DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 3/12/2026 is acknowledged.
In light of applicant’s amendments and remarks, the 112 rejections set forth in the previous office action have been withdrawn.
Claims 1-4 and 6-20 remain pending in the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10-12, 16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barthe (US 20200100762 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Barthe teaches an ultrasonic generator system ([0006] transducer module having at least one ultrasound transducer)
a handpiece ([0069] hand wand 100 housing)
comprising a main shaft comprising an insert protrusion and a first magnetic member ([0073] a movement member 432 and a magnetic coupling 433 on a distal end of the movement member 432)
and an actuator ([0068] the hand wand 100 includes a handle with an integrated receptacle for insertion of an emitter-receiver module 200)
coupled to a main shaft (bar or shaft 282) ([0073] a bar (or shaft) 282 to ensure a repeatable linear movement of the transducer 280; [0074] the motion mechanism is located in the emitter-receiver module 200. In various embodiments, the motion mechanism can provide for linear, rotational, multi-dimensional motion or actuation, and the motion can include any collection of points and/or orientations in space)
and a guide member (sleeve 287) comprising an insert recess (the transducer holder 289) and a second magnetic member (433) in the insert recess ([0073] a sleeve 287 which is moved along motion constraining bearings, such as linear bearings, namely, a bar (or shaft) 282 to ensure a repeatable linear movement of the transducer 280. In one embodiment, sleeve 287 is a spline bushing which prevents rotation about a spline shaft 282, but any guide to maintain the path of motion is appropriate In one embodiment, the transducer holder 289 is driven by a motion mechanism 400, which may be located in the hand wand 100 or in the emitter-receiver module 200. The motion mechanism 400, as is discussed below in relation to FIG. 7, includes a scotch yoke 403 with a movement member 432 and a magnetic coupling 433 on a distal end of the movement member 432. The magnet coupling 433 helps move the transducer 280. One benefit of a motion mechanism such as motion mechanism 400 is that it provides for a more efficient, accurate and precise use of an ultrasound transducer 280, for both imaging and for therapy purposes; the relationship between figs. 6 and 7 is noted, fig. 7 is a detailed view of reference no. 400 in fig. 6 which attaches to the sleeve through magnetic couplings 432 and 433 depicted in fig. 7)
the second magnetic member having an opposite polarity relative to the first magnetic member, the guide member being couplable to the main shaft of the handpiece via the magnetic attraction force between the first and second magnetic members, the actuator is configured to move the transducer in a vertical direction or a horizontal direction to adjust a focusing depth of the transducer ([0073] a movement member 432 and a magnetic coupling 433 on a distal end of the movement member 432. The magnet coupling 433 helps move the transducer 280; although the polarity is not described in detail one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the requirement for opposite polarities in order to allow movement as described in the reference; [0074] the motion mechanism can provide for linear, rotational, multi-dimensional motion or actuation, and the motion can include any collection of points and/or orientations in space. Various embodiments for motion can be used in accordance with several embodiments, including but not limited to rectilinear, circular, elliptical, arc-like, spiral, a collection of one or more points in space, or any other 1-D, 2-D, or 3-D positional and attitudinal motional embodiments)
Regarding claim 10, Barthe teaches the cartridge comprises degassed liquid for reducing loss for the emitted ultrasonic waves ([0011] the fluid-filled transducer module includes an acoustic liquid. In one embodiment, the fluid-filled transducer module includes a gel adapted to enhance transmission of an ultrasonic signal. In one embodiment, a gel adapted to enhance transmission of an ultrasonic signal is placed between the transducer and the patient's skin).
