DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 08/31/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendment to the claim in view of previously set Non-final Office Action mailed on 05/26/2026 has been acknowledged.
The amendment filed 08/31/2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows:
In Claim 1 and 11, recites “conditionally alert, responsive to the second biological parameter exceeding a limit …”, applicant disclose in the specification “medical personnel may be alerted when user exceeds normal limits of biological parameters tailored to user”. However, the alert is not a response to the second biological parameter exceeding a limit.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Specification Objection:
Applicant's Specification amendments have successfully overcome the previous objections. The objections have been withdrawn.
Claim Objection:
Applicant's claim amendments have successfully overcome the previous objections. The objections have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejection – 35 USC § 112:
The previous rejection of Claim 1 under 112(b) is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims.
Claim Rejection – 35 USC § 101:
Applicant's arguments/remarks concerning Claim 1-20 under 35 U.S.C § 101 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The rejection is maintained. The amended claim recites the first machine-learning algorithm and fitness state model as result oriented terms, such as a generic processing tool to perform the recited abstract ideas/steps. The remaining additional elements do not cure the deficiency, therefore insignificant activity under MPEP 2106.05. Applicant's arguments/remarks concerning the 101 rejection:
Step 2A, Prong One: Applicant argues that the claims here are not a mental process because they include steps that cannot be practically performed by the human mind. However, there is no requirement that the entire scope of the claim to be performable mentally. The 101 analysis only requires that at least one step be performable mentally. The “additional elements” such as insignificant pre/post solution activity does not need to be performable mentally.
Concerning the mathematical calculations, the claims include multiple mathematical calculations or comparisons, such as “relating … the … parameter to the plurality of fitness states” and “… responsive to the second biological parameter exceeding a limit”.
Step 2A, Prong Two: Applicant refers to technological improvements in the Desjardins case, but points to no similar improvements here. Desjardins referred to actual technological improvements such as “use less … storage capacity”. Applicant attempts to draw a comparison, but only points to the output of the mental process here as the supposed technological improvement. Identifying and making a recommendation is not a technological improvement akin to reducing memory capacity requirements.
Step 2B: Applicant refers (incorrectly) to several mental steps as “additional elements”. All limitations in the 101 analysis must either be a judicial exception (e.g. mental process) or an additional element, not both. Step 2B only looks to whether the additional elements (not including the mental steps) is well-understood, routine and conventional. The claimed arrangement of additional elements in claim 1 includes a computing device with a machine learning algorithm, and a sensor (and maybe an unspecified alert device), which is a well-understood, routine and conventional setup in medical diagnostics.
Claim Rejection – 35 USC § 102 & 103:
Applicant’s arguments/remarks, see page 12-14, filed on 08/31/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 U.S.C § 102 and 103 have been fully considered and examiner acknowledges the claim remarks. However, upon further consideration of the new limitations, a new ground(s) of rejection is made. As explained in the rejection set forth below, after further detailed review of the previously cited references, the newly added limitations are taught by those reference(s) as seen in the updated rejections below. Accordingly, the cited references renders the amended claim subject matter obvious.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim invention is directed to abstract ideas such as mental processes and/or mathematical concepts without significantly more.
Step 1: All the claims are directed either to a system/machine or to a method/process.
Step 2A, Prong One: The claims recite abstract ideas including steps such as in claim 1 recites "generating, … relating, … identifying, … identify, … monitor, …” which could be performed by the human mind and/or by a human with a physical aid such as pen and paper and/or certain methods of human activity. The evaluation and judgment covers a mental process ordinarily performed by a clinician/trainer who observes the gathered physiological measurement and fitness level and select appropriate activity. The limitation “responsive to the second …” likewise recites an evaluation of comparing observed value against a limit, also a mental process.
