DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-12 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
((a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 13-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gougeon (US Patent Application 20210103329).
As per claim 1, Gougeon teaches a control chip [200, fig. 2] comprising:
a first detection circuit [102, fig. 2] enabling a first wake-up signal [power up signal: 0021] in response to a first specific event [detecting activity: 0021] occurring [0021, as pointed out the first module 102 may send a power up signal based on activity detection].
a first management circuit [112, fig. 2] determining whether a first wake-up condition [based on user action: 0026] is satisfied in response to the first wake-up signal being enabled [0026-0029, fig. 3B, as pointed out based on the activity timer it can be determine whether specific activity has occurred and interrupted. The activity timer is based on user activity, where the user activity or event enables the wake-up signal to occur].
wherein in response to the first wake-up condition being satisfied, the first management circuit enables a second wake-up signal [0031, as pointed out based on the first condition, then the first management circuit send a power up signal to the second processor: The method 350 sends the power up signal to the second micro-processor 118 when the first micro-processor 108 detects an activity on any of the control panel 204].
a main core circuit [202, fig. 2] entering a normal mode from a sleep mode according to the second wake-up signal [0036, 0042, 0044, fig. 5, where the unit wake to operation in normal operating mode as a result of the power up signal], wherein:
in response to the first specific event not occurring, the first management circuit and the main core circuit operate in the sleep mode [0026, 0044, both the second module and the printing device operate in sleep mode without activity detection].
in response to the first wake-up condition not being satisfied, the main core circuit operates in the sleep mode [0042, 0044, as pointed out the printing device can operate in sleep mode based on the timer or user activity].
As per claim 15, Fu teaches a control method [350, fig. 3B] for a control chip, comprising:
directing all [timer expiration: 0027] circuits in the control chip to enter a sleep mode [0027, 0029, 0044 based on timer expiration the second processor as well as other components of the printing device can transition to sleep mode].
utilizing a first detection circuit to detect whether a first specific event occurs [0021, as pointed out the first module 102 may send a power up signal based on activity detection].
waking up a management circuit of the control chip in response to the first specific event occurring [0031, as pointed out based on the first condition, then the first management circuit send a power up signal to the second processor: The method 350 sends the power up signal to the second micro-processor 118 when the first micro-processor 108 detects an activity on any of the control panel 204].
utilizing the management circuit to determine whether a wake-up condition is satisfied [0026, fig. 3B, as pointed out based on the activity timer it can be determine whether specific activity has occurred and interrupted].
waking up a main core circuit of the control chip in response to the wake-up condition being satisfied [0036, 0042, fig. 5, where the unit wake to operation in normal operating mode as a result of the power up signal].
As per claim 13, Gougeon teaches a timer [timer: 0026] enabling the first wake-up signal at every fixed time interval [0026, activity timer that enable the power of the device or simply that detect to enable the device to enter to normal operating mode. In this case, every time there is a external activity which is tracked by the timer the device transition to power operating mode or waking up].
As per claim 14, Gougeon teaches in response to the first wake-up signal being enabled, the first management circuit determines whether the first wake-up condition is satisfied [0021, first module send power up signal to the second module].
in response to the first wake-up condition not being satisfied, the first management circuit resets the timer and enters the sleep mode [0033, in response to the power up signal, the timer reset and the first device goes to sleep].
As per claim 20, Gougeon teaches the first specific event is that a counting value of a counter reaches a target value [0027, timer expiration activity].
in response to the wake-up condition not being satisfied, the management circuit resets the counter [0033, timer reset after wakeup condition].
To help with the prosecution of the application, addition rejection is given below
Claims 1-5, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fu (US Patent Application 20200251918).
As per claim 1, Fu teaches a control chip [control circuit shown in figure 1] comprising:
a first detection circuit [21, fig. 1] enabling a first wake-up signal in response to a first specific event [detect and monitor an output current: 0010] occurring [0031, as pointed out the first power regulator circuit is viewed as a sensing circuit that sense current and wakeup. For example, the power regulating module may detect and monitor an output current of an output end of its own].
a first management circuit [22, fig. 1] determining whether a first wake-up condition [first wakeup enabled: 0031] is satisfied in response to the first wake-up signal being enabled [0031, as pointed out upon waking up, the first power regulator 21 supply power to controller 1 where as a result power regulator 22 is waking up which shows that the first condition occurred which is the control signal waking up power regulator 21].
wherein in response to the first wake-up condition being satisfied, the first management circuit enables a second wake-up signal [0031, as a result of the wakeup of the controller 1, a second wake up signal is sent to wakeup the second regulator unit 22].
a main core circuit [4, fig. 1] entering a normal mode from a sleep mode according to the second wake-up signal [0033, as pointed out after power regulator unit 22 is waking up, is then supply a voltage to the load in order to power the load], wherein:
in response to the first specific event not occurring, the first management circuit and the main core circuit operate in the sleep mode [0035, 0055, fig. 6, as pointed out since the first power regulator event wake up the to supply a signal the second one then to the load, if the first regular is not waking up, to suppl the signal to the controller 1, then the second regulator is also not waking up as well as load 4].
in response to the first wake-up condition not being satisfied, the main core circuit operates in the sleep mode [0035, 0055, fig. 6, as pointed out when both first power module is in sleep mode, then there is not wakeup signal and the load is not conducting or receive no power].
