DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-12 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 5 and 9 have been amended.
This office action is in response to the amendment submitted on 28-Sept-2026.
Examiner’s Note (EN)
The prior art rejections below cite particular paragraphs, columns, and/or line numbers in the references for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art.
Response to Arguments – 35 USC 101
On pgs. 6-10 of the Applicant/Arguments Remarks, Applicant argues the amended claims have overcome the rejection under 35 USC 101. Examiner finds the arguments persuasive. The 101 rejection has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments – 35 USC 103
On pg. 10-11 the applicant argues the combination of Hey and Liu does not teach the steps in the claim. Additionally, the applicant is arguing whether the store DOM or the editor DOM is used in the mapping, the claimed change/store limitations are not taught. “If the editor DOM is relied upon, the rejection must consistently identify the disclosure relied upon for changing that DOM, saving the change associated with that DOM, and rendering the updated interface based on that same changed DOM. Treating Liu's editor-DOM manipulation and store- DOM synchronization as interchangeable does not establish the claimed sequence.”
The examiner finds the argument unpersuasive. The rejection relies on the editor DOM for the change and render limitations. Liu teaches the edit step associated with the editor DOM is synched into the storage DOM so a change in the editor DOM is mirrored/saved in the store DOM. Liu [0030] “In accordance with various aspects of the invention, following an edit step 2, the editor 22 updates the display, persists the edit step 2 to a persistence engine 438 and/or collaborators, appends the edit step 2 to an undo/redo queue 508, and performs any specialty manipulations supported by that editor 22” Also, [0031].
Additionally, The claim doesn’t require the store DOM being used for rendering the updated user interface. The claim only requires saving the changes associated with the DOM which the editor DOM does.
On pg. 13-14 the applicant argues that there is no clear motivation to combine Hey and Liu. There is no rationale that Hey is ready for improvement. Even if there was any motivation to combine, the combination would not result in the claimed invention. The applicant argues for Hey to provide the claimed invention, Hey’s structure would have to be materially altered so that the reference represents the intended structure or layout resulting from DOM being changed. “Hey therefore evaluates the updated page against a pre-update approved baseline; Hey does not treat the intentional result of an update as the desired state against which that same update is validated.”
The applicant is unnecessarily limiting Hey’s master screenshot to a pre-update baseline. The nature of software development is iterative. At the most basic level Hey’s environment can be applied at every release setting the initial conditions for the master screenshot would update it with the new releases’ s DOM. In fact, Hey teaches a repeatable iterative process for testing [0026] “Test scenario 118 is a repeatable automated test procedure capable of accessing master mode function 200 and test mode function 300 at execution points within test scenario 118. In one embodiment, prior to execution of master mode function 200, test scenario 118 executes a series of commands, setting initial conditions. Initial conditions set computing device 110 and test page 114 to a defined configuration prior to initiation of screenshot verification program 120. Initial conditions within test scenario 118 are identified as, but not limited to, opening a Web browser, accessing a specific webpage, executing program code, and inputting anticipated information. After operations and test cases within test scenario 118 set initial conditions on test page 114, test scenario 118 executes master mode function 200. Test scenario 118 with respect to master mode function 200 is complete when master screenshot 122 is stored.” And [0034] “FIG. 3 is a flowchart depicting operational steps of test mode function 300, in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. Test mode function 300 acquires new data from a test page after the implementation of updates. The new test data may be acquired to validate that the functionality of the test page remains intact as originally designed. Output results of test mode function 300 are compared with control data acquired by master mode function 200.”
It would have been obvious to equally update master screenshots with new release cycles, approved modifications and so on in the same fashion that Hey teaches updating testing screenshots. Liu’s updated DOM would update the control data and hence the master screenshot used as a baseline for the test.
Hey teaches the environment and methods for repeatable testing of webpages in an iterative fashion. Liu teaches the updating of the webpage DOM’s. Starting the test as Hey teaches on the webpage modified by Liu would produce new master screenshots of the updated DOM as taught by Liu.
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to do so in order to benefit from the iterative nature of the testing automation of Hey along with developers updates and improvements of new approved releases.
On pg. 14, the applicant argues that excluding an object from an image is not the same as the claimed masking.
