DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 10, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu CN114185398A (English translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses an electronic device (1000, Fig 1) comprising: a housing (100, Figs 1, 2) including a first housing (10, Figs 1, 2) and a second housing (30, Figs 1, 2); a display (200, Fig 1) configured to extend from the first housing to the second housing (see Figs 1, 2); and a hinge structure (20, Figs 1, 2, 10) configured to rotatably connect the first housing and the second housing (as depicted in Fig 3), wherein the hinge structure includes: a fixed member (portion 7 and/or including 61, 62, Fig 12); a first rotary member (42, Fig 14) coupled to one side of the fixed member (once assembled Fig 12) so as to be rotatable about a first axis (axis about 42C or axis parallel to first row of 7, see Fig 12 with respect to Fig 13); a second rotary member (41, Fig 13) coupled to an opposite side of the fixed member so as to be rotatable about a second axis (axis about 41C or axis parallel to last row of 7, see Fig 12 with respect to Fig 13); a first arm member (51, Fig 13) coupled to the one side of the fixed member (at one side of 61/62, Fig 13) so as to be rotatable about a third axis (along 6121, Fig 12 with respect Fig 13), the third axis and the first axis being spaced apart from each other in parallel (see Fig 12 with respect to Fig 13); a second arm member (52, Fig 13) coupled to the opposite side of the fixed member (at other side of 61/62, Fig 13) so as to be rotatable about a fourth axis (along 6221, Fig 12 with respect Fig 13), the fourth axis and the second axis being spaced apart from each other in parallel (see Fig 12 with respect to Fig 13); a first coupling member (31, Fig 13) including one portion (outward portion of 31, Fig 12) coupled to the first housing (once assembled, Fig 7) and another portion (inner portion of 31, Figs 13, 13) coupled to the first arm member so as to be linearly movable (movable in P1, Fig 15); a second coupling (32, Fig 13) including one portion (outward portion of 32, Fig 12) coupled to the second housing (once assembled, Fig 7) and another portion (inner portion of 31, Figs 13, 13) coupled to the second arm member so as to slide (slidable in P1 on other side Fig 16); a first elastic member (91, Fig 12) disposed between the first coupling member and the first arm member (Fig 12) such that opposite ends of the first elastic member are supported by the first coupling member and the first arm member (see Figs 12, 13); and a second elastic member (92, Fig 13) disposed between the second coupling member and the second arm member (see Figs 12, 13) such that opposite ends of the second elastic member are supported by the second coupling member and the second arm member (Figs 12, 13), wherein in folding and unfolding operations of the electronic device (Figs 1, 3, 5), the first coupling member and the second coupling member perform a linear reciprocating motion relative to the first arm member and the second arm member (Figs 16-17 and Figs 37-38), respectively, and wherein the first elastic member and the second elastic member are compressed or uncompressed based on the linear reciprocating motion of the first coupling member and the second coupling member (see Figs 16-22).
Regarding claim 2, Xu discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first coupling member is coupled to the first rotary member so as to be rotatable about a fifth axis (at least partial rotation via 311, Figs 12, 13), wherein the second coupling member is coupled to the second rotary member so as to be rotatable about a sixth axis (at least partial rotation via 321, Figs 12, 13), and wherein in the folding and unfolding operations of the electronic device (Figs 1, 3. 5), the first coupling member rotates about the first axis together with the first rotary member and rotates about the fifth axis relative to the first rotary member (see Figs 2, 4, 7), and the second coupling member rotates about the second axis together with the second rotary member and rotates about the sixth axis relative to the second rotary member (see Figs 2, 4, 7).
Regarding claim 5, Xu discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first arm member includes a first support portion (511, Fig 13) configured to support a first end portion (9113, Fig 16) of the first elastic member (Fig 16), wherein the second arm member includes a second support portion (521, Fig 13) configured to support a first end portion (9113 on other side-not labeled, Fig 16) of the second elastic member (Fig 16), wherein the first coupling member includes a third support portion disposed to face the first support portion and configured to support a second end portion of the first elastic member configured to face away from the first end portion of the first elastic member (see Figs 12, 13), and wherein the second coupling member includes a fourth support portion disposed to face the second support portion and configured to support a second end portion of the second elastic member configured to face away from the first end portion of the second elastic member (see Figs 12, 13).
Regarding claim 10, Xu discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the fixed member includes a first guide protrusion (6121, Fig 13) inserted into a first guide rail (422, Fig 13) of the first rotary member (Fig 13), a second guide protrusion (6221, Fig 13) inserted into a second guide rail (422, Fig 13) of the second rotary member (Fig 13), a third guide protrusion (612, Fig 13) inserted into a third guide rail (512, Fig 13) of the first arm member (Fig 13), and a fourth guide protrusion (622, Fig 13) inserted into a fourth guide rail (522, Fig 13) of the second arm member (Fig 13).
Regarding claim 15, Xu discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein when the hinge structure is viewed in an axial direction parallel to the first to the fourth axis (as depicted in Fig 12), the third axis and the fourth axis are formed between the first axis and the second axis (see Fig 12), and a distance between the first axis and the second axis is longer than a distance between the third axis and the fourth axis (Figs 12, 13).
