CTNF 18/809,405 CTNF 88474 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This action is in response to the application filed on March 03, 2025 Claims 1-56 are under examination. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1 – 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUTAKI et al. (USP: 2019/0191348 A1) in view of BINDER (USP: 2012/0166582 A1) . As per Claim 1 Futaki teaches an apparatus, comprising a processor, configured to: select a network slice from a plurality of network slices based on one or more Quality of Service configurations (Paragraph 0103, 0165, 0167, 0178 a selection of a network slice performed by the NG Core the control node in the NG Core 5 may select a network slice for the UE 1 based on QoS required for the EPS bearer(s) or SDF(s) of the UE 1.); and cause a packet to be diverted to the selected network slice (Paragraph 156, 0159, 0163, 0165, 0178 NR Path Switch Request Acknowledge message in Step 806 includes information about a network slice selected by the Common NFs 51 (or the SSF) (i.e., a Slice Information information element (IE)). The Slice Information IE may contain, for example, an NSI ID indicating the selected network slice, NF IDs indicating the selected network functions. A network slice selected for the UE 1 (i.e., the slice A) and sends an NR Path Switch Request Acknowledge message to the CP NFs within the NFs for slice-A 52 corresponding to the slice A (step 911B). In some implementations, the target NR NB 3 may use the slice information IE received from the UE 1 in Step 910 in order to determine the network slice selected for the UE 1. A network slice that has been selected for the UE 1 by the Common NFs 51. Accordingly, for example, the target NR NB 3 can recognize the network slice selected..). However FUTAKI does not explicitly disclose a packet to be diverted to the selected network slice BINDER disclose a packet to be diverted to the selected network slice (Paragraph 0201, 0203, 0313, 0321 FIG. 41a depicts schematically an adapter based on rotary switches connected to a motherboard. The packet to be sent to the determined relay server which includes the selected slice is prepared in a `Construct Packet` step 59. While the flow chart 50 suggests that a packet containing a slice is transmitted before another slice is selected for handling, the arrangement equally relates to preparing all slices first and afterwards sending all the packets containing those slices. Once an IP address is selected for a packet including a message slice to be sent, this IP address is used in the packet IP header as the source IP, similar to the mechanism used for NAT. For example, the Ethernet environment allows for hubs, switches and router to be connected. Further, the packet port field can be used in order to associate packets with a specific source computer or to associate a group of packets having slices of the same sent message. The scrambling may be implemented using the miniature rotary switches 412a-h shown as part of the adapter 410. The rotary switches 412a-h shown are each operated by mechanical rotation of the shaft by a human user, and has a single pole and 8 positions or states, selected upon the shaft position. For example, rotary switch 412a-h center may be connected to A.sub.7 address line 176a shown in FIG. 19, and may be connected to any of the A.sub.7 182a to A.sub.0 182h lines connected to the memory 171.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of FUTAKI with the teachings of BINDER in order to the make the system more efficient. Because once an IP address is selected for a packet including a message slice to be sent, this IP address is used in the packet IP header as the source IP, similar to the mechanism used for NAT (see BINDER Paragraph 0240). As per Claim 2 Futaki – Binder teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising an interface, configured to receive a data packet for processing (Paragraph 0129, 0139, the NG System including the NR NB 3 and the NG Core 5 may be configured to support a bearer-based transfer using a bearer per QoS class and per PDU session, or may be configured to distinguish between data flows (e.g., PDU flows) in the bearer to perform QoS handling (e.g., discard of packets) on a per-data-flow basis (e.g., on a per-PDU-flow basis). For example, based on the slice information, the target NR NB 3 may select a network slice to which the NR NB 3 will send a control-plane message regarding the UE 1. For example, the target NR NB 3 may perform forwarding of UL user data (e.g., PDU flows) of UE 1 to the NG Core 5 based on end point information included in the flow information. For example, the target NR NB 3 may perform resource scheduling for the UE 1 based on a flow QoS parameter included in the flow information.). As per Claim 3 Futaki – Binder teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a memory, configured to store data related to one or more quality of service configurations (Paragraph 0075, 0180, In some implementations, the NG System, including the NR NB 3 and the NG Core 5, supports a data transfer based on the above-described Flow-based QoS (or per-flow QoS) concept. may store one or more software modules (computer programs) 1909 including instructions and data to perform processing the network slice selected for the UE 1. Alternatively, the target NR NB 3 may store, in association with a context of the UE 1, the slice information IE received from the NG Core 5 in Step 907, and may use this stored