DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
IDS filed 8/20/24 is acknowledged, the references therein relating to the general background of applicant’s invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1) Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 and 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. patent application publication 2024/0036776 by Shiohara, and further in view of U.S. patent application publication 2020/0249881 by Hosomizo.
2) Regarding claim 1, Shiohara teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a support program, the support program (figure 2B, item 204; paragraph 38; an extension application) supporting a generic printing program (paragraph 33; figure 2B, item 202; generic print driver) implemented with an operating system (paragraph 27; applications run within an OS) of an information processing device (figure 1, item 101; a PC), the support program, when executed by a processor of the information processing device, causing the information processing device to perform: in a case where the support program is started by the operating system after a print instruction is issued by an application program (paragraphs 42 and 43; extension application is started based on print instruction issued by an application 201), transmitting a print command to the generic printing program (figure 2B, item 206; paragraph 43; extension application can transmit print commands to generic driver 202 indicating processing to be performed); in a case where the support program is started by the operating system based on a predetermined instruction, determining whether a predetermined condition is satisfied; and in a case where the determining determines that the predetermined condition is satisfied, displaying introduction information for a model of the printer on a user interface of the information processing device, the introduction information being information related to how to use the printer (figures 3 and 4; paragraphs 51-54; predetermined instruction can be the execution of the extension application 204 while the condition can be that this is the first time the extension has been activated, and when the condition is met, informational screens of figures 3 and 4 are displayed, paragraphs 94 and 95 disclose that display information can be dependent upon the model of a printer being utilized).
Shiohara does not specifically teach transmitting a print command to a printer via the generic printing program.
Hosomizo teaches transmitting a print command to a printer via the generic printing program (figure 6; paragraph 76; print data can be sent back from an extension application [i.e. supporting program 42] to a general use driver before being transmitted to a printer).
Shiohara and Hosomizo are combinable because they are both from the printer driver extension field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Shiohara with Hosomizo to add sending print data to a printer from the generic driver. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce the complexity of an installed extension application. Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Shiohara with Hosomizo to obtain the invention of claim 1.
3) Regarding claim 2, Hosomizo (as combined with Shiohara in the rejection of claim 1 above) teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the support program, when executed by the processor, causes the information processing device to further perform: in a case where the support program is started by the operating system based on the predetermined instruction, acquiring identification information for the printer, the acquiring being performed before the determining (figure 2, item j; paragraphs 55 and 56; printing capabilities can be stored at installation); and in a case where the determining determines that the predetermined condition is satisfied, storing the identification information in a memory of the information processing device (paragraphs 55 and 56; capability information is stored in memory for future use), wherein the predetermined condition includes a requirement that the identification information for the printer is not stored in the memory (paragraph 56; when extension application is first activated, the capability information is not yet stored and, as taught in Shiohara, initial screen information can be displayed).
4) Regarding claim 4, Shiohara (as combined with Hosomizo in the rejection of claim 1 above) teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the introduction information includes information related to the model of the printer and information related to a function of the support program (paragraphs 94 and 95; capability information obtained at time of first activation [as explicitly taught by Hosomizo] includes consumable information for the particular printer model and a function of ordering consumables through the extension application).
5) Regarding claim 6, Hosomizo (as combined with Shiohara in the rejection of claim 1 above) teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the support program, when executed by the processor, causes the information processing device to further perform: acquiring region information indicating a target region for usage of the printer, wherein the introduction information is based on the region information (paragraph 51; capability information, obtained at the timing of first activation can be dependent upon geographic region and can be displayed in the form of settings).
6) Regarding claim 7, Shiohara teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the introduction information includes at least one of information related to a capability supported by the model of the printer and information related to a service provided for the model of the printer (paragraphs 94 and 95; display information can be dependent upon the model of a printer being utilized).
7) Regarding claim 8, Shiohara teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the support program, when executed by the processor, causes the information processing device to further perform: acquiring component information indicating a component mounted in the printer, wherein the introduction information includes information related to how to use the component indicated in the component information (figure 13; capability information, obtained at first activation, can include ink tank type [i.e. a component] and how to use it [i.e. figure 9A, purchasing consumables).
8) Regarding claim 9, Shiohara teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined instruction is the print instruction, wherein the predetermined condition includes a requirement that the support program is started by the operating system based on the print instruction (paragraphs 42, 43 and 47; first activation can be caused by application printing request causing initiation of the extension application).