Regarding claim 11, Barthe teaches the handpiece further comprises a first rotor for controlling movement of the transducer in the vertical direction ([0074] the motion mechanism can provide for linear, rotational, multi-dimensional motion or actuation, and the motion can include any collection of points and/or orientations in space. Various embodiments for motion can be used in accordance with several embodiments, including but not limited to rectilinear, circular, elliptical, arc-like, spiral, a collection of one or more points in space, or any other 1-D, 2-D, or 3-D positional and attitudinal motional embodiments)
Regarding claim 12, Barthe teaches the handpiece further comprises a second rotor for controlling movement of the transducer in a horizontal direction. ([0074] the motion mechanism can provide for linear, rotational, multi-dimensional motion or actuation, and the motion can include any collection of points and/or orientations in space. Various embodiments for motion can be used in accordance with several embodiments, including but not limited to rectilinear, circular, elliptical, arc-like, spiral, a collection of one or more points in space, or any other 1-D, 2-D, or 3-D positional and attitudinal motional embodiments)
Regarding claim 16, Barthe teaches a cartridge for an ultrasonic generator system comprising a transducer configured to emit ultrasonic waves for treatment of a patient ([0006] system includes a hand wand with at least one finger activated control, or controller, and a removable transducer module having at least one ultrasound transducer)
and a guide member couplable to an actuator of a handpiece via a main shaft of the handpiece ([0073] a sleeve 287 which is moved along motion constraining bearings, such as linear bearings, namely, a bar (or shaft) 282 to ensure a repeatable linear movement of the transducer 280. In one embodiment, sleeve 287 is a spline bushing which prevents rotation about a spline shaft 282, but any guide to maintain the path of motion is appropriate)
wherein the guide member comprises an insert recess (289) and a second magnetic member (433) in the insert recess, the second magnetic member having an opposite polarity relative to a first magnetic member of the main shaft of the handpiece; wherein the guide member is couplable to the main shaft of the handpiece via a magnetic attraction between the first and second magnetic members upon insertion of the insert protrusion of the main shaft into the insert recess of the guide member ([0073] a movement member 432 and a magnetic coupling 433 on a distal end of the movement member 432. The magnet coupling 433 helps move the transducer 280; although the polarity is not described in detail one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the requirement for opposite polarities in order to allow movement as described in the reference)
and wherein the transducer is configured to be actuated in a vertical direction or a horizontal direction to adjust a focusing depth of the transducer based on being coupled to the actuator via the guide member and the main shaft ([0074] the motion mechanism can provide for linear, rotational, multi-dimensional motion or actuation, and the motion can include any collection of points and/or orientations in space. Various embodiments for motion can be used in accordance with several embodiments, including but not limited to rectilinear, circular, elliptical, arc-like, spiral, a collection of one or more points in space, or any other 1-D, 2-D, or 3-D positional and attitudinal motional embodiments).
Regarding claim 18, Barthe teaches the transducer is further configured to be actuated in a horizontal direction based on being coupled to the actuator via the guide member and the main shaft ([0074] the motion mechanism can provide for linear, rotational, multi-dimensional motion or actuation, and the motion can include any collection of points and/or orientations in space. Various embodiments for motion can be used in accordance with several embodiments, including but not limited to rectilinear, circular, elliptical, arc-like, spiral, a collection of one or more points in space, or any other 1-D, 2-D, or 3-D positional and attitudinal motional embodiments).
Regarding claim 20, Barthe teaches a method for treating a patient using ultrasonic waves ([0006] a system and method for cosmetic treatment and imaging. In various embodiments the treatment system includes a hand wand with at least one finger activated control, or controller, and a removable transducer module having at least one ultrasound transducer)
coupling an actuator of a handpiece to a transducer of a cartridge via a main shaft of the handpiece and a guide member of the cartridge by inserting an insert protrusion of the main shaft into an insert recess of the guide member ([0073] a sleeve 287 which is moved along motion constraining bearings, such as linear bearings, namely, a bar (or shaft) 282 to ensure a repeatable linear movement of the transducer 280. In one embodiment, sleeve 287 is a spline bushing which prevents rotation about a spline shaft 282, but any guide to maintain the path of motion is appropriate)
the insert protrusion having a first magnetic member, the insert recess having a second magnetic member of opposite polarity relative to the first magnetic member, and wherein the guide member is coupled to the main shaft via a magnetic attraction force between the first and second magnetic members in response to the insert protrusion of the main shaft being inserted into the insert recess of the guide member ([0073] a movement member 432 and a magnetic coupling 433 on a distal end of the movement member 432. The magnet coupling 433 helps move the transducer 280; although the polarity is not described in detail one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the requirement for opposite polarities in order to allow movement as described in the reference)
adjusting, by the actuator, a focusing depth of the transducer based on actuation of the main shaft in a vertical direction or a horizontal direction ([0074] the motion mechanism can provide for linear, rotational, multi-dimensional motion or actuation, and the motion can include any collection of points and/or orientations in space. Various embodiments for motion can be used in accordance with several embodiments, including but not limited to rectilinear, circular, elliptical, arc-like, spiral, a collection of one or more points in space, or any other 1-D, 2-D, or 3-D positional and attitudinal motional embodiments).
