DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-20, 36, and 166) in the reply filed on 05/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “17a” has been used to designate both “a first tab” (paragraph [0044]) and “a first flange” (paragraph [0058]). Likewise, “17b” has been used to designate both “a second tab” (paragraph [0044]) and “a second flange” (paragraph [0058]). Although similar, the two elements referred to as “17a” and “17b” possess different features and are used differently; thus, they require distinct reference characters.
Further, Fig. 12 and 13 are objected to because “17a” seems to point to both the first flange and a gap between parts of the first flange. The Examiner suspects that the “17a” label at the top of the first sidewall in Fig. 12 and 13 should be changed to “17c” to indicate the notch instead.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the sidewall" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 recites “first and second sidewalls” (e.g., claim 1, line 4), as well as “the sidewalls” (e.g., claim 1, line 5), which the Examiner has interpreted as referencing the same elements. However, “a sidewall” is not defined in claim 1 or claim 12. Thus, it is not clear whether “the sidewall” in claim 12 refers to the first sidewall, the second sidewall, or whether it is simply a typo that should be changed to “the sidewalls”, referencing both. This ambiguity in definition renders claim 12 indefinite.
For the purposes of examination, based on the Examiner’s best understanding of the specification and drawings, the Examiner has interpreted “the sidewall” to be a typo, and has examined claim 12 as if it read “the engagement features include a plastically deformable portion of the sidewalls…” (lines 1-2).
Claim 16 recites that “the handle is configured for positioning the grip portion adjacent and in contact with the first sidewall and away from the first sidewall” (lines 1-3). However, it is not clear how the grip portion can be “adjacent and in contact” with the first sidewall while also being “away from” (which the Examiner interprets to mean not in contact with) the first sidewall. It is unclear if this limitation is intended to describe that the grip portion is attached to the first sidewall on one end and points away from the first sidewall on another end (as might describe element 2 in Fig. 1), or if the claim is intending to describe two separate positions, one where the grip portion is adjacent and in contact with the first sidewall, and another where the grip portion is not in contact with the first sidewall (as might describe element 22 in Fig. 16 and 17). Since the intended scope of the limitation is not clear, claim 16 is rendered indefinite.
For the purposes of examination, based on the Examiner’s best understanding of the specification and drawings, the Examiner has interpreted claim 16 as if it recites two potential positions for the grip portion, one “adjacent and in contact with” the first sidewall, and one “away from” (i.e. not in contact with) the first sidewall.
Note on 35 U.S.C. 112(d) Requirements:
A portion of 35 U.S.C. 112(d) recites that “a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth” (underline added by Examiner for emphasis). By this definition, claims 16, 17, 18, and 19 are unpatentable, as they are dependent upon independent claim 36, which is set forth after it’s dependent claims. However, the Examiner recognizes that if prosecution were to lead to an allowance, claim 36 would be renumbered, and claims 16-19 could be reordered at that time. Other than order, claims 16-19 are properly dependent upon claim 36, including all the limitations of claim 36 as well as further limiting the independent claim. Thus, the Examiner has not issued a 112(d) rejection on claims 16-19, with the understanding that these claims may require reordering in the future.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 6, 9, 10, 12, 14, 15, 20, 36, 16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Robinson (US 3,615,706). For clarity, bold text indicates claim language.
[Claim 1] Robinson teaches: A food holder (Fig. 1, element 10) configured for use with a toaster having a vertical cavity (Fig. 4 shows vertical orientation of a toaster 22) to receive and heat a food item (Abstract) and a plurality of heating elements associated with the vertical cavity (toasters are known in the art to comprise a heating element on each side of a toasting cavity), the food holder comprising:
first and second sidewalls (annotated in Fig. 3 below) having portions spaced apart from each other to define a space between the sidewalls (col. 1, lines 10-13) to receive the food item (Fig. 1, element 11); and
engagement features (annotated in Fig. 3 below) at a periphery of the first and second sidewalls (Fig. 1, elements 12, 15, and 16) configured to be manipulated by hand (col. 2, lines 1-9 teaches that the first and second sidewalls are made of aluminum foil, which is known to be manually deformable) to secure the first and second sidewalls to each other (Fig. 2, element 12 and Fig. 3, elements 15 and 16 are folded to connect the sidewalls of the food holder 10) and disconnect the first and second sidewalls from each other to remove the food item from the space (col. 2, lines 58-62), the engagement features including a manually manipulable, plastically deformable element (the elements 12, 15, and 16 are made of aluminum foil are thus foldable) to secure a portion of the first and second sidewalls together (col. 2, lines 1-9),
wherein the first and second sidewalls secured together by the engagement features (Fig. 2 and 3) are configured for insertion into the vertical cavity (Fig. 4) to heat the food item in the space between the first and second sidewalls (Abstract).
