DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 9 recites the limitation “the base” in Line 25. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Koerth et al. (US 9770378 B2) (hereinafter “Koerth”). [Note that prior art citations below are italicized and enclosed in brackets.]
Regarding 1, Koerth teaches a wheeled platform comprising: a base on which an object is placed; wheels attached to the base [Koerth Fig. 1, Reference Character 2]; a lock device including a latch that is lockable to a striker that is fixed [Koerth Fig. 2, Reference Characters 4, 41, and 42]; a guide member configured to guide the striker to a position where the striker is lockable to the latch [Koerth Figs. 1 and 2, wherein the guide member is the unnumbered ramped/sloping surface of Reference Character 21 that engages the leading edge of the striker (Reference Character 41)]; and a wheeled platform side terminal contactable with a fixed side terminal disposed on a member to which the striker is fixed, the wheeled platform side terminal being disposed at a position where the wheeled platform side terminal is contactable with the fixed side terminal when the latch locks the striker, the wheeled platform being configured such that the guide member comes in contact with the striker before the wheeled platform side terminal comes in contact with the fixed side terminal [Koerth Figs. 1 and 2, Reference Characters 212 (wheeled platform side terminal); 211 (fixed side terminal); and 4 (striker). Note that the leading edge of the striker (Reference Character 41) contacts the guide (the unnumbered ramped/sloping surface of the "mating piece" (Reference Character 21) before the terminals (Reference Characters 212 and 211) are engaged with one another.].
Regarding Claim 2, Koerth teaches the wheeled platform according to claim 1, further comprising: a spring configured to cause an elastic force in lock directions to act on the wheeled platform side terminal, the lock directions being directions in which the base is moved when the latch and the striker are locked to each other, wherein the wheeled platform side terminal is slidable in the lock directions [Koerth Fig. 2, wherein the spring is the unnumbered uppermost item in the figure, and wherein the wheeled platform side terminal (Reference Character 212) is slidable in the backside direction, the backside direction being opposite the unnumbered arrow above the wheeled platform side terminal (Reference Character 212)].
Regarding Claim 3, Koerth teaches the wheeled platform according to claim 2, wherein, in a state where the wheeled platform side terminal contacts the fixed side terminal and where the striker and the latch are locked to each other, the spring is elastically deformed [Koerth Fig. 2].
Regarding Claim 4, Koerth teaches the wheeled platform according to claim 3, wherein, in a case where a position of the wheeled platform side terminal when the wheeled platform side terminal contacts the fixed side terminal and when the striker and the latch are locked to each other is a connection completed position, and a direction from the fixed side terminal towards the wheeled platform side terminal is a backside direction, the wheeled platform side terminal is slidable over the connection completed position to a position situated further in the backside direction [Koerth Fig. 2 wherein the wheeled platform side terminal (Reference Character 212) is slidable in the backside direction, the backside direction being opposite the unnumbered arrow above the wheeled platform side terminal (Reference Character 212)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koerth et al. (US 9770378 B2) (hereinafter “Koerth”) in view of Fan (US 7363998 B2). [Note that prior art citations below are italicized and enclosed in brackets.]
Regarding Claim 5, Koerth teaches a wheeled platform but does not teach a magnetic attraction force. Fan teaches the wheeled platform according to claim 4, wherein a magnetic attraction force that enhances a contact surface pressure between the wheeled platform side terminal and the fixed side terminal is generated between a wheeled platform side terminal holder that holds the wheeled platform side terminal and a fixed side terminal holder that holds the fixed side terminal when the wheeled platform side terminal contacts the fixed side terminal [Fan Figs. 1, 7, and 8, Reference Characters 64 (magnet), 72 (magnet), 65 (terminal; typ), and 73 (terminal; typ); Fan Paragraph 23: “the front insulating plates 63 exactly facing the corresponding rear insulating plates 71 with the front powerful magnets 64 attracting corresponding rear powerful magnets 72… the front contacting terminals 65 touch the corresponding rear contacting terminals 73 closely”]. It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the wheeled platform of Koerth to include, with a reasonable expectation of success, a magnetic attraction force in view of Fan. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Koerth and Fan because this would have achieved the desirable result of causing the terminals to closely touch and thereby connect the power supply to the cart, as recognized by Fan [Fan Abstract “when the front and the rear chassis are coupled, each of the magnets will attract the corresponding magnets, and each of the contacting terminals will closely touch the corresponding terminals so as to electrically connect the power supply unit to the actuating motor of the cart.”].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koerth et al. (US 9770378 B2) (hereinafter “Koerth”) in view of Fan (US 7363998 B2). [Note that prior art citations below are italicized and enclosed in brackets.]