The examiner would like to point to the instant specification for an explanation of masking: [0081] “It may be noted that the screenshot of the updated UI may be masked to edit the screenshot image in a non-destructive way. Image masking techniques may hide the variable features or portion of screenshot indicating the variable features within the screenshot of the updated UI” Hey teaches the same thing: [0021] “test scenario 118 identifies a continuously updating dynamic page object (e.g. time and date stamp) to screenshot verification program 120 to exclude from data collection and comparison.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hey et al. (US20150347284A1) in view of Liu et al. (US20110258538A1)
Regarding Claim 1, Hey teaches A system comprising: a processor; a memory coupled to the processor, the memory having stored therein at least one of programs or instructions executable by the processor to configure the system to (Hey, Fig. 2, [0052-0054])
capture a screenshot of the updated user interface (Hey, [0021] "User interface 112 initiates automated test scenario 118. Test scenario 118 consists of a series of executable commands to access and update test page 114 and execute screenshot verification program 120. Test scenario 118 may contain information regarding scope and page objects. The scope is an area within a webpage that can be defined by a test scenario which identifies the outer bounds of page objects. Page objects are models of areas within a webpage application that interact with a user or test. In some embodiments, test scenario 118 identifies page objects and an associated scope to screenshot verification program 120 for data collection and comparison. In other embodiments, test scenario 118 identifies some page objects and an associated scope to screenshot verification program 120, creating a partial screenshot. A partial screenshot is a section or portion of a full screenshot, containing one or more page objects, as identified by test scenario 118. Screenshot verification program 120 excludes unidentified page objects from data collection and comparison. In some other embodiments, test scenario 118 identifies a continuously updating dynamic page object (e.g. time and date stamp) to screenshot verification program 120 to exclude from data collection and comparison. A dynamic page object has the capability to change value independent of user input based upon a webpage function. Depending upon which function, master mode function 200 or test mode function 300, is activated by user interface 112, results obtained from screenshot verification program 120 are stored within storage device 116 as master screenshot 122 or test screenshot 124, respectively. Upon completion, screenshot verification program 120 determines success or failure of a test scenario, such as test scenario 118, based on whether a webpage, application, or feature is working as designed.")
validate the updated user interface based on a comparison between the screenshot and a reference image associated with the updated user interface (Hey, [0036-0037] "In step 302, test mode function 300 receives updated conditions upon continuation of a test scenario. In one embodiment, test mode function 300 receives a command to execute at the time a request initiates from user interface 112 on computing device 110 after user interface 112 establishes updated conditions. In another embodiment, test mode function 300 receives a command to execute, including updated conditions at the time a request initiates from within an automated process previously initiated on computing device 110. In the current embodiment of the invention presented, computing device 110, via input through user interface 112, accesses test scenario 118 and automates the process for test mode function 300, thus expediting the webpage testing. In one embodiment, test scenario 118 sets the updated conditions for test mode function 300. In another embodiment, updated conditions could be executed through user interface 112 directly. In step 304, test mode function 300 accesses a master screenshot which includes page objects and corresponding coordinate information from storage device 116. Test mode function 300 accesses master screenshot 122 in storage device 116. Master screenshot 122 identifies and defines page objects and coordinate information to test mode function 300 for reacquisition." Please see Fig. 3 and corresponding [0038-0046] for the validation decision tree/logic and subsequent report)
wherein the reference image indicates a desired structure or layout ([0021-0022 and 0026])
However, Hey doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose:
cause to make a change to a document object model (DOM) of a software application, the DOM of the software application being associated with a user interface of the software application
save the change associated with the DOM
render an updated user interface based on the changed DOM
of the updated user interface resulting from the change to the DOM
Liu teaches cause to make a change to a document object model (DOM) of a software application, the DOM of the software application being associated with a user interface of the software application (Liu, [0027-0030] "Documents in DOM-based editors (editors) 22 may consist of text nodes and elements which modify the representation of text nodes. As shown in FIG. 4, there are various possible types of edit steps 2 that can change a document, including a replacement edit step 20 and an element manipulation edit steps 6. Replacement edit steps 20 may consist of contiguous insertions, deletions, and/or replacements entered without an excessive pause or changing focus. For example, a user 446 may select a range “old, unnecessary text”, type “new stuff”, and then pause or click elsewhere in a document 480. When a user 446 types into an editor 22, the editor 22 collects a logical set of keystrokes into an edit step 2 which can later be undone or redone as a unit…In accordance with various aspects of the invention, following an edit step 2, the editor 22 updates the display, persists the edit step 2 to a persistence engine 438 and/or collaborators, appends the edit step 2 to an undo/redo queue 508, and performs any specialty manipulations supported by that editor 22 (e.g., Microsoft Word's “Smart Text” feature recognizes phone numbers, addresses, and Outlook contacts).")