[Claim 5] Robinson further teaches: The food holder of claim 1, wherein the space (Fig. 1, the space is defined within the border created by elements 12, 15, 16, and 17) is completely enclosed by the first and second sidewalls with the engagement features engaged with each other (Fig. 1, the bottom 17 is continuous material, while the top and sides 12, 15, and 16 are folded shut, meaning all edges are sealed and thus the space within is completely enclosed).
[Claim 6] Robinson further teaches: The food holder of claim 1, wherein the engagement features include a first flange (annotated in Fig. 3 above) on the periphery of the first sidewall (annotated in Fig. 3 above) and a second flange (annotated in Fig. 3 above) on the periphery of the second sidewall (annotated in Fig. 3 above), wherein the first flange is configured to receive and be plastically deformed around a portion of the second flange to secure the first and second sidewalls together (annotate Fig. 3, the first flange wraps around the second flange, preventing the two sidewalls from separating).
[Claim 9] Robinson further teaches: The food holder of claim 6, wherein the peripheries of the first and second sidewalls have a rectangular shape (Fig. 1, the perimeter of the first and second sidewalls is created by elements 12, 15, 16, and 17, which form a rectangle).
[Claim 10] Robinson further teaches: The food holder of claim 1, wherein the first and second sidewalls are completely unperforated (Fig. 1 and 4 show no holes or perforations within food holder 10; col. 2, lines 1-4 teaches that the sidewalls are formed from a folded sheet of aluminum foil which would not cause or require perforations; and col. 3, lines 5-14 teaches that food holder is intended to encompass the food within an electrically nonconductive exterior, the purpose of which would be counteracted if the food holder were perforated).
[Claim 12] Robinson further teaches: The food holder of claim 1, wherein the engagement features include a plastically deformable portion of the sidewall configured to be plastically deformed by hand and without tools (col. 2, lines 1-9 teaches that the first and second sidewalls are made of aluminum foil, which is known to be manually deformable, and have folded edges, which is a technique that can be performed by hand and does not require tools).
[Claim 14] Robinson further teaches: The food holder of claim 1, further comprising a handle (Fig. 1, 2, and 4, elements 13 and 18) attached to the first sidewall (col. 2, lines 21-22), the handle configured to support the first and second sidewalls for positioning the first and second sidewalls and the food item in the vertical cavity (Fig. 4, element 13; col. 2, lines 21-24) and for removing the first and second sidewalls and the food item from the vertical cavity (col. 2, lines 45-47).
[Claim 15] Robinson further teaches: The food holder of claim 14, wherein the handle includes a grip portion (Fig. 4, element 13) that is movable relative to the first sidewall (Fig. 1, element 13; col. 2, lines 24-27).
[Claim 20] Robinson further teaches: The food holder of claim 1, further comprising:
the food item (Fig. 1, element 11) positioned in the space (Fig. 1, area within element 10), wherein the engagement features are engaged to position the peripheries of the first and second sidewalls adjacent each other (col. 2, lines 1-7) and enclose the food item in the space (Fig. 1; col. 2, lines 7-9), and
a handle (Fig. 1, 2, and 4, elements 13 and 18) attached to the first sidewall (col. 2, lines 21-22), the handle configured to support the first and second sidewalls for positioning the first and second sidewalls and the food item in the vertical cavity (Fig. 4, element 13; col. 2, lines 21-24) and for removing the first and second sidewalls and the food item from the vertical cavity (col. 2, lines 45-47), the handle having a grip portion (Fig. 4, element 13) that is movable toward and away from the first sidewall (Fig. 1 and 4, element 13; col. 2, lines 24-27).