slice information IE for the determination in Step 911B.). As per Claim 4 Futaki – Binder teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a modem, configured to receive a data packet (Paragraph 0267, 0275, for example, a modem processor (e.g., DSP) that performs the digital baseband signal processing and a protocol-stack-processor (e.g., CPU or MPU) that performs the control-plane processing. The baseband processor 1905 may include a modem processor (e.g., Digital Signal Processor (DSP)) that performs the digital baseband signal processing and a protocol stack processor). As per Claim 5 Futaki – Binder teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of switches, configured to selectively direct a packet to an output destination of a plurality of output destinations (Paragraph 0017, 0028, 0084 a handover request acknowledge message containing a transparent container and transmit, to the radio terminal, a mobility command message containing the transparent container and indicating the handover to the second network. The measurement configuration is contained, for example, in an RRC Connection Reconfiguration message transmitted from the E-UTRAN to the UE. ); and wherein the processor causes a switch of the plurality of switches to select an output destination of the plurality of output destinations (Paragraph 0028, 0084, 0088 transmitting, to the radio terminal, a mobility command message containing the transparent container and indicating the handover to the second network. The transparent container includes radio resource configuration information needed by the radio terminal to establish a radio connection associated with the second network. ). However FUTAKI does not explicitly disclose a packet to be diverted to the selected network slice BINDER disclose a packet to be diverted to the selected network slice (Paragraph 0201, 0203, 0313, 0321 FIG. 41a depicts schematically an adapter based on rotary switches connected to a motherboard. The packet to be sent to the determined relay server which includes the selected slice is prepared in a `Construct Packet` step 59. While the flow chart 50 suggests that a packet containing a slice is transmitted before another slice is selected for handling, the arrangement equally relates to preparing all slices first and afterwards sending all the packets containing those slices. Once an IP address is selected for a packet including a message slice to be sent, this IP address is used in the packet IP header as the source IP, similar to the mechanism used for NAT. For example, the Ethernet environment allows for hubs, switches and router to be connected. Further, the packet port field can be used in order to associate packets with a specific source computer or to associate a group of packets having slices of the same sent message. The scrambling may be implemented using the miniature rotary switches 412a-h shown as part of the adapter 410. The rotary switches 412a-h shown are each operated by mechanical rotation of the shaft by a human user, and has a single pole and 8 positions or states, selected upon the shaft position. For example, rotary switch 412a-h center may be connected to A.sub.7 address line 176a shown in FIG. 19, and may be connected to any of the A.sub.7 182a to A.sub.0 182h lines connected to the memory 171.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of FUTAKI with the teachings of BINDER in order to the make the system more efficient. Because once an IP address is selected for a packet including a message slice to be sent, this IP address is used in the packet IP header as the source IP, similar to the mechanism used for NAT (see BINDER Paragraph 0240). As per Claim 6 Futaki – Binder teaches the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the plurality of switches comprises network routing switches (Paragraph 0005, 0100, when the UE 1 has successfully accessed the target NR NB 3, the target NR NB 3 sends an NR Path Switch Request message to the NG Core 5 in order to notify the NG Core 5 that the UE 1 has changed its cell and to request a path switch. for achieving Quality of Service (QoS) and packet routing, a bearer per QoS class and per PDN connection is used in both a RAN (i.e., an Evolved Universal Terrestrial RAN) and a core network (i.e., an Evolved Packet core (EPC)). This NR Path Switch Request message may include a path switch type information element (IE) indicating a path switch from LTE to NR. For example, the Path Switch Type IE is set to “LTEtoNR”. The NR Path Switch Request message may further contain a list of EPS bearers of the UE 1, which have been switched to the cell of the target NR NB 3. ). However FUTAKI does not explicitly disclose a packet to be diverted to the selected network slice BINDER disclose a packet to be diverted to the selected network slice (Paragraph 0201, 0203, 0313, 0321 FIG. 41a depicts schematically an adapter based on rotary switches connected to a motherboard. The packet to be sent to the determined relay server which includes the selected slice is prepared in a `Construct Packet` step 59. While the flow chart 50 suggests that a packet containing a slice is transmitted before another slice is selected for handling, the arrangement equally relates to preparing all slices first and afterwards sending all the packets containing those slices. Once an IP address is selected for a packet including a message slice to be sent, this IP address is used in the packet IP header as the source IP, similar to the mechanism used for NAT. For example, the Ethernet environment allows for hubs, switches and router to be connected. Further, the packet port field can be used in order to associate packets with a specific source computer or to associate a group of packets having slices of the same sent message. The scrambling may be implemented using the miniature rotary switches 412a-h shown as part of the adapter 410. The rotary switches 412a-h shown are each operated by mechanical rotation of the shaft by a human user, and has a single pole and 8 positions or states, selected upon the shaft position. For example, rotary switch 412a-h center may be connected to A.sub.7 address line 176a shown in FIG. 19, and may be connected to any of the A.sub.7 182a to A.sub.0 182h lines connected to the memory 171.