Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-5 and 7-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-9 of copending Application No. 18/809259 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The semiconductor film of copending claim 5 reads on the film of claim 1 of this application. Copending claim 5 also suggest the film of claim 4 of this application since the copending claim teaches the ligand includes an inorganic ligand containing a halogen element, which means the copending claim teaches the inorganic ligand contains at least one of fluorine, chlorine, bromine and iodine.
The combination of the teachings of copending claims 1, 4, 5 and 6, where the combination suggests to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inorganic ligand of the film can contain both indium and a halogen element teaches the subject matter of claim 5 of this application.
The combination of the teachings of copending claims 1, 4, 5 and 7 suggests to one of ordinary skill in the art that the semiconductor quantum dots in the film of claim 5 can have a band gap of 1.0 eV or less, and thus teaches the subject matter of claim 7 of this application. This is because one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the ligand from copending claim 5 in the film of claim 7 since both ultimately depend from claim 1 and claim 5 further defines the ligand used in the claimed films.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the film of claim 5 in the photodetection element of copending claim 8 and the image sensor of copending claim 9 since the film of claim 5 further defines the film of copending claim1 and the devices of copending claims 8 and 9 is that of claim 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the film of any of the claims that depend from claim 1 in the claimed devices since the film of any of the claims that depend from claim 1 further define the film.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by U.S. patent application publication 2018/0163070.
This reference teaches an ink, which is a dispersion liquid, comprising InSb quantum dots having BF4- ligands coordinated with the quantum dots (para 19 and 22, ex. 4). InSb quantum dots have a band gap of 0.17 eV. The reference teaches forming a film from this ink by applying the ink to a substrate (para 23, ex. 5) and that the film is in a photodetection element (ex. 6). The reference clearly teaches the claimed film, photodetection element, dispersion liquid and method of making a film.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/002131 or WO 2021/002134.
Both of these references teach a semiconductor film comprising an aggregate of semiconductor quantum dots, an inorganic halide ligand coordinated with the quantum dots and an organic ligand coordinated with the quantum dots. The references teach photodetection elements and image sensors comprising the taught film. The exemplified inorganic halide ligands include indium iodide, indium chloride, indium bromide, zinc bromide, cadmium bromide and gallium bromide. The quantum dots can be InSb, which has a band gap of 0.17 eV. Thus the references suggest the claimed film, photodetection element and image sensor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
There is no teaching or suggestion in the cited art of record of a semiconductor film comprising an aggregate of semiconductor quantum dots that comprise an In element and a Group 15 element and a ligand coordinated to the quantum dot, wherein the Group 15 element includes an Sb element, the ligand includes a halogen element containing inorganic ligand, and the molar ratio of the Sn element to the halogen element in the film is 0.3-3.2 or 0.5-3.00. There is no teaching or suggestion in the cited art of record of a dispersion liquid comprising semiconductor quantum dots that comprise an In element and a Group 15 element and a ligand coordinated to the quantum dot, wherein the Group 15 element includes an Sb element, the ligand includes a halogen element containing inorganic ligand, and the molar ratio of the Sn element to the halogen element in the liquid is 0.3-3.2.
/C Melissa Koslow/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734
cmk
9/11/26