[Claim 36] Robinson teaches: A food holder (Fig. 1, element 10) configured for use with a toaster having a vertical cavity (Fig. 4 shows vertical orientation of a toaster 22) to receive and heat a food item (Abstract) and a plurality of heating elements associated with the vertical cavity (toasters are known in the art to comprise a heating element on each side of a toasting cavity), the food holder comprising:
first and second sidewalls (annotated in Fig. 3 above) configured to define a space between the sidewalls (col. 1, lines 10-13) to receive and hold the food item (col. 1, lines 71-72); and
a handle (Fig. 1, 2, and 4, elements 13 and 18) attached to the first sidewall (col. 2, lines 21-22), the handle configured to support the first and second sidewalls for positioning the first and second sidewalls and the food item in the vertical cavity (Fig. 4, element 13; col. 2, lines 21-24) and for removing the first and second sidewalls and the food item from the vertical cavity (col. 2, lines 45-47), the handle including a grip portion (Fig. 4, element 13) that is movable relative to the first sidewall (Fig. 1, element 13; col. 2, lines 24-27),
wherein the first and second sidewalls are configured for insertion into the vertical cavity (Fig. 4) to heat the food item in the space between the first and second sidewalls (Abstract).
[Claim 16] Robinson further teaches: The food holder of claim 36, wherein the handle is configured for positioning the grip portion (Fig. 1 and 4, element 13) adjacent and in contact with the first sidewall (col. 2, lines 24-25) and away from the first sidewall (col. 2, lines 25-27).
[Claim 18] Robinson further teaches: The food holder of claim 36, wherein a part of the handle (Fig. 1 and 5, element 14) is plastically deformable to permit movement of the grip portion relative to the first sidewall (col. 2, lines 71-73).
[Claim 19] Robinson further teaches: The food holder of claim 36, wherein the first and second sidewalls are formed of an unperforated and/or impervious metal sheet material (Fig. 1 and 4 show no holes or perforations within food holder 10; col. 2, lines 1-4 teaches that the sidewalls are formed from a folded sheet of aluminum foil which would not cause or require perforations; and col. 3, lines 5-14 teaches that food holder is intended to encompass the food within an electrically nonconductive exterior, the purpose of which would be counteracted if the food holder were perforated) and include a concave inner surface to define the space (col. 2, lines 1-7, opening the pouch defined by the first and second sidewalls at the top 12, would force the first and second sidewalls to bow in a concave shape).
Claims 1, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller (US 3,056,344). For clarity, bold text indicates claim language.
[Claim 1] Miller teaches: A food holder (Fig. 4 and 5, element 13) configured for use with a toaster (Fig. 1, element 10) having a vertical cavity (Fig. 3, element 35) to receive and heat a food item (Fig. 5, element 84) and a plurality of heating elements (Fig. 3, element 54) associated with the vertical cavity (Fig. 3, elements 46 and 47), the food holder comprising:
first and second sidewalls (Fig. 4 and 5, elements 57 and 58) having portions spaced apart from each other to define a space between the sidewalls (Fig. 5 shows a gap between elements 57 and 58) to receive the food item (Fig. 5, element 84); and
engagement features (Fig. 4 and 5, elements 76 and 77) at a periphery of the first and second sidewalls (Fig. 4 and 5, elements 64, 65, 64a and 65a) configured to be manipulated by hand to secure the first and second sidewalls to each other (col. 5, lines 59-63) and disconnect the first and second sidewalls from each other (col. 5, lines 53-56) to remove the food item from the space (col. 5, lines 56-59 teach how to put food in the space, but the same method would be used to remove the food), the engagement features including a manually manipulable, plastically deformable element (Fig. 4 and 5, element 78) to secure a portion of the first and second sidewalls together (col. 4, lines 55-69),
wherein the first and second sidewalls (Fig. 4 and 5, elements 57 and 58) secured together by the engagement features (Fig. 4 and 5, elements 76 and 77) are configured for insertion into the vertical cavity (col. 6, lines 25-28) to heat the food item in the space between the first and second sidewalls (col. 6, lines 19-28).