and emitting, by the transducer, ultrasonic waves towards the patient ([0010] the method also includes emitting a first ultrasound energy from a first transducer in the transducer module).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barthe as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Rhim (US 20120285251 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Barthe fails to teach the insert recess of the guide member comprises a sloped guide surface configured to correct for misalignment between the insert protrusion of the main shaft and the insert recess of the guide member during insertion of the insert protrusion of the main shaft into the insert recess of the guide member.
However, Rhim teaches the insert recess of the guide member comprises a sloped guide surface configured to correct for misalignment between the insert protrusion of the main shaft and the insert recess of the guide member during insertion of the insert protrusion of the main shaft into the insert recess of the guide member ([0047] inclined plane of the rear block 23 so as to be parallel to the inclined plane. Namely, each of the piezoelectric wafer 25, the acoustic matching layer 27 and the grounding film 29 has a rectangular parallelepiped form having upper and lower surfaces corresponding to the inclined plane of the rear block 23 and is sequentially stacked. Therefore, in an embodiment, a stack of the piezoelectric wafer 25, the acoustic matching layer 27 and the grounding film 29 is laterally protruded from the lower end of the inclined plane as shown).
Barthe and Rhim are considered analogous because both involve the use of ultrasound therapy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a sloped shape for the guide surface in order to provide more exact, safer, and more effective localization of a focused point during HIFU treatment (Rhim [0004]).
Regarding claim 3, Barthe fails to teach the sloped guide surface corresponds to a size of the insert recess decreasing and converging upon a size corresponding to the insert protrusion of the main shaft.
However, Rhim teaches the sloped guide surface corresponds to a size of the insert recess decreasing and converging upon a size corresponding to the insert protrusion of the main shaft (observe configuration of sloped surface 12 and main shaft 14 in fig. 3 of Rhim).
Barthe and Rhim are considered analogous because both involve the use of ultrasound therapy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a sloped shape converging onto a main shaft for the guide surface in order to provide more exact, safer, and more effective localization of a focused point during HIFU treatment (Rhim [0004]).
Regarding claim 4, Barthe fails to teach the sloped guide surface corresponds to a diameter of the insert recess decreasing and converging upon a diameter corresponding to the insert protrusion of the main shaft.
However, Rhim teaches the sloped guide surface corresponds to a diameter of the insert recess decreasing and converging upon a diameter corresponding to the insert protrusion of the main shaft (observe configuration of sloped surface 12 and main shaft 14 in fig. 3 of Rhim).
Barthe and Rhim are considered analogous because both involve the use of ultrasound therapy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a sloped shape converging onto a main shaft for the guide surface in order to provide more exact, safer, and more effective localization of a focused point during HIFU treatment (Rhim [0004]).
Regarding claim 17, Barthe fails to teach the insert recess of the guide member comprises a sloped guide surface configured to correct for misalignment between an insert protrusion of the main shaft and the insert recess of the guide member during insertion of the insert protrusion of the main shaft into the insert recess of the guide member.
However, Rhim teaches the insert recess of the guide member comprises a sloped guide surface configured to correct for misalignment between an insert protrusion of the main shaft and the insert recess of the guide member during insertion of the insert protrusion of the main shaft into the insert recess of the guide member ([0047] inclined plane of the rear block 23 so as to be parallel to the inclined plane. Namely, each of the piezoelectric wafer 25, the acoustic matching layer 27 and the grounding film 29 has a rectangular parallelepiped form having upper and lower surfaces corresponding to the inclined plane of the rear block 23 and is sequentially stacked. Therefore, in an embodiment, a stack of the piezoelectric wafer 25, the acoustic matching layer 27 and the grounding film 29 is laterally protruded from the lower end of the inclined plane as shown).
Barthe and Rhim are considered analogous because both involve the use of ultrasound therapy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a sloped shape for the guide surface in order to provide more exact, safer, and more effective localization of a focused point during HIFU treatment (Rhim [0004]).
