Election/Restrictions
The remarks received 2/5/2026 are persuasive. The restriction requirement is withdrawn. Claims 1-20 are examined.
Claim Interpretation
The following limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses means or a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the means or generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
“buffering member” includes the generic/nonce term “member” coupled with the function of “buffering”. A return to the specification provides a soft or elastic material 410 or 420 as discussed in [0186]-[0189]. Therefor the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (2) as being anticipated by Lee et al (US 11,841,180).
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses an ice maker comprising:
a first tray assembly (320) that provides a part of an ice making cell for making ice; and
a second tray (380) assembly that provides another part of the ice making cell for making ice,
wherein the first tray assembly is fixed to a peripheral structure, and the second tray assembly is rotatably disposed on the first tray assembly to selectively open the ice making cell,
wherein the first tray assembly is provided with at least one protrusion part that protrudes more than the second tray assembly or the operating trajectory of the second tray assembly to prevent interference with a counterpart located in the opposite direction of the ice maker when the second tray assembly operates (components identified in annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 15, Lee further discloses the first tray assembly includes: a first tray that provides a part of the ice making cell; and a tray cover that is coupled to the first tray to supply water into the ice making cell of the first tray or to guide the flow of cool air to the first tray, wherein the protrusion part protrudes from the first tray assembly toward the second tray assembly (water supply 240 included in cover part, protrusion identified in annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses the protrusion part is formed to protrude from the first tray (shown in annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 17, Lee discloses the protrusion part is formed to protrude from the tray cover (shown in annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 20, Lee discloses the end of the protrusion part is bent upward or downward to have a flat part having a height greater than the thickness (protrusion identified above in annotated figure includes a downward bend).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al (US 10,309,716) in view of Lee et al (US 11,841,180).
Regarding claim 1, Guo discloses a refrigerator comprising:
a cabinet (figure 1) having a storage compartment;
a refrigerator door (1) that selectively opens and closes the storage compartment of the cabinet and has an installation space on a wall thereof opposite to the storage compartment;
an ice maker (4) provided in the installation space of the refrigerator door to produce ice; and
an ice making compartment door (3) that opens and closes the installation space of the refrigerator door, wherein the ice maker comprises:
a first tray assembly that provides a part of an ice making cell for making ice (the ice maker 4 includes an ice tray as shown in the figures); and
a protrusion part (33 and/or 63) provided between the first tray assembly and the ice making compartment door to separate them from each other.
Guo lacks a first and second tray of the ice maker. Lee discloses an ice maker including first and second trays (320 and 380). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the single tray arrangement of Guo for the two tray arrangement of Lee in order to make spherical ice.
Regarding claim 2, Guo and Lee further disclose the first tray assembly is fixed to an inner wall of the refrigerator door, and the second tray assembly is rotatably disposed in the first tray assembly and selectively opens the ice making cell (figure 60 of Lee shows rotation of the second tray assembly relative to the first tray).
Regarding claim 3, Guo and Lee further disclose the first tray assembly includes: a first tray that provides a part of the ice making cell for making ice; and a tray cover that is coupled to the first tray (Lee discloses a cover 220 of the first tray).
Regarding claim 4, Guo and Lee further disclose the protrusion part (33 of Guo protrudes from the compartment door; 63 protrudes from the ice tray) is formed to protrude from at least one of the opposite surfaces between the ice making compartment door and the first tray.
Regarding claim 5, Guo and Lee further the protrusion part is formed to protrude from the first tray toward the ice making compartment door (63 protrudes from the tray towards the door).
Regarding claim 6, Guo discloses the protrusion part (63) but lacks a gradually narrowing width. The examiner takes official notice that draft angles in injection molding is old and well known. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the protrusion part gradually narrow in width towards an end in order to a draft angle to aid in release from a mold during manufacture.
Regarding claim 9, Guo and Lee discloses the protrusion part is formed at at least one of the opposite surfaces between the ice making compartment door (33) and the tray cover (provided by Lee, where a protrusion is identified on the cover of Lee as shown below).
Regarding claim 10, Guo and Lee disclose the protrusion part is formed to protrude from the tray cover toward the ice making compartment door (protrusion identified in annotated figure of Lee above, by modification the ice maker is provided relative to an ice making compartment door of Guo).
Regarding claim 11, Guo and Lee disclose the protrusion part is formed to separate the first tray assembly from the ice making compartment door by a distance such that the second tray assembly dose not contact the ice making compartment door during the rotation operation of the second tray assembly (as shown in figure 59 the second tray does not contact the surface which corresponds to the door in the combination with Guo).
Regarding claim 12, Guo and Lee disclose the protrusion part is formed to protrude from the first tray assembly by a distance such that the protrusion part does not contact the ice making compartment door (as shown in annotated figure 54 above of Lee the protrusion contacts an upper standoff portion rather than the surface that represents the door in combination with Guo).
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 11,841,180).
Regarding claim 18, Lee discloses the protrusion part but lacks a gradually narrowing width. The examiner takes official notice that draft angles in injection molding is old and well known. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the protrusion part gradually narrow in width towards an end in order to a draft angle to aid in release from a mold during manufacture.
Regarding claim 19, Lee discloses the end surface of the protrusion part is formed to be flat (the protrusion identified in the annotated figure above at claim 14, includes a flat surface at an end thereof).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 7 and 8 each include a “buffering member” which is interpreted under §112(f) as detailed above. The buffering member includes a soft or elastic material either on the ice making compartment door which is caused to collide with the protrusion part or on the protrusion part. While soft or elastic materials are old and well known to cushion swinging elements, such as a classic door stopper, e.g. US 65,083; US 918,060; US 18,627; or US 2,462,174. However to merely apply a buffering member to the prior art presented above would require the use of impermissible hindsight.
Claim 13 further defines that the protrusion part is formed to protrude from the first tray assembly to a position closer to the ice making compartment door than a position closest to the ice making compartment door in the operating trajectory of the second tray assembly. Also claim 13 depends from claim 12 which also requires tha the protrusion part does not contact the ice making compartment door. This is no evidence on record to modified Guo or Lee to arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al (US 8,302,423) ice maker, protrusion 77b of figure 8.
An et al (US 8,281,613) protrusion 64 of figure 5.
Krause et al (US 2012/0291473) protrusions 206 maintain distance between ice maker and wall
/CHRISTOPHER R ZERPHEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799