DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the reply filed on March 06, 2026. Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9-16, 18-23 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-2, 5-7, 9-16, 18-23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claim 1, “the centerline” at line 18 renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear if this recitation of the centerline refers to: (i) the aforementioned ‘engine centerline’ (lines 2-3); or (ii) the aforementioned ‘dome centerline’ (line 11).
As to Claim 1, “the centerline” at line 19 renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear if this recitation of the centerline refers to: (i) the aforementioned ‘engine centerline’ (lines 2-3); or (ii) the aforementioned ‘dome centerline’ (line 11).
Claims 2, 5-7, 9-16, 18-23 depend from indefinite claim 1 and are indefinite for the same reason.
Prior Art Relied Upon
This action references the following issued US Patents and/or Patent Application Publications:
US PATENT or PUBLICATION NUMBER
HEREINAFTER
US-5623827-A
“MONTY”
US-5331805-A
“MYERS”
US-20190093892-A1
“RIMMER”
US-20180058696-A1
“DANIS”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9-13, 15-16, 18-19 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MONTY.
Re Claim 1, MONTY teaches a gas turbine engine (claim 1, 1:51-56, 3:4-6, 3:23-26) comprising:
a compressor section [annotated in Image 1] and a combustion section [annotated in Image 1] in serial flow arrangement along an engine centerline [longitudinal engine centerline, annotated “ROTATIONAL AXIS” in Image 1], the combustion section comprising:
a combustor liner 16, 18;
a dome wall [36, 40] coupled to the combustor liner (Fig. 2), and a dome inlet located in the dome wall (opening through the dome wall through which 25 flows);
a fuel injector [26, 28, 32] fluidly coupled to the dome inlet (Fig. 2);
a combustion chamber 14 fluidly coupled to the fuel injector and defined at least in part by the combustor liner and the dome wall (3:22-42); and
a set of discrete dilution openings [openings 54, 56, 58] located in the dome wall and fluidly coupled to the combustion chamber (Figs. 2, 5), the set of discrete dilution openings arranged about a dome centerline [annotated “axial centerline” in Image 2 or annotated “circumferential centerline” in Image 2], wherein the set of discrete dilution openings includes at least a first opening [opening annotated “A1” in Image 2] spaced from the dome centerline a first radial distance (see Image 2, Figure 5; distance along the “radial direction” shown in Image 2.5) in a radial direction [along a radius of the annulus defined dome 20] (See Fig. 5; radial direction is annotated with respect to Figure 5 in Image 2.5 below) and a second opening [opening annotated “B2” in Image 2] spaced from the dome centerline a second radial distance in the radial direction (see Image 2, Figure 5; distance along the “radial direction” shown in Image 2.5) that is different from the first radial distance (see Image 2, Figure 5; “A1” is spaced further from the dome centerline than “B2” along the radial direction along a radius of the annulus defined dome 20); and
a deflector [annotated in Image 2] extending axially away from the dome wall (Image 2 / Figure 2), wherein the deflector is disposed between the first opening and the second opening in the radial direction (See Image 2), the second opening is disposed between the centerline (engine centerline; located at the center of the circle in Image 2.5) and the first opening in the radial direction (see Image 2.5 below and Image 2 above; B2 is between engine centerline and first opening A1), and the second opening is disposed between the deflector and the centerline (engine centerline) in the radial direction (See Images 1, 2, 2.5).
Re Claim 2, MONTY teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 1, wherein the set of discrete dilution openings is arranged in a circumferential array about the dome inlet (see openings 54, Figure 5).
Re Claim 5, MONTY teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 1, wherein the dome wall defines corners [annotated “CORNER” in Image 2, Figure 5] and at least one opening of the set of discrete dilution openings [one of openings annotated “C1”, “C2”, “C3”, “C4” in Image 2] are included in at least one of the corners (See Image 2 / Figure 5).
Re Claim 6, MONTY teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 5, wherein a dilution opening of the set of discrete dilution openings is located in each of the corners [openings “C1”, “C2”, “C3”, “C4” in Image 2].
Re Claim 7, MONTY teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 1, wherein the set of discrete dilution openings are arranged annularly about the dome inlet (See Figures 2 & 5).
Re Claim 9, MONTY teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 8, wherein the first opening (annotated “A1” in Image 2) and the second opening (annotated “B2” in Image 2) are slotted openings (openings are long and narrow having a circular shape; see Figs. 2, 5).
Re Claim 10, MONTY teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 9, wherein the slotted openings are at least one of a racetrack shape, a circular shape, or an elliptical shape (openings are long and narrow having a circular shape; see Figs. 2, 5).
Re Claim 11, MONTY teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 9, wherein the slotted openings are angled with respect to the radial direction (Figure 2).