Regarding claim 17, Xu discloses the electronic device of claim 2, further comprising: a first rotary plate (21, Fig 10) coupled to the first rotary member and configured to rotate about the fifth axis relative to the first coupling member together with the first rotary member (once assembled Figs 6, 7); and a second rotary plate (22, Fig 10) coupled to the second rotary member and configured to rotate about the sixth axis relative to the second coupling member together with the second rotary member (once assembled Figs 6, 7).
Regarding claim 20, Xu discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the hinge structure further includes an interlocking member (6121 and/or 6221, Fig 13) coupled to the fixed member (Fig 13), and wherein the interlocking member rotationally interlocks the first arm member (once assembled Figs 12, 13) and the second arm member (once assembled Figs 12, 13), or rotationally interlocks the first rotary member and the second rotary member (Figs 12, 13).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 6-9, 11-14, 16 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The dependent claims listed below, in combination with the remaining elements of the independent claim(s) from which they directly/indirectly depend, are not taught, or adequately suggested in the prior art of record.
Claim 3. The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the first coupling member includes a first part fixedly coupled to the first housing, a second part to which the first rotary member is coupled so as to be rotatable, the second part being configured to extend from the first part, and a third part to which the first arm member is coupled so as to slide, the third part being configured to extend from the second part, and wherein the second coupling member includes a fourth part fixedly coupled to the second housing, a fifth part to which the second rotary member is coupled so as to be rotatable, the fifth part being configured to extend from the fourth part, and a sixth part to which the second arm member is coupled so as to slide, the sixth part being configured to extend from the fifth part. *Claim 4 depends directly from claim 3 and is therefore allowable for at least the same reason.
Claim 6. The electronic device of claim 5, wherein in the folding and unfolding operations of the electronic device, a distance between the first support portion and the second support portion decreases by a first displacement and then increases by the first displacement, the first elastic member is compressed and uncompressed by the first displacement in response to a change in the distance between the first support portion and the second support portion, a distance between the third support portion and the fourth support portion decreases by the first displacement and then increases by the first displacement, and the second elastic member is compressed and uncompressed by the first displacement in response to a change in the distance between the third support portion and the fourth support portion. *Claims 7-9 depend either indirectly or directly from claim 6 and are therefore allowable for at least the same reason.
Claim 11. The electronic device of claim 10, wherein the first rotary member includes a first coupling part having the first guide rail formed thereon and a second coupling part to which the first coupling member is coupled so as to be rotatable, the second coupling part being configured to extend from the first coupling part, and wherein the second rotary member includes a third coupling part having the second guide rail formed thereon and a fourth coupling part to which the second coupling member is coupled so as to be rotatable, the fourth coupling part being configured to extend from the third coupling part.
Claim 12. The electronic device of claim 10, wherein the first guide rail of the first rotary member has an arc shape, and the first guide protrusion rotates in the first guide rail about the first axis configured to extend from the center of the arc of the first guide rail, and wherein the second guide rail of the second rotary member has an arc shape, and the second guide protrusion rotates in the second guide rail about the second axis configured to extend from the center of the arc of the second guide rail.
Claim 13. The electronic device of claim 10, wherein the first arm member includes a fifth coupling part having the third guide rail formed thereon and a sixth coupling part to which the first coupling member is coupled so as to be linearly movable, the sixth coupling part being configured to extend from the fifth coupling part, and wherein the second arm member includes a seventh coupling part having the fourth guide rail formed thereon and an eighth coupling part to which the second coupling member is coupled so as to be linearly movable, the eighth coupling part being configured to extend from the seventh coupling part.
Claim 14. The electronic device of claim 10, wherein the third guide rail of the first arm member has an arc shape, and the third guide protrusion rotates in the third guide rail about the third axis configured to extend from the center of the arc of the third guide rail, and wherein the fourth guide rail of the second arm member has an arc shape, and the fourth guide protrusion rotates in the fourth guide rail about the fourth axis configured to extend from the center of the arc of the fourth guide rail.
Claim 16. The electronic device of claim 15, wherein the fixed member includes an upper surface configured to face toward the display, wherein the third axis is formed in a position to penetrate a portion of the first arm member, and the first axis is formed in a higher position than the third axis based on the upper surface, and wherein the fourth axis is formed in a position to penetrate a portion of the second arm member, and the second axis is formed in a higher position than the third axis based on the upper surface.
Claim 18. The electronic device of claim 17, wherein the display includes a first region at least partially disposed on the first housing and formed to be flat, a second region at least partially disposed on the second housing and formed to be flat, and a folding region located between the first region and the second region, and wherein the first rotary plate supports one portion of the folding region, and the second rotary plate supports another portion of the folding region. *Claim
19 depends directly from claim 18 and is therefore allowable for at least the same reason.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure: see PTO 892.
the examiner should be directed to RASHEN E MORRISON whose telephone
number is (571)272-8852. The examiner can normally be reached 9-5.
an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview
Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Imani Hayman can be reached at 571-270-5528. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about
patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about
filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business
Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a
USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA)
or 571-272-1000.
/RASHEN E MORRISON/Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841