DETAILED ACTION
a. Claims 1-23 in the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, are being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
b. This is a first action on the merits based on Applicant’s claims submitted on 05/08/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/20/2024 and 09/23/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 7-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. US Pub 2020/0053779, claiming US provisional application 62716895 priority 2018-08-09 (hereinafter “Jeon”), in view of Wu US Pub 2021/0410191, claiming provisional application 62801429 priority 2019-02-05 (hereinafter “Wu”).
Regarding claim 1
Jeon discloses a communication device configured to operate as a user equipment (i.e. “wireless device 110” in Fig. 3) and comprising:
a transceiver (“communication interface 310” in Fig. 3; “transceivers may be used in devices such as wireless devices” [0084]); and
processing circuitry (i.e. “processor 314” on Fig. 3; [0081]) configured to:
receive a synchronization signal (“a base station may perform a downlink beam sweeping to provide coverage for common control channels and/or downlink SS blocks, which may comprise at least a PSS, a SSS, and/or PBCH.” [0117]; see Fig. 9A) from a base station (e.g. “base station 120” in Fig. 9A);
receive from the base station (e.g. “base station 120” in Fig. 9A), a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) configuration (“A base station may send (e.g., transmit, unicast, multicast, broadcast, etc.), to a wireless device, a RACH configuration 1210 via one or more beams” [0147]) that includes information related to a 2-step random access process (“A two-step random access procedure, for example, may comprise a first transmission (e.g., Msg A) and a second transmission (e.g., Msg B).” [0146]; Fig. 12);
wherein the RNTI is a new RNTI which is different from the Random Access Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RA-RNTI), the C-RNTI, and the terminal ID (“The wireless device may obtain an RNTI after or in response to completing the initial access (e.g., C-RNTI). The base station may configure an RNTI for the wireless (e.g., CS-RNTI, TPC-CS-RNTI, TPC-PUCCH-RNTI, TPC-PUSCH-RNTI, TPC-SRS-RNTI, etc.). The wireless device may determine (e.g., compute) an RNTI (e.g., the wireless device may determine the RA-RNTI based on resources used for transmission of a preamble). An RNTI may have a pre-configured value (e.g., P-RNTI or SI-RNTI).” [0116]).
Jeon does not specifically teach based on the PRACH configuration, generate and transmit a message A of the 2-step random access process to the base station, the message A being scrambled and including a first terminal ID that is based on a common recognition information,
wherein the first terminal ID comprises a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C- RNTI);
receive downlink control information (DCI) that is used for scheduling a message B of the 2-step random access process; and
based on the DCI, receive the message B of the 2-step random access process from the base station, the message B including a second terminal ID that is not based on common recognition information,
wherein the second terminal ID is allocated by the base station, which is not derived from the common recognition information,
wherein the DCI is added with a CRC in which a RNTI is scrambled,
wherein the RNTI is a new RNTI which is different from the Random Access Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RA-RNTI), the C-RNTI, and the terminal ID.
In an analogous art, Wu discloses based on the PRACH configuration (“based on other characteristics of the PRACH” [0054]), generate and transmit a message A of the 2-step random access process to the base station, the message A being scrambled (“Then the base station 104 transmits a DCI and a CRC scrambled with the temporary C-RNTI to the UE 102.” [0076]) and including a first terminal ID (i.e. “second RNTI/C-RNTI”) that is based on a common recognition information (“The RNTI generator 138 generates an RNTI which is used to scramble the DCI to be transmitted to the UE 102 via a PDCCH. In some implementations, the RNTI is generated so that the UE 102 obtains the information necessary to decode information on the PDSCH. For example, when the RNTI generator 138 generates a first RNTI, the UE 102 determines to decode a MAC PDU transmitted on the PDSCH in a first format having an RAR. When the RNTI generator 138 generates a second RNTI different from the first RNTI, the UE 102 determines to decode the MAC PDU transmitted on the PDSCH in a second format having a MsgB. For example, the RNTI generator 138 may generate the first RNTI based on characteristics of a physical random access channel (PRACH) in which the MsgA is transmitted. The RNTI generator 138 may generate the second RNTI as the RNTI included in the payload of the MsgA transmitted by the UE 102. In another example, the RNTI generator 138 may generate the second RNTI based on a UE identifier (ID) associated with the UE 102. In yet another example, the RNTI generator 138 may generate the second RNTI based on other characteristics of the PRACH in which the MsgA is transmitted.” [0054]),