Step 2A, Prong Two: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims merely implement the mental process concepts using generic processing technology and add insignificant extra-solution activity. Specifically: the step of "receive, at least a first biological parameter" and “monitor, … second biological parameter” is considered insignificant pre-solution activity of mere data gathering to carry out the abstract idea, since it merely collects the data necessary to carry out the mental process; the step of “conditionally alert, …” is considered insignificant post-solution activity; additional elements including “computing device”, “sensor”, “generating, using a first machine learning algorithm”, “training set” are generic data gathering and processing tool to perform the abstract idea; the elements/limitation of "using a first machine learning algorithm” recited at a high level of generality and in result oriented terms without any particular model architecture. Applying generic machine learning to a new data environment does not render an otherwise abstract claim eligible. Furthermore, merely carrying out mental steps using generic computing technology such as “computing device” is well established to not amount to an integration into a practical application under the § 101 analysis. See, MPEP §§ 2106.04(a).
Step 2B: The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the only additional elements recited in the claims are generic processing/computing components and a sensor (and an unspecified alerting device). The Examiner takes official notice that these are basic, generic components which are well understood, routine and conventional in the medical diagnostic arts, and the claims here merely use them for their well-understood, routine and conventional functions. The reference cited in this action also demonstrates the use of these conventional computer elements. As such, those additional elements cannot be considered "significantly more" than the judicial exception in Step 2B of the § 101 analysis.
Independent claims 11 follow the same analysis above since they are substantially identical in scope.
All dependent claims 2-10 and 12-20 also follow the same analysis above since all of the dependent claims merely further define the abstract ideas themselves, e.g. by adding additional mental steps or mathematical process.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In Claim 1 and 11, recites “conditionally alert, responsive to the second biological parameter exceeding a limit …”, applicant disclose in the specification “medical personnel may be alerted when user exceeds normal limits of biological parameters tailored to user”. However, in the originally filed disclosure, the alert is not a response to the second biological parameter exceeding a limit. As such, this limitation is rejected as new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20140249429 A1 to Tran et al. (hereinafter “Tran”).
Regarding Claim 1 and 11, Tran discloses a system (see Para 06: “a fitness monitoring system”) for providing a preferred fitness state (see Para 407: “determine the physical activities of a patient or wearer, to monitor overall activity levels and assess compliance with a prescribed exercise regimen and/or efficacy of a treatment program”) of a user (see Para 17: “a patient or wearer”), the system comprising:
a computing device (see Para 17: “a user computer”), wherein the computing device is configured to:
receive, at least a first biological parameter (see Para 04: “one or more sensors to capture fitness data or vital sign data”) of a plurality of biological parameters (see Para 63: “wearer's vital signs such as ECG/EKG … glucose level”, Para 24: “blood pressure”, Para 54);
determine, a current user fitness state (see Para 188: “FIG. 5 shows an exemplary process to monitor patient or wearer … The process then determines patient or wearer movement using accelerometer output … The system can also determine vital parameter including patient or wearer heart rate (1006)”) of a plurality of fitness state (see Para 24-26: “patient or wearer during periods of exercise or day-to-day activities; patient or wearer's cardiac condition; patient or wearer participates in their normal, day-to-day activities; monitors physical activity patterns, detects the occurrence of falls, and recognizes body motion patterns leading to falls”, Para 407: “physical activities of a patient or wearer … prescribed exercise regimen”) by:
generating, using a first machine-learning algorithm, a fitness state model from a training set (see Para 63: “one or more software modules to analyze data from the patient or wearer … patient or wearer's vital signs such as ECG/EKG … a neural network which has been trained to flag potentially dangerous conditions … neural network can be a back-propagation neural network … trained with training data”, Para 158, 394, and Para 401: “Various mathematical techniques and Artificial Intelligence (AI) analyzer can be applied”, Para 192: “the computer model”, also Para 378);
relating, using the fitness state model, the at least a first biological parameter to the plurality of fitness states (see Para 192: “the computer model has been generated, the system is ready for real-time blood pressure monitoring … echoes are used to determine blood flow, which is fed to the computer model to generate the systolic and diastolic pressure values as well as heart rate value”, Para 376-377, 407, 158, 63 (relates different/same parameters to different fitness state));
