DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gay (Foreign Patent Document No.: FR 2973179 A1).
For claim 1, Gay discloses the claimed invention including: a stator (reference numeral 2, figure 1), including a plurality of stator slots (between stator teeth 4, figure 1) and a plurality of stator teeth (reference numeral 4, figure 1), each of the stator teeth including a stator tooth center (center of stator teeth 4, see figures 1, 4, 7-9); and a rotor (reference numeral 3, figure 1), including a plurality of motor poles (i.e. poles comprised of layers 5, see figure 1), each of the motor poles including a plurality of rotor barriers (reference numerals 5, 8, see figures 1, 4, 7-9), the rotor barriers including a first rotor barrier (i.e. layer 5 closest to center 3b, see figures 1, 4, 7-9) to an n-th rotor barrier (i.e. layer 5 further away from center 3b, see figures 1, 4, 7-9), the first rotor barrier including a first rotor barrier end center (i.e. layer 5 closest to center 3b, the layer 5 having an end that is facing an outer peripheral surface of rotor 3, the end having a center, see figures 1, 4, 7-9), the n-th rotor barrier includes an n-th rotor barrier end center (i.e. layer 5 further away from center 3b, the layer 5 having an end that is facing an outer peripheral surface of rotor 3, the end having a center, see figures 1, 4, 7-9), where n is a positive integer greater than 1; wherein, a first rotor barrier end center line is defined between the first rotor barrier end center and a center of the rotor (i.e. a line extending from first rotor barrier end center to the center of the rotor, see figure 1) include, a stator tooth center line is defined between the stator tooth center and the center of the rotor (i.e. a line extending from a stator tooth center to the center of the rotor, see figure 1), and the first rotor barrier end center line and a corresponding stator tooth center line defines a first included angle (θb) (i.e. angle formed between the first rotor barrier end center line and the stator tooth center line, figure 1); wherein an n-th rotor barrier end center line is defined between the n-th rotor barrier end center and the center of the rotor (i.e. a line extending from n-th rotor barrier end center to the center of the rotor, see figure 1), and the n-th rotor barrier end center line and a corresponding stator tooth center line defines an included angle (θn) (i.e. angle formed between the n-th rotor barrier end center line and the corresponding stator tooth center line, figure 1); wherein the formula of the included angle (θn) is: (θn)=[(n−1)×k+1]×θb (Gay discloses the rotor barriers 5 having different configurations as illustrated in figures 4 and 7-9, which would enable a skilled person to attain a particular formula for the included angle θn), the real number (k) is any value within the range of 2±0.5, and the formula of the first included angle (θb) is any value within the range of the first included angle (θb)=36/Ns±0.5°, Ns is the number of stator slots (Gay discloses the rotor barriers 5 having different configurations as illustrated in figures 4 and 7-9, which would enable a skilled person to attain a particular formula for the included angle θb).
For claim 4, Gay discloses the number of stator slots (Ns) being 48 (see translation of Gay, Description, page 4, fifth to sixth line), and each of the motor poles includes four, five or six rotor barriers (i.e. figure 4 shows the number of barriers 5 being four).
For claim 5, Gay discloses the included angle (θn) including a deviation of any value within the range of ±72/Ns° (i.e. figures 4 and 7-9 show rotor barrier 5 having different angles in relation to the stator teeth 4, which would enable a person of ordinary skill to have a deviation of any value within the range of ±72/Ns°).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gay as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xiao (US Patent No.: 10770960).
For claim 2, Gay discloses each of the motor poles including two or three rotor barriers (reference numeral 5, see figures 1, 4, 7-9), but Gay however does not specifically disclose the number of stator slots (Ns) being 24. Having a particular number of stator slots would merely involve adjusting the number of slots in the stator which is a known skill in the art as exhibited by Xiao (reference numeral 3, see figures 6, 7), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the number of slots in the stator as disclosed by Xiao for the number of stator slots of Gay for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the proper functioning of the device.
For claim 3, Gay discloses each of the motor poles including three or four rotor barriers (reference numeral 5, see figures 1, 4, 7-9), but Gay however does not specifically disclose the number of stator slots (Ns) being 36. Having a particular number of stator slots would merely involve adjusting the number of slots in the stator which is a known skill in the art as exhibited by Xiao (reference numeral 3, see figures 6, 7), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the number of slots in the stator as disclosed by Xiao for the number of stator slots of Gay for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the proper functioning of the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references disclose embodiments of rotor pole configurations: US 10855125 B2 (Yen; Sheng-Chan et al.), US 10439456 B2 (Reddy; Patel Bhageerath et al.), US 10389193 B2 (Ito; Kazumasa et al.), US 10348173 B2 (Tong; Mingyu), US 10305336 B2 (Lange; Tobias et al.), US RE46867 E (Moghaddam; Reza Rajabi), US 9917481 B2 (Pollock; Charles et al.), US 9490673 B2 (Okubo; Masayuki et al.).
/ALEX W MOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834