[Claim 11] Miller further teaches: The food holder of claim 1, wherein the engagement features (Fig. 4 and 5, elements 76 and 77) are configured to engage with each other (Fig. 4 and 5, elements, 78, 82, and 83) to define a distance between the first and second sidewalls (col. 5, lines 4-8).
[Claim 13] Miller further teaches: The food holder of claim 1, wherein the manually manipulable, plastically deformable element (Fig. 4 and 5, elements 78 and 83) is configured to be moved by hand between an engaged position and a disengaged (col. 5, lines 53-63) position a plurality of times (col. 7, lines 8-11 teach that the engagement mechanism can accommodate different thicknesses and shapes of foods, implying that the food holder is intended for multiple uses).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson (US 3,615,706), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gaskins (US 4,452,131). For clarity, bold text indicates claim language.
[Claim 4] Robinson teaches the food holder of claim 1, but does not teach that the engagement features are operable to pull the first and second sidewalls towards each other. Gaskins teaches a “food support device [that] has first and second planar grill members between which food items are positioned” (Gaskins, Abstract). These first and second sidewalls (Gaskins, Fig. 1, elements 10 and 14), are attached via engagement features (Gaskins, Fig. 1-3, element 20), wherein the engagement features are operable to pull the first and second sidewalls towards each other (Gaskins, Fig. 2; col. 2, lines 56-62) and reduce the distance between the first and second sidewalls (Gaskins, col. 1, line 68 – col. 2, line 1).
Robinson is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of food holders for use in a toaster. Gaskins is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of food holders for cooking. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the engagement features of Gaskins onto the food holder and first and second sidewalls of Robinson to pull the first and second sidewalls toward each other. This addition would be advantageous as it would ensure that the food item was maintained within the first and second sidewalls even if the bottom or an edge of the sidewalls broke.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson (US 3,615,706), as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Virnig (US 3,672,916). For clarity, bold text indicates claim language.
[Claim 7] Robinson teaches the food holder of claim 6 but does not teach that the first flange has an annular shape with an L shaped cross section nor that the second flange has a flat annular shape. Virnig teaches a container that holds and secures a food item during cooking (Virnig, col. 1, lines 29-33). The food holder (Virnig, Fig. 1, element 10) comprises a tray (Virnig, Fig. 1, element 12) and a lid (Virnig, Fig. 1, element 14) connected together by a first flange (Virnig, Fig. 2, element 15) on the periphery of the tray that wraps around a second flange (Virnig., Fig. 2, element 28) on the periphery of the lid. The first flange has an annular shape (Virnig, Fig. 1 and 2, element 15 follows the circumference of the tray 12) with an L shaped cross section (Virnig, Fig. 2, element 15 has an L shape visible on the left and right side of the tray 12) and the second flange has a flat annular shape (Virnig, Fig. 2, element 28 is planar with the rest of the lid 14, and lines it’s circumference).
Virnig is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of invention of food holders for cooking. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second sidewalls of Robinson so that the first sidewall had an L shaped, annular first flange and the second sidewall had a flat, annular second flange, as taught by Virnig. This modification would be beneficial, as the first flange would encompass the second flange completely, ensuring that the first and second sidewalls were securely connected.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson (US 3,615,706), as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Loftin (US 2020/0205612 A1). For clarity, bold text indicates claim language.
[Claim 8] Robinson teaches the food holder of claim 6 but does not teach that the peripheries of the first and second sidewalls have a circular shape. Loftin teaches a “culinary utensil [that] may be used to retain a food product and may be for a toaster” (Loftin, paragraph [0007]). Specifically, Loftin teaches a food holder (Loftin, Fig. 3A, element 300) with first and second sidewalls (Loftin, Fig. 3A, elements 311 and 313), wherein the peripheries of the first and second sidewalls have a circular shape (Loftin, paragraph [0074]).
Loftin is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of food holders for insertion in a toaster. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the first and second sidewalls of Robinson, so that their peripheries have a circular shape, as taught by Loftin. This modification would be advantageous, as it would allow foods of different shapes or sizes to be securely enclosed within the food holder.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson (US 3,615,706), as applied to claim 36 above, and further in view of Chalin et al. (US 3,873,735). For clarity, bold text indicates claim language.