identifying, using the fitness state model, the current user fitness state as a function of the at least a first biological parameter (see Para 54: “personal monitoring system … one of multiple portable physiological transducer, such as a blood pressure monitor, heart rate monitor, weight scale, thermometer, spirometer, single or multiple lead electrocardiograph (ECG), a pulse oximeter, a body fat monitor, a cholesterol monitor, … signal from an exercise machine, such as a heart rate”, Para 23: “real-time monitoring of their blood pressure”, Para 26: “in addition to blood pressure measurement, other advantages of the invention may include one or more of the following … monitors physical activity patterns, detects the occurrence of falls, and recognizes body motion patterns leading to falls …”, Para 57: “assessment of limb movement, sleep diagnostic, mobility tracking”);
identify, a user specific recommendation as a function of the at least a first biological parameter (see Para 388: “the EMG data is used to detect muscle fatigue and to generate a warning to the patient or wearer to get to a resting place”) and the current user fitness state (see Para 23: “real-time monitoring of their blood pressure”);
monitor, using at least a sensor, a second biological parameter of the user (see Para 9, 57-58, 63(disclose using different type of sensor to monitor and determine vital signs including ECG, EKG, blood pressure, sugar level, among others));
conditionally alert, responsive to the second biological parameter exceeding a limit during performance of the user specific recommendation, medical personal (see Para 176-179: users may set up alerts or reminders that are triggered when one or more reading meet a certain set of conditions, depending on parameters defined by the user … user chooses the condition that they would like to be alerted to and by providing the parameters (e.g. threshold value for the reading) for alert generation … parameters that are either automatically calculated or are set by the user … sent out as an `alert` in response to blood pressure indicating a medical condition that requires immediate attention … data parameter (e.g. systolic blood pressure) exceeds a predetermined value … his or her primary care physician (or another practicing physician providing care to the patient or wearer)”).
Regarding Claim 2 and 12, Tran further discloses wherein the at least a first biological parameter further comprises a detection of body movement of a user (see Para 17: includes a head movement, a hand movement, or a mouth movement” also Para 26: “The system monitors physical activity patterns, … and recognizes body motion patterns”).
Regarding Claim 3 and 13, Tran further discloses wherein the at least a first biological parameter further comprises a body temperature measurement (see Para 272-273: “The integrated sensors can provide data for measuring … temperature, … and optionally other physical properties through additional sensors … sensor can store … e.g. store body temperature every 5 seconds”).
Regarding Claim 4 and 14, Tran further discloses wherein the at least a first biological parameter further comprises a weight measurement (see Para 279: “The patient or wearer may wear one or more sensors, for example devices for sensing … weight”).
Regarding Claim 5 and 15, Tran further discloses wherein the current user fitness state identifies a muscle strength (see Para 388: “historical ambulatory information (time and place) is used to further detect changes in muscle strength … the EMG data is used to detect muscle fatigue”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-9 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran as applied to claims above, further in view of WO 2016184418 A1 to Cheng et al. (hereinafter “Cheng”) (copy, including machine translation, attached).
Regarding Claim 6-7 and 16-17, Tran teaches a fitness monitoring system as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1, but fails to specifically teach the current user fitness state identifies an aerobic threshold and an anaerobic threshold.
Another reference, Cheng, teaches a monitoring device (100) for physical strength (see Abstract in machine translation of Cheng) wherein the current user fitness state identifies an aerobic threshold (see in the machine translation of Cheng: “evaluate anaerobic energy and aerobic energy based on physiological signals and biological information” and “the minimum energy threshold may be pre-set and stored in the storage module 104” also “The processing module 102 compares whether the aerobic energy value (aerobic .sub.t ) is lower than or equal to the minimum aerobic energy threshold”), and an anaerobic threshold (see in the machine translation of Cheng: “Upper boundary 204 may correspond to an anaerobic threshold” and “the anaerobic threshold corresponding to the upper boundary 204 mentioned in Fig. 7 can be defined as when the exercise intensity is such that the lactic acid concentration reaches 2-6 mmol per liter”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the time of Applicant’s effective filing date of invention to combine Cheng teaching to modify the invention of Tran to evaluate an anaerobic energy value and an aerobic energy value based on the physiological signal and the biological information, and to combine anaerobic energy and aerobic energy and generating a physical strength value (see Abstract in machine translation of Cheng).
