a message that is beamformed according to the beam tapering configuration. 26. An apparatus for wireless communications at a wireless node, comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to: transmit, to a base station, a capability message indicating that the wireless node supports a plurality of beam tapering configurations; receive, from the base station, an indication of a beam tapering configuration of the plurality of beam tapering configurations based at least in part on the capability message; and transmit a message that is beamformed according to the beam tapering configuration. 1. A method for wireless communications at a wireless node, comprising: transmitting, to a base station, a capability message indicating that the wireless node supports a plurality of beam tapering configurations; receiving, from the base station, an indication of a beam tapering configuration of the plurality of beam tapering configurations based at least in part on the capability message; and transmitting a message that is beamformed according to the beam tapering configuration. 2. The wireless node of claim 1, wherein, to receive the indication of the beam tapering configuration, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the wireless node to: receive the indication of the beam tapering configuration comprising a set of beam tapering parameters, a set of beam tapering functions, an indication of a beam shape, a beam identifier, or any combination thereof. 27. The apparatus of claim 26, wherein the processor coupled to the memory and configured to receive the indication of the beam tapering configuration is further configured to: receive the indication of the beam tapering configuration comprising a set of beam tapering parameters, a set of beam tapering functions, an indication of a beam shape, a beam identifier, or any combination thereof. 3. The wireless node of claim 1, wherein, to receive the indication of the beam tapering configuration, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the wireless node to: receive the indication of the beam tapering configuration comprising a bit map defining a transmission pattern for utilizing one or more beam tapering configurations of the plurality of beam tapering configurations over a plurality of time slots. 28. The apparatus of claim 26, wherein the processor coupled to the memory and configured to receive the indication of the beam tapering configuration is further configured to: receive the indication of the beam tapering configuration comprising a bit map defining a transmission pattern for utilizing one or more beam tapering configurations of the plurality of beam tapering configurations over a plurality of time slots. 4. The wireless node of claim 1, wherein, to receive the indication of the beam tapering configuration, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the wireless node to: receive the indication of the beam tapering configuration comprising an indication that the beam tapering configuration is associated with a resource type. 4. The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration further comprises: receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration comprising an indication that the beam tapering configuration is associated with a resource type. 5. The wireless node of claim 1, wherein, to receive the indication of the beam tapering configuration, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the wireless node to: receive the indication of the beam tapering configuration comprising an indication that the beam tapering configuration is associated with a traffic type or a channel type. 6. The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration further comprises: receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration comprising an indication that the beam tapering configuration is associated with a traffic type or a channel type. 6. The wireless node of claim 1, wherein, to receive the indication of the beam tapering configuration, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the wireless node to: receive the indication of the beam tapering configuration comprising an indication that the beam tapering configuration is associated with a geographic location, a permitted velocity, one or more mobility parameters, or any combination thereof. 7. The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration further comprises: receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration comprising an indication that the beam tapering configuration is associated with a geographic location, a permitted velocity, one or more mobility parameters, or any combination thereof. 7. The wireless node of claim 1, wherein, to receive the indication of the beam tapering configuration, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the wireless node to: receive the indication of the beam tapering configuration comprising an indication that the beam tapering configuration is associated with a mode of operation. 5. The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration further comprises: receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration comprising an indication that the beam tapering configuration is associated with a mode of operation, wherein the mode of operation comprises a half-duplexing mode, a full-duplexing mode, an enhanced duplexing mode, a spatial division multiplexing mode, or any combination thereof. 8. The wireless node of claim 7, wherein the mode of operation comprises a half-duplexing mode, a full-duplexing mode, an enhanced duplexing mode, a spatial division multiplexing mode, or any combination thereof. 5. The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration further comprises: receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration comprising an indication that the beam tapering configuration is associated with a mode of operation, wherein the mode of operation comprises a half-duplexing mode, a full-duplexing mode, an enhanced duplexing mode, a spatial division multiplexing mode, or any combination thereof. 9. The wireless node of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the wireless node to: receive an instruction to transmit one or more signals according to one or more of the plurality of beam tapering configurations; and transmit the one or more signals according to the one or more of the plurality of beam tapering configurations, wherein receiving the indication is in accordance with transmitting the one or more signals. 9. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, an instruction to transmit one or more signals according to one or more of the plurality of beam tapering configurations; and transmitting, to the base station, the one or more signals according to the one or more of the plurality of beam tapering configurations, wherein receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration is based at least in part on transmitting the one or more signals. 10. The wireless node of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the wireless node to: receive an indication of a quasi co-location relationship between the one or more of the plurality of beam tapering configurations, wherein receiving the one or more signals is based at least in part on transmitting the indication of the quasi co-location relationship. 10. The method of claim 9, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, an indication of a quasi co-location relationship between the one or more of the plurality of beam tapering configurations, wherein receiving the instruction is based at least in part on receiving the indication of the quasi co-location relationship. 