DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "cuboid vessel”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3 and 10 recite the limitation “each of the fasteners”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in these claims, as they previously recited “one or more of the fasteners”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3 and 10 also recite the limitation “each of the fasteners maintaining hermetic integrity of the base chamber”. It is unclear what the metes and bounds of this phrase entails regarding the structure and relationship between the fasteners and the side walls. Specifically, it is unclear whether:
each fastener individually must maintain hermetic integrity,
the fasteners collectively maintain hermetic integrity,
the fasteners themselves are intended to function as sealing elements, or
the hermetic integrity is instead maintained by other aspects of the attachment structure, such as blind-tapped holes, gaskets, weldments, or other sealing features.
As such, Claims 3 and 10 are both indefinite and lack sufficient clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dubois (WO 2022208349 A1) in view of Acevedo (US 20170100294 A1)
Regarding Claim 1, Dubois discloses: A hyperbaric oxygen therapy chamber (Page 1, The present invention relates to a hyperbaric chamber, and in particular to a portable hyperbaric chamber which is capable of rapid deployment, for example in the case of emergencies and into confined or otherwise challenging locations), comprising:
a base chamber having a top wall, bottom wall, a first side wall, a second side wall disposed opposite the first side wall, and a third side wall, the third side wall disposed between an edge of the first side wall and an edge of the second side wall (Page 13, Each end 12, 112 and 14, 114 extends outwardly from the base 6, 106 and defines a plane extending substantially parallel to the plane defined by the other frame members of the hyperbaric chamber 1 , 101. Each frame member is located outside of the enclosure 8, 108), the top and bottom walls, first side wall, second side wall and third side wall together defining a volume (Page 9, The enclosure may have any suitable shape and/or dimensions. In one embodiment, the enclosure is substantially cylindrical in shape with curved or domed ends which are fitted with end hatches which are gas tight and may for example have a side lock and/or a medical lock for secure or restricted access);
a door panel disposed as a fourth side wall to close the volume, the door panel defining a doorway opening and having an access door configured to selectably open and close against the doorway (Page 14, The door mounting assembly 24, 124 comprises a door frame 28 configured to be received within the opening of the enclosure 8, 108 and to form a gas tight seal with adjacent portions of the enclosure surrounding the opening), (Page 8, The door may comprise a rubber seal and latch handle configured to engage the door frame),
at least one of the access door and the door panel having a securing mechanism configured to temporarily secure the access door against the doorway opening when the access door is in a closed position against the doorway opening (Page 14, The door mounting assembly 24, 124 further comprises a door 32, 132 mounted on the door frame 28. The door 32, 132 is configured to extend across and to substantially cover the opening of the door frame 28. The door mounting assembly 24, 124 is a hermetically sealed door mounting assembly. The door 32, 132 and the door frame 28 are configured for magnetic engagement to provide a magnetic hermetically sealed door assembly 24, 124);
a sealing feature disposed about a perimeter between the door panel and the access door (Page 14, The door frame 28 comprises an internal sealing face configured to form a gas tight seal with adjacent portions of the enclosure 8, 108 surrounding the opening and defines an opening 30 extending therethrough), the sealing feature and securing mechanism configured to prevent loss of pressure in the base chamber of at least 30 psi relative or 2 atmospheres relative (ATR) when the access door is secured in the closed position (Page 14, The pressurising means is configured to increase the pressure of the interior of the enclosure 8, 108 to predetermined values. For example, the pressure of the interior of the enclosure 8, 108 is configured to be raised by the pressurising means from a baseline measure of 1 atmosphere depth (101 kPa) to about 2, 3, of 4 depths of atmosphere levels (203, 204, 405 kPa), (Page 3, Paragraph 03, Control and servo equipment is optionally provided which close, seal and lock access doors and thereby ensure that doors cannot be opened accidentally which might inadvertently lead to an unwanted decompression event);
and one or more modular stiffeners respectively (Page 12, The hyperbaric chamber 1 further comprises a third and fourth 16, 18 frame members, located between the first and second 12, 14 frame members and spaced apart from each other. The inflation of the support frame therefore works in tandem with the two circular doors at each end of the chamber. As the support frame is inflated the two circular doors are designed to slide out in a smooth linear fashion from the centre. This eases the setup for the operator of the hyperbaric chamber) corresponding to at least one of the first side wall, the second side wall, the top wall, and the bottom wall of the base chamber (Page 13, It is to be understood that the hyperbaric chamber 1 , 101 may comprise any suitable number of frame members and is not limited to those shown in the illustrated embodiments),