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of FUTAKI with the teachings of BINDER in order to the make the system more efficient. Because once an IP address is selected for a packet including a message slice to be sent, this IP address is used in the packet IP header as the source IP, similar to the mechanism used for NAT (see BINDER Paragraph 0240). As per Claim 7 Futaki – Binder teaches the apparatus of claim 5, However FUTAKI does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of switches comprises a logical switch BINDER disclose wherein the plurality of switches comprises a logical switch (Paragraph 0201, 0203, 0313, 0321 FIG. 41a depicts schematically an adapter based on rotary switches connected to a motherboard. The packet to be sent to the determined relay server which includes the selected slice is prepared in a `Construct Packet` step 59. While the flow chart 50 suggests that a packet containing a slice is transmitted before another slice is selected for handling, the arrangement equally relates to preparing all slices first and afterwards sending all the packets containing those slices. Once an IP address is selected for a packet including a message slice to be sent, this IP address is used in the packet IP header as the source IP, similar to the mechanism used for NAT. For example, the Ethernet environment allows for hubs, switches and router to be connected. Further, the packet port field can be used in order to associate packets with a specific source computer or to associate a group of packets having slices of the same sent message. The scrambling may be implemented using the miniature rotary switches 412a-h shown as part of the adapter 410. The rotary switches 412a-h shown are each operated by mechanical rotation of the shaft by a human user, and has a single pole and 8 positions or states, selected upon the shaft position. For example, rotary switch 412a-h center may be connected to A.sub.7 address line 176a shown in FIG. 19, and may be connected to any of the A.sub.7 182a to A.sub.0 182h lines connected to the memory 171.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of FUTAKI with the teachings of BINDER in order to the make the system more efficient. Because once an IP address is selected for a packet including a message slice to be sent, this IP address is used in the packet IP header as the source IP, similar to the mechanism used for NAT (see BINDER Paragraph 0240). As per Claim 8 Futaki – Binder teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor selecting the network slice from the plurality of network slices based on the one or more Quality of Service configurations comprises the processor selecting the network slice from the plurality of network slices based on the one or more Quality of Service configurations of a second apparatus (Paragraph 0005-0007 In LTE and LTE-Advanced, for achieving Quality of Service (QoS) and packet routing, a bearer per QoS class and per PDN connection is used in both a RAN (i.e., an Evolved Universal Terrestrial RAN) and a core network (i.e., an Evolved Packet core (EPC)). That is, in the Bearer-based QoS (or per-bearer QoS) concept, one or more Evolved Packet System (EPS) bearers are configured between a UE and a P-GW in an EPC, and a plurality of Service Data Flows (SDFs) having the same QoS class are transferred through one EPS bearer satisfying this QoS. A SDF is one or more packet flows that match an SDF template (i.e., packet filters) based on a Policy and Charging Control (PCC) rule ). . As per Claim 9 Futaki – Binder teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the one or more Quality of Service configurations of the second device are one or more Quality of Service configurations of an application of the second device (Paragraph 0009, 00075 handover from 5G to LTE disclosed in Patent Literature 1, a source control node (i.e., an Access Control Server (ACS)/eMME) in the 5G core (or NG Core) maps QoS parameters of service flows in the bearer-less network (i.e., 5G) to EPS-bearer-level QoS in the bearer-based network (i.e., LTE). The 5G QoS parameters of the service flows are, for example, DiffServ code point (DSCP) values. The EPS-bearer-level QoS in LTE is, for example, a QoS class identifier (QCI) and an allocation and retention priority (ARP). The mapping of DSCP values to EPS bearers may be performed in a one-to-one manner or an n-to-one manner. The source ACS/eMME sends APN information including information about the EPS-bearer-level QoS to a target MME. The target MME sets up GTP tunnels for the UE according to the received APN information. ). As per Claim 10 Futaki – Binder teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to select