Regarding Claim 6, Koerth teaches a wheeled platform but does not teach a magnetic attraction force. Fan teaches the wheeled platform according to claim 1, further comprising: a spring configured to cause an elastic force oriented from the wheeled platform side terminal to the fixed side terminal to act on the wheeled platform side terminal, wherein, when directions in which the base moves when the latch and the striker are locked to each other are lock directions, the wheeled platform side terminal is slidable in the lock directions; and a magnetic attraction force that enhances a contact surface pressure between the wheeled platform side terminal and the fixed side terminal is generated between a wheeled platform side terminal holder that holds the wheeled platform side terminal and a fixed side terminal holder that holds the fixed side terminal when the wheeled platform side terminal contacts the fixed side terminal [Fan Figs. 1, 7, and 8, Reference Characters 62 (spring; typ), 64 (magnet), 72 (magnet), 65 (terminal; typ), and 73 (terminal; typ); Fan Paragraph 23: “the front insulating plates 63 exactly facing the corresponding rear insulating plates 71 with the front powerful magnets 64 attracting corresponding rear powerful magnets 72… the front contacting terminals 65 touch the corresponding rear contacting terminals 73 closely”]. It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the wheeled platform of Koerth to include, with a reasonable expectation of success, a spring and a magnetic attraction force in view of Fan. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Koerth and Fan because this would have achieved the desirable result of biasing the front insulating plates rearward while also causing the terminals to closely touch and thereby connect the power supply to the cart, as recognized by Fan [Fan Paragraph 16: “the front insulating plates 63 are biased rearwards by the coiled springs”; Fan Abstract “when the front and the rear chassis are coupled, each of the magnets will attract the corresponding magnets, and each of the contacting terminals will closely touch the corresponding terminals so as to electrically connect the power supply unit to the actuating motor of the cart.”].
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koerth et al. (US 9770378 B2) (hereinafter “Koerth”) in view of Fan (US 7363998 B2) and further in view of Tang et al. (US 9527394 B1) (hereinafter “Tang”). [Note that prior art citations below are italicized and enclosed in brackets.]
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Koerth and Fan teaches a wheeled platform comprising a wheeled platform side terminal holder but does not teach displacement. Tang teaches the wheeled platform according to claim 6, wherein the wheeled platform side terminal holder is displaceable in directions orthogonal to the lock directions [Tang Paragraph 131: “For the purposes of this illustration, it is assumed that the vertical distance from the roadway to all of the connection points, both electrical and mechanical, are within tolerances. It is also assumed that the horizontal placement of the connectors on the small vehicle 1023 will match the horizontal placement of connectors on the large vehicle 1021 within tolerances. If this proves to be not possible, then independent short range horizontal and vertical adjustors will be added to the coupling assemblies on one or both vehicles.”]. It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the wheeled platform, comprising a wheeled platform side terminal holder, of the combination of Koerth and Fan, to include, with a reasonable expectation of success, displaceability in view of Tang. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Koerth, Fan, and Tang because this would have achieved the desirable result of accommodating out-of-tolerance connector placement, as recognized by Tang [Tang Paragraph 131: “It is also assumed that the horizontal placement of the connectors on the small vehicle 1023 will match the horizontal placement of connectors on the large vehicle 1021 within tolerances. If this proves to be not possible, then independent short range horizontal and vertical adjustors will be added to the coupling assemblies on one or both vehicles.”].
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Koerth and Fan teaches a wheeled platform comprising a wheeled platform side terminal holder but does not teach a recess. Tang teaches the wheeled platform according to claim 6, wherein the wheeled platform side terminal holder includes a recess in which a part of the fixed side terminal holder is fittable, wherein a tapered portion is disposed at an entrance of the recess, and wherein an opening area of the tapered portion increases toward the entrance of the recess [Tang Paragraph 63: “Because there is a small amount of flexibility in the positioning of the electrical plug 141 and some matching tapering of the electrical plug 141 and funnel-shaped socket 140, small misalignments are self-correcting.”]. It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the wheeled platform, comprising a wheeled platform side terminal holder, of the combination of Koerth and Fan, to include, with a reasonable expectation of success, a tapered portion in view of Tang. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Koerth, Fan, and Tang because this would have achieved the desirable result of correcting misalignment of terminals, as recognized by Tang [Tang Paragraph 63: “small misalignments are self-correcting.”].
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koerth et al. (US 9770378 B2) (hereinafter “Koerth”) in view of Fan (US 7363998 B2). [Note that prior art citations below are italicized and enclosed in brackets.]
Regarding Claim 9, Koerth teaches a wheeled platform system comprising: a wheeled platform [Koerth Fig. 1, Reference Character 2]; a striker that is fixed [Koerth Fig. 2, Reference Characters 4, 41, and 42]; a fixed side terminal disposed on a member to which the striker is fixed; a fixed side terminal holder configured to hold the fixed side terminal [Koerth Fig. 2, Reference Character 211]; a lock device disposed on the wheeled platform and including a latch that is lockable to the striker [Koerth Fig. 2, Reference Characters 4, 41, and 42]; a guide member disposed on the wheeled platform and configured to guide the striker to a position where the striker is lockable to the latch [Koerth Figs. 1 and 2, wherein the guide member is the unnumbered ramped/sloping surface of Reference Character 21 that engages the leading edge of the striker (Reference Character 41)]; a wheeled platform side terminal disposed on the wheeled platform and situated in a position contactable with the fixed side terminal when the latch locks the striker; a wheeled platform side terminal holder disposed on the wheeled platform and configured to hold the wheeled platform side terminal [Koerth Fig. 2, Reference Character 212]; and a spring disposed on at least either one of the wheeled platform or the member to which the striker is fixed and configured to cause an elastic force oriented to enhance a contact surface pressure between the wheeled platform side terminal and the fixed side terminal to act on at least one of the wheeled platform side terminal or the fixed side terminal [Koerth Fig. 2, wherein the spring is the unnumbered uppermost item in the figure]; but does not teach a magnet.
