DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 07/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 05/02/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boshaw et al. (US 2022/0009193), and further in view of Berbert et al. (US 2020/0324526).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Boshaw discloses a fiber-based shipping container (0018) made entirely of paper material (0017; fibers) comprising:
a panel (16, 18) defining a web width (Fig. 1C-E, 0059, 0165))
a corrugated medium (20, 22) defining a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface, where the second surface is adhered to the first panel and provides cushioning (Fig. 1C-E, 0059, 0062, 0164)
the corrugated medium defining a padding width which is less than the web width, thereby defining a first overhang (40, 44) extending between a first edge of the corrugated medium and a first edge of the panel, and a second overhang (42, 26) extending between a second edge of the corrugated medium and the second edge of the panel (Fig. 1D),
the corrugated medium formed of a plurality of tubular structures wherein each of the plurality of tubular structures defines a longitudinal axis extending along the web width (Fig. 1C),
heat activated adhesive disposed on the first and second overhangs (0150, 0161, Fig. 11C).
Boshaw does not teach a heat seal coating disposed on the first surface of the corrugated medium.
Berbert, in the analogous field of recyclable composite packaging (0001), discloses a film comprising a sealant layer which is applied as a heat seal coating (0067).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the corrugated medium of Boshaw to include a sealant coating on the first surface, as taught by Berbert, to help form a bond to the film layer itself or to other packaging components (0066).
As Boshaw teaches a heat seal adhesive and Berbert teaches a sealant material the first heat seal coating and the second heat seal coating are different.
Regarding claim 2, Boshaw teaches first and second panel includes score lines as a folding point (0075, Fig. 1C).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Berbert discloses the sealant comprising heat seal material and wax (0067).
Regarding claim 11, Boshaw teaches the corrugated medium can be pre-crushed (0193).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boshaw, in view of Berbert as applied to claim 3 above and further in view of Balloni et al. (US 4,956,232).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, modified Boshaw discloses the limitations of claim 3 as discussed above. Boshaw in view of Berbert do not disclose a suitable amount of wax added to the heat seal coating.
Balloni, in the analogous field of packaging films (column 2, lines 15-20) discloses a film comprising a heat sealable layer comprising wax (column 4, lines 30-35). Wax added in an amount of about 5 to about 15 wt% of the heat seal layer (column 4, lines 40-45), overlapping the claimed at least 3% and less than 50 wt% as claimed in claims 5 and 6, respectively.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious for the sealant layer of modified Boshaw to include wax in an amount of 5 to 15 wt% as taught by Balloni, resulting in superior appearance and physical performance of the heat sealable film (column 4, lines 35-40).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boshaw, in view of Berbert as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of McKee (US 3,033,708).
Regarding claims 7-9, modified Boshaw disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Boshaw in view of Berbert do not disclose the at least one layer of sealant material comprising a layer of anti-stick material which is wax.
McKee, in the analogous field of corrugated paperboard (column 1, lines 10-15), discloses a corrugated cardboard sheet structure coating with wax (column 3, lines 10-20).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious for the composite of Boshaw in view of Berbert to be coated with wax, as taught by Mckee, including over the sealant layer surface, improving resistance to water and/or water vapor while maintaining strength (column 2, lines 10-15).
Correspondence
/ALICIA J WEYDEMEYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781