DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
The following is a NON-FINAL Office action upon examination of application number 18/809,416 filed on 08/20/2024. Claims 1-11 are pending in this application, and have been examined on the merits discussed below.
Priority
Application 18/809,416 filed 08/20/2024 claims foreign priority to PI2024000716, filed 02/01/2024.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Malaysia, filed 02/01/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of application PI2024000716, application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, 7, and 10-11 are objected to because of the following informalities: reference numerals in parentheses/grammatical errors.
Claims 1-3 and 10-11 use reference numerals (i.e., “server (103)”) in the claims. As per MPEPE608.01(m) and 37 C.F.R.1.75(d)(1): “The claim or claims must conform to the invention as set forth in the remainder of the specification and the terms and phrases used in the claims must find clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description.” Reference characters corresponding to elements recited in the Specification should not be used in the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 recites “The multi-tenancy VR system according to Claim 1, wherein the source code module comprises three-dimensional model and coding assets.” The phrase “comprises three-dimensional model and coding asset” lacks proper grammatical structure. Applicant is advised to amend the claim to recite “a three-dimensional model” to ensure grammatical consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
8. Claim 1 recites “A multi-tenancy virtual reality, VR, system for providing hands-on VR environment, training, and evaluation therefor, characterised in that, the multi- tenancy VR system comprising: a central platform (100) comprising a user platform (101) and a back office (102) connected to a server (103); and a VR training module (200) in communication with the central platform (100) comprising a source code module (201) configured for selectively rendering one or more VR contents representing the hands-on VR environment, training, and evaluation to a trainee on the user platform (101) via the server (103), wherein the source code module (201) comprises a VR plugin or component having a division code embedded therein, which permits real-time data tracking by the VR plugin or component that collects division data, including time taken and status of division completion by the trainee with respect to the one or more VR contents rendered thereof.” First, the phrase “selectively rendering” is ambiguous because “selectively” is a relative term. What does “selectively” mean? Based on what criteria? Therefore, this limitation does not provide clear boundaries for the claimed function. Second, the claim contains a long, nested sentence with multiple clauses and prepositions, which may result in syntactic ambiguity. For example, it is unclear if “thereof” at the end refers to “VR content,” “the trainee,” or something else. Therefore, the scope of the claim is not reasonably clear toa person of ordinary skill in the art, and the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C.112(b). low. Independent claim 11 recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is therefore found to be indefinite for the reasons provided above. Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
9. Claim 10 recites “The multi-tenancy VR system according to Claim 1, wherein the server (103) includes a cloud server, an on-premises server, and any combination thereof comprising a database from which the one or more VR contents, online and/or offline, are communicated between the VR training module (200) and the user platform (101), and from which the token code transmitted from the VR plugin is authenticated.” The claim is indefinite for the following reasons: 1) It is unclear whether each server (cloud, on-premises) individually comprises a database, or whether the combination of servers collectively comprises a single shared database, or whether only some combinations include a database. This renders the scope of the claim uncertain, as it is not clear what structure; arrangements is required to meet this limitation. 2) The phrase “online and/or offline” in the context of the “VR contents” is vague. It is unclear whether the VR contents themselves are stored in both online and offline formats, or whether this refers to the mode of transmission (e.g., streaming vs. local playback), or whether it refers to the availability status of the content (e.g., content cached for offline use). This lacks of clarity makes it difficult to ascertain the limitations of the content delivery system. 3) The overall sentence structure makes it unclear: which part of the systems is responsible for content delivery, and which part handles authentication, whether the database is involved in both functions, or only one, whether the functions are optional or mandatory components of the server. Because of the above ambiguities, claims 10 fails to particularly point out and distinctively claim the subject matter regarded as the invention, and therefore does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C.112(b). Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
10. All claims dependent from above rejected claims are also rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
12. Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
13. Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The eligibility analysis in support of these findings is provided below, in accordance with MPEP 2106.
With respect to Step 1 of the eligibility inquiry (as explained in MPEP 2106), it is first noted that the system (claims 1-10) and method (claim 11) is directed to at least one potentially eligible category of subject matter (i.e., machine and process, respectively). Thus, Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility test for claims 1-11 is satisfied.
