Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a RF coil with a discontinuous cylindrical-like shape and that has a decoupling ring enhanced to accommodate a discontinuity in the discontinuous cylindrical-like shape without use of electrical connectors, does not reasonably provide enablement for an RF coil with that has a continuous cylindrical shape. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Regarding claim 10, the claim discloses “the pair of RF coil elements of the first row are spaced from each other and are respectively at the first end of the first row and the second end of the first row” which the examiner believes that is intended by the applicant to be the discontinuous cylindrical shape. However, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language leaves a possibility that there are additional coil elements between one RF coil element of the pair and another RF coil element of the pair, but the ends still connect and thus form a continuous cylindrical shape. Undue experimentation would be required for these embodiments and therefore the claim is considered not enabled. Claims 11-17 are rejected for depending on claim 10.
Regarding claim 18, the claim discloses “wherein each of the plurality of rows includes a pair of RF coil elements and extends circumferentially around an axis, beginning at a first end of that row and ending at a second end of that row spaced from the first end” which the examiner believes that is intended by the applicant to be the discontinuous cylindrical shape. However, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language leaves a possibility that the ends are spaced apart and still connected depending on the travel direction (i.e. clockwise or counter clockwise). Undue experimentation would be required for these embodiments and therefore the claim is considered not enabled. Claims 19-20 are rejected for depending on claim 18.
Claim 10-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding independent claims 10 and 18, the same reasons as above also leave the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the claim language is trying to claim the discontinuous cylindrical-like shape and that has a decoupling ring enhanced to accommodate a discontinuity in the discontinuous cylindrical-like shape without use of electrical connectors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-12, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (US 2020/0292643).
Regarding claim 10, Yang teaches a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system comprising an MRI radio frequency (RF) coil, wherein the MRI RF coil comprises:
a plurality of rows of RF coil elements, including a first row and a second row, wherein each of the plurality of rows includes a pair of RF coil elements and extends circumferentially around an axis, beginning at a first end of that row and ending at a second end of that row [See two or more rows. See cylindrical axis. See also rest of reference.],
the pair of RF coil elements of the first row are spaced from each other and are respectively at the first end of the first row and the second end of the first row [Fig. 9, see coil 1 and coil N. Fig. 10, see coil 1 and coil 4. ¶0088, wherein embodiments can be combined. See also rest of reference.], and
each RF coil element of the first row shares a reactive decoupling element with each directly neighboring RF coil element of the first row [See Fig. 7, see capacitor 720. ¶0088, wherein embodiments can be combined. See also rest of reference.]; and
a decoupling ring extending in a continuous closed path along a plurality of RF coil elements, including the pairs of RF coil elements of the first and second rows, wherein the decoupling ring comprises a reactive ring portion of each of the plurality of RF coil elements [See Figs. 9-10, see decoupling ring. ¶0088, wherein embodiments can be combined. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 11, Yang further teaches wherein the reactive ring portion of each of the plurality of RF coil elements is between and directly electrically coupled to a pair of reactive ring portions of two other RF coil elements [See Figs. 9-10, see decoupling ring. ¶0088, wherein embodiments can be combined. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 12, Yang further teaches wherein the reactive ring portion of each of the plurality of RF coil elements consists essentially of a conductive trace and one or more reactive elements that are in series [See Figs. 9-10, see decoupling ring. ¶0088, wherein embodiments can be combined. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 16, Yang further teaches wherein the first and second ends of the first row are circumferentially offset from the first and second ends of the second row [See Fig. 10. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 18, Yang teaches a method for magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), comprising:
providing an MRI radio frequency (RF) coil comprising:
a plurality of rows of RF coil elements, including a first row and a second row, wherein each of the plurality of rows includes a pair of RF coil elements and extends circumferentially around an axis, beginning at a first end of that row and ending at a second end of that row spaced from the first end [See two or more rows. See cylindrical axis. See also rest of reference.]; and