save the change associated with the DOM (Liu, [0030 and 0033] "In accordance with various aspects of the invention, following an edit step 2, the editor 22 updates the display, persists the edit step 2 to a persistence engine 438 and/or collaborators, appends the edit step 2 to an undo/redo queue 508, and performs any specialty manipulations supported by that editor 22 (e.g., Microsoft Word's “Smart Text” feature recognizes phone numbers, addresses, and Outlook contacts). … As previously indicated, an embodiment of the present invention provides a DOM-based editor 22 with a edit capture extension 431 configured to capture edit steps 2 (i.e., changes to an editor DOM 26) with help from a store DOM 24 that is kept in sync with editor DOM 26. An embodiment provides that edit steps 2 are encoded as DOM coordinates 146, as discussed further below in conjunction with FIG. 5. An embodiment provides means for a persistence engine 438 to more efficiently handle the resulting edit steps 2. An embodiment provides means to keep empty DOM elements navigable while editing. An embodiment provides support for mutation events 434. An embodiment demonstrates how edit steps 2 can be used in lieu of the native undo/redo functionality of the editor 22. An embodiment provides means to group related changes for purposes of undo/redo. An embodiment provides means to navigate a tree of revisions by remembering the active branch.")
render an updated user interface based on the changed DOM (Liu, [0030] "In accordance with various aspects of the invention, following an edit step 2, the editor 22 updates the display, persists the edit step 2 to a persistence engine 438 and/or collaborators, appends the edit step 2 to an undo/redo queue 508, and performs any specialty manipulations supported by that editor 22 (e.g., Microsoft Word's “Smart Text” feature recognizes phone numbers, addresses, and Outlook contacts).")
of the updated user interface resulting from the change to the DOM ([0030])
Hey and Liu are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor in UI modification and validation. Liu teaches the known technique of direct modification of the DOM to modify the UI elements. Hey teaches the environment and methods of a screenshot comparison test scenario that sets the baseline screenshot at initialization. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine Hey and Lui to utilize Lui’s known technique, of modifying the DOM to modify the UI, into the environment and processes of Hey. A PHOSITA would be motivated to do so in order to streamline initial condition settings of Hey’s testing scenarios when new releases of webpage are available. Note MPEP 2143- (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 2, Hey in view of Liu teaches the system of claim 1. Hey teaches wherein, to perform the comparison between the screenshot of the updated user interface and the reference image, the processor is further configured to:
identify a set of static features and a set of variable features of the updated user interface (Hey, [0013] "Elements contained within a webpage can be static elements (e.g., unchanging, string constant) or dynamically generated elements (i.e., elements containing values that vary within each instance of the webpage). Due to the complex nature of a webpage and the verification testing needing to be performed, as recognized by the embodiments of this invention, tests that are currently time consuming and inflexible are addressed, thus increasing the reliability, independence, and flexibility of a webpage." and [0021])
mask the set of variable features from the screenshot of the updated user interface; (Hey, [0021] "User interface 112 initiates automated test scenario 118. Test scenario 118 consists of a series of executable commands to access and update test page 114 and execute screenshot verification program 120. Test scenario 118 may contain information regarding scope and page objects. The scope is an area within a webpage that can be defined by a test scenario which identifies the outer bounds of page objects. Page objects are models of areas within a webpage application that interact with a user or test. In some embodiments, test scenario 118 identifies page objects and an associated scope to screenshot verification program 120 for data collection and comparison. In other embodiments, test scenario 118 identifies some page objects and an associated scope to screenshot verification program 120, creating a partial screenshot. A partial screenshot is a section or portion of a full screenshot, containing one or more page objects, as identified by test scenario 118. Screenshot verification program 120 excludes unidentified page objects from data collection and comparison. In some other embodiments, test scenario 118 identifies a continuously updating dynamic page object (e.g. time and date stamp) to screenshot verification program 120 to exclude from data collection and comparison. A dynamic page object has the capability to change value independent of user input based upon a webpage function. Depending upon which function, master mode function 200 or test mode function 300, is activated by user interface 112, results obtained from screenshot verification program 120 are stored within storage device 116 as master screenshot 122 or test screenshot 124, respectively. Upon completion, screenshot verification program 120 determines success or failure of a test scenario, such as test scenario 118, based on whether a webpage, application, or feature is working as designed.")