With respect to Step 2A Prong One, it is next noted that the claims recite an abstract idea that falls into the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” abstract idea set forth in MPEP because the claims recite steps for managing employee training and evaluation, which encompasses activity for managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions (e.g., following rules or instructions). With respect to independent claim 1, the limitations reciting the abstract idea are indicated in bold below: a central platform (100) comprising a user platform (101) and a back office (102) connected to a server (103); and a VR training module (200) in communication with the central platform (100) comprising a source code module (201) configured for selectively rendering one or more VR contents representing the hands-on VR environment, training, and evaluation to a trainee on the user platform (101) via the server (103), wherein the source code module (201) comprises a VR plugin or component having a division code embedded therein, which permits real-time data tracking by the VR plugin or component that collects division data, including time taken and status of division completion by the trainee with respect to the one or more VR contents rendered thereof. These steps are organizing human activity by managing interactions between people by following rules, or instructions.
Therefore, because the limitations above set forth activities falling within the “Certain methods of organizing human activity” abstract idea grouping described in MPEP 2106, the additional elements recited in the claims are further evaluated, individually and in combination, under Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B below. Independent claim 11 recites similar limitations as those discussed above and is therefore found to recite the same or substantially the same abstract idea as claim 1.
With respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. With respect to independent claims 1/11, the additional elements are: a central platform (100) comprising a user platform (101) and a back office (102) connected to a server (103); and a VR training module (200) in communication with the central platform (100) comprising a source code module (201) configured, one or more VR contents representing the hands-on VR environment, and a VR plugin or component having a division code embedded therein (claim 1); a multi-tenancy VR system comprising a central platform (100) having a user platform (101) and a back office (102) connected to a server (103), and a VR training module (200) in communication with the central platform (100) comprising a source code module (201), a VR plugin or component having a division code embedded therein, and one or more VR contents representing the hands-on VR environment (claim 11). These additional elements have been evaluated, but fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they amount to using generic computing elements or computer-executable instructions (software) to perform the abstract idea, similar to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), and merely serve to link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. See MPEP 2106.05(f) and 2106.05(h). Even if the step for collecting is not deemed part of the abstract idea, this step is at most directed to insignificant extra-solution data gathering activity, which is not sufficient to amount to a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g). In addition, these limitations fail to provide an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field, fail to apply the exception with a particular machine, fail to apply the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, fail to effect a transformation of a particular article to a different state or thing, and fail to apply/use the abstract idea in a meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, because the Step 2A Prong One and Prong Two analysis resulted in the conclusion that the claims are directed to an abstract idea, additional analysis under Step 2B of the eligibility inquiry must be conducted in order to determine whether any claim element or combination of elements amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With respect to Step 2B of the eligibility inquiry, it has been determined that the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. With respect to independent claims 1/11, the additional elements are: a central platform (100) comprising a user platform (101) and a back office (102) connected to a server (103); and a VR training module (200) in communication with the central platform (100) comprising a source code module (201) configured, one or more VR contents representing the hands-on VR environment, and a VR plugin or component having a division code embedded therein (claim 1); a multi-tenancy VR system comprising a central platform (100) having a user platform (101) and a back office (102) connected to a server (103), and a VR training module (200) in communication with the central platform (100) comprising a source code module (201), a VR plugin or component having a division code embedded therein, and one or more VR contents representing the hands-on VR environment (claim 11). These elements have been considered individually and in combination, but fail to add significantly more to the claims because they amount to using generic computing elements or instructions (software) to perform the abstract idea, similar to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), and merely serve to link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment and does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Notably, Applicant’s Specification suggests that virtually any type of computing device under the sun can be used to implement the claimed invention (Specification at paragraph [0076]). Accordingly, the generic computer involvement in performing the claim steps merely serves to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, which does not add significantly more to the claim. See, e.g., Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. 2347, 110 USPQ2d 1976.). Next, the step for collecting is considered insignificant extra-solution activity, which has been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional, and thus insufficient to add significantly more to the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(d).
With respect to reliance on “VR training module” to render one or more VR contents representing the hands-on VR environment, training, and evaluation to a trainee, it is noted that that the claimed use of a VR training module is recited at a high level of generality and these elements amount to well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in the art, which does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. See, e.g., Horseman et al., US 2017/0162072 A1 (paragraph 0007: “a conventional virtual reality simulation training method may provide a three-dimensional (3D) training environment”).