Claim(s) 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barthe as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park (US 20190366129 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Barthe fails to teach the guide member comprises an upper mount and a lower mount, wherein the insert recess is disposed in the upper mount, and wherein the transducer is mounted on the lower mount.
However, Park teaches the guide member comprises an upper mount and a lower mount, wherein the insert recess is disposed in the upper mount, and wherein the transducer is mounted on the lower mount ([0050] the ultrasonic therapy part 120 may include the transducer 121 provided within the cartridge housing 110 and generating the IFU waves. Moreover, the ultrasonic therapy part 120 may include a guide part 122 coupled to the transducer 121. In addition, the ultrasonic therapy part 120 may further include an insertion pin 123, a guide groove 124, an elastic member 125, and a contact plate 126.; [0056] a first frame 111 is provided at the other side of the cartridge 100 to allow the other end of the driving cam 141 to be rotatably coupled thereto, and a second frame 112 is provided at one side of the cartridge 100).
Barthe and Park are considered analogous because both include therapy apparatuses that use ultrasonic energy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide structural support in the form of mounts on the upper and lower parts of the transducer device so that the operator's fatigue can be reduced while reducing the risk generated due to overlapping of thermal focal points (Park [0019]).
Regarding claim 7, Barthe teaches the cartridge further comprises an auxiliary shaft configured to guide and stabilize movement of the main shaft in the horizontal direction ([0073] a sleeve 287 which is moved along motion constraining bearings, such as linear bearings, namely, a bar (or shaft) 282 to ensure a repeatable linear movement of the transducer 280. In one embodiment, sleeve 287 is a spline bushing which prevents rotation about a spline shaft 282, but any guide to maintain the path of motion is appropriate)
Regarding claim 8, Barthe teaches the auxiliary shaft is disposed parallel to the main shaft (observe ref figs 282 and 287 in fig. 6)
Regarding claim 9, Barthe teaches the cartridge comprises elastic members disposed above and below the auxiliary shaft, wherein the elastic members are configured to support the auxiliary shaft ([0092] glide members 412 may be between the scotch yoke 403 and guide 410. In one embodiment, a guide 410 is a shoulder screw. Embodiments of the glide member 412 may include any material or mechanical device that lowers a coefficient of friction between the guide 410 and the scotch yoke 403, or any linear bearings. For example, in various embodiments the glide member 412 can be at least one of an elastomeric material).
Regarding claim 14, Barthe fails to teach the cartridge comprises a first deformable tube on a first side of the guide member and a second deformable tube on a second side of the guide member, and wherein the first and second deformable tubes are configured to be deformed in a lengthwise direction of the first and second deformable tubes based on horizontal actuation of the main shaft performed by the actuator.
However, Park teaches the cartridge comprises a first deformable tube on a first side of the guide member and a second deformable tube on a second side of the guide member ([0105] the guide arm 2131 may move forward or backward in a state in which it is supported by the guide rail 2130. In an embodiment, the guide rail 2130 may be fixed inside the cartridge housing 2110 so as to be parallel with the rotation axis (shaft spine C1) of the eccentric driving cam 2141. For example, one end of the guide rail 2130 may be coupled to the first frame 2111, and the other end of the guide rail 2130 may be coupled to the second frame 2112. Meanwhile, a through hole is provided in the guide arm 2131, and the guide rail 2130 may be coupled to the guide arm 2131 inside the through hole to allow the guide rail 2130 to pass through the through hole. In addition, the guide rail 2130 may be shaped of a straight line parallel with the eccentric driving cam 2141)
and wherein the first and second deformable tubes are configured to be deformed in a lengthwise direction of the first and second deformable tubes based on horizontal actuation of the main shaft performed by the actuator ([0072] as the driving cam 141 according to the embodiment of the present invention is rotated, the elastic member 125 may be separated or deformed due to the rotation of the driving cam 141).
Barthe and Park are considered analogous because both include therapy apparatuses that use ultrasonic energy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide structural support in the form of deformable tubes on either side of the shaft so that the operator's fatigue can be reduced while reducing the risk generated due to overlapping of thermal focal points (Park [0019]).