a decoupling ring extending in a continuous closed path along a plurality of RF coil elements, including the pairs of RF coil elements of the first and second rows, wherein each of the plurality of RF coil elements has a reactive ring element on the decoupling ring and shares a reactive decoupling element with each RF coil element directly neighboring that RF coil element along the continuous closed path [See Figs. 9-10, see decoupling ring. See Fig. 7, see capacitor 720. ¶0088, wherein embodiments can be combined.. See also rest of reference.]; and
performing MRI of a scan object, wherein the performing comprises exciting nuclei in the scan object at a working frequency and receiving magnetic resonance (MR) signals from the scan object, and wherein the exciting and/or the receiving are performed using the MRI RF coil [¶0020. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 19, Yang further teaches wherein the exciting comprises driving the MRI RF coil in a parallel transmit (pTx) mode [¶0002. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 20, Yang further teaches wherein the receiving is performed using the MRI RF coil in a phased array receive mode [¶0023. See also rest of reference.].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-9, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Yang, in view of Yang II (US 2024/0069130).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) radio frequency (RF) coil, comprising:
a plurality of rows of RF coil elements, including a first row and a second row, wherein each of the plurality of rows includes a pair of RF coil elements, the first row extends circumferentially around an axis [See two or more rows. See cylindrical axis. See also rest of reference.], and
the pair of RF coil elements of the first row directly neighbor in the first row and share a conductive trace and a reactive decoupling element [See Fig. 7, see capacitor 720. ¶0088, wherein embodiments can be combined. See also rest of reference.]; and
a decoupling ring extending in a continuous closed path and configured to decouple a plurality of RF coil elements, including the pair of RF coil elements of the first row and the pair RF coil elements of the second row, wherein each of the plurality of RF coil elements includes a reactive ring element on the decoupling ring [See Figs. 9-10, see decoupling ring. ¶0088, wherein embodiments can be combined. See also rest of reference.].
However, Yang is silent in teaching beginning at a first end of the first row and ending at a second end of the first row that is disconnected from the first end.
Yang II, which is also in the field of MRI, teaches beginning at a first end of the first row and ending at a second end of the first row that is disconnected from the first end [See Figs. 1A to 2A, see gap. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang and Yang II because both references are in the field of RF coils for MRI and because Yang II teaches that the gap may improve ease of tuning and/or improve B1 magnetic field uniformity [Yang II - ¶0023].
Regarding claim 2, Yang and Yang II teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends from.
Yang further wherein the plurality of RF coil elements include all RF coil elements in the plurality of rows [See two or more rows. See cylindrical axis. See Figs. 9-10. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 3, Yang and Yang II teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends from.
Yang further teaches wherein the plurality of RF coil elements exclude RF coil elements respectively at the first and second ends of the first row and include remaining RF coil elements in the first row [¶0044, wherein the decoupling ring can be used to only decouple a one pair on adjacent rows and not include the rest of the M elements. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 4, Yang and Yang II teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends from.
Yang further teaches wherein the second row overlaps with the first row along the axis at an overlap region, and wherein the decoupling ring is localized to the overlap region [See Fig. 10. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 8, Yang and Yang II teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends from.
Yang further teaches wherein the plurality of rows include a third row, wherein the second row is between and overlaps with the first and third rows, and wherein the decoupling ring is at the first and second rows and is spaced from the third row, which is spaced from the first and second rows [See more than two rows. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 9, Yang and Yang II teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends from.
Yang further teaches wherein a total number of RF coil elements in the first row is different than a total number of RF coil elements in the second row [See Fig. 10. ¶0043. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 13, Yang teaches the limitations of claim 10, which this claim depends from.
However, Yang is silent in teaching wherein the first row is C shaped or U shaped.
Yang II, which is also in the field of MRI, teaches the first row is C shaped or U shaped [Fig. 1A. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang and Yang II because both references are in the field of RF coils for MRI and because Yang II teaches that the gap may improve ease of tuning and/or improve B1 magnetic field uniformity [Yang II - ¶0023].