In addition, when taken as an ordered combination, the ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation. Therefore, when viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea or that, as an ordered combination, amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Dependent claims 2-10 recite the same abstract idea as recited in the independent claims, and when evaluated under Step 2A Prong One are found to merely recite details that serve to narrow the same abstract idea recited in the independent claims accompanied by the same generic computing elements or software as those addressed above in the discussion of the independent claims, which is not sufficient to amount to a practical application or add significantly more, or other additional elements that fail to amount to a practical application or add significantly more, as noted above. In particular, dependent claims 2-10 recite “permits access authentication and that communicates a token code,” “permits data upload and pairing,” “wherein the division code is represented by a string of alphanumerical characters,” “wherein the module code is represented by a string of alphanumerical characters,” “wherein the tenant code is represented by a string of alphanumerical characters,” “wherein the source code module comprises three-dimensional model and coding assets,” “permitting real-time data tracking, collects sub-procedure data including time taken and status of sub-procedure completion by the trainee, procedure data including time taken and status of procedure completion by the trainee, and chapter data including time taken and status of chapter completion by the trainee, respectively,” “accumulates the sub-procedure data collected thereof to produce the procedure data, which, in turn, is accumulated to produce the chapter data which accumulatively becomes module session data,” “the one or more contents are communicated between, the token code transmitted is authenticated”, however these limitations cover organizing human activity since they flow directly from the employee training evaluation involving human interaction, which encompasses activity for managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions (e.g., following rules or instructions), which is part of the same abstract idea as addressed in the independent claims that falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” abstract idea grouping. Dependent claims recite additional elements of: an access authentication component embedded therein (claim 2), a module code and a tenant code embedded therein (claim 3), a sub-procedure code, a procedure code, and a chapter code adapted for(claim 8), wherein the server (103) includes a cloud server, an on-premises server, and any combination thereof comprising a database from which the one or more VR contents, online and/or offline, are communicated between the VR training module (200) and the user platform (101). However, when evaluated under Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B, these additional elements do not amount to a practical application or significantly more since they merely require generic computing devices (or computer-implemented instructions/code) which as noted in the discussion of the independent claims above is not enough to render the claims as eligible.
The ordered combination of elements in the dependent claims (including the limitations inherited from the parent claim(s)) add nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation. Accordingly, the subject matter encompassed by the dependent claims fails to amount to a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
For more information, see MPEP 2106.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
18. Claims 1-3 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pandit et al., Pub. No.: US 2024/0064142 A1, [hereinafter Pandit], in view of Pike et al., Pub. No.: US 2019/0392728 A1, [hereinafter Pike].
As per claim 1, Pandit teaches a multi-tenancy virtual reality, VR, system for providing hands-on VR environment, training, and evaluation therefor, characterised in that, the multi- tenancy VR system (paragraph 0005: “a virtual reality (VR) and/or augmented reality (AR) system configured to adopt VR/AR technologies for the purpose of training and facilitating workforce functionality to users for completion of the task”; paragraph 0057: “the provider's computing resources are pooled to serve multiple consumers using a multi-tenant model, with different physical and virtual resources dynamically assigned and reassigned…”) comprising:
a central platform (100) comprising a user platform (101) and a back office (102) connected to a server (103) (paragraph 0024, discussing a centralized platform configured to allow administrators, admin, users, or any other applicable party to view individual related information (e.g. user data, security credentials, skills/qualifications, etc.), task related information, group related information, or any other applicable useful information known to those of ordinary skill in the art; paragraph 0026, discussing that data associated with skills, expertise, qualifications, individual characteristics, etc. are provided via user inputs received on the centralized platform. In addition, the centralized platform may allow administrators, admin, etc. to view individual related information, which may be associated with a spreadsheet or other applicable visual depiction included within a dedicated software application with a graphical user interface. In some embodiments, an interactive spreadsheet is provided to users within the virtual reality environment hosted on the centralized platform; paragraph 0020, discussing that a system may be a single device or a collection of distributed devices that are adapted to execute one or more embodiments of the methods of the invention. For instance, a system may be a server or a collection of PCs and/or servers connected via a network such as a local area network, the Internet and so on to cooperatively execute at least one embodiment of the methods of the invention; paragraph 0022, discussing that the environment includes a server communicatively coupled to a database, an authorization module communicatively coupled to an authorization database, an activity-based grouping module, and a security access module communicatively coupled to a security access database, each of which are communicatively coupled over a network; paragraph 0030, discussing an input component that receives data derived from one or more of server and inputs associated with users (e.g. wearable devices, audio/visual entertainment devices, computing devices, image capture devices, keyboards, etc.). Input component is further designed to detect or poll available input devices connected to, in communication with, or accessible by authorization module; paragraph 0053, discussing that cloud computing is a model of service delivery for enabling convenient, on-demand network access to a shared pool of configurable computing resources (e.g. networks, network bandwidth, servers, processing, memory, storage, applications, virtual machines, and services) that can be rapidly provisioned and released with minimal management effort or interaction with a provider of the service; paragraph 0082, discussing that the computer readable program instructions may execute entirely on the user's computer, partly on the user's computer, as a stand-alone software package, partly on the user's computer and partly on a remote computer or entirely on the remote computer or server; paragraphs 0036, 0048, 0086); and
