Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-9, 14-19, 21-25, are pending. Claims 10-13, 20, are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 14-19, 21, 24-25, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Miyawaki (JP 2015016097).
Regarding claim 1, Miyawaki discloses a medical device (FIG. 1), comprising:
a handle including a knob (FIG. 1), an insertion portion (insertion section 2) coupled to the handle, wherein the insertion portion is configured to be inserted into a lumen of a subject (FIG. 1);
an articulation wire connected to the knob (wires 54u; FIG. 5; Para [0047]); and
a distal tip coupled to a distal end of the insertion portion, wherein the distal tip includes a light emitting diode (LED) (illumination window 12; LED 42; Para [0017]) and a heat sink (heat sink 26; FIG. 2; Para [0030]), wherein the heat sink is configured to absorb heat generated by the LED ( LED 42; FIG. 4; LED is connected to the sink 25 through the steel spiral tube 21), wherein the heat sink is coupled to a distal end of the articulation wire, and wherein movement of the articulation wire is configured to articulate the distal tip (Heat sink 26, is coupled to the bending wires 54u by steel spiral tube 21. Para [0022]- [0024]; FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 2, Miyawaki discloses wherein the heat sink is disposed entirely proximally of the LED in the distal tip (Heat sink 26 is proximally of the LED 42).
Regarding claim 3, Miyawaki discloses wherein the articulation wire is comprised of one or more thermally conductive materials (Wires 54u and 54d are metal wires).
Regarding claim 4, Miyawaki discloses wherein a space is defined between the LED and the heat sink (The space is provided by the frame 53 and spiral tube 21; FIGS. 2, 4), wherein the space includes at least one of a thermally conductive material (A thermally conductive adhesive is provided with the frame 53 to connect the LED with the spiral tube 21; Para [0053]).
Regarding claim 5, Miyawaki discloses wherein the at least one of the thermally conductive epoxy, or the thermally conductive adhesive of the space is configured to contact both the LED and the heat sink (Heat sink 26 is coupled to the wires 54u by steel spiral tube 21 which is highly thermally conductive by means of thermally conductive adhesive. Para [0022]- [0024]; FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Miyawaki discloses wherein the LED is a first LED (LED 42; FIG. 4), wherein the heat sink is a first heat sink (Heat sink 26, is coupled to the bending wires 54u by steel spiral tube 21. Para [0022]- [0024]; FIG. 4), wherein the distal tip further includes a second LED (illumination window 12 includes another LED 42) and a second heat sink (Lower part of the Heat sink 26), and wherein the second heat sink is disposed entirely proximally of the second LED (Heat sink 26 is located proximally of the LED 42 corresponding to window 12; FIG. 1; Para [0034]).
Regarding claim 7, Miyawaki discloses wherein a first space is defined between the first LED and the first heat sink (Heat sink 26 is coupled to the bending wires 54u by steel spiral tube 21. Para [0022]- [0024]; FIG. 4; There is a space between the sink 26 and the LED.), wherein a second space is defined between the second LED and the second heat sink (Heat sink 26, is coupled to the wires 54u by steel spiral tube 21. Para [0022]- [0024]; FIG. 4; There is a space between the lower portion of the sink 26 and the second LED.).
Regarding claim 8, Miyawaki discloses, wherein the first space includes at least one of a first thermally conductive material (A thermally conductive adhesive is provided with the frame 53 to connect the LED with the spiral tube 21; Para [0053]).), and wherein the second space includes at least one of a second thermally conductive material (A thermally conductive adhesive is provided with the frame 53 to connect the LED with the spiral tube 21; FIG. 4; Para [0053]).
Regarding claim 14, Miyawaki discloses wherein the heat sink includes at least one layer of the insertion portion (FIG. 2), wherein the at least one layer includes a thermally conductive mesh (FIG. 4, steel spiral tube 21 provides a spiral mesh.).
Regarding claim 15, Miyawaki discloses wherein a space is defined between the LED and the at least one layer of the insertion portion (FIG. 4, steel spiral tube 21 provides a space), wherein the space includes at least one of a thermally conductive material (The inner peripheral surface of the integrally formed heat sink 26 is fixed in close contact with the outer peripheral surface of the spiral tube 21, and is fixed integrally with, for example, an adhesive having high thermal conductivity. Para [0029]).
