DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chuang et al. (US Application 2021/0013992, hereinafter Chuang).
Regarding claims 1,14, and 17, Chuang discloses an access point, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, and a method(Figs. 1-3,5,6-9,11-12), comprising:
an interface circuit (112,618) configured to communicate with an electronic device and a computer system (500), wherein the access point is configured to:
receive, associated with the electronic device, a frame with information specifying a capability of the electronic device, wherein the capability comprises whether the electronic device is compatible with an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 standard or a Wi-Fi Alliance generation, and wherein the access point is unable to interpret the information([0038],[0044]-[0045],[0066], which recites a Wi-Fi interface 112, which does MAC-layer processing on communications to and from the physical layer 114, may add information to the packets to be transmitted (such as the IEEE 802.11 MAC header) that is compatible with Wi-Fi, which are all wirelessly communicated to one or more other physical instances of electronic devices (such as one or more portable electronic devices) via physical layer 114 (including an interface circuit and one or more antennas) in AP 100. RFAL 614 encapsulates frame 616 from packet 608 (which is compatible with an IEEE 802.11 standard) to packet 622 (which is compatible with IP). Moreover, RFAL 614 may optionally add tag 624 with information specifying transmission of packet 622 through a simulated radio-frequency environment of AP 610 to packet 622. Next, RFAL 614 provides packet 622 to network interface circuit 620, which communicates packet 622 via an Ethernet link to UE 626.); and provide, addressed to the computer system, the information([0037],[0043],[0056],[0071],[0078], which recites RFAL may encapsulate the message in a packet and may forward it to the selected IP address of the virtual machine of the AP. Then, the AP may transmit back an association response message. In response, RFAL may encapsulate this message in a packet and may forward it to the selected IP address of the virtual machine of the station).
Regarding claims 2, 15,18,Chuang discloses the access point of claim 1, wherein the frame is received during association between the electronic device and the access point(Abstract, [0037], [0043], [0056], [0071],[0078]).
Regarding claims 3,16, Chuang discloses the access point of claim 1, wherein the frame comprises an association request(Abstract, [0072]-[0074], [0077],[0090]).
Regarding claim 4, Chuang discloses the access point of claim 1, wherein the frame comprises a probe request(Abstract, [0072]-[0074], [0077],[0090]).
Regarding claims 5, 19,Chuang discloses the access point of claim 1, wherein the frame comprises an Action frame or a protected frame(Abstract, [0037], [0043], [0056], [0071],[0078]).
Regarding claim 6, Chuang discloses the access point of claim 1, wherein the information is included in an information element (IE) (Abstract, [0037], [0043], [0056], [0071],[0078]).
Regarding claim 7, Chuang discloses the access point of claim 6, wherein the IE comprises a high-efficiency field in the frame(Abstract, [0037], [0043], [0056], [0071],[0078]).
Regarding claim 8, Chuang discloses the access point of claim 1, wherein the information comprises one or more reserved bits in the frame(Abstract, [0037], [0043], [0056], [0071],[0078]).
Regarding claim 9, Chuang discloses the access point of claim 1, wherein the electronic device is compatible with a more-recent IEEE 802.11 standard or a more-recent Wi-Fi Alliance generation than the access point(Abstract, [0037], [0043], [0056], [0071],[0078]).
Regarding claim 10, Chuang discloses the access point of claim 1, wherein the computer system comprises a controller of the access point(Abstract, [0037], [0043], [0056], [0071],[0078]).
Regarding claim 11, Chuang discloses the access point of claim 1, wherein the computer system comprises a cloud-based computer system(Abstract, [0037], [0043], [0056], [0071],[0078]).
Regarding claims 12, 20, Chuang discloses the access point of claim 1, wherein the access point is configured to provide, addressed to the computer system, an identifier of the electronic device, one or more attributes of the electronic device, or both(Abstract, [0072]-[0074], [0077],[0090]).
Regarding claim 13, Chuang discloses the access point of claim 12, wherein the identifier comprises a media access control (MAC) address of the electronic device(Abstract,[0044],[0047], [0072]-[0074], [0077],[0090]).
Conclusion
/DADY CHERY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418