DETAILED ACTION
Current application is a CON of application number 18/353,559, now a US Patent Number 12,081,404 which is a CON of application number 17/817,201, now a US Patent Number 11,743,126 which is a CON of application number 17/339,019 which is now a US Patent Number 11,438,235 B1 which is a CON of application number 16/579,180 which is now a US Patent Number 11,038,762 B1.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: limitation on line 10-11 in claim 1: “…performed on any resource assigned with the user-defined label” and claim 11 recites similar limitation. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,081,404 B1, 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,743,126 B1, 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,438,235 B1, and 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,038,762 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims in the current application are broader and obvious variants of the claims from said patents relating to the key-value pairs of the user-defined label for resources across a plurality of different computing environments and the values that the labels assume are obvious variants given the rest of claim construction across different patents mentioned above and the current claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandwine at al. (US 2014/0207861 A1, hereinafter Brandwine) in view of Chang et al. (US 2017/0339070 A1, hereinafter Chang) and in further view of Chhabra et al. (US 2020/0007455 A1, hereinafter Chhabra).
Regarding claim 11, Brandwine teaches a system comprising: data processing hardware; and memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware, [Figures 1-4, 8, and 9], the memory hardware storing instructions that when executed on the data processing hardware cause the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising:
grouping multiple resources from a plurality of resources into a resource group, [multiple resources are in consideration for tagging as a group, Figure 6; See Figure 5, element 501 (resources associated with the user), element 502 enables identifying resources to assign tags (user-defined labels), see also Figure 6 and Figure 5, element 507 enables identifying resources to perform operations using tags (user-defined labels)];
obtaining a user-defined label, assigning the user-defined label to each resource of the resource group, [see Figure 6 where tag (user-defined label) is assigned to one or more resource (resource group) based on user request and access control policy (resource policy) that specifies which users are allowed to apply the tag to which resources; claim is not clear if these labels can be different for each resource within the same group and if it is not, then assigning a label to each resource would be the same for all resources in the one or more resources (of the resource group); Par. [0015] and [0017] among others describes the tag (user-defined label) as a key-value pair];
generating a resource policy restricting operations performed on any resource assigned with the user-defined label, [See Figure 6 where tag (user-defined label) is assigned to one or more resource based on user request and access control policy (resource policy) that specifies which users are allowed to apply the tag to which resources or perform operations on resources; Figure 5 shows policies attached to the tag in the context of one or more resources (resource policy) for performing operations on the resources based on the tags; See also Figures 1, 2, and 3; see Abstract and other associated description; Par.[0017] among others describes access control policy (resource policy) that restricts assigning tags to a resource based on specific keys: Because each tag can be comprised of a key and value pair, the restrictions in the access control policy can be based on ether (1) a combination of a specific key and a specific value, or (2) based on a specific key regardless of any value that may be associated with it; See also Par.[0025]]; and
applying the resource policy to the multiple resources in the resource group, [see Abstract and Par.[0001] for user resource tagging in cloud computing environment; See Figure 5 and 6 show applying access control policy in the context of an identified resource for tag assignment (Figure 6) and also in the context of performing an operation using the resource (Figure 5, element 506, 507); See also Figures 2 and 3 for tag use access control policy for a resource and resource use control policy; see associated descriptions for the same; claim language is broad];
Brandwine is not explicit about the plurality of resources distributed across a plurality of different computing environments in communication with the data processing hardware, [Examiner notes that Brandwine is not explicit about multiple different computing environments (private and public) but describes in general detail private and public computing environments for tenant resources and there is no rule that the resource tagging described in Brandwine would not apply to resources if they are distributed across private and public computing environments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to include the minor detail that tenant resources in Brandwine would straddle between private and public computing environments as taught by Chang];
However, in an analogous art, Chang teaches the plurality of resources distributed across a plurality of different computing environments in communication with the data processing hardware, [Par.[0013] describes a hybrid cloud environment, including a private cloud and a public cloud (two distinct and different computing environments) for tenant (user) resources; see also Figures 1 and 5; note that the term ‘plurality of computing environments’ is broad but is interpreted in light of Specification Par. [0005] as public and private computing environments; Par.[0038] refers to a tagging resources in the hybrid cloud network];
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brandwine to include multiple computing environments for a user’s resources. The motivation/suggestion would have been to establish a hybrid cloud that provides tenant access to the one or more computing resources between a public cloud and an enterprise network, [Chang: Abstract];
Brandwine and Chang do not explicitly teach (label) comprising a value of a key-value pair representing a location of the resource group, [note that Chang reference in Par.[0038] shows an origin identifier in the tag based on affinity policy process to tag the resources in the hybrid cloud network with an origin identifier of the public cloud network; however, Chhabra reference below is provided for more clarity];
Chhabra teaches (label) comprising a value of a key-value pair representing a location of the resource group, [Abstract and Par.[0024] describe “Tags may be metadata, which may include a key-value pair. Tags may include email addresses, cost centers, project identifiers, location, team name, etc.”]; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brandwine to include location in the labels. The motivation/suggestion would have been to facilitate decisions by an access management service regarding access of computing resources by principals, [Chhabra: Abstract].