a VR training module (200) in communication with the central platform (100) comprising a source code module (201) configured for selectively rendering one or more VR contents representing the hands-on VR environment, training, and evaluation to a trainee on the user platform (101) via the server (103) (paragraph 0005, discussing a virtual reality (VR) and/or augmented reality (AR) system configured to adopt VR/AR technologies for the purpose of training and facilitating workforce functionality to users for completion of the task; paragraph 0024, discussing a virtual reality (VR) and/or augmented reality (AR) system configured to adopt VR/AR technologies for the purpose of training and facilitating workforce functionality to users for completion of the task. The disclosure provides dynamic creation of groupings of individuals for workforces to complete tasks in which indicators are allocated to individuals within a virtual environment to designate whether the authorization module has authorized a particular individual and/or group for performing a task and/or access to a restricted area or resource associated with the task. The indicators may include an assigned color, marking, or any other applicable visual cue to an avatar representative of the individual within the virtual environment; paragraph 0030, discussing that a virtualization component is utilized to dynamically generate a framework within the virtual reality/augmented reality/mixed reality environment based on user preferences along with present user interactions and indicators associated with the task within the virtual environment ; paragraph 0021, discussing that the embodiments have the capacity to evaluate skillsets of individuals for a particular task…Furthermore, virtual reality, augmented reality, and mixed reality environments are provide to facilitate the functioning of the embodiments),
wherein the source code module (201) comprises a VR plugin or component having a division code embedded therein, which permits real-time data tracking by the VR plugin or component that collects division data (paragraph 0027, discussing activity-based grouping module insights relating to formulating groups for a task such as but not limited to probability of collaboration among individuals, ascertaining skill gaps for a task, generating individual-specific analytics based on real-time monitoring (e.g., IOT sensors, etc.) of the individual during performance of one or more of the plurality of activities associated with the task. The activity-based grouping module is further configured to calculate the aggregate skill score which may be based on individual workforce scores calculated for each individual; paragraph 0033, discussing real-time analysis of performance of said activities at both an individual level and a group level; paragraph 0046, discussing that once access credentials have been granted by the security access module, the activity-based grouping module may continue to utilize data derived from IOT sensors in order to ascertain analytics associated with the performance and completion of the task at an individual and group level. The IOT sensor-derived data may be utilized as a source of training data by a machine learning module in order to generate predictions relating to required skillsets and group task authentication threshold for particular tasks).
While Pandit describes collects division data, it does not explicitly teach that the division data includes time taken and status of division completion by the trainee with respect to the one or more VR contents rendered thereof. However, Pike in the analogous art of virtual reality training and evaluation systems teaches this concept. Pike teaches:
collects division data, including time taken and status of division completion by the trainee with respect to the one or more VR contents rendered thereof (paragraph 0004, discussing a virtual reality training and evaluation system; paragraph 0275, discussing that all user interactions are monitored in real-time by the VR (virtual reality) simulation system and/or evaluation system and logged within a database. In one embodiment, the VR training and evaluation system is automated; paragraph 0284, discussing that the step-process evaluation may further evaluate a user based on an amount of time required to complete individual tasks and/or subtasks by comparing an individual task and/or subtask completion time to a preferred completion time….The evaluation system may further notify the user if any subtasks took too long to complete (e.g., as compared to a defined amount of time specified in the step-process criteria; paragraph 0285, discussing that the user interactions may also be compared to the efficiency criteria to determine an efficiency evaluation for the user's completion of a task or subtask. In one embodiment, the efficiency criteria may include a preferred completion time of one or more of the tasks or subtasks. The user's progress within a task may be timed, wherein the completion of the task or subtasks by the user may be time stamped and compared to the preferred time stamp completion times stored in the efficiency criteria…; paragraph 0287, discussing that the duration of time required to complete a task (i.e., the virtual training program) and/or subtask by the user may be tracked from start to finish by the evaluation system; paragraph 0292, discussing that the VR simulation system may be configured to evaluate multiple users using multiple VR devices at the same time. The multiple users may be simultaneously trained through interaction with a virtual environment in real time).