Re Claim 12, MONTY teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 9, wherein the slotted openings are at least one of annularly or radially spaced about the dome inlet (see Figures 2 & 5 and Image 2).
Re Claim 13, MONTY teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 1, wherein a dilution opening of the set of discrete dilution openings extends between a dilution inlet and a dilution outlet at the dome wall (Figs. 2, 5).
Re Claim 15, MONTY teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 1, wherein the dome inlet defines the dome centerline [annotated “axial centerline” in Image 2] and the set of discrete dilution openings defines a dilution centerline [annotated “dilution centerline” in Image 2, centerline of opening 54 annotated “B2”].
Re Claim 16, MONTY teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 15, wherein the dilution centerline [annotated “dilution centerline” in Image 2] is a first centerline angled toward a longitudinal axis (longitudinal axis of the combustor) and intersecting with the dome centerline [annotated “axial centerline “ in Image 2] to define a dilution angle [annotated in Image 2].
Re Claim 18, MONTY teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 1, wherein multiple dome walls are located about the engine centerline (see Figure 5, multiple dome walls are arranged circumferentially about the engine centerline).
Re Claim 19, MONTY teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 1, wherein the fuel injector comprises a flare cone 32, which defines the dome centerline (dome centerline extends through the center of the flare cone).
Re Claim 21, MONTY teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 1, wherein the deflector extends axially downstream of the dome wall a first distance (Figure 2, 5; Image 2).
Re Claim 22, MONTY teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 21, wherein the deflector is a first axial deflector [annotated in Image 3 below] and the gas turbine engine further comprises a second axial deflector [annotated in Image 3] (deflector providing a radially angled flowpath for 56, 58) extending axially downstream of the dome wall a second distance [annotated “SECOND DISTANCE” in Image 3] different than the first distance (second distance is less than the first distance, as the first deflector extends further downstream).
Re Claim 23, MONTY teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 22, wherein a straight-line [annotated in Image 3] connecting distal ends of the first axial deflector and the second axial deflector intersects the combustor liner to form an obtuse angle [annotated “OBTUSE ANGLE” in Image 3].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7, 9, 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MYERS in view of RIMMER.
Re Claim 1, MYERS teaches a turbine engine (1:18-21) comprising:
a compressor section and a combustion section in serial flow arrangement (1:31-67, 2:51-63) along an engine centerline 11/11a, the combustion section comprising:
a combustor liner 20, 22;
a dome wall 28 coupled to the combustor liner, and a dome inlet located in the dome wall (opening in which assembly 30/130, 52 is received);
a fuel injector 52 fluidly coupled to the dome inlet (3:7-40);
a combustion chamber 19 fluidly coupled to the fuel injector and defined at least in part by the combustor liner and the dome wall; and
a set of discrete dilution openings [32, 34] located in the dome wall and fluidly coupled to the combustion chamber (Fig. 5), the set of discrete dilution openings arranged about a dome centerline (axial centerline defined by dome inlet, about which 30/130 are centered; see Fig. 2 or Fig. 3), wherein the set of discrete dilution openings includes at least a first opening 32 spaced from the dome centerline a first radial distance [annotated “shorter distance to centerline” in Image 4 Figs. 2, 3, and 5] in a radial direction (radial with respect to annulus formed by annular combustor, see e.g., direction along any of radial lines 56 Figure 5) and a second opening 34 the dome centerline a second radial distance [distance in the radial direction equal to the “shorter distance to centerline replicated” plus the “difference amount” in Image 4] in the radial direction that is different from the first radial distance (first radial distance is shown as being smaller than the second radial distance; See Image 4 and NOTE below), the second opening is disposed between the centerline (engine centerline) and the first opening in the radial direction (Figs. 2-4), and the second opening is disposed between the injector center and the centerline (engine centerline) in the radial direction (see Figs. 2-4) However, MYERS fails to teach a deflector extending axially away from the dome wall.
RIMMER teaches a deflector 64 extending axially away from a dome wall, which defines the dome centerline (at a geometric center thereof) (Figs. 2-3), wherein the deflector is disposed between and separates a first opening 76 from a second opening 80 in the radial direction to separate the first opening from the second opening along the radial direction (Figures 3-4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the fuel injector such that it includes a deflector extending axially away from the dome wall, wherein the deflector is disposed between the first opening and the second opening in the radial direction to separate the first opening from the second opening along the radial direction, such that the second opening is disposed between the centerline (engine centerline) and the first opening in the radial direction, and the second opening is thereby disposed between the deflector and the centerline (engine centerline) in the radial direction (deflector located at geometric center of the injector), in order to seal the fuel nozzle assembly (30/130 of MYERS) with respect to the end wall (28 of MYERS) (RIMMER ¶0050).