each modular stiffener being removable and/or foldable against its corresponding first side wall, second side wall, top wall, or bottom wall to reduce width of the base chamber (Page 15, In use, the first and second frame members 2, 102, 4, 104 (and additional frame members) are connected to the base 6, 106 […] The spacer connector 23, 123 is connected to the first and second frame members 2, 102, 4, 104 and adjusted in length to a predetermined length), (Page 10, It is to be understood that the hyperbaric chamber may be portable. For example, one or more of: the base, the first and second frame members and/or the hyperbaric chamber may be collapsible. For example, the first and second frame members may be releasably engageable to the base),
wherein the top wall, the bottom wall, the first side wall, the second side wall, the third side wall, and the door panel together form an airtight vessel (Page 12, With reference to the Figures, the hyperbaric chamber 1 , 101 comprises: first 2, 102 and second 4, 104 inflatable frame members which are connected to a base 6, 106 and which support a layer of gas impervious material that forms a gas tight hyperbaric chamber 8, 108).
Dubois discloses portable and moveable embodiments of the hyperbaric chamber, and envisions collapsible and telescoping members to adjust the dimensions of the apparatus (Page 10, It is to be understood that the hyperbaric chamber may be portable. For example, one or more of: the base, the first and second frame members and/or the hyperbaric chamber may be collapsible. For example, the first and second frame members may be releasably engageable to the base). However, Duboi does not explicitly disclose the dimensions of the chamber walls.
Acevedo does disclose a portable hyperbaric chamber with the following dimension ranges: the bottom wall having a width dimension between 24 and 36 inches and a depth dimension less than 72 inches, the first, second and third side walls having a height dimension between 40 and 84 inches (Paragraph 0025, In order to facilitate its transport, it is sized to fit within a standard home door (and hence capable of fitting within most slightly larger office openings). In one embodiment, this limits the unit's width to be at/below 81 cm (32 in.), its height at/below 2.03 meters (6′8″) and its length around 2.14 meters (7 ft.), although of course these may be adjusted as suitable).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Acevedo’s dimensions with the adjustable hyperbaric structure disclosed by Dubois, so as to provide an embodiment that is portable and able to fit through standard home and/or office doors. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to test and incorporate different ranges of dimensions for width, height, and depth, through routine experimentation and optimization (See MPEP 2144.05.II).
Regarding Claim 2, Dubois in view of Acevedo discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Dubois further discloses: wherein the third side wall is curved to stiffen and reduce pressure distortion of the base chamber (Page 9, The enclosure may have any suitable shape and/or dimensions. In one embodiment, the enclosure is substantially cylindrical in shape with curved or domed ends which are fitted with end hatches which are gas tight and may for example have a side lock and/or a medical lock for secure or restricted access).
Regarding Claim 5, Dubois in view of Acevedo discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Acevedo further discloses: wherein the interior volume is dimensioned and arranged to accommodate an upright seating position of a user (Paragraph 0026, The interior (FIG. 8) may be fitted with a chair 802 or bed, and/or a reclined position chair/lounge).
Regarding Claim 6, Dubois in view of Acevedo discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Acevedo further discloses: wherein the chamber incorporates an integrated upright seat (The interior (FIG. 8) may be fitted with a chair 802 or bed, and/or a reclined position chair/lounge).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the chair arrangement disclosed by Acevedo with the adjustably sized chamber of Dubois, so as to accommodate different user’s and their mobility and comfort needs.
Regarding Claim 7, Dubois in view of Acevedo discloses all of the limitations of Claim 5. Dubois further discloses: wherein the size and shape of the access door when open, permits rolling access of a wheeled chair (Page 17, Other ancillary equipment that may also be carried by the trailer includes: ramps which enable a wheelchair or trolley to be pushed into and from the hyperbaric chamber).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dubois (WO 2022208349 A1) in view of Acevedo (US 20170100294 A1), further in view of Maison (US 6347628 B1).