Regarding claim 14, Yang teaches the limitations of claim 10, which this claim depends from.
However, Yang is silent in teaching wherein the first row is O shaped with the first and second ends of the first row being disconnected.
Yang II, which is also in the field of MRI, teaches wherein the first row is O shaped with the first and second ends of the first row being disconnected [Fig. 1A. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang and Yang II because both references are in the field of RF coils for MRI and because Yang II teaches that the gap may improve ease of tuning and/or improve B1 magnetic field uniformity [Yang II - ¶0023].
Regarding claim 15, Yang teaches the limitations of claim 10, which this claim depends from.
Yang is silent in teaching wherein the MRI RF coil further comprises: a feed ring extending in an additional continuous closed path and comprising a feed ring portion of each of the plurality of RF coil elements, wherein the feed ring portion of each of the plurality of RF coil elements comprises a feed board, which comprises a matching circuit and a low input impedance preamplifier.
Yang II, which is also in the field of MRI, teaches the MRI RF coil further comprises: a feed ring extending in an additional continuous closed path and comprising a feed ring portion of each of the plurality of RF coil elements, wherein the feed ring portion of each of the plurality of RF coil elements comprises a feed board, which comprises a matching circuit and a low input impedance preamplifier [See Fig. 4. See ¶0035-0038, ¶0061-0062. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang and Yang II because both references are in the field of RF coils for MRI and because Yang II teaches that the gap may improve ease of tuning and/or improve B1 magnetic field uniformity [Yang II - ¶0023].
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Yang, in view of previously cited Yang II, and in further view of Tong (US 2017/0089990).
Regarding claim 5, Yang and Yang II teach the limitations of claim 4, which this claim depends from.
Yang II further teaches further comprising: a feed ring around the plurality of RF coil elements, wherein the plurality of RF coil elements each include a feed board on the feed ring [Fig. 4, see feed boards 402. ¶0035, ¶0061-0062. See also rest of reference.].
However, Yang and Yang II are silent in teaching a feed ring spaced from the decoupling ring and extending in an additional continuous closed path.
Tong, which is also in the field of MRI, teaches a feed ring spaced from the decoupling ring and extending in an additional continuous closed path[¶0027 and Fig. 1-2, see feed in arc 400. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang and Yang II with the teachings of Tong because all references are in the field of RF coils for MRI and because Tong teaches it is known in the art to include a feed-in arc to provide RF transmit current to the RF coil [Tong - ¶0027-0028].
Regarding claim 6, Yang and Yang II teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends from.
Yang II further teaches a feed ring, wherein the plurality of RF coil elements each include a feed board on the feed ring [See Fig. 4. See ¶0035-0038, ¶0061-0062. See also rest of reference.].
However, Yang and Yang II are silent in teaching a feed ring spaced from the decoupling ring and extending in an additional continuous closed path around the plurality of RF coil elements and the decoupling ring.
Tong, which is also in the field of MRI, teaches a feed ring spaced from the decoupling ring and extending in an additional continuous closed path around the plurality of RF coil elements and the decoupling ring [¶0027 and Fig. 1-2, see feed in arc 400. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang and Yang II with the teachings of Tong because all references are in the field of RF coils for MRI and because Tong teaches it is known in the art to include a feed-in arc to provide RF transmit current to the RF coil [Tong - ¶0027-0028].
Regarding claim 7, Yang, Yang II, and Tong teach the limitations of claim 6, which this claim depends from.
Both Yang and Tong teach wherein the decoupling ring is localized to a periphery of the plurality of RF coil elements [Yang – See Fig. 9. Tong – See decoupling ring 500. See also rest of references.].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 17, the above cited prior art is silent in teaching wherein the first row comprises an additional RF coil element between the pair of RF coil elements of the first row, wherein the pair of RF coil elements are loop shaped, and wherein the additional RF coil element is a saddle shaped.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2021/0318398 is considered relevant prior art because it also teaches decoupling rings.
/RISHI R PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858