wherein the first terminal ID comprises a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C- RNTI) (“In some implementations, the UE 102 includes the second RNTI in the payload in the MsgA. For example, the second RNTI may be a C-RNTI (equivalent to claimed “first terminal ID”) which was assigned by the base station 104 or another base station 104 to the UE 102.” [0069]);
receive downlink control information (DCI) that is used for scheduling a message B of the 2-step random access process (“The RNTI generator 138 generates an RNTI which is used to scramble the DCI to be transmitted to the UE 102 via a PDCCH. In some implementations, the RNTI is generated so that the UE 102 obtains the information necessary to decode information on the PDSCH. For example, when the RNTI generator 138 generates a first RNTI, the UE 102 determines to decode a MAC PDU transmitted on the PDSCH in a first format having an RAR. When the RNTI generator 138 generates a second RNTI different from the first RNTI, the UE 102 determines to decode the MAC PDU transmitted on the PDSCH in a second format having a MsgB.” [0054]); and
based on the DCI, receive the message B of the 2-step random access process from the base station, the message B including a second terminal ID (i.e. “RA-RNTI”) that is not based on common recognition information (“When the DCI controller 134 generates a second DCI (e.g. RA-RNTI) different from the first DCI (e.g. C-RNTI) , the UE 102 determines to decode the MAC PDU transmitted on the PDSCH in a second format having a MsgB.” [0052]),
wherein the second terminal ID (i.e. “RA-RNTI”) is allocated by the base station (“In one example, the first RNTI may be a first identifier of the UE 102 and is assigned to the UE 102 by the base station 104. In another example, the first RNTI is an RA-RNTI (equivalent to claimed “second terminal ID”).” [0057]), which is not derived from the common recognition information,
wherein the DCI is added with a CRC in which a RNTI is scrambled (“In some implementations, the base station 104 calculates an RA-RNTI and generates a DCI and a CRC scrambled with the RA-RNTI to transmit the third MAC PDU to the UE 102.” [0076]),
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeon’s method of wireless communications between a base station and one or more wireless devices, to include Wu’s method for 2-step random access procedure, in order to efficiently support different random access procedures (Wu [0005]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Wu’s method for 2-step random access procedure into Jeon’s method of wireless communications between a base station and one or more wireless devices since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 3
Jeon, as modified by Wu, previously discloses the communication device according to claim 1,
Jeon further discloses wherein the common recognition information (i.e. “C-RNTI”) is generated based on a cell ID (“A cell ID may be determined using a synchronization signal transmitted via a downlink carrier” [0068]) associated with the communication device (“The wireless device may obtain an RNTI after or in response to completing the initial access (e.g., C-RNTI).” [0116]).
Regarding claim 7
Jeon, as modified by Wu, previously discloses the communication device according to claim 1, wherein the common recognition information is generated based on at least one of:
Jeon further discloses a demodulation reference signal ID (i.e. “DM-RS”) of a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) of the message A of the 2-step random access process (“The wireless device may be configured to send (e.g., transmit) the SRS 508 after a transmission of PUSCH 503 and corresponding uplink DM-RS 506, for example, if PUSCH 503 and the SRS 508 are transmitted in a same slot.” [0096]),
a preamble index of preamble of the message A (“A wireless device may select a random access preamble index randomly (e.g., with equal probability or a normal distribution) from one or more random access preambles associated with a selected group” [0148]), and
a transmission resource index (e.g. “CSI-RS resource index” [0117]) of the message A or the PUSCH (“A base station scheduler may use an uplink channel state to assign one or more resource blocks of a certain quality (e.g., above a quality threshold) for an uplink PUSCH transmission from the wireless device.” [0096]).
Regarding claim 8
Jeon, as modified by Wu, previously discloses the communication device according to claim 1,
Jeon further discloses wherein the common recognition information is generated based on information related to a relationship between a preamble of the message A and Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) (“The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) a random access preamble via a PRACH, and Msg3 1240 via PUSCH, on the same cell.” [0154]).
