DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/23/2024 and 07/22/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “the at least four fluid chambers are fluidly connected via at least one further fluid channel, wherein each of the at least four fluid chambers is involved” in line 11 of the claim. It is not clear what fluid channel the applicant is referring to be fluidly connected to four fluid chambers and what the applicant is considering for each of the four fluid chambers is being involved as recited in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites “at least two pairs of axially superimposed fluid chambers” in line 1 of the claim. It is not clear if the applicant is referring to the at least four fluid chambers as introduced in the parent claim 1 or entirely two different pairs of fluid chambers than the chambers of the parent claim 1. The claim further recites “the at least two pairs” in line 2 of the claim. It is not clear if the applicant is referring to the two pairs of axially superimposed fluid chambers or something else. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 2, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the same axial height" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites “the two fluid chambers of a respective pairs of axially superimposed fluid chambers” in line 1 of the claim. It is not clear if the applicant is referring to the at least four fluid chambers as introduced in the parent claim 1 or entirely two different pairs of fluid chambers than the chambers of the parent claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites “the at least four fluid chambers have a substantially identical extension in the circumferential direction of the bearing” in line 1 of the claim. It is not clear if the chambers are actually identical or similar as recited in the claim and what the applicant is considering. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. The examiner further notes that the claim is not clear and very confusing as to what is actually is required or what the applicant is considering. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the same axial height" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the same circumferential portion" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites “means of an associated fluid channel” in line 2 and line 5 of the claim. It is not clear if the applicant is referring to the same means of the associated fluid channel or two separate means of associated fluid channels and also not clear what the applicant is considering. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites “two fluid channels are arranged for performing damping tasks in the radial direction” in line 3 of the claim. It is not clear where the two fluid channels are arranged. The claim also recites the limitation "the axial direction" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim further recites the limitation "the radial direction" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "each of the at least four fluid chambers is fluidly connected with a single one of the other three fluid chambers via a fluid channel" in line 1 of the claim. It is not clear what the applicant is referring to as the single one of the other three fluid chambers via a fluid channel.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the longitudinal section of the bearing" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the longitudinal section of the bearing" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation " the axial delimitation of the two axially consecutive fluid chambers" in line 4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 11, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 12, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. The claim recites “they are” in line 4 of the claim. It is not clear what element the applicant is referring to.
Claim 13 recites the limitation " the ring portion of the cage element" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 13, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. The examiner also notes that it is not clear what the applicant is considering by terminating the fluid chambers as recited in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 recites the limitation " the axial portion of the fluid chambers" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 15, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. The claim also recites the limitation " the inner part side of a respective outer chamber membrane wall" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation " the load-free state of the bearing" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The also recites “this element” in line 3 of the claim. It is not clear which element the applicant is referring to. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 18, claim limitation “latching means” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. latching means is not describe or defined in the specification and also not shown in figures and thus it is not clear what is considered by the applicant Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12, 14-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Siemer et al. (US 7,441,757 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Siemer et al. discloses a hydraulic damping bearing (1; note figs. 1-9) comprising:
an axially extending inner element (2, 5, 15 in fig. 4);
an elastomer body (6, 14);
a cage element (9-11, 17, 18) that is embedded at least in sections in the elastomer body, wherein the elastomer body elastically connects the cage element and the inner element with one another;
an outer sleeve (13, 25, 26) that wraps around the inner element, the cage element and the elastomer body;
at least a first (19) and a second (20) fluid chamber arranged respectively between the outer sleeve (13) and the inner element (2) that are connected by a fluid channel;
wherein further at least a third (23) and a fourth (24) fluid chamber are included that are arranged respectively between the outer sleeve (13) and the inner element (2), and the at least four fluid chambers are fluidly connected via at least one further fluid channel (25, 26), wherein each of the at least four fluid chambers is involved, in case of a relative displacement of the inner element and of the cage element in a first direction and of a relative displacement of the inner element and of the cage element in a second direction, in performing damping tasks.
Re-claim 2, Siemer et al. discloses the bearing comprises at least two pairs of axially superimposed fluid chambers (note the first chamber pair 21 are arranged axially in abstract and in fig. 7), wherein the at least two pairs are circumferentially spaced from each other, in particular are arranged radially opposite at the same axial height.
Re-claim 3, Siemer et al. discloses the two fluid chambers (note the first chamber pair 21 are arranged axially in abstract and in fig. 7) of a respective pair of axially superimposed fluid chambers substantially extend over the same circumferential portion.
Re-claim 4, Siemer et al. discloses the at least four fluid chambers (19, 20, 23, 24) have a substantially identical extension in the circumferential direction of the bearing.