As per claim 15, Fu teaches a control method [implemented by circuit of figure 1] for a control chip, comprising:
directing all [switches open in sleep mode: 0011] circuits in the control chip to enter a sleep mode [0055, as pointed out the first power regulator is on sleep mode, as well as the second one, where the first one provide power to controller 1 upon wake up and the second one provides power to the load upon wakeup. Those circuit are in sleep upon receiving wakeup signals which close the switches].
utilizing a first detection circuit to detect whether a first specific event occurs [0010, 0033, event such as abnormality detection can enable a wakeup signal].
waking up a management circuit of the control chip in response to the first specific event occurring [0033, an event detection enables the first power regulator unit to wakeup].
utilizing the management circuit to determine whether a wake-up condition is satisfied 0031, 0049, as pointed out upon waking up, the first power regulator 21 supply power to controller 1 where as a result power regulator 22 is waking up which shows that the first condition occurred which is the control signal waking up power regulator 21].
waking up a main core circuit of the control chip in response to the wake-up condition being satisfied [0035, 0055, fig. 6, as pointed out since the first power regulator event wake up the to supply a signal the second one then to the load, if the first regular is not waking up, to supply the signal to the controller 1, then the second regulator is also not waking up as well as load 4].
As per claim 2, Fu teaches in response to the second wake-up signal being enabled, the main core circuit enters the normal mode from the sleep mode [0035, as pointed out upon waking up, the second power regulator supply power to the load].
As claim 3, Fu teaches in response to the first wake- up signal being enabled, the first management circuit determines whether a second specific event occurs, and in response to the second specific event occurring, the first management circuit enables the second wake-up signal [0033, as pointed out when the first wakeup signal wake up the controller, then the signal from the controller is used to generate a second control signal to wakeup the second power regulator unit].
As per claim 4, Fu teaches a first switch [S1-1, fig. 6] coupled to the first management circuit [21, fig. 7] [as shown in figure 7, the first switch S1 is connected to first power regulator module 21].
a second switch [S1-2, fig. 6] coupled to the main core circuit [4, fig. 6] [as shown in figure 6, switch S2 is connected to load 4 via power regulator 22], wherein:
in response to the first specific event occurring, the first switch is turned on to transmit an operation voltage to the first management circuit, and in response to the first specific event not occurring, the first switch is turned off to stop transmitting the operation voltage to the first management circuit [0053-0055, when the first switch is turn on, then it connects the power supply to the power regulator which then provide power to the controller].
in response to the first wake-up condition being satisfied the second switch is turned on to transmit the operation voltage to the main core circuit, and in response to the first wake-up condition not being satisfied, the second switch is turned off to stop transmitting the operation voltage to the main core circuit [0055, 0058, as pointed out the second switch is turn on after the first switch which ten provide power to the load as a result].
As per claim 5, Fu teaches the first detection circuit turns on or off the first switch, and the first management circuit turns on or off the second switch [0033, 0053-0055, as pointed out the first power regulated circuit provide a wake-up signal to the control circuit which then wake up the second power regulator module. That happens when the switch is on as shown as shown in figure 6].
As per claim 16, Fu teaches waking up a second detection circuit to detect whether a second specific event occurs in response to the first specific event occurring [0033, as pointed out when the first wakeup signal wake up the controller, then the signal from the controller is used to generate a second control signal to wakeup the second power regulator unit].
wherein in response to the second specific event occurring, it is determined that the wake-up condition is satisfied [0033, 0035, 0055, fig. 6, as pointed out since the first power regulator event wake up the to supply a signal the second one then to the load, if the first regular is not waking up, to suppl the signal to the controller 1, then the second regulator is also not waking up as well as load 4].
As per claim 17, Fu teaches directing the second detection circuit to enter the sleep mode in response to the second specific event not occurring [0055, as pointed out the first power regulator is on sleep mode, as well as the second one, where the first one provide power to controller 1 upon wake up and thee second one provides power to the load upon wakeup. Therefore, those circuit are in sleep upon receiving wakeup signals].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wahl (US 20200326768) teaches wake-up circuit and methodology for reducing false wake-up event.
Huang (US 20170108916) teaches event detection method for waking up a portable electronic device and action sensor using same.
/VOLVICK DEROSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176