DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6-8, 11, 13, 14, 19, 20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.
102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bucklew et al (US Patent No. 12,613,264).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claims 1 and 19, referring to Figures 2-4, Bucklew et al teaches a quantum radio frequency (RF) signal transmitter (i.e., Figs. 2-4) comprising:
a plurality of Rydberg cells (i.e., Rydberg cells 122’, Figs. 2-4), each configured to generate a respective RF signal (i.e., Figs. 2-4, col. 5, lines 16-67, and col. 6, lines 1-23); and
a combiner (i.e., combiner Nx1 169b’’, Fig. 4) downstream from the plurality of Rydberg cells and configured to combine the respective RF signals into an output RF signal (i.e., Fig. 4, col. 6, lines 12-23).
Regarding claims 2, 14 and 20, Bucklew et al further teaches wherein the combiner (i.e., combiner Nx1 169b’’, Figs. 2-4) comprises an RF spatial combiner.
Regarding claims 6 and 24, Bucklew et al further teaches wherein each Rydberg cell comprises: a container and atoms (i.e., Rydberg cells 122’, Figs. 2-4) therein having different energy states; and a plurality of lasers (i.e., probe laser 128’ and coupling laser 152’, Figs. 2-4) generating a plurality of respective different frequency laser beams into the Rydberg cell to selectively excite different energy states and generate the RF signal.
Regarding claim 7, Bucklew et al further teaches wherein the plurality of lasers comprises a probe laser (i.e., probe laser 128’, Figs. 2-4) configured to excite the atoms to a first energy state.
Regarding claim 8, Bucklew et al further teaches wherein the plurality of lasers comprises a coupling laser (i.e., coupling laser 152’, Figs. 2-4) configured to excite the atoms from the first energy state to a first Rydberg energy state.
Regarding claim 11, Bucklew et al further teaches comprising a controller (i.e., controller 160’, Figs.2-4) configured to selectively operate the plurality of lasers.
Regarding claim 13, referring to Figures 2-4, Bucklew et al further teaches a quantum radio frequency (RF) signal transmitter (i.e., Figs. 2-4) comprising:
a plurality of Rydberg cells (i.e., Rydberg cells 122’, Figs. 2-4), each Rydberg cell configured to generate a respective RF signal, and each Rydberg cell comprising a container and atoms therein having different energy states,
a plurality of lasers (i.e., probe laser 128’ and coupling laser 152’, Figs. 2-4) generating a plurality of respective different frequency laser beams into the Rydberg cell to selectively excite different energy states and generate the respective RF signal, and
a controller (i.e., controller 160’, Figs. 2-4) configured to selectively operate the plurality of lasers; and
a combiner (i.e., combiner Nx1 169b’’, Figs. 2-4) downstream from the plurality of Rydberg cells and configured to combine the respective RF signals into an output RF signal (i.e., Figures 2-4, col. 5, lines 16-67, and col. 6, lines 1-23).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 9, 10, 12, 15-18, 21-23 and 25 are objected to as being
dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure.
Hamilton (US Patent No. 11,777,614) discloses quantum communication transceiver based on quantum entangle atomic states.
Burton et al (Pub. No.: US 2025/0258211) discloses an electromagnetic field detector.
From the examiner should be directed to Hanh Phan whose telephone number is
(571)272-3035. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are
unsuccessful the examiner's supervisor, Kenneth Vanderpuye, can be
reached on (571)272-3078. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300. Any
inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or
proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number
is (703)305-4700.
/HANH PHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634