[Claim 17] Robinson teaches: The food holder of claim 36, wherein the grip portion is positionable above top ends of the first and second sidewalls (Robinson, Fig. 4, elements 13 are above the sidewalls that create the space where the food 11 is enclosed). However, Robinson does not teach that the grip portion is between the lateral ends of the first and second sidewalls nor that the plane of the grip portion is offset from the planes of the first and second sidewalls, such that a plane of the first sidewall is between a plane of the second sidewall and the grip portion.
Chalin et al. teaches “packages … which contain food and … may be heated by inserting the package in an electric toaster” (Chalin et al., Abstract). Specifically, Chalin et al. teaches a food holder (Chalin et al., Fig. 29-31, element 900) with first and second sidewalls (Chalin et al., Fig. 30, elements 904 and 908; annotated in Fig. 30 below) and a handle (Chalin et al., Fig. 30, element 912) with a grip portion (Chalin et al., Fig. 30, element 940) that is movable relative to the first sidewall (Chalin et al., Fig. 29-31, element 940 is folded up from a position flush with the first sidewall 904). Further, the grip portion is positionable in a location that is between lateral ends of the first and second sidewalls (Chalin et al., col. 17, lines 31-34 teaches that the handle 912 with the grip portion 940 is an extension of the first sidewall 904, and thus is located in between lateral ends of the sidewalls), above top ends of the first and second sidewalls (Chalin et al., Fig. 30 and 31 show element 940 extended above elements 904 and 908), and is offset (Chalin et al., col. 17, lines 59-65) from the planes of the first and second sidewalls (Chalin et al., annotated in Fig. 30 below), such that a plane of the first sidewall is between a plane of the
second sidewall and the grip portion (Chalin et al., annotated in Fig. 30 below).
Chalin et al. is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of invention of food holders for insertion into a toaster. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handle of Robinson so that the grip portion was positioned offset from the planes of and between the lateral ends of the first and second sidewalls, as taught by Chalin et al. This modification would be advantageous as it would allow a user to remove the food holder by a grip portion that was further from, and out of the path of radiation of, the heating element of the toaster.
Claim 166 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson (US 3,615,706), as applied to claim 36 above, and further in view of Burton (2008/0087268 A1). For clarity, bold text indicates claim language.
[Claim 166] Robinson teaches the food holder of claim 36 but does not teach the existence of first and second lateral end walls connected between the first and second sidewalls that include a fold line. Burton teaches “a cooking bag for supporting a food item … [in a] grill” (Burton, Abstract). This food holder (Burton, Fig. 2, element 110B) comprises a first and second sidewall (Burton, Fig. 2, unlabeled long sides of the food holder, into which elements 114B are punched) and first and second lateral end walls connected between the first and second sidewalls (Burton, Fig. 2 element 124). The first and second lateral end walls (Burton, Fig. 2, element 124) including a fold line (Burton, Fig. 2, shown as a solid line in between the sidewalls) configured to permit the first and second lateral end walls to accommodate movement of the first and second sidewalls towards each other (Burton, paragraph [0039] teaches that the side folds can expand for thicker foods, which means they can also contract for thinner foods, allowing the sidewalls to move closer together).
Burton is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of food holders for cooking. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect the first and second sidewalls of Robinson with first and second later end walls with a fold line, as taught by Burton. This addition would be advantageous as it would provide space to accommodate thicker pieces of food without breaking the food holder.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
[Claim 2] The prior art made of record does not teach that the engagement features include at least one twist tie.
[Claim 3] Although Miller teaches a set of first and second tabs attached to the sidewalls, the prior art made of record does not teach that the first and second tabs are configured to engage with each other.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Masel et al. (US 5,970,851) teaches a food holder with two side panels attached by a clip with a hinge
Florenza (US 4,290,349) teaches a food holder for a toaster that includes hinged sidewalls that can get closer or further from each other, reducing or expanding the distance between the sidewalls.
Bono et al. (US 5,728,416) teaches a container for holding food in a toaster where the side edges are held together by folding
Wallard (US 3,831,508) teaches a container for cooking an egg with a tray with a circular concave depression and a lid that has a flange that wraps around a lip of the tray.
/EMC/Examiner,
Art Unit 3632
/TERRELL L MCKINNON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3632