9) Regarding claim 10, Shiohara teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined instruction is a starting instruction issued immediately after installation of the support program on the information processing device, wherein the predetermined condition includes a requirement that the support program is started by the operating system based on the starting instruction issued immediately after the installation of the support program on the information processing device (paragraphs 39 and 47; extension application can be activated after installation).
10) Regarding claim 11, Hosomizo (as combined with Shiohara in the rejection of claim 1 above) teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the print instruction is to instruct the printer to print an image based on image data, wherein the support program, when executed by the processor, causes the information processing device to further perform: in a case where the support program is started by the operating system after the print instruction is transmitted from the application program to the generic printing program, receiving the image data from the generic printing program, wherein the print command transmitted in the transmitting is based on the image data (figure 6; paragraph 65; general purpose driver can receive a print execution instruction and then activate the extension program and transmit print data [arrow D]).
11) Regarding claim 12, Shiohara (as combined with Hosomizo in the rejection of claim 1 above) teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the introduction information is information prompting an operation to purchase one or more consumables (paragraphs 94 and 95; capability information obtained at time of first activation [as explicitly taught by Hosomizo] includes a function of ordering consumables through the extension application).
12) Regarding claim 13, Shiohara (as combined with Hosomizo in the rejection of claim 1 above) teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the introduction information is information related to a service to automatically ship one or more consumables (paragraph 95; capability information obtained at time of first activation [as explicitly taught by Hosomizo] includes a function of ordering consumables in accordance with a contract [i.e. automatic]).
13) Claim 14 is taught in the same manner as described in the rejection of claim 1 above, with the exception of: an information processing device comprising: a memory; a user interface; and a processor (Shiohara figure 1, items 111,-113 and 110; various memories, a CPU and a user interface).
14) Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. patent application publication 2024/0036776 by Shiohara, and further in view of U.S. patent application publication 2020/0249881 by Hosomizo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. patent application publication 2024/0259503 by Sawada.
Shiohara does not specifically teach the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 2, wherein the support program, when executed by the processor, causes the information processing device to further perform: in a case where the determining determines that the predetermined condition is satisfied, displaying a message expressing thanks for purchasing the printer on the user interface.
Sawada teaches teach the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 2, wherein the support program, when executed by the processor, causes the information processing device to further perform: in a case where the determining determines that the predetermined condition is satisfied, displaying a message expressing thanks for purchasing the printer on the user interface (paragraph 72; thank you message for purchasing a printer can be displayed).
Shiohara and Sawada are combinable because they are both from the printer consumables field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Shiohara with Sawada to add a thank you message. The motivation for doing so would have been for allowing a user to recognize a printer has been purchased (paragraph 72). Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Shiohara with Sawada to obtain the invention of claim 3.
15) Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. patent application publication 2024/0036776 by Shiohara, and further in view of U.S. patent application publication 2020/0249881 by Hosomizo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. patent application publication 2024/0251051 by Suzuki and further in view of U.S. patent application publication 2022/0417371 by Nagao et al.
Shiohara does not specifically teach the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the support program, when executed by the processor, causes the information processing device to further perform: accessing a web server to acquire a web page for the model of the printer, the web server being configured to supply different web pages for different models of printers, each of the web pages including introduction information for a corresponding one of the models, wherein the displaying displays the web page including the introduction information for the model of the printer.
Suzuki teaches the displaying displays the web page including the introduction information (paragraphs 35 and 37; immediately after printer installation, a URL for consumable purchase can be displayed).
Nagao teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the support program, when executed by the processor, causes the information processing device to further perform: accessing a web server to acquire a web page for the model of the printer, the web server being configured to supply different web pages for different models of printers, each of the web pages including introduction information for a corresponding one of the models, wherein the displaying displays the web page including the introduction information for the model of the printer (paragraph 67; URL for consumable ordering is model dependent).
Shiohara, Suzuki and Nagao are combinable because they are all from the printer consumables ordering field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Shiohara with Suzuki to add ordering consumables after an initial activation. The motivation for doing so would have been to get a ser to register for a service (paragraph 37).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Shiohara with Nagao to add model dependent ordering webpages. The motivation for doing so would have been so that the online shop displays the correct merchandise for purchase.
Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Shiohara with Suzuki and Nagao to obtain the invention of claim 5.
Conclusion
BENJAMIN O. DULANEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2676
/BENJAMIN O DULANEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683