Regarding claim 16, Miyawaki discloses a distal end portion of a medical device (FIG. 1), the distal end portion comprising:
a first light emitting diode (LED) (LED 42); a second LED (LED 42 corresponding to lens 12); and
a heat sink (Heat sink 26), wherein the heat sink is disposed proximally of the first LED and the second LED (Heat sink 26 is proximally of the LED 42), wherein the heat sink is configured to absorb heat from the first LED and the second LED, wherein a first space is defined between the first LED and the heat sink, wherein the first space includes a first material that is thermally conductive material and electrically insulative (Heat sink 26, is coupled to the LED by the spiral tube 21. Para [0022]- [0024]; FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 17, Miyawaki discloses wherein a first space (frame 53; FIG. 4) is defined between the first LED and the heat sink wherein a second space (Frame 53; FIG. 4) is defined between the second LED and the heat sink, and wherein each of the first space and the second space includes a second material that is thermally conductive material and electrically insulative includes a thermally conductive adhesive (Frames 53 are connected with the LEDS by thermally conductive adhesive which is electrically insulative; FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 18, Miyawaki discloses, wherein the first material thermally conductive adhesive of the first space contacts both the first LED and the heat sink (FIG. 4), and wherein the second material thermally conductive adhesive of the second space contacts both the second LED and the heat sink (FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 19, Miyawaki discloses a distal end portion of a medical device, the distal end portion comprising: a first light emitting diode (LED) (LED 42 corresponding to lenses 12); a second LED (LED 42 corresponding to lenses 12);
a first heat sink (Heat sink 26), wherein the first heat sink is disposed proximally of the first LED; and
a second heat sink (Second portion of the Heat sink 26), wherein the second heat sink is disposed proximally of the second LED (FIG. 4), wherein each of the first heat sink and the second heat sink are configured to absorb heat from the first LED and the second LED (Heat sink 26, is coupled to the LED by the spiral tube 21. Para [0022]- [0024]; FIG. 4), respectively, wherein a first space is defined between the first LED and the first heat sink, and a second space is defined between the second LED and the second heat sink, wherein each of the first space and the second space each includes a thermally conductive, electrically insulative material (Frames 53 are connected with the LEDS by thermally conductive adhesive which is electrically insulative; FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 21, Miyawaki discloses wherein the articulation wire is a first articulation wire, wherein the medical device further comprises a second articulation wire coupled to the second heat sink (The bending wires 54u and 54d are positioned in the opposite direction; FIG. 5), wherein movement of the second articulation wire is configured to articulate the distal tip in a direction different from the first articulation wire (The bending wires 54u and 54d are positioned in the opposite direction and cause articulation in two different direction; FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 24, Miyawaki discloses wherein the heat sink is disposed entirely proximally of the first LED and the second LED (FIGS. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 25, Miyawaki discloses, a first articulation wire and a second articulation wire (The bending wires 54u and 54d are positioned in the opposite direction and cause articulation in two different direction; FIG. 5), wherein the first articulation wire is coupled to the first heat sink, wherein the second articulation wire is coupled to the second heat sink (bending wires 54u and 54d are coupled to the two portions of the heat sink 26), and wherein the first articulation wire and the second articulation wire are configured to articulate the distal end portion in different directions (The bending wires 54u and 54d are positioned in the opposite direction and cause articulation in two different direction; FIG. 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments submitted on 06/23/2026 have been fully considered. However, in view of amendment, a new rejection has been made. See rejection set forth above.
Reasons for Allowance
Claims 9, 22
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In Miyawaki (JP 2015016097), the thermally conductive solder/an adhesive with high thermal conductivity is connected to the spiral tube 21 but it does not contact both the LED and the heat sink that is disposed entirely proximally of the LED.
Accordingly, claim 9 is allowed.
In Miyawaki (JP 2015016097), articulation joint could not be provided.
Accordingly, claim 22 is allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHANKAR RAJ GHIMIRE/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANHTUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795 08/14/26