11. The wireless node of claim 1, wherein, to receive the indication of the beam tapering configuration, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the wireless node to: receive radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a downlink control information (DCI) message, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or any combination thereof. 11. The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration further comprises: receiving radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a downlink control information (DCI) message, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or any combination thereof. 12. The wireless node of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the wireless node to: transmit a capability message indicating that the wireless node supports the plurality of beam tapering configurations, wherein receiving the indication is in accordance with transmitting the capability message. 1. A method for wireless communications at a wireless node, comprising : transmitting, to a base station, a capability message indicating that the wireless node supports a plurality of beam tapering configurations ; receiving, from the base station, an indication of a beam tapering configuration of the plurality of beam tapering configurations based at least in part on the capability message; and transmitting a message that is beamformed according to the beam tapering configuration. 13. The wireless node of claim 12, wherein, to transmit the capability message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the wireless node to: transmit the capability message comprising a set of supported beam tapering parameters, a set of supported beam tapering functions, a set of supported beam shapes, a set of supported beam identifiers, or any combination thereof. 8. The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the capability message further comprises: transmitting the capability message comprising a set of supported beam tapering parameters, a set of supported beam tapering functions, a set of supported beam shapes, a set of supported beam identifiers, or any combination thereof. 17. The wireless node of claim 1, wherein the wireless node comprises a user equipment (UE), an integrated access backhaul (IAB) node, a repeater node, a second network entity, or any combination thereof. 12. The method of claim 1, wherein the wireless node comprises a user equipment (UE), an integrated access backhaul (IAB) node, a repeater node, a second base station, or any combination thereof. 18. A method for wireless communications at a wireless node, comprising: receiving an indication of a beam tapering configuration of a plurality of beam tapering configurations; and transmitting a message that is beamformed according to the beam tapering configuration. 1. A method for wireless communications at a wireless node, comprising: transmitting, to a base station, a capability message indicating that the wireless node supports a plurality of beam tapering configurations; receiving, from the base station, an indication of a beam tapering configuration of the plurality of beam tapering configurations based at least in part on the capability message; and transmitting a message that is beamformed according to the beam tapering configuration. 19. The method of claim 18, wherein receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration further comprises: receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration comprising a set of beam tapering parameters, a set of beam tapering functions, an indication of a beam shape, a beam identifier, or any combination thereof. 2. The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration further comprises: receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration comprising a set of beam tapering parameters, a set of beam tapering functions, an indication of a beam shape, a beam identifier, or any combination thereof. 20. The method of claim 18, wherein receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration further comprises: receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration comprising a bit map defining a transmission pattern for utilizing one or more beam tapering configurations of the plurality of beam tapering configurations over a plurality of time slots. 3. The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration further comprises: receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration comprising a bit map defining a transmission pattern for utilizing one or more beam tapering configurations of the plurality of beam tapering configurations over a plurality of time slots. 21. The method of claim 18, wherein receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration further comprises: receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration comprising an indication that the beam tapering configuration is associated with a resource type. 3. The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration further comprises: receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration comprising a bit map defining a transmission pattern for utilizing one or more beam tapering configurations of the plurality of beam tapering configurations over a plurality of time slots. 22. The method of claim 18, wherein receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration further comprises: receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration comprising an indication that the beam tapering configuration is associated with a traffic type or a channel type. 6. The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration further comprises: receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration comprising an indication that the beam tapering configuration is associated with a traffic type or a channel type. 23. The method of claim 18, wherein receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration further comprises: receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration comprising an indication that the beam tapering configuration is associated with a geographic location, a permitted velocity, one or more mobility parameters, or any combination thereof. 7. The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration further comprises: receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration comprising an indication that the beam tapering configuration is associated with a geographic location, a permitted velocity, one or more mobility parameters, or any combination thereof. 24. The method of claim 18, further comprising: receiving an instruction to transmit one or more signals according to one or more of the plurality of beam tapering configurations; and transmitting the one or more signals according to the one or more of the plurality of beam tapering configurations, wherein receiving the indication is in accordance with transmitting the one or more signals. 9. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, an instruction to transmit one or more signals according to one or more of the plurality of beam tapering configurations; and transmitting, to the base station, the one or more signals according to the one or more of the plurality of beam tapering configurations, wherein receiving the indication of the beam tapering configuration is based at least in part on transmitting the one or more signals. 25. The method of claim 24, further comprising: receiving an indication of a quasi co-location relationship between the one or more of the plurality of beam tapering configurations, wherein receiving the one or more signals is based at least in part on transmitting the indication of the quasi co-location relationship. 