Pandit is directed towards a virtual reality (VR) system configured to adopt VR technologies for the purpose of training and facilitating workforce functionality to users for completion of the task. Pike is directed towards a virtual reality training and evaluation system. Therefore, they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards solutions for performance evaluation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Pandit with Pike because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for performance evaluation, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (systems and method for training performance evaluation), and because modifying Pandit to include Pike’s feature for collecting division data, including time taken and status of division completion by the trainee with respect to the one or more VR contents rendered thereof, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of improving the training and evaluation process (Pike at paragraph 0002); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 2, the Pandit-Pike combination teaches the multi-tenancy VR system according to Claim 1. Pandit further teaches wherein the VR plugin or component comprises an access authentication component embedded therein, which permits access authentication by the VR plugin or component that communicates a token code received from the user platform (101) with the server (103) (paragraph 0024, discussing that the authorization process is based on data collected by server and/or any of the aforementioned modules in which the authorization module evaluates the task authentication credentials of an individual…; paragraph 0025, discussing that the authorization module is designed to utilize one or more authentication processes to analyze identifying credentials in order to verify an individual's identity, credentials, skills/qualifications, etc. for the purpose of authorizing access to one or more of a restricted area/space, computing system, network, resource, and/or device associated with a particular task. In some embodiments, the authorization module is configured to assign access credentials to an individual based on the analysis of the identifying credentials, in which access credentials may include a two-dimensional access mechanism, alpha-numerical code, or any other applicable form of granting access known to those of ordinary skill in the art; paragraph 0030, discussing that upon the authorization module authenticating an individual or group, the virtualization component assigns the applicable visual indicator to the applicable individual or group allowing other individuals to ascertain whether or not the individual or group is authorized for the task within the virtual environment based on the aggregate skill score exceeding a group task authentication threshold; paragraph 0037).
As per claim 3, the Pandit-Pike combination teaches the multi-tenancy VR system according to Claim 1. Pandit further teaches wherein the VR plugin or component comprises a module code and a tenant code embedded therein, which, together with the division code, permits data upload and pairing between the VR training module (200) and the back office (102) thereof (paragraph 0026, discussing that the activity-based grouping module is communicatively coupled to one or more sensors associated with an individual configured to acquire biological information, movement data, location data, etc. and transmit said data to the server over a network; paragraph 0030, discussing that the input component receives data derived from one or more of server and inputs associated with users. The input component is further designed to detect or poll available input devices connected to, in communication with, or accessible by the authorization module. The virtualization component is utilized to dynamically generate a framework within the virtual reality/augmented reality/mixed reality environment based on user preferences along with present user interactions and indicators associated with the task within the virtual environment. For example, upon the authorization module authenticating an individual or group, the virtualization component assigns the applicable visual indicator to the applicable individual or group allowing other individuals to ascertain whether or not the individual or group is authorized for the task within the virtual environment; paragraph 0069, discussing that the cloud infrastructure is a composition of two or more clouds (private, community, or public) that remain unique entities but are bound together by standardized or proprietary technology that enables data and application portability; paragraph 0057, discussing that the provider's computing resources are pooled to serve multiple consumers using a multi-tenant model, with different physical and virtual resources dynamically assigned and reassigned according to demand; paragraph 0048).