Regarding claim 9
Jeon, as modified by Wu, previously discloses the communication device according to claim 1, wherein the common recognition information is generated based on additional information transmitted from the base station, the additional information being one of:
Jeon further discloses selection candidates that are classified according to a multi-access method used by the communication device, or selection candidates that are classified according to a resources used by the communication device (“The wireless device may select an SSB with SS-RSRP above a threshold (e.g., rsrp-ThresholdSSB) among the SSBs in a candidate beam list (e.g., candidateBeamRSList) or a CSI-RS with CSI-RSRP above a threshold (e.g., rsrp-ThresholdCSI-RS) among the CSI-RSs in a candidate beam list (e.g., candidateBeamRSList), for example, based these observations by the wireless device. A wireless device may set a PREAMBLE_INDEX to a preamble index parameter (e.g., ra-PreambleIndex) corresponding to the SSB in a candidate beam list (e.g., candidateBeamRSList) which is quasi-collocated with the selected CSI-RS, for example, if CSI-RS is selected, and there is no ra-PreambleIndex associated with the selected CSI-RS. The wireless device may set the PREAMBLE_INDEX to the preamble index parameter corresponding to the selected SSB or CSI-RS from the set of random access preambles for beam failure recovery request.” [0222]).
Regarding claim 10
Jeon, as modified by Wu, previously discloses the communication device according to claim 1,
Jeon further discloses wherein the common recognition information (i.e. “C-RNTI”) is generated based on a previously obtained terminal ID (“The wireless device may obtain an RNTI after or in response to completing the initial access (e.g., C-RNTI). The base station may configure an RNTI for the wireless (e.g., CS-RNTI, TPC-CS-RNTI, TPC-PUCCH-RNTI, TPC-PUSCH-RNTI, TPC-SRS-RNTI, etc.). The wireless device may determine (e.g., compute) an RNTI (e.g., the wireless device may determine the RA-RNTI based on resources used for transmission of a preamble). An RNTI may have a pre-configured value (e.g., P-RNTI or SI-RNTI).” [0116]).
Regarding claim 11
Jeon, as modified by Wu, previously discloses the communication device according to claim 1,
Jeon further discloses wherein the predetermined information is provided by the base station (“The wireless device may obtain an RNTI after or in response to completing the initial access (e.g., C-RNTI). The base station may configure an RNTI for the wireless (e.g., CS-RNTI, TPC-CS-RNTI, TPC-PUCCH-RNTI, TPC-PUSCH-RNTI, TPC-SRS-RNTI, etc.). The wireless device may determine (e.g., compute) an RNTI (e.g., the wireless device may determine the RA-RNTI based on resources used for transmission of a preamble). An RNTI may have a pre-configured value (e.g., P-RNTI or SI-RNTI).” [0116]).
Regarding claim 12
Jeon, as modified by Wu, previously discloses the communication device according to claim 1,
Jeon further discloses wherein the predetermined information is not provided by the base station but is previously stored in the communication device (“storing a UE AS context for the wireless device; send (e.g., transmit) and/or receive of unicast data to and/or from the wireless device; and/or network-controlled mobility based on measurement results received from the wireless device.” [0071]).
Regarding claim 13
Jeon, as modified by Wu, previously discloses the communication device according to claim 1,
Wu further discloses wherein the second terminal ID is in the data part of the message B (“When the DCI controller 134 generates a second DCI (e.g. RA-RNTI) different from the first DCI (e.g. C-RNTI) , the UE 102 determines to decode the MAC PDU transmitted on the PDSCH in a second format having a MsgB.” [0052]).
Regarding claim 14
Jeon, as modified by Wu, previously discloses the communication device according to claim 1,
Wu further discloses wherein the second terminal ID is in the control part of the message B (“the MsgB includes one or more fields in the RAR, one or more MAC control elements (CEs), one or more new fields (not included in the RAR), or at least one MAC service data unit (SDU). The MAC SDU may include a radio link control RLC PDU or an RRC response message (e.g., an RRC Setup message, an RRC Resume message or an RRC Reestablishment message).” [0058]).