Re-claim 5, Siemer et al. discloses each of the at least four fluid chambers is fluidly connected by means of an associated fluid channel (25, 26) to a fluid chamber arranged radially opposite and in particular at the same axial height and to a fluid chamber arranged axially adjacent to the respective fluid chamber and in particular on the same circumferential portion by means of an associated fluid channel.
Re-claim 6, Siemer et al. discloses respectively two fluid channels (25, 26) are arranged between the at least four fluid chambers (19, 20, 23, 24) for performing damping tasks in the axial direction and two fluid channels are arranged for performing damping tasks in the radial direction.
Re-claim 7, Siemer et al. discloses each of the at least four fluid chambers (19, 20, 23, 24) is fluidly connected with a single one of the other three fluid chambers via a fluid channel (21), wherein the fluid chambers connected with one another are arranged radially opposite and axially consecutive.
Re-claim 8, Siemer et al. discloses the cage element (9-11, 17, 18) comprises in the longitudinal section of the bearing a first transverse web (18) that extends radially in direction of the inner element for providing a respective axial pump surface for two fluid chambers of the at least four fluid chambers arranged over a predefined circumferential section and axially consecutive.
Re-claim 9, Siemer et al. discloses the cage element (9-11, 17, 18) comprises in the longitudinal section of the bearing a second transverse web (17), circumferentially spaced from the first transverse web, that extends radially in direction of the inner element for providing a respective axial pump surface for the two other fluid chambers arranged over a predefined circumferential section and axially consecutive.
Re-claim 10, Siemer et al. discloses two inner elastomer chamber wall portions (6, 8) that are contrary and bent, adherent to the radial end portion of the respective transverse web (17, 18) that is facing the inner element, extend adherent to the inner element (2) for the axial delimitation of the two axially consecutive fluid chambers.
Re-claim 11, Siemer et al. discloses the cage element (9-11, 17, 18) comprises at least two axially spaced ring portions (note the ring portions of 10, 11 in fig. 1) that are connected by at least two in particular diametrically opposite longitudinal webs (note the web portions of 10, 11 in fig. 1), wherein the first and/or the second transverse web is connected to the two longitudinal webs.
Re-claim 12, Siemer et al. discloses at least two hollow spaces (note the groove portions imitated by the elastomer portions 7 and 8 in fig. 3) are comprised, extending in a transverse direction of the bearing to a longitudinal direction of the inner element (2, 5, 15), in particular linearly and parallel to one another and limited by elastomer wall portions, wherein they are respectively adjacent to the inner element.
Re-claim 14, Siemer et al. discloses the inner element (2, 5, 15) comprises an approximately square cross-section (note the square cross-section portion of the inner element 2 in fig. 2) in the axial portion of the fluid chambers.
Re-claim 15, Siemer et al. discloses the inner element (2, 5, 15) comprises an in particular collar-like flange (15) for providing an attachment on the inner part side of a respective outer chamber membrane wall.
Re-claim 16, Siemer et al. discloses an annular abutment element (note the annular end portions of the element 2) is provided on an axial end portion of the bearing axially outside the fluid chambers on the inner element, this element being arranged radially spaced in the load-free state of the bearing from an elastomer portion arranged on an inner face of a ring element of the cage element.
Re-claim 18, Siemer et al. discloses the cage element (9-11, 17, 18) is designed in two parts (note the parts of cage elements 9-11, 17, 18 are connected via screws 29 in fig. 7), wherein the two parts can be assembled in a longitudinal section plane in the transverse direction with radially acting complementary latching means that provide after latching an axial form-fit of the two cage elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siemer et al. (US 7,441,757 B2) in view of Schnaars et al. (US 9,903,438 B2).
Regarding claim 13, Siemer et al. discloses all claimed limitations as set forth above including the outer sleeve (13) having a plurality of channels 25, 26 but fails to disclose a two-part channel shell as recited in the claim. However, Schnaars et al. discloses a similar bearing assembly comprising a two-part channel shell (note 84 in fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application was made to modify the outer sleeve of Siemer et al. formed of two-part shell as taught by Schnaars et al. will provide easy mounting assembly of the sleeve and restricts any wobbling movement of the sleeve.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siemer et al. (US 7,441,757 B2) in view of Bernd (EP 2058550 B1).
Regarding claim 17, Siemer et al. discloses all claimed limitations as set forth above including the cage element (9-11, 17, 18) but fails to disclose an axial front face of the cage is coated with an elastomer buffer that is situated axially below a front side end face of the inner element as recited in the claim. However, Bernd discloses a similar bearing assembly comprising a cage element (3 in fig. 4) having various parts that are elastomer-coated. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application was made to modify the cage element of Siemer at al. with elastomer-coating as taught by Bernd will restrict undesirable deformations on the cage element and thus prolong the life of the cage element.
Conclusion
/MAHBUBUR RASHID/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616