As per claim 7, the Pandit-Pike combination teaches the multi-tenancy VR system according to Claim 1. Pandit further teaches wherein the source code module comprises coding assets (paragraph 0038, discussing that the process is illustrated as a collection of blocks, in a logical flowchart, which represents a sequence of operations that can be implemented in hardware, software, or a combination thereof. In the context of software, the blocks represent computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, perform the recited operations. Generally, computer-executable instructions may include routines, programs, objects, components, data structures, and the like that perform functions or implement abstract data types. In each process, the order in which the operations are described is not intended to be construed as a limitation, and any number of the described blocks can be combined in any order and/or performed in parallel to implement the process; paragraph 0062, discussing the capability provided to the consumer is to deploy onto the cloud infrastructure consumer-created or acquired applications created using programming languages and tools supported by the provider; paragraph 0082, discussing that computer readable program instructions for carrying out operations of the present invention may be assembler instructions, instruction-set-architecture (ISA) instructions, machine instructions, machine dependent instructions, microcode, firmware instructions, state-setting data, configuration data for integrated circuitry, or either source code or object code written in any combination of one or more programming languages, including an object oriented programming language such as Smalltalk, C++, or the like, and procedural programming languages, such as the “C” programming language or similar programming languages; paragraph 0084).
Although not explicitly taught by Pandit, Pike in the analogous art of virtual reality training and evaluation systems teaches wherein the source code module comprises three-dimensional model (paragraph 0025, discussing that the term “virtual reality” may refer to a computer-rendered simulation or an artificial representation of a three-dimensional image or environment that can be interacted with in a seemingly real or physical way by a person using special electronic equipment or devices, such as the devices described herein. In a specific example, a virtual environment may be rendered that simulates a hazardous working environment or hazardous materials and/or equipment (e.g., electric line work, construction, or the like)).
Pandit is directed towards a virtual reality (VR) system configured to adopt VR technologies for the purpose of training and facilitating workforce functionality to users for completion of the task. Pike is directed towards a virtual reality training and evaluation system. Therefore, they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards solutions for performance evaluation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Pandit with Pike because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for performance evaluation, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (systems and method for training performance evaluation), and because modifying Pandit to include Pike’s feature for including wherein the source code module comprises three-dimensional model, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of improving the training and evaluation process (Pike at paragraph 0002); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 8, the Pandit-Pike combination teaches the multi-tenancy VR system according to Claim 1. Pandit further teaches wherein the division code includes a procedure code for permitting real-time data tracking by the VR plugin or component that collects procedure data (paragraph 0027, discussing activity-based grouping module insights relating to formulating groups for a task such as but not limited to probability of collaboration among individuals, ascertaining skill gaps for a task, generating individual-specific analytics based on real-time monitoring (e.g., IOT sensors, etc.) of the individual during performance of one or more of the plurality of activities associated with the task. The activity-based grouping module is further configured to calculate the aggregate skill score which may be based on individual workforce scores calculated for each individual; paragraph 0033, discussing real-time analysis of performance of said activities at both an individual level and a group level; paragraph 0046, discussing that once access credentials have been granted by the security access module, the activity-based grouping module may continue to utilize data derived from IOT sensors in order to ascertain analytics associated with the performance and completion of the task at an individual and group level. The IOT sensor-derived data may be utilized as a source of training data by a machine learning module in order to generate predictions relating to required skillsets and group task authentication threshold for particular tasks).