10. The method of claim 9, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, an indication of a quasi co-location relationship between the one or more of the plurality of beam tapering configurations, wherein receiving the instruction is based at least in part on receiving the indication of the quasi co-location relationship. 26. The method of claim 18, further comprising: transmitting a capability message indicating that the wireless node supports the plurality of beam tapering configurations, wherein receiving the indication is in accordance with transmitting the capability message. 1. A method for wireless communications at a wireless node, comprising: transmitting, to a base station, a capability message indicating that the wireless node supports a plurality of beam tapering configurations ; receiving, from the base station, an indication of a beam tapering configuration of the plurality of beam tapering configurations based at least in part on the capability message; and transmitting a message that is beamformed according to the beam tapering configuration. 27. The method of claim 26, wherein transmitting the capability message further comprises: transmitting the capability message comprising a set of supported beam tapering parameters, a set of supported beam tapering functions, a set of supported beam shapes, a set of supported beam identifiers, a quantity of supported beam shapes, a quantity of supported beam tapering configurations, one or more types of supported beam tapering schemes, or any combination thereof, or any combination thereof. 8. The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the capability message further comprises: transmitting the capability message comprising a set of supported beam tapering parameters, a set of supported beam tapering functions, a set of supported beam shapes, a set of supported beam identifiers, or any combination thereof. 29. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications, the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors to: receive an indication of a beam tapering configuration of a plurality of beam tapering configurations; and transmit a message that is beamformed according to the beam tapering configuration. 1. A method for wireless communications at a wireless node, comprising: transmitting, to a base station, a capability message indicating that the wireless node supports a plurality of beam tapering configurations; receiving, from the base station, an indication of a beam tapering configuration of the plurality of beam tapering configurations based at least in part on the capability message; and transmitting a message that is beamformed according to the beam tapering configuration. 30. A wireless node for wireless communications, comprising: means for receiving an indication of a beam tapering configuration of a plurality of beam tapering configurations; and means for transmitting a message that is beamformed according to the beam tapering configuration. 26. An apparatus for wireless communications at a wireless node, comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to: transmit, to a base station, a capability message indicating that the wireless node supports a plurality of beam tapering configurations; receive, from the base station, an indication of a beam tapering configuration of the plurality of beam tapering configurations based at least in part on the capability message; and transmit a message that is beamformed according to the beam tapering configuration . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim( s) 1-2, 4-5, 7, 17-19, 21-22, 29-30 i s/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over G oransson (US 2022/0149907 A1). R e Claims 1, 18, 29 and 30, Goransson discloses a wireless node, a method, non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications, the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors ([0151]), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (memory, processor, [0121]) and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the wireless node to: receive an indication of a beam tapering configuration of a plurality of beam tapering configurations (the first beam index is obtained by receiving the first beam index from a network node, as illustrated by step S0. In the case of MU-MIMO, also the second beam index is obtained by receiving the second beam index from a network node [0083]; if two users are scheduled, a suitable tapering is calculated at the same time. This selected tapering is signaled to the radio frequency unit in connection with the beamforming index, which enables the radio frequency unit to apply the correct tapering. More than two LUTs with a respective set of beamforming vectors can be provided at the radio frequency unit, or a basic untapered beamforming vector set can be provided accompanied with different tapering instructions. [0097]); and transmit a message that is beamformed according to the beam tapering configuration (step S4 of initiating a beamforming comprises the part step S5, in which a multi-user beamforming for the first and second signals by use of the first and second vector-associated data characterizing the first and second selected sets of beamforming vectors is initiated [0085]; beamformed communication is a beamformed transmission of signals [0103]). Goransson teaches the claimed invention except transmit a message that is beamformed according to the beam tapering configuration in the same embodiment for receiving the indication. However, Goransson discloses User signals are generated in a baseband unit 31 (digital unit—DU) of a network node 30 and are sent to the radio unit 33 for up-conversion to radio frequency (RF) in a converter 35. In a beamforming (BF) network 32, the up-converted signals are distributed to the phase-shifters and power amplifiers (PA) of antenna element branches 36, one for each antenna element 29 of the antenna array 25. The phase and amplitude (gain) values needed to generate a specific beam are stored in a lookup table (LUT) 37. The index corresponding to the correct weights is sent from baseband 31 together with data for each user. The phase values 38 are used to control a respective phase-shifter and the amplitude values 39 are used to a respective PA ([0098]). Thus in one embodiment, beamformed communication is a beamformed transmission of signals ([0103]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the teachings taught by Goransson to achieve the same expected results and to further improve the transmitted signal quality. Re Claims 2 and 19, Goransson discloses the wireless node of claim 1 and the method of claim 18, wherein, to receive the indication of the beam tapering configuration, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the wireless node to: receive the indication of the beam tapering configuration comprising a set of beam tapering parameters, a set of beam tapering functions, an indication of a beam shape, a beam identifier, or any combination thereof (selected tapering is signaled to the radio frequency unit in connection with the beamforming index, which enables the radio frequency unit to apply the correct tapering. More than two LUTs with a respective set of beamforming vectors can be provided at the radio frequency unit, or a basic untapered beamforming vector set can be provided accompanied with different tapering instructions [0097]). Re Claims 4 and 21, Goransson discloses the wireless node of claim 1 and the method of claim 18, wherein, to receive the indication of the beam tapering configuration, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the wireless node to: receive the indication of the beam tapering configuration comprising an indication