Regarding Claim 8-9 and 18-19, Tran teaches a fitness monitoring system as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1, but fails to specifically teach the user specific recommendation identifies at least an aerobic activity configured to improve an endurance state and at least an anaerobic activity configured to improve a fitness state.
Cheng, further teaches a monitoring device (100) for physical strength (see Abstract in machine translation of Cheng) wherein the user specific recommendation identifies at least an aerobic activity configured to improve an endurance state (see in the machine translation of Cheng: “Since each user's endurance to different exercise intensities is different, the threshold of each physical level lower boundary 202 can also be different” and “the level of physical strength depends on the biometric information input by the user, and can be modified during the exercise according to the user's reaction, more specifically, according to the change in the user's physical strength value” also “The real-time evaluation and output to the user's solution enables users of different physical conditions to obtain reliable physical strength values, so that the user can decide when to increase or decrease the exercise intensity during the exercise”), and, at least an anaerobic activity configured to improve a fitness state (see in the machine translation of Cheng: “the processing module 102 can use the measurement of the motion information to assess the endurance and/or athletic power of the user's body. In addition, the anaerobic evaluation setting in FIG. 23 and/or the aerobic evaluation setting in FIG. 24 can be further adjusted depending on the endurance and/or athletic strength of the user's body. The body composition can be used to assess the user's physical energy density. For example, correlating the user's muscle density with anaerobic energy values, and/or aerobic energy values, and/or physical strength values”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the time of Applicant’s effective filing date of invention to combine Cheng teaching to modify the invention of Tran to adjust training before or during exercise, also to record and analyze their physical strength and endurance as a reference for the next exercise (see in the machine translation of Cheng).
Claim(s) 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran as applied to claims above, further in view of KR 20040019380 A to Teller et al. (hereinafter “Teller”) (copy, including machine translation, attached).
Regarding Claim 10 and 20, Tran teaches a fitness monitoring system as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the user specific recommendation configured to improve a wellbeing state (see Para 28: “Reports of health/activity indicators and the overall well-being of the individual can be compiled for the remote healthcare provider. Feedback reports can be sent to monitored subjects, their designated informal caregiver and their remote healthcare provider. Feedback to the individual can encourage the individual to remain active. The content of the report may be tailored to the target recipient's needs … The remote healthcare provider will have access to the health and well-being status of their patient … Regular monitoring of the basic wellness parameters provides significant benefits”).
However, fails to specifically teach the user specific recommendation identifies at least an exercise for mental clarity configured to improve a wellbeing state.
Another reference, Teller, teaches a system for monitoring health, health care, and health status (see in the machine translation of Teller) wherein the user specific recommendation identifies at least an exercise for mental clarity configured to improve a wellbeing state (see in the machine translation of Teller: “Feedback may be a reminder or warning signal in … participating in activities such as exercise or meditation” and “The mental concentration category 155 of the health index is designed to help the user monitor parameters related to the time spent participating in certain activities that allow the body to achieve a deep rest state while the mind is concentrated. And based on data input by the user and / or sensed by the sensor device 10. In particular, the user may enter the start and end times of a relaxation activity such as yoga or meditation. The quality of these activities, determined by the depth of mental concentration events, can be measured by monitoring parameters including skin temperature, heart rate, respiration rate and heat flow sensed by the sensor device 10”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the time of Applicant’s effective filing date of invention to combine Teller teaching to modify the invention of Tran to provide exercise recommendation to meet the needs of individuals interested in a healthier lifestyle (see in the machine translation of Teller).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/I.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/JOHN R DOWNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792