Pandit does not explicitly teach teaches wherein the division code includes a sub-procedure code and a chapter code adapted for permitting real-time data tracking by the VR plugin or component that collects sub-procedure data including time taken and status of sub-procedure completion by the trainee, procedure data including time taken and status of procedure completion by the trainee, and chapter data including time taken and status of chapter completion by the trainee, respectively. However, Pike in the analogous art of virtual reality training and evaluation systems teaches this concept. Pike teaches:
wherein the division code includes a sub-procedure code and a chapter code adapted for permitting real-time data tracking by the VR plugin or component that collects sub-procedure data including time taken and status of sub-procedure completion by the trainee, procedure data including time taken and status of procedure completion by the trainee, and chapter data including time taken and status of chapter completion by the trainee, respectively (paragraph 0004, discussing a virtual reality training and evaluation system; paragraph 0031, discussing that the system typically monitors the user's actions in real-time within the virtual environment while the user is completing the assigned task and related subtasks. An evaluation system compares the user's actions to defined criteria to quantify and evaluate the safety, step-process accuracy, and efficiency of the completed tasks by the user. Monitoring the user's interactions within the virtual environment allows for in-depth scoring and analysis to provide a comprehensive view of a user's performance that can be used to identify specific skills or gaps in knowledge that may require improvement or additional training. For example, a user's overall evaluation score may be broken down into individual steps or time intervals that may be individually assessed…Scores may be generated in real-time during a training simulation and provided to a user upon completion based on the user's actions. In some embodiments, user evaluation information is collected and stored in a database which generates an aggregated view of a user base and further provides a tool for searching and comparing the user information. In one embodiment, user scores may be compared to one another based on, for example, a type of work performed, geographic locations of the users, accreditation level of the users, and the like; paragraph 0038, disusing that one or more applications (e.g., VR simulation application), are loaded into the temporary memory during use…memory may include any computer readable medium configured to store data, code, or other information; paragraph 0275, discussing that all user interactions are monitored in real-time by the VR (virtual reality) simulation system and/or evaluation system and logged within a database. In one embodiment, the VR training and evaluation system is automated; paragraph 0284, discussing that the step-process evaluation may further evaluate a user based on an amount of time required to complete individual tasks and/or subtasks by comparing an individual task and/or subtask completion time to a preferred completion time….The evaluation system may further notify the user if any subtasks took too long to complete (e.g., as compared to a defined amount of time specified in the step-process criteria; paragraph 0285, discussing that the user interactions may also be compared to the efficiency criteria to determine an efficiency evaluation for the user's completion of a task or subtask. In one embodiment, the efficiency criteria may include a preferred completion time of one or more of the tasks or subtasks. The user's progress within a task may be timed, wherein the completion of the task or subtasks by the user may be time stamped and compared to the preferred time stamp completion times stored in the efficiency criteria…; paragraph 0287, discussing that the duration of time required to complete a task (i.e., the virtual training program) and/or subtask by the user may be tracked from start to finish by the evaluation system; paragraph 0292, discussing that the VR simulation system may be configured to evaluate multiple users using multiple VR devices at the same time. The multiple users may be simultaneously trained through interaction with a virtual environment in real time; paragraph 0298, discussing that each block included in the flowchart illustrations and/or block diagrams, and combinations of blocks included in the flowchart illustrations and/or block diagrams, may be implemented by one or more computer-executable program code portions. These one or more computer-executable program code portions may be provided to a processor of a special purpose computer in order to produce a particular machine, such that the one or more computer-executable program code portions, which execute via the processor of the computer and/or other programmable data processing apparatus, create mechanisms for implementing the steps and/or functions represented by the flowchart(s) and/or block diagram block).
Pandit is directed towards a virtual reality (VR) system configured to adopt VR technologies for the purpose of training and facilitating workforce functionality to users for completion of the task. Pike is directed towards a virtual reality training and evaluation system. Therefore, they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards solutions for performance evaluation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Pandit with Pike because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for performance evaluation, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (systems and method for training performance evaluation), and because modifying Pandit to include Pike’s feature for including wherein the division code includes a sub-procedure code and a chapter code adapted for permitting real-time data tracking by the VR plugin or component that collects sub-procedure data including time taken and status of sub-procedure completion by the trainee, procedure data including time taken and status of procedure completion by the trainee, and chapter data including time taken and status of chapter completion by the trainee, respectively, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of improving the training and evaluation process (Pike at paragraph 0002); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 9, the Pandit-Pike combination teaches the multi-tenancy VR system according to Claim 1. Although not explicitly taught by Pandit, Pike in the analogous art of virtual reality training and evaluation systems teaches wherein the VR plugin or component, by way of the sub-procedure code, accumulates the sub-procedure data collected thereof to produce the procedure data, which, in turn, is accumulated to produce the chapter data which accumulatively becomes module session data (paragraph 0031, discussing that the system typically monitors the user's actions in real-time within the virtual environment while the user is completing the assigned task and related subtasks. An evaluation system compares the user's actions to defined criteria to quantify and evaluate the safety, step-process accuracy, and efficiency of the completed tasks by the user. Monitoring the user's interactions within the virtual environment allows for in-depth scoring and analysis to provide a comprehensive view of a user's performance that can be used to identify specific skills or gaps in knowledge that may require improvement or additional training. For example, a user's overall evaluation score may be broken down into individual steps or time intervals that may be individually assessed…Scores may be generated in real-time during a training simulation and provided to a user upon completion based on the