that the beam tapering configuration is associated with a resource type (the network node is further configured to select a second set of beamforming vectors among at least two second sets of beamforming vectors. The second set of beamforming vectors corresponding to a highest estimated total throughput for the first signal and for a second signal to be scheduled for beamformed communication in the first direction and a second direction, respectively, under intended prevailing radio conditions. The second direction is different from the first direction. The second signal is scheduled for beamformed communication simultaneously as the first signal by a same antenna using a same physical resource. The at least two second sets of beamforming vectors are designed to give a beam in the second direction for a given polarization. The at least two second sets of beamforming vectors present different tapering and/or non-tapering. [0132]). Re Claims 5 and 22, Goransson discloses the wireless node of claim 1 and the method of claim 18, wherein, to receive the indication of the beam tapering configuration, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the wireless node to: receive the indication of the beam tapering configuration comprising an indication that the beam tapering configuration is associated with a traffic type or a channel type (selection of appropriate beamforming vectors are typically performed in connection with the general scheduling of the traffic. Thus, according to another aspect of the proposed technology there is provided a network node configured to schedule signals for beamformed communication. The network node is configured to select a first set of beamforming vectors among at least two first sets of beamforming vectors [0129]). Re Claim 7, Goransson discloses the wireless node of claim 1, wherein, to receive the indication of the beam tapering configuration, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the wireless node to: receive the indication of the beam tapering configuration comprising an indication that the beam tapering configuration is associated with a mode of operation (bit will indicate if SU- or MU-MIMO scheduling take place, or in a general case which one of the at least two sets of beamforming vectors that is supposed to be used. If MU-MIMO scheduling is preferred, the beam index for respective user will be sent to the radio together with a bit (the additional bit) indicating MU-MIMO/SU-MIMO scheduling. By this the radio frequency unit can pick beamforming vectors from the appropriate part of the LUT. [0069]). Re Claim 17, Goransson discloses the wireless node of claim 1, wherein the wireless node comprises a user equipment (UE), an integrated access backhaul (IAB) node, a repeater node, a second network entity, or any combination thereof (network node, [0098]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goransson (US 2022/0149907 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US 2024/0187867 A1) (Liu herein after) . Re Claim 11, Goransson discloses the wireless node of claim 1, except wherein, to receive the indication of the beam tapering configuration, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the wireless node to: receive radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a downlink control information (DCI) message, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or any combination thereof. However, Liu discloses a beamformed radio communication technique wherein configuration message may be a downlink control information (DCI), e.g., wherein the beamformed transmission is based on a dynamic scheduling (e.g., by the network node). Alternatively or in addition, the configuration message may be radio resource control (RRC) signaling (i.e., a RRC configuration), e.g., wherein the beamformed transmission is based on a configured grant (CG) of Type-1 ([0040]). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and system of Goransson, by making use of the technique taught by Liu, in order to improve the signal quality. Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of beamforming, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Goransson, nor does Goransson teach away from the modification (Goransson merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the beamforming technique taught by Liu is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of wherein, to receive the indication of the beam tapering configuration, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the wireless node to: receive radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a downlink control information (DCI) message, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or any combination thereof . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 14-16, 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pace et al. (US 2022/0271825 A1) – system and method for digitally beamformed phased array feed Kludt et al. (US 2015/0141010 A1) – system and method for selective registration in a multi-beam system Lindbom et al. (US 10879986 B2) – methods for adapting density of demodulation reference signals Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KENNETH T LAM whose telephone number is (571)270-1862. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30-5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hannah S. Wang can be reached at (571) 272-9018. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KENNETH T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 2 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 3 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 4 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 5 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 6 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 7 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 8 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 9 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 10 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 11 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 12 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 13 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 14 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 15 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 16 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 17 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 18 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 19 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 20 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 21 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 22 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 23 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 24 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 25 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 26 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 27 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 28 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 29 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 30 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 31 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 32 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 33 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 34 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 35 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 36 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 37 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 38 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 40 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/809,171 Page 41 Art Unit: 2631