perform image matching techniques to compare the screenshot and the reference image (Hey, Fig. 3, and [0036-0046])
Regarding Claim 3, Hey in view of Liu teaches the system of claim 1. Hey teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: generate a test report for the changed DOM based on the comparison, the test report indicating a similarity value for the screenshot and the reference image (Hey, [0024] "An example embodiment of the invention is depicted and discussed in FIG. 4A-4D. FIG. 4A, example master screenshot 400, depicts a potential master screenshot 122 of a webpage. FIG. 4B, example test screenshot 420, depicts a potential test screenshot 124 of an updated webpage and a pass report. FIG. 4C, example test screenshot 440, depicts a different possible test screenshot of another updated webpage. FIG. 4D, example failure report 460, depicts a failure report." [0042-0046] "In step 312, test mode function 300 compares the master page objects with the test page objects. A comparison between master screenshot 122 and test screenshot 124 can be accomplished through various standard comparison techniques, such as image processing (e.g., pixelation, histogram, and red, green, blue (RGB) color model comparison). Image processing refers to the reading of an image by a computing device for the purpose of analyzing image characteristics. An image can be defined as a set of points (x,y) and an associated amplitude (e.g., brightness) for each point. Pixelation deconstructs images into the smallest element of an image (i.e., pixel) for comparison. A histogram graphically represents the distribution of data in an image and displays the information in categories for analysis or comparison. RGB color model comparison, utilizes a grid to evaluate an image based on the RGB triplet (r,g,b) with the color ranges being 0 to 1. Test scenario 118 can set a level of tolerance dependent on which comparison method is selected to account for variances and minor changes (e.g., color changes between computing devices, font smoothing, browser variance). In some embodiments when scaling was necessary (see step 310), test mode function 300 compares master page objects in master screenshot 122 with a scaled version of test screenshot 124. In another embodiment, test mode function 300 compares master page objects in master screenshot 122 with test screenshot 124 without scaling applied.…In step 316, test mode function 300 provides a failure report. In one embodiment, a failure may result due to missing page objects, as depicted in FIG. 4C, example 440. In another embodiment, a failure may result due to results not meeting tolerances set in test scenario 118. In one embodiment of the invention, test mode function 300 displays failures by highlighting the changed page objects on test screenshot 124. In another embodiment, test mode function 300 displays failures in two separate screenshots with all the page objects displayed and differences are highlighted in the second image from test screenshot 124. In another embodiment, test mode function 300 displays only the portions of the page objects which fail. In yet another embodiment, test mode function 300 provides a report that may list text information about which page objects have failed. In another embodiment, test mode function 300 provides a text report that may display pass and failure status with respect to acceptable tolerance levels. In step 318, test mode function 300 provides a pass report. In one embodiment, test mode function 300 indicates a pass by displaying a single screenshot image, without page objects highlighted. In another embodiment, test mode function 300 indicates a pass displaying a message stating the test has passed. In another embodiment, test mode function 300 displays a text report with the page objects noting a pass status. In another embodiment, test mode function 300 displays a text report depicting the results of the comparison in regards to the tolerance levels.")
Regarding Claim 4, Hey in view of Liu teaches the system of claim 1. Hey teaches wherein the reference image is stored in a database (Hey, [0023] "Test mode function 300, explained in greater detail in regards to FIG. 3, performs the selection and capture of updated conditions identified by test scenario 118, placed in storage device 116 and stored as test screenshot 124. Updated conditions refer to changes made to initial conditions that may or may not result in variances between control data (e.g., master screenshot 122) and test data (e.g., test screenshot 124). Updated conditions include, but are not limited to, changes made to the format or content, contained or displayed, by a webpage. For example, updated conditions may include changes in the user environment (e.g., new browser version), changes to the structure, design, or format of a webpage, or changes in the website environment (e.g., server operating system, database). In embodiments of the present invention, test screenshot 124 is the data to be validated against the control data stored within master screenshot 122." and [0020] "Storage device 116 can be implemented with any type of storage device that is capable of storing data that may be accessed and utilized by computing device 110. Value structures for data structure instances may be stored to storage device 116. In one embodiment, storage device 116 resides on computing device 110. In other embodiments, storage device 116 may reside on another server or another computing device connected over network 130, provided that storage device 116 is accessible to computing device 110. Storage device 116 includes test scenario 118, master screenshot 122, and test screenshot 124.")
Claims 5-8 are medium claims reciting limitations similar to claims 1-4 respectively and are rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 9-12 are method claims reciting limitations similar to claims 1-4 respectively and are rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Feng et al. (US20230221847A1): discloses UI error detection with advanced similarity score matrices.
Kumar et al. (US20130004087A1): discloses methods for webpage regression testing using screenshots.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.E.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2199
/LEWIS A BULLOCK JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2199