Regarding claim 15
Jeon discloses a base station device (i.e. “base station 120” in Fig. 3) comprising:
a transceiver (“communication interface 320” in Fig. 3; “transceivers may be used in devices such as base stations” [0084]); and
processing circuitry (i.e. “processor 321” on Fig. 3) configured to:
transmit a synchronization signal to a user equipment;
transmit, to the user equipment, a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) configuration that includes information related to a 2-step random access process;
based on the PRACH configuration, receive, from the user equipment, a message A of the 2-step random access process to the base station, the message A being scrambled and including a first terminal ID that is based on the common recognition information,
wherein the first terminal ID comprises a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C- RNTI);
transmit downlink control information (DCI) that is used for scheduling a message B of the 2-step random access process; and
based on the DCI, transmit the message B of the 2-step random access process from the base station, the message B including a second terminal ID that is not based on common recognition information,
wherein the second terminal ID is allocated by the base station, which is not derived from the common recognition information,
wherein the DCI is added with a CRC in which a RNTI is scrambled,
wherein the RNTI is a new RNTI which is different from the Random Access Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RA-RNTI), the C-RNTI, and the terminal ID.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 15 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in apparatus claim 1. Therefore apparatus claim 15 corresponds to apparatus claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 1 rejection above.
Regarding claim 16
The base station device according to claim 15, wherein the second terminal ID is in the data part of the message B.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 16 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in apparatus claim 13. Therefore apparatus claim 16 corresponds to apparatus claim 13 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 13 rejection above.
Regarding claim 17
The base station device according to claim 15, wherein the second terminal ID is in the control part of the message B.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 17 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in apparatus claim 14. Therefore apparatus claim 17 corresponds to apparatus claim 14 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 14 rejection above.
Regarding claim 18
A communication method performed by a user equipment and comprising:
receiving a synchronization signal from a base station;
receiving, from the base station, a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) configuration that includes information related to a 2-step random access process;
based on the PRACH configuration, generating and transmitting a message A of the 2- step random access process to the base station, the message A being scrambled and including a first terminal ID that is based on the common recognition information,
wherein the first terminal ID comprises a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C- RNTI);
receiving downlink control information (DCI) that is used for scheduling a message B of the 2-step random access process; and
based on the DCI, receiving the message B of the 2-step random access process from the base station, the message B including a second terminal ID that is not based on common recognition information,
wherein the second terminal ID is allocated by the base station, which is not derived from the common recognition information,
wherein the DCI is added with a CRC in which a RNTI is scrambled,
wherein the RNTI is a new RNTI which is different from the Random Access Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RA-RNTI), the C-RNTI, and the terminal ID.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 18 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 1. Therefore method claim 18 corresponds to apparatus claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 1 rejection above.
Regarding claim 19
The communication method according to claim 18, wherein the second terminal ID is in the data part of the message B.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 19 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 16. Therefore method claim 19 corresponds to apparatus claim 16 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 16 rejection above.
Regarding claim 20
The communication method according to claim 18, wherein the second terminal ID is in the control part of the message B.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 20 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 17. Therefore method claim 20 corresponds to apparatus claim 17 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 17 rejection above.
Regarding claim 21
A non-transitory computer product containing instructions that cause a communication device to perform a method that comprises:
receiving a synchronization signal from a base station;
receiving, from the base station, a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) configuration that includes information related to a 2-step random access process;
based on the PRACH configuration, generating and transmitting a message A of the 2-step random access process to the base station, the message A being scrambled and including a first terminal ID that is based on the common recognition information,
wherein the first terminal ID comprises a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C- RNTI);
receiving downlink control information (DCI) that is used for scheduling a message B of the 2-step random access process; and
based on the DCI, receiving the message B of the 2-step random access process from the base station, the message B including a second terminal ID that is not based on common recognition information,
wherein the second terminal ID is allocated by the base station, which is not derived from the common recognition information,
wherein the DCI is added with a CRC in which a RNTI is scrambled,
wherein the RNTI is a new RNTI which is different from the Random Access Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RA-RNTI), the C-RNTI, and the terminal ID.
The scope and subject matter of non-transitory computer readable medium claim 21 is drawn to the computer program product of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 1. Therefore computer program product claim 21 corresponds to apparatus claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 1 rejection above.