Note in MYERS the radial distance between first opening 32 and the centerline is shown as a distance smaller than the radial distance between second opening 34 and the centerline, specifically it is shown as smaller by the distance annotated “difference amount” in Image 4. This is shown in each of Figures 2, 3 and 5. In Image 4, the first radial distance is annotated “shorter distance to centerline” (in each of Figures 2, 3 and 5). This first radial distance was duplicated exactly in size and dragged such that it is aligned with the second opening 34 for each of the Figures in Image 4 (annotated “shorter distance to centerline replicated”). In each instance, the second radial difference is shown to be larger than the first radial difference by the radial distance of the “difference amount” annotated in Image 4. Further, it is evident from the cross hatching of the section views that the second radial distance is larger (see also below). In the instant case, MYERS consistently shows this difference in radial distance in each Figure, even in the cross-sectional and elevation views (see MYERS 2:33-53 and Figures 2, 3, 5). The Figures, when coupled with the description at 2:30-43 and the teachings that said openings 32, 24 being offset relative to one another and radial line 56 as described at 4:1-48 results in stretched swirling and increased residence time, would have reasonably taught one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the first radial distance smaller than the second radial distance as shown to achieve such benefits. The description of the article pictured can be relied on, in combination with the drawings, for what they would reasonably teach one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Wright, 569 F.2d 1124, 1127-28, 193 USPQ 332, 335-36 (CCPA 1977). It is also noted that openings 32, 34 can have equal arcs (of circles of equal radius) while being at different radial distances from the centerline (at delivery nozzle 52 at of the fuel nozzle) as shown in the Figures.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the second radial distance in the radial direction that is different from the first radial distance as shown in Figure 3 for the reasons discussed above, namely to provide a configuration that results in stretched swirling and increased residence time (4:1-48).
Re Claim 2, MYERS in view of RIMMER teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 1, wherein the set of discrete dilution openings is arranged in a circumferential array about the dome inlet (MYERS Fig. 5).
Re Claim 7, MYERS in view of RIMMER teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 1, wherein the set of discrete dilution openings are arranged annularly about the dome inlet (MYERS Fig. 5).
Re Claim 9, MYERS in view of RIMMER teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 8, wherein the first opening and the second opening are slotted openings (MYERS Fig. 5).
Re Claim 11, MYERS in view of RIMMER teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 9, wherein the slotted openings are angled with respect to a radial direction (MYERS Figs. 5a, 5b; see also Fig. 5).
Re Claim 12, MYERS in view of RIMMER teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 9, wherein the slotted openings are at least one of annularly or radially spaced about the dome inlet (MYERS Fig. 5).
Re Claim 13, MYERS in view of RIMMER teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 1, wherein a dilution opening of the set of discrete dilution openings extends between a dilution inlet (inlet to 32/34) and a dilution outlet (outlet to 32/34) at the dome wall (MYERS Figs. 2, 3, 5a, 5b).
Re Claim 14, MYERS in view of RIMMER teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 13, further comprising at least one vane 36, 38 disposed within the set of discrete dilution openings between the dilution inlet and the dilution outlet (Figs. 2, 3, 5a, 5b).
Re Claim 15, MYERS in view of RIMMER teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 1, wherein the dome inlet defines the dome centerline (inlet is geometrically centered at the centerline as discussed in claim 1) and the set of discrete dilution openings defines a dilution centerline (centerline of one or more of 32, 34).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MYERS in view of RIMMER as applied above, further in view of DANIS.
Re Claims 19-20, MYERS in view of RIMMER teaches the gas turbine engine of claim 1. MYERS further teaches wherein the engine centerline is parallel to the dome centerline (MYERS Figure 2, and Figures 4-5; see also claim 1 above). However, MYERS in view of RIMMER fails to teach the fuel injector comprises a flare cone, which defines the dome centerline.
DANIS teaches a fuel injector comprising a flare cone 86, which defines a dome centerline 74 (sidewall forms geometric center at dome/injector centerline 74; Figs. 5-6, ¶0031). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the fuel injector such that it comprises a flare cone, which defines the dome centerline, in order to facilitate one or more of mixing, improved combustion dynamics and/or service life (DANIS ¶¶0031, 0033).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/06/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s amendment overcame the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection but necessitated the new ground of rejection above.
Applicant’s arguments to the prior art rejections are not persuasive with respect to the prior art as now applied, and as set forth fully above. In each rejection the deflector is disposed between the first opening and the second opening in the radial direction, the second opening is disposed between the centerline (engine centerline) and the first opening in the radial direction, and the second opening is disposed between the deflector and the centerline (engine centerline) in the radial direction as set forth fully in the rejections above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
JASON H DUGER
PRIMARY EXAMINER, ART UNIT 3741
PHONE (313) 446 6536
FAX (571) 270 9083
DATE
March 16, 2026
/JASON H DUGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741