Regarding Claim 8, Dubois in view of Acevedo discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Dubois further discloses: wherein at least one of the first side wall, the second side wall, the third side wall, the access door, and the top wall includes a pressure resistant viewport (Page 8, In one embodiment, the enclosure includes at least one transparent window or viewing panel providing a line of sight into the cavity defined by the enclosure. In one embodiment, the at least one transparent window or viewing panel may be located on one or more ends of the enclosure and/or on the side portion of the enclosure. Preferably, the at least one transparent window or viewing panel is provided on the side portion of the enclosure).
Dubois in view of Acevedo teach a gas-tight hyperbaric chambers with pressure-maintaining features. However, if the Applicant is not convinced that the viewport is pressure resistant, Maison more explicitly discloses a pressure resistant viewport (Columns 5-6, lines 63- Side windows 60 or roof windows introduce a feeling of openness to the chamber 100 as well as reducing overall artificial lighting requirements. An appropriate window 60, as shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, provides light through at least one side section 20 of a spacer module 18 to allow the patient to look outside of the chamber 100. The window 60 must be sealed against pressure loss and withstand at least 3 ATA. Similar windows, positioned in a top section 30 of a hyperbaric chamber 100, bring in additional light and are also suitably rated to withstand at least 3 ATA)
Dubois teaches possible internal pressure of the hyperbaric chamber reaching up to approximately 4 ATA (Page 14, the pressure of the interior of the enclosure 8, 108 is configured to be raised by the pressurising means from a baseline measure of 1 atmosphere depth (101 kPa) to about 2, 3, of 4 depths of atmosphere levels (203, 204, 405 kPa)). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the sealed and pressure resistant windows taught by Maison so as to ensure the structural integrity of the hyperbaric chamber of Dubois in view of Acevedo at higher pressure ranges.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dubois (WO 2022208349 A1) in view of Acevedo (US 20170100294 A1), further in view of Ryder (US 20220160565 A1)
Regarding Claim 9, Dubois in view of Acevedo discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Dubois further discloses: a plurality of wheel removably attached to the bottom side of the cuboid vessel (Page 17, For example, the hyperbaric chamber may be mounted on a wheeled trailer as a self-contained unit. Ideally the wheeled trailer has suitable slidable trailer bed on which the hyperbaric chamber, frame members and base members and supported).
Dubois in view of Acevedo does not explicitly disclose wheel casters, but the wheeled trailer could be understood to have any variety of wheel attachments.
However, if the Applicant is not convinced, Ryder more explicitly discloses: a plurality of wheel casters removably attached to the bottom side of the cuboid vessel (Abstract, The embodied invention is a hyperbaric chamber that is designed to fit through a narrower dimension, such as a doorway, window, garage, or hallway by utilizing a multi-section design. The preferred embodiment is a split chamber design that allows two or three sections to be moved by caster wheels, either on the legs with casters or on a moving cart. The width of the separate sections is designed to fit through a 34″ doorway, and then are readily bolted together to a desirable length. Additionally, the flanges design that connect the individual vessel parts together are designed to provide the pressure needed at a very low weight.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Ryder’s wheel casters with the portable hyperbaric chamber taught by Dubois in view of Acevedo, so as to provide ease in transportation of the apparatus.