Regarding claim 19, Barthe fails to teach a first deformable tube on a first side of the guide member and a second deformable tube on a second side of the guide member, and wherein the first and second deformable tubes are configured to be deformed in a lengthwise direction of the first and second deformable tubes based on horizontal actuation of the main shaft performed by the actuator.
However, Park teaches a first deformable tube on a first side of the guide member and a second deformable tube on a second side of the guide member, and wherein the first and second deformable tubes are configured to be deformed in a lengthwise direction of the first and second deformable tubes based on horizontal actuation of the main shaft performed by the actuator ([0105] the guide arm 2131 may move forward or backward in a state in which it is supported by the guide rail 2130. In an embodiment, the guide rail 2130 may be fixed inside the cartridge housing 2110 so as to be parallel with the rotation axis (shaft spine C1) of the eccentric driving cam 2141. For example, one end of the guide rail 2130 may be coupled to the first frame 2111, and the other end of the guide rail 2130 may be coupled to the second frame 2112. Meanwhile, a throughhole is provided in the guide arm 2131, and the guide rail 2130 may be coupled to the guide arm 2131 inside the throughhole to allow the guide rail 2130 to pass through the throughhole. In addition, the guide rail 2130 may be shaped of a straight line parallel with the eccentric driving cam 2141; [0072] as the driving cam 141 according to the embodiment of the present invention is rotated, the elastic member 125 may be separated or deformed due to the rotation of the driving cam 141).
Barthe and Park are considered analogous because both include therapy apparatuses that use ultrasonic energy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide structural support in the form of deformable tubes on either side of the shaft so that the operator's fatigue can be reduced while reducing the risk generated due to overlapping of thermal focal points (Park [0019]).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barthe as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Yoon (US 20200094082 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Barthe teaches the first rotor and the second rotor are disposed on a same axis (seeing as the components enabling both horizontal and vertical motion are contained within the same module 400 it is assumed they are on the same axis)
Barthe fails to teach one of the first rotor and the second rotor is configured as an inner rotor, and the other of the first rotor and the second rotor is configured as an outer rotor.
However, Yoon teaches one of the first rotor and the second rotor is configured as an inner rotor, and the other of the first rotor and the second rotor is configured as an outer rotor ([0038] The transducer may be integrally coupled to the piezoelectric linear motor by inserting a transfer member into an inner space of the support of the transducer, and passing the transfer shaft of the piezoelectric linear motor through the transfer member and a hole of the support; [0007] direct current (DC) motor installed at the outside).
Barthe and Yoon are considered analogous because both disclose ultrasound therapy devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to include both an inner and outer motor for movement in order to provide a stable coupling structure between a piezoelectric actuator and a transfer shaft (Yoon [0002]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barthe in view of Park as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Yoon.
Regarding claim 15, Barthe as modified fails to teach the first and second deformable tubes are corrugated.
However, Yoon teaches the first and second deformable tubes are corrugated ([0007] The transfer shaft 14 is surrounded by a rubber bellows 15 to prevent contact with water, and the rubber bellows 15 is bonded to both end portion of the outer case 10 using an adhesive so as to prevent leakage; observe structure of rubber bellow 15 in fig. 2B).
Barthe as modified and Yoon are considered analogous because both disclose ultrasound therapy devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to design the deformable tubes to have a corrugated structure as depicted in fig. 2B of the Yoon reference in order to prevent leakage (Yoon [0007])
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant alleges that the primary Barthe reference fails to teach an insert recess and as such cannot disclose the magnetic members as specified by the claims either. However, it is the interpretation of the office that Barthe does disclose an insert recess in the form of the transducer holder 289, which can be clearly seen to incorporate the sleeve 287 which is considered analogous to the guide member. Applicant is pointed to Fig. 6 of the Barthe disclosure with particular focus on reference number 400, the motion mechanism. Reference number 400 is depicted in further detail in fig. 7. As such, it is understood that the figures can be superimposed upon one another in the following configuration:
With this perspective, it can easily be deduced that the two magnetic members 432 and 433 are to be coupled to the portion of fig. 6 that holds the transducer. Given the disclosure of how figs 6 and 7 are related, the Barthe disclosure is considered to disclose analogous features to every claim limitation as they are currently drafted under broadest reasonable interpretation. For at least the aforementioned reasons, the claims remain rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GABRIEL VICTOR POPESCU/Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/SERKAN AKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797