the network slice from the plurality of network slices by comparing the Quality of Service configurations to service characteristics of the plurality of network slices, and to select the network slice from the plurality of network slices that meets the service configurations (Paragraph 0008, 0013 Each virtualized logical network is referred to as a network slice or a network slice instance, includes logical nodes and functions, and is used for specific traffic and signaling. The NG RAN or the NG Core or both have a Slice Selection Function (SSF). The SSF selects one or more network slices suitable for an NG UE based on information provided by at least one of this NG UE and the NG Core.). As per Claim 11 Futaki – Binder teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the Quality of Service configurations comprise at least one of a latency, reliability, mobility, charging, security, data rate, policy control, power consumption, battery life, capacity, or coverage configuration (Paragraph 0092, 0104 (e.g., Selected Slice Type, Selected Slice Identity (ID), or Selected Network Function (NF) ID); slice information for which the UE 1 has been previously authorized (e.g., Authorized Slice Type, Authorized Slice ID, or Authorized NF ID); and acceptable latency of the UE 1 (e.g., Allowed Latency or Tolerable Latency). The Service Type may indicate, for example, a type of a Use Case, such as broadband communication (e.g., enhanced Mobile Broad Band: eMBB), high-reliable/low-latency communication (e.g., Ultra Reliable and Low Latency Communication: URLLC) The network slice assistance information may indicate, for example, a type of the UE 1, a service that the UE 1 desires, acceptable latency of the UE 1, or any combination thereof.). As per Claim 12 Futaki – Binder teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a traffic policy, wherein the traffic policy comprises the Quality of Service configurations and a corresponding network slice for the Quality of Service configurations; and wherein the selecting the network slice comprises selecting the network slice based on the traffic policy (Paragraph 0005, 0101 This Create Session Request message may include information (e.g., SDF templates, or Traffic Flow Templates (TFTs)) for identifying one or more service data flows associated with each EPS bearer context. For example, the information for identifying the one or more service data flows may be derived from a message (e.g., Forward Relocation Request message) that is sent from an MME within a network slice instance corresponding to an EPC to which the LTE eNB 2 is connected to a control node within a network slice instance corresponding to a pure NG Core to which the NR NB 3 is connected. Each virtualized logical network is referred to as a network slice or a network slice instance, includes logical nodes and functions, and is used for specific traffic and signaling. The NG RAN or the NG Core or both have a Slice Selection Function (SSF). The SSF selects one or more network slices suitable for an NG UE based on information provided by at least one of this NG UE and the NG Core..). As per Claim 13 Futaki – Binder teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of network slices each correspond to different Quality of Service characteristics or different combinations of Quality of Service characteristics (Paragraph 0104, 0303 the NR NB 3 may be determined (or selected) based on an E-RAB QoS information IE, e.g., a QCI or an ARP, or flow information included in the Handover Preparation Required message or the NR Path Switch Request message. Additionally or alternatively, the functional split option to be applied to the NR NB 3 may be determined based on a slice created by the NG Core 5 or the NR NB 3, or information about this slice (i.e., slice information). Additionally or alternatively, the functional split option to be applied to the NR NB 3 may be determined based on network slice assistance information included in NAS information transmitted from the UE 1.). As per Claim 14 Futaki – Binder teaches the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the plurality of network slices have different latencies, different packet loss rates, or different bitrates (Paragraph 0087, 0106 QoS parameters (e.g., QoS class identifier (QCI), Allocation and retention priority (ARP), and Guaranteed Bit Rate (GBR) QoS information) of each NE-RAB for the UE 1. The NextGen E-RAB (NE-RAB) is an E-RAB set up between the UE 1 and a User-plane Function in the NG Core 5 (e.g., a Common User plane NF (CUNF)) through an eLTE eNB which is enhanced to support interfaces with the NG Core). Claims 15-56 are device claims corresponding to an apparatus claims 1-14 that have been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1-14. Claims 15-56 are rejected under the same rational as claims 1-14 . Examiner’s Note Examiner is open for discussion if the applicant’s representative need further clarifications . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (See form 892) . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SYED ALI whose telephone number is (571)270-3681. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 10am to 2pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, ASAD NAWAZ can be reached on (571) 272-3988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SYED ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/809,405 Page 2 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/809,405 Page 3 Art Unit: 2463