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker Risley et al. (US 20040154616 A1, hereinafter "Parker") in view of Acevedo (US 20170100294 A1), further in view of McKeeman (US 20200330307 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Parker discloses: A hyperbaric oxygen therapy chamber (Abstract, A low pressure hyperbaric chambers and methods of using same are disclosed. The present invention provides means for designing, building, and using low pressure chambers suitable for use in managing pain associated with medical conditions), comprising:
a base chamber having a top wall, bottom wall, a first side wall, a second side wall disposed opposite the first side wall, and a third side wall, the third side wall disposed between an edge of the first side wall and an edge of the second side wall (Paragraph 0024, A second embodiment of a hyperbaric chamber constructed in accordance with the principles of the present invention is shown in FIG. 5, wherein chamber 50 is suitable for a relatively permanent installation in a home or office. Preferably, chamber 50 is made in two halves molded from fiberglass or other suitable material and is approximately the size of a shower stall or large closet. Fiberglass halves 51a and 51b include a flange 52 for bolting the two halves together),
a door panel disposed as a fourth side wall to close the volume, the door panel defining a doorway opening and having an access door configured to selectably open and close against the doorway (Paragraph 0024, Hinged entry door 54, also made of fiberglass, has a flange that mates to the opening in the end of chamber 50),
at least one of the access door and the door panel having a securing mechanism configured to temporarily secure the access door against the doorway opening when the access door is in a closed position against the doorway opening (Paragraph 0025, Although it is not shown in FIG. 5, chamber halves 51a and 51b, and door 54 may include ribs or other structures designed to stiffen the chamber components and minimize ballooning of the chamber sides), (Paragraph 0028, End panels 76 include an opening for hinged Plexiglas door 77 and end panel 78 has a cutout for window 79. If desired, an additional end panel 76 and door 77 may be inserted between two adjacent arch-shaped sections to form an airlock);
a sealing feature disposed about a perimeter between the door panel and the access door (Paragraph 0024, A self adhesive rubber or foam gasket minimizes air leakage around door 54),
the sealing feature and securing mechanism configured to prevent loss of pressure in the base chamber of at least 30 psi relative or 2 atmospheres relative (ATR) when the access door is secured in the closed position (Paragraph 0018, The present invention is a means of providing an atmospheric pressure analogous to the pressure one would experience in a meteorological high pressure area. For example, the present invention provides cost effective means to produce and subject a user to a pressure greater than approximately 30.1 and preferably less than about 32.0 in. Hg. Moreover, the present invention provide a method of using increased atmospheric pressure to reduce or eliminate the pain and other symptoms associated with many chronic diseases);
wherein the top wall, the bottom wall, the first side wall, the second side wall, the third side wall, and the door panel together form an airtight vessel (Paragraph 0027, Each panel has a flange so that it can be bolted or otherwise attached to an adjoining panel. A gasket or caulking is used between adjacent panels for an air seal).
Parker discloses a various embodiments of different possible sizes (Paragraph 0027, Preferably, chamber 70 is modular in design, so that it can be made in various sizes, and made of components that are small enough to be easily transported and assembled), (Paragraph 0015, FIG. 5 is a simplified drawing of a small hyperbaric chamber suitable for home use in accordance with the principles of the present invention), but does not explicitly disclose the dimensions of the chamber.
Acevedo does disclose a portable hyperbaric chamber with the following dimension ranges: the bottom wall having a width dimension between 24 and 36 inches and a depth dimension less than 72 inches, the first, second and third side walls having a height dimension between 40 and 84 inches (Paragraph 0025, In order to facilitate its transport, it is sized to fit within a standard home door (and hence capable of fitting within most slightly larger office openings). In one embodiment, this limits the unit's width to be at/below 81 cm (32 in.), its height at/below 2.03 meters (6′8″) and its length around 2.14 meters (7 ft.), although of course these may be adjusted as suitable).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Acevedo’s dimensions with the various hyperbaric structures disclosed by Parker, so as to provide an embodiment that is portable and able to fit through standard home and/or office doors. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to test and incorporate different ranges of dimensions for width, height, and depth, through routine experimentation and optimization (See MPEP 2144.05.II).
Parker in view of Acevedo further discloses embodiments that incorporate and one or more modular stiffeners respectively corresponding to at least one of the first side wall, the second side wall, the top wall, and the bottom wall of the base chamber (Paragraph 0025, Although it is not shown in FIG. 5, chamber halves 51a and 51b, and door 54 may include ribs or other structures designed to stiffen the chamber components and minimize ballooning of the chamber sides), (Paragraph 0027, Alternatively, a composite material such as fiberglass with ribs and other structural reinforcements may be used), each modular stiffener being removable and/or foldable against its corresponding first side wall, second side wall, top wall, or bottom wall to reduce width of the base chamber (Paragraph 0021, Alternatively, collapsible rods or the like may be used to support the walls and ceiling of hyperbaric chamber 10 when blower 18 is off).