Regarding claim 22
A communication method performed by a base station and comprising:
transmitting a synchronization signal to a user equipment;
transmitting, to the user equipment, a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) configuration that includes information related to a 2-step random access process;
based on the PRACH configuration, receiving, from the user equipment, a message A of the 2-step random access process to the base station, the message A being scrambled and including a first terminal ID that is based on the common recognition information,
transmitting downlink control information (DCI) that is used for scheduling a message B of the 2-step random access process; and
based on the DCI, transmitting the message B of the 2-step random access process from the base station, the message B including a second terminal ID that is not based on common recognition information,
wherein the second terminal ID is allocated by the base station, which is not derived from the common recognition information,
wherein the DCI is added with a CRC in which a RNTI is scrambled,
wherein the RNTI is a new RNTI which is different from the Random Access Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RA-RNTI), the C-RNTI, and the terminal ID.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 22 are reciprocal to the scope and subject matter as claimed in method claim 18. Therefore method claim 22 corresponds to method claim 18 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 18 rejection above.
Regarding claim 23
A non-transitory computer product containing instructions that cause a communication device to perform a method that comprises:
transmitting a synchronization signal to a user equipment;
transmitting, to the user equipment, a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) configuration that includes information related to a 2-step random access process;
based on the PRACH configuration, receiving, from the user equipment, a message A of the 2-step random access process to the base station, the message A being scrambled and including a first terminal ID that is based on the common recognition information,
transmitting downlink control information (DCI) that is used for scheduling a message B of the 2-step random access process; and
based on the DCI, transmitting the message B of the 2-step random access process from the base station, the message B including a second terminal ID that is not based on common recognition information,
wherein the second terminal ID is allocated by the base station, which is not derived from the common recognition information,
wherein the DCI is added with a CRC in which a RNTI is scrambled,
wherein the RNTI is a new RNTI which is different from the Random Access Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RA-RNTI), the C-RNTI, and the terminal ID.
The scope and subject matter of non-transitory computer readable medium claim 23 is drawn to the computer program product of using the corresponding method claimed in claim22 . Therefore computer program product claim 23 corresponds to method claim 22 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 22 rejection above.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon, in view of Wu, and further in view of Yerramalli et al. US Pub 2019/0007946 (hereinafter “Yerramalli”).
Regarding claim 2
Jeon, as modified by Wu, previously discloses the communication device according to claim 1,
Jeon and Wu do not specifically teach wherein the common recognition information is generated based on one of a white list or a black list, the white list being a list of terminal IDs that are currently available for use by the base station device, the black list being a list of terminal IDs that are not currently available for use by the base station device.
In an analogous art, Yerramalli discloses wherein the common recognition information is generated based on one of a white list or a black list, the white list being a list of terminal IDs that are currently available for use by the base station device, the black list being a list of terminal IDs that are not currently available for use by the base station device (“In some aspects, one or more SIBs may indicate a list of channels that the UE 505 is permitted to use for frequency hopping when communicating with the base station 510 on an unlicensed RF spectrum band. For example, the list of channels may include a whitelist of channels that the UE 505 can use for frequency hopping, a blacklist of channels that the UE 505 should not use for frequency hopping, or some combination thereof.” [0076]. One skilled in the art can easily apply Yerramalli’s teaching to assign different selection criteria to different candidate sets.).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeon’s method of wireless communications between a base station and one or more wireless devices, as modified by Wu, to include Yerramalli’s method for determining channels for frequency hopping, in order to minimize transmission interference and disruption (Yerramalli [0006]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Yerramalli’s method for determining channels for frequency hopping into Jeon’s method of wireless communications between a base station and one or more wireless devices since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon, in view of Wu, and further in view of Park et al. US Pub 2018/0279186 (hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding claim 4
Jeon, as modified by Wu, previously discloses the communication device according to claim 1, wherein the common recognition information is generated based on RA-RNTI generation information, the RA-RNTI generation information including at least one of:
Jeon further discloses a symbol index within one slot (“The wireless device may determine an RA-RNTI at least based on an index of a first OFDM symbol, an index of a first slot of a selected PRACH occasions, and/or an uplink carrier index for a transmission of Msg1 1220.” [0151]),
a carrier ID (“A cell ID may be equally referred to as a carrier ID” [0068]), or
information about whether or not the carrier is a Supplemental Uplink carrier (“The network may configure at least an initial bandwidth part comprising at least a downlink bandwidth part and one (e.g., if the serving cell is configured with an uplink) or two (e.g., if using supplementary uplink (SUL)) uplink bandwidth parts, for example, for each serving cell.” [0198]).