Fan teaches a magnet disposed on at least either one of the wheeled platform side terminal holder or the fixed side terminal holder and configured to generate a magnetic attraction force that enhances a contact surface pressure between the wheeled platform side terminal and the fixed side terminal when the wheeled platform side terminal contacts the fixed side terminal; wherein, when directions in which the base is moved when the latch and the striker are locked to each other are lock directions [Fan Figs. 1, 7, and 8, Reference Characters 64 (magnet), 72 (magnet), 65 (terminal; typ), and 73 (terminal; typ); Fan Paragraph 23: “the front insulating plates 63 exactly facing the corresponding rear insulating plates 71 with the front powerful magnets 64 attracting corresponding rear powerful magnets 72… the front contacting terminals 65 touch the corresponding rear contacting terminals 73 closely”]. It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the wheeled platform of Koerth to include, with a reasonable expectation of success, a magnet in view of Fan. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Koerth and Fan because this would have achieved the desirable result of causing the terminals to closely touch and thereby connect the power supply to the cart, as recognized by Fan [Fan Abstract “when the front and the rear chassis are coupled, each of the magnets will attract the corresponding magnets, and each of the contacting terminals will closely touch the corresponding terminals so as to electrically connect the power supply unit to the actuating motor of the cart.”].
Koerth further teaches that at least one of the wheeled platform side terminal or the fixed side terminal holder is slidable in the lock directions, and wherein the wheeled platform is configured such that the guide member contacts the striker before the wheeled platform side terminal contacts the fixed side terminal [Koerth Figs. 1 and 2, Reference Characters 212 (wheeled platform side terminal); 211 (fixed side terminal); and 4 (striker), and wherein the spring is the unnumbered uppermost item in the figure, and wherein the wheeled platform side terminal (Reference Character 212) is slidable in the backside direction, the backside direction being opposite the unnumbered arrow above the wheeled platform side terminal (Reference Character 212). Note that the leading edge of the striker (Reference Character 41) contacts the guide (the unnumbered ramped/sloping surface of the "mating piece" (Reference Character 21) before the terminals (Reference Characters 212 and 211) are engaged with one another.]
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koerth et al. (US 9770378 B2) (hereinafter “Koerth”) in view of Fan (US 7363998 B2) and further in view of Tang et al. (US 9527394 B1) (hereinafter “Tang”). [Note that prior art citations below are italicized and enclosed in brackets.]
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Koerth and Fan teaches a wheeled platform system but does not teach displacement. Tang teaches the wheeled platform system according to claim 9, wherein at least one of the wheeled platform side terminal holder and the fixed side terminal holder is displaceable in directions orthogonal to the lock directions [Tang Paragraph 131: “For the purposes of this illustration, it is assumed that the vertical distance from the roadway to all of the connection points, both electrical and mechanical, are within tolerances. It is also assumed that the horizontal placement of the connectors on the small vehicle 1023 will match the horizontal placement of connectors on the large vehicle 1021 within tolerances. If this proves to be not possible, then independent short range horizontal and vertical adjustors will be added to the coupling assemblies on one or both vehicles.”], wherein at least one of the wheeled platform side terminal holder or the fixed side terminal holder includes a recess in which a part of an other one of the wheeled platform side terminal holder or the fixed side terminal holder is fittable, wherein a tapered portion is disposed at an entrance of the recess, and wherein an opening area of the tapered portion increases toward the entrance of the recess [Tang Paragraph 63: “Because there is a small amount of flexibility in the positioning of the electrical plug 141 and some matching tapering of the electrical plug 141 and funnel-shaped socket 140 small misalignments are self-correcting.”]. It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the wheeled platform comprising a wheeled platform side terminal holder to include, with a reasonable expectation of success, displaceability of the holder and a tapered portion of the holder in view of Tang. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Koerth, Fan, and Tang because this would have achieved the desirable result of accommodating out-of-tolerance connector placement and correcting misalignment of terminals, as recognized by Tang [Tang Paragraph 131: “It is also assumed that the horizontal placement of the connectors on the small vehicle 1023 will match the horizontal placement of connectors on the large vehicle 1021 within tolerances. If this proves to be not possible, then independent short range horizontal and vertical adjustors will be added to the coupling assemblies on one or both vehicles.”; Tang Paragraph 63: “small misalignments are self-correcting.”].
Conclusion
/MICHAEL T. WALSH/Examiner, Art Unit 3613