Parker in view of Acevedo does not depict the modular stiffeners or provide further explanation regarding their structural arrangement. For clarity, McKeeman more explicitly discloses and depicts a possible integration of modular stiffeners (Paragraph 0030, The frame 1 is preferably made of materials that are lightweight, tough, durable, strong, load-bearing, and/or easily manufacturable. It is preferred that the frame 1 be of a general shape such that an upper half of the frame 1 be of a shape similar to an upper half of the inflatable chamber 14 while a bottom half of the frame 1 be shape that is more quadrilateral-like in figure. It is preferred that the frame 1 be of a general size slightly larger than the general size of the inflatable chamber 14 and a modular apparatus to ease the transportation and storage of the frame 1)
Both McKeeman and Parker in view of Acevedo disclose hyperbaric chambers with frames and reinforcement elements. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of McKeeman’s load bearing frame with the hyperbaric chamber arrangement of Parker in view of Acevedo to provide an additional degree of structural reinforcement and stability in the structure.
Regarding Claim 2, Parker in view of Acevedo and McKeeman discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Parker further discloses: wherein the third side wall is curved to stiffen and reduce pressure distortion of the base chamber (Figure 5, Paragraph 0024, Preferably, chamber 50 is made in two halves molded from fiberglass or other suitable material and is approximately the size of a shower stall or large closet), (Paragraph 0025, Although it is not shown in FIG. 5, chamber halves 51a and 51b, and door 54 may include ribs or other structures designed to stiffen the chamber components and minimize ballooning of the chamber sides).
Regarding Claim 3, Parker in view of Acevedo and McKeeman discloses all of the limitations of Claim 2. McKeeman further discloses: wherein when the one or more modular stiffeners include at least one first-side modular stiffener and at least one second- side modular stiffener respectively configured for secure attachment to the first side wall and the second side wall (Paragraph 0030, In reference to FIG. 9, the frame 1 comprises a front U-shaped section 2, a rear U-shaped section 3, a plurality of elongated sections 6. More specifically, each of the plurality of elongated sections 6 is parallelly positioned in between the front U-shaped section 2 and the rear U-shaped section 3. A left terminal end 4 of the front U-shaped section 2 and a left terminal end 4 of the rear U-shaped section 3 are connected to each other by a left bottom section 7 of the plurality of elongated sections 6. A right terminal end 5 of the front U-shaped section 2 and a right terminal end 5 of the rear U-shaped section 3 being connected to each other by a right bottom section 8 of the plurality of elongated sections 6),
the secure attachment including one or more fasteners attached to or through the first-side modular stiffener and the first side wall and one or more fasteners attached to or through the second-side modular stiffener and the second side wall, each of the fasteners maintaining hermetic integrity of the base chamber (Paragraph 0031, In reference to FIG. 6, the present invention further comprises a plurality of loops 20. The plurality of loops 20 is externally connected onto the lateral panel 15 and engaged around the front U-shaped section 2, the rear U-shaped section 3, and the at least one intermediate section 9 so that the lateral panel 15 can be secured to the frame 1. The plurality of loops 20 opens and closes through a fastening mechanism such as zippers, magnetic fasteners, hook-and-loop fasteners, or any other types of similar fasteners to easily engaged around the front U-shaped section 2, the rear U-shaped section 3, and the at least one intermediate section 9).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker Risley et al. (US 20040154616 A1, hereinafter "Parker") in view of Acevedo (US 20170100294 A1), in view of McKeeman (US 20200330307 A1), further in view of di Girolamo (US 20160206492 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Parker in view of Acevedo and McKeeman discloses all of the limitations of Claim 3. The combination, however, does not disclose wherein the secure attachment of the at least one first-side modular stiffener and the at least one second-side stiffener includes respective blind-tapped holes in the first side wall and the second wall that do not disturb the hermetic integrity of the base chamber.
