DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, Claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 02/19/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 9-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/19/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagarajan et al. (US 2018/0016445 A1) (“Nagarajan” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Nagarajan teaches a composition (see Nagarajan at [0017] teaching disclosed herein is a crosslinked polyphenol and polymer composition), which is taken to meet the claimed composition based on the structure as outlined below, comprising:
a nylon polymer (see Nagarajan at [0047]-[0048] teaching the polymer can be any type, including… a thermoplastic… examples of thermoplastic polymers that can be used include… polyaramides including synthetic linear polyamides… Nylon 6 and Nylon 6,6); and
tannic acid (see Nagarajan at [0017] and [0020] teaching the crosslinked polyphenol can be prepared through polycondensation of a bio-based phenolic compound… in a specific embodiment, the natural product phenolic compound can be a tannin… there are two major classes of tannins: condensed tannins and hydrolysable tannins… tannic acid is a major commercial form of hydrolysable tannin);
wherein the nylon polymer and the tannic acid are homogenously distributed in the composition (see Nagarajan at [0063] teaching the polymer compositions can be manufactured by various methods known in the art… for example, when the polymer is a thermoplastic, the crosslinked polyphenol, the polymer… can be blended… in a high speed mixer or by hand mixing). The mixed or blended thermoplastic and the crosslinked polyphenol is taken to meet the claimed “the nylon polymer and the tannic acid are homogenously distributed in the composition”.
Regarding claims 2-3, Nagarajan teaches the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and Nagarajan further teaches wherein the nylon polymer is nylon 6 (claim 2), and wherein the nylon polymer is nylon 6,6 (claim 3) (see Nagarajan at [0048] teaching Nylon 6 and Nylon 6,6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagarajan.
Regarding claim 4, Nagarajan teaches the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and Nagarajan further teaches wherein the tannic acid has a wt% of at least 10% relative to the nylon polymer (see Nagarajan at [0046] teaching also provided is a polymer composition comprising a polymer; and 2 to 30 wt% of a crosslinked polyphenol, based on the total weight of the polymer and the crosslinked polyphenol, see Nagarajan at [0017] and [0020] teaching the crosslinked polyphenol can be prepared through polycondensation of a bio-based phenolic compound… in a specific embodiment, the natural product phenolic compound can be a tannin… there are two major classes of tannins: condensed tannins and hydrolysable tannins… tannic acid is a major commercial form of hydrolysable tannin) (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagarajan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Deans et al. (US 2019/0077940 A1) (“Deans” hereinafter).
Regarding claims 5-6, Nagarajan teaches the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and as mentioned, Nagarajan teaches a composition comprising tannic acid and nylon (see Nagarajan at [0017], [0020], and [0047]-[0048]). Nagarajan also teaches a crosslinked polyphenol and polymer composition suitable as an FR additive for polymers and fabrics (see Nagarajan at [0017]). However, Nagarajan does not explicitly teach wherein the tannic acid has a wt% of at least 50% relative to the nylon polymer (claim 5), and wherein the tannic acid has a wt% of at least 100% relative to the nylon polymer (claim 6).
Like Nagarajan, Deans teaches a composition comprising tannic acid and nylon (see Deans at [0008]-[0009] and [0017] teaching a polymer composite material includes a blend of one or more thermoplastic polymers and one or more bio-based flame retardant additives… the one or more bio-based flame retardant additives includes tannic acid… in some embodiments, the one or more thermoplastic polymers includes one or more… nylon 6, nylon 6,6). Deans also teaches flame retardant polymer composite materials wherein the polymer is modified using one or more tannins… as flame retardant additives… the one ore more tannins… provide a bio-based additive that has been found by the inventors to provide flame retardant properties to the polymer (see Deans at [0006]).
Deans further teaches in some embodiments, the one or more bio-based flame retardant additives includes tannic acid… the tannic acid may be present from about 40 to about 100 parts per 100 parts by weight of the one or more thermoplastic polymers (see Deans at [0009]), which is taken to meet the claimed “ wherein the tannic acid has a wt% of at least 50% relative to the nylon polymer” (claim 5), and “wherein the tannic acid has a wt% of at least 100% relative to the nylon polymer” (claim 6) (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Additionally, MPEP states that "[w]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation", and “the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages” (see MPEP § 2144.05.II.A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected an amount of from about 40 to about 100 parts of tannic acid per 100 parts by weight of the one or more thermoplastic polymers as taught by Deans in the crosslinked polyphenol and polymer composition as taught by Nagarajan because there is a reasonable expectation of success that amounts disclosed amounts would be suitable so as to provide flame retardant properties to the polymer.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagarajan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yung et al. (US 2018/0371656 A1) (“Yung” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 7, Nagarajan teaches the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and Nagarajan further teaches also provided is a flame-retardant fabric comprising a woven or non-woven fabric substrate and a coating on a surface of the fabric substrate… any suitable material can be used as the fabric substrate, including polymers as described above… the fibers can be in any suitable form, for example single, twisted, knitted, or the like… in an embodiment, the woven or non-woven fabric substrate comprises polyamide fibers (see Nagarajan at [0068]).
However, Nagarajan does not explicitly teach wherein the composition is in the form of a nanofiber.
Like Nagarajan, Yung teaches fabrics comprising polyamide fibers (see Yung at [0002] and [0009] teaching a polyamide nanofiber nonwovens that may be useful for… breathable fabrics for apparel… as well as other applications… in some embodiments, the present disclosure is directed to a nanofiber nonwoven product comprising polyamide nanofibers… the polyamide may comprise… N6, N66… wherein “N” means Nylon). Nylon nanofibers is taken to meet the claimed “wherein the composition is in the form of a nanofiber”.
Yung further teaches polymer membranes, including nanofiber… nonwovens are known in the art and are used for a variety of purposes, including in connection with… apparel (see Yung at [0003]).
As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that Yung teaches nylon nanofiber nonwovens are known in the art and are used for a variety of purposes, and seek those advantages by using nanofibers in the non-woven fabric substrate as taught by Nagarajan.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use nanofibers as taught by Yung in the non-woven fabric substrate as taught by Nagarajan because nylon nanofibers nonwovens are known in the art and are used for a variety of purposes.
Regarding claim 8, Nagarajan in view of Yung teach a nanofibrous mat (see Nagarajan at [0068] teaching a flame-retardant fabric comprising a woven or non-woven fabric substrate and a coating on a surface of the fabric substrate… any suitable material can be used as the fabric substrate, including polymers as described above… the fibers can be in any suitable form, for example single, twisted, knitted, or the like… in an embodiment, the woven or non-woven fabric substrate comprises polyamide fibers, see Yung at [0002] and [0009] teaching a polyamide nanofiber nonwovens that may be useful for… breathable fabrics for apparel… as well as other applications… in some embodiments, the present disclosure is directed to a nanofiber nonwoven product comprising polyamide nanofibers… the polyamide may comprise… N6, N66… wherein “N” means Nylon). Nylon nanofibers is taken to meet the claimed “nanofibrous mat”, comprising
the nanofiber of claim 7 (see claim 7 rejection for details).
Conclusion
/MARITES A GUINO-O UZZLE/Examiner, Art Unit 1731