In an analogous art, Park discloses a subframe number (“A wireless device may determine an RA-RNTI based on one or more of a subframe number and/or a frequency index.” [0309]),
a frequency domain transmission resource index (“A wireless device may determine an RA-RNTI based on one or more of a subframe number and/or a frequency index.” [0309]),
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeon’s method of wireless communications between a base station and one or more wireless devices, as modified by Wu, to include Park’s different random access procedures, in order to efficiently determine a type of RA procedure to perform when a handover occurs (Park [0004]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Park’s different random access procedures into Jeon’s method of wireless communications between a base station and one or more wireless devices since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 5
Jeon, as modified by Wu, previously discloses The communication device according to claim 1, wherein the common recognition information is generated based on information related to transmission resources, the information related to transmission resources including at least one of:
Jeon further discloses a symbol index within one slot (“The wireless device may determine an RA-RNTI at least based on an index of a first OFDM symbol, an index of a first slot of a selected PRACH occasions, and/or an uplink carrier index for a transmission of Msg1 1220.” [0151]),
a symbol index within one frame (“s_id may be the index of the first OFDM symbol of the specified PRACH (0≤s_id<14). t_id may be the index of the first slot of the specified PRACH in a system frame (0≤t_id<80). f_id may be the index of the specified PRACH in the frequency domain (0≤f_id<8). ul_carrier_id may be the UL carrier used for Msg1 transmission (0 for NUL carrier, and 1 for SUL carrier).” [0232]),
a carrier ID (“A cell ID may be equally referred to as a carrier ID” [0068]), or
information about whether or not the carrier is a Supplemental Uplink carrier (“A base station may control two uplink transmissions on two ULs (e.g., NUL and SUL) to avoid overlapping PUSCH transmissions in time.” [0280]).
In an analogous art, Park discloses a subframe number (“A wireless device may determine an RA-RNTI based on one or more of a subframe number and/or a frequency index.” [0309]),
a frequency domain transmission resource index (“A wireless device may determine an RA-RNTI based on one or more of a subframe number and/or a frequency index.” [0309]),
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeon’s method of wireless communications between a base station and one or more wireless devices, as modified by Wu, to include Park’s different random access procedures, in order to efficiently determine a type of RA procedure to perform when a handover occurs (Park [0004]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Park’s different random access procedures into Jeon’s method of wireless communications between a base station and one or more wireless devices since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 6
Jeon, as modified by Wu, previously discloses the communication device according to claim 1, wherein the common recognition information is generated based on a Non-RNTI ID held in the communication device, the Non-RNTI ID being one of:
Jeon further discloses a device ID of the communication device (“The wireless device may receive RNA information from the base station. RNA information may comprise at least one of an RNA identifier, one or more cell identifiers of one or more cells of an RNA, a base station identifier, an IP address of the base station, an AS context identifier of the wireless device, a resume identifier, and/or the like.” [0168]),
In an analogous art, Park discloses a MAC ID of the communication device (“A wireless device in an RRC idle state may use a C-RNTI (if available), a resume ID, a short MAC-ID, an IMSI (International Mobile Subscriber Identifier), a T-IMSI (Temporary-IMSI), and/or a random number as an identifier of the wireless device.” [0255]),
an International Mobile Subscriber Identity of the communication device (“A wireless device in an RRC idle state may use a C-RNTI (if available), a resume ID, a short MAC-ID, an IMSI (International Mobile Subscriber Identifier), a T-IMSI (Temporary-IMSI), and/or a random number as an identifier of the wireless device.” [0255]), or
a Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity of the communication device (“A wireless device in an RRC idle state may use a C-RNTI (if available), a resume ID, a short MAC-ID, an IMSI (International Mobile Subscriber Identifier), a T-IMSI (Temporary-IMSI), and/or a random number as an identifier of the wireless device.” [0255]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeon’s method of wireless communications between a base station and one or more wireless devices, as modified by Wu, to include Park’s different random access procedures, in order to efficiently determine a type of RA procedure to perform when a handover occurs (Park [0004]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Park’s different random access procedures into Jeon’s method of wireless communications between a base station and one or more wireless devices since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
/CHUONG M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411