di Girolamo does disclose respective blind-tapped holes in the first side wall and the second wall that do not disturb the hermetic integrity of the base chamber (Paragraph 0029, In some embodiments, beam elements 110 are coupled to one another and/or to planar sheet elements 130 by fasteners (e.g., blind self-sealing rivets) at a variety of beam connection points 112 in a manner substantially similar to the construction of aircraft. Sheet elements 130 can likewise be connected to beam elements 110 by fasteners at sheet connection points 132 (see FIG. 8), which can in some embodiments correspond to beam connection points 112 […] In some particular configurations, beam and sheet connection points 112 and 132 at which beam elements 110 are connected are arranged in an optimized pattern (See, e.g., FIGS. 5 and 8), which can distribute load over the connected surfaces, minimize stresses at the connection points 112 and 132, and/or otherwise improve the structural performance of panels 100).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of di Girolamo’s rivets to provide a more secure and resilient attachment to between the load-bearing material of the frame disclosed by McKeeman and the fiberglass or laminate aluminum paneling disclosed by Parker.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dubois (WO 2022208349 A1) in view of Acevedo (US 20170100294 A1), further in view of McKeeman (US 20200330307 A1)
Regarding Claim 10, Dubois in view of Acevedo discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Dubois in view of Acevedo further discloses: A process for moving the hyperbaric oxygen therapy chamber of claim 1, the method comprising:
separating the one or more modular stiffeners from at least the first side wall and the second side wall the base chamber of the hyperbaric oxygen therapy chamber (Page 13, The hyperbaric chamber 1, 101 may be erected by engaging the first and second frame members (and any additional frame members) to the base 6, 106 and positioning the enclosure within), (Page 10, It is to be understood that the hyperbaric chamber may be portable. For example, one or more of: the base, the first and second frame members and/or the hyperbaric chamber may be collapsible. For example, the first and second frame members may be releasably engageable to the base);
moving the base chamber through a doorway having a width of 24 to 37 inches (Acevedo, Paragraph 0025, In order to facilitate its transport, it is sized to fit within a standard home door (and hence capable of fitting within most slightly larger office openings). In one embodiment, this limits the unit's width to be at/below 81 cm (32 in.), its height at/below 2.03 meters (6′8″) and its length around 2.14 meters (7 ft.), although of course these may be adjusted as suitable);
placing the base chamber in a use location (Page 13, It is to be understood that the hyperbaric chamber 1, 101 may be provided in a stowed configuration and erected at a desired location),
Dubois in view of Acevedo discloses securing the separated one or more modular stiffeners to the at least first side wall and second side wall of the base chamber (Page 4, Frame members […] when inflated to define a support for the gas impervious material which forms a closed chamber that is capable of being pressurised. The frame members inflate to a sufficiently high pressure whereby they stand proud of a base to define a ‘ribcage’ structure which retains and supports the gas tight enclosure which is defined by the gas impervious material) maintaining hermetic integrity of the base chamber (Page 7, The layer of gas impervious material is preferably connected to the base by way of a flexible hermetic seal).
The combination further discloses a spacer connector that serves as a fastening means for the modular stiffeners (Page 13, The hyperbaric chamber 1 further comprises a spacer connector 23, 123 connecting the first and second frame member 2, 102, 4, 104. The length of the spacer connector 23, 123, as defined between opposing ends thereof, for example as defined between the first and second frame members, is adjustable, for example the spacer connector is telescopically adjustable). One could interpret the spacer connectors as also being indirectly attached to or through the side walls.
For clarity, McKeeman more explicitly discloses securing the separated one or more modular stiffeners to the at least first side wall and second side wall of the base chamber using one or more fasteners attached to or through a first modular stiffener of the one or more modular stiffeners and the first side wall and one or more fasteners attached to or through a second modular stiffener of the one or more modular stiffeners and the second side wall, each of the fasteners maintaining hermetic integrity of the base chamber ((Paragraph 0031, In reference to FIG. 6, the present invention further comprises a plurality of loops 20. The plurality of loops 20 is externally connected onto the lateral panel 15 and engaged around the front U-shaped section 2, the rear U-shaped section 3, and the at least one intermediate section 9 so that the lateral panel 15 can be secured to the frame 1. The plurality of loops 20 opens and closes through a fastening mechanism such as zippers, magnetic fasteners, hook-and-loop fasteners, or any other types of similar fasteners to easily engaged around the front U-shaped section 2, the rear U-shaped section 3, and the at least one intermediate section 9).
Both McKeeman and Dubois disclose portable, inflatable hyperbaric chamber arrangements. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of McKeeman’s fastening means so as to provide a more secure engagement between the inflatable frame members and the walls of Dubois in view of Acevedo.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
Ellen (US 20060020159 A1) discloses a portable isolation enclosure with removable frame members
Delise et al. (US 20180133074 A1) discloses a mobile hyperbaric unit
/MISHAL HUSSAIN/
Examiner
Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785