Regarding claim 12, Brandwine, Chang, and Chhabra disclose the system of claim 11, and Brandwine teaches wherein the resource policy comprises at least one of: a firewall policy; a networking policy; or a quota policy, [Figure 6 describes access control policies (networking) associated with assigning tags to resources].
Regarding claim 13, Brandwine, Chang, and Chhabra disclose the system of claim 11, and Brandwine teaches wherein the resource policy comprises a unique user- defined string of characters, [Par.[0015] and [0017] among others describe the tag as a key-value pair with character strings].
Regarding claim 14, Brandwine, Chang, and Chhabra disclose the system of claim 12, and Brandwine teaches wherein a key of the key-value pair is associated with multiple different values, [Par.[0015] and [0017] among others describe the tag as a key-value pair with different values/character strings].
Regarding claim 15, Brandwine, Chang, and Chhabra disclose the system of claim 11, and Brandwine teaches wherein the resource policy comprises at least one of: a first constraint associated with a key of the key-value pair; or a second constraint associated with the value of the key-value pair, [See Figure 5 and 6 show applying access control policy (constraint, who and what) in the context of an identified resource for tag assignment (Figure 6) and also in the context of performing an operation using the resource (Figure 5, element 506, 507)].
Regarding claim 16, Brandwine, Chang, and Chhabra disclose the system of claim 11, and Chang teaches wherein the plurality of different computing environments comprise at least one private computing environment and at least one public computing environment, [dependent claim is obvious over Brandwine in view of Chang for the same reasons as above; [Par.[0013] describes a hybrid cloud environment, including a private cloud and a public cloud (two distinct and different computing environments) for tenant (user) resources; see also Figures 1 and 5; Par.[0038] refers to a tagging resources in the hybrid cloud network].
Regarding claim 17, Brandwine, Chang, and Chhabra disclose the system of claim 16, and Chang teaches wherein the private computing environment comprises an on-premises computing environment, [dependent claim is obvious over Brandwine in view of Change for the same reasons as above; Par.[0013] and Figure 1 for enterprise network].
Regarding claim 18, Brandwine Chang, and Chhabra disclose the system of claim 11, and, Brandwine teaches wherein the plurality of resources comprise at least one of a virtual machine, a database, a key-value store, or a network, [See Par.[0014] among others, Figure 4B shows a tag data store (key-value store)].
Regarding claim 19, Brandwine Chang, and Chhabra disclose the system of claim 11, and, and Brandwine teaches wherein the operations further comprise identifying the resource group from the plurality of resources using the user-defined label assigned to each resource of the resource group, [multiple resources are in consideration for tagging as a group, Figure 6; See Figure 5, element 501 (resources associated with the user), see also Figure 6 and Figure 5, element 507 enables identifying resources to perform operations using tags (user-defined labels)].
Regarding claim 20, Brandwine Chang, and Chhabra disclose the system of claim 11, and, and Brandwine teaches wherein the resource policy comprises a first resource policy associated with a key of the key-value pair and a second resource policy associated with the value of the key-value pair, [Par.[0017] describes exceptions to a first access control policy which may be interpreted as a second policy for a specific value and see also Par.[0024]-[0025]].
Claims 2-10 correspond to claims 12-20 and are rejected as above.
Conclusion
/PADMA MUNDUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2441