DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9 objected to because of the following informalities: claims 1, 9 in line 11, 14 recites “the straight portion” throughout the claims; it must be recited as “the central straight portion” in all parts of the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19, 20 are allowed.
Claim 10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 11 is only objected because it is depending from allowable claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jin (CN 111322795 A).
Claim 1: Jin discloses a heat exchanger (FIG.1) comprising:
an assembly (100) comprising a first set of tubes (1A) that are arranged in a parallel flow manner between a first manifold (right 3A) and a second manifold (left 3A),
wherein central straight portions (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) of adjacent tubes within the first set of tubes (1A) are disposed with a space therebetween along each tube of the first set of tubes (1A) between the first and second manifolds (right/left 3A);
the assembly comprises a second set of tubes (1B) that are arranged in a parallel flow manner (see FIG.1) between a third manifold (right 3B) and a fourth manifold (left 3B),
wherein central straight portions (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) of adjacent tubes within the second set of tubes (1B) are at least partially disposed within the space between adjacent tubes of the first set of tubes (1A);
wherein each of the tubes within the first set of tubes (1A) includes the straight portion (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) along its length and a curved portion (curved section of tubes see FIG.2) along its length,
wherein a flow path (to clarify, refrigerant flows through straight and curved portions of tubes constructing a flow path) extends through the straight portion (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) and the curved portion (curved section of tubes see FIG.2) through every tube within the first set (1A), wherein the straight portion (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) of each of the tubes within the first set of tubes (1A) is fixed to the first manifold (right 3A) and the curved portion (curved section of tubes see FIG.2) of each of the tubes within the first set of tubes (1A) is fixed to the second manifold (left 3A), and
wherein each of the tubes within the second set of tubes (1B) includes the straight portion (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) along its length and a curved portion (curved section of tubes see FIG.2) along its length,
wherein a flow path (to clarify, refrigerant flows through straight and curved portions of tubes constructing a flow path) extends through the straight portion (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) and the curved portion (curved section of tubes see FIG.2) through every tube within the second set (1B),
wherein the curved portion (curved section of tubes see FIG.2) of each of the tubes within the second set of tubes (1B) is fixed to the third manifold (right 3B) and the straight portion (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) of each of the tubes within the second set of tubes (1B) is fixed to the fourth manifold (left 3B),
wherein the curved portion (curved section of tubes see FIG.2) of each of the tubes of the second set (1B) extend away from the straight portion (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) with vector components in right and left directions that are opposite from a shape of the curved portion (curved section of tubes see FIG.2) that extends from the straight portion (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) in each of the tubes within the first set of tubes (1A),
wherein the right and left directions face out from the respective right and left sides of the tube along the straight portion (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) of the respective tubes within the first and second sets of tubes (1A) (1B).
Claim 2: Jin discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the third manifold (i.e., right 3B) is offset from the first manifold (i.e., right 3A) such that a first line (i.e., annotated by examiner in FIG.2) through a centerline (i.e., annotated by examiner in FIG.2) of the first manifold (i.e., right 3A) and through a centerline (i.e., annotated by examiner in FIG.2) of the third manifold (i.e., right 3B) is disposed at an acute angle (i.e., as shown in annotated FIG.2 there is an angle between first and second lines) to a second line (i.e., annotated by examiner in FIG.2) that extends between the centerline of the first manifold and a centerline (i.e., annotated by examiner in FIG.2) of the fourth manifold (i.e., left 3B), and
wherein the second manifold (i.e., left 3A) is offset from the fourth manifold (i.e., left 3B) such that a third line (i.e., annotated by examiner in FIG.2) through a centerline (i.e., annotated by examiner in FIG.2) of the second manifold (i.e., left 3A) and through a centerline (i.e., annotated by examiner in FIG.2) of the fourth manifold (i.e., left 3B) is disposed at an acute angle (i.e., as shown in annotated FIG.2 there is an angle between third and second lines) to the second line (i.e., annotated by examiner in FIG.2) that extends between the centerline (i.e., annotated by examiner in FIG.2) of the first manifold (i.e., right 3A) and the centerline (i.e., annotated by examiner in FIG.2) of the fourth manifold (i.e., left 3B).
Claim 3: Jin discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein each of the tubes of the first set of tubes (i.e., 1A) and each of the tubes within the second set of tubes (i.e., 1B) are formed with the same geometry and size (i.e., see FIG.2).
Claim 4: Jin discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein a plurality of fins (i.e., fins 2) are disposed between each tube of the first set of tubes (i.e., 1A) and an adjacent tube of the second set of tubes (i.e., 1B), and wherein each fin (i.e., 2) is fixed to one (i.e., 1A) or both tubes .
Claim 6: Jin discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein refrigerant flows past the first set of tubes (i.e., 1A) and the second set of tubes (i.e., 1B) in series (i.e., see FIG.3).
Claim 7: Jin discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the assembly (i.e., 100) is configured to be disposed in an outdoor space that is configured for outside air to flow therethrough (i.e., intended use).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin (CN 111322795 A), in view of Jin (2015/0107286 A1).
Claim 5: Jin fails to disclose wherein refrigerant flows through the first set of tubes and then flows through an expansion valve before flowing through the second set of tubes.
However, Jin (2015/0107286 A1) teaches refrigerant flows through the first set of tubes (i.e., tubes in unit 20) and then flows through an expansion valve (i.e., 50) before flowing through the second set of tubes (i.e., tubes in unit 30) for the purpose of expanding refrigerant between tubes (paragraph [29]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Jin (CN 111322795 A) to include refrigerant flows through the first set of tubes and then flows through an expansion valve before flowing through the second set of tubes as taught by Jin (2015/0107286 A1) in order to expand refrigerant between tubes.
Claim 8: Jin as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 5, wherein the assembly (CN111322795A i.e., 100) is configured to be disposed in an outdoor space (i.e., intended use) that is configured for outside air to flow therethrough (i.e., functional language, intended use), wherein when refrigerant flows through the first set of tubes (CN111322795A i.e., 1A) before flowing through the expansion valve (2015/0107286A1 i.e., 50) the first set of tubes (CN111322795A i.e., 1A) acts to condense the refrigerant flowing therethrough (CN111322795A i.e., paragraph [40]: air conditioning system comprises condenser), and wherein when refrigerant flowing through the second set of tubes (CN111322795A i.e., 1B) after flowing through the expansion valve (2015/0107286A1 i.e., 50) the second set of tubes (CN111322795A i.e., 1B) acts to evaporate the refrigerant flowing therethrough (CN111322795A i.e., paragraph [40]: air conditioning system comprises evaporator).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin (CN 111322795 A), in view of Ramakrishan (US 2018/0306517 A1).
Claim 9: Jin discloses a heat exchanger (FIG.1) comprising:
an assembly (100) comprising a first set of tubes (1A) that are arranged in a parallel flow manner between a first manifold (right 3A) and a second manifold (left 3A),
wherein central straight portions (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) of adjacent tubes within the first set of tubes (1A) are disposed with a space therebetween along each tube of the first set of tubes (1A) between the first and second manifolds (right/left 3A);
the assembly comprises a second set of tubes (1B) that are arranged in a parallel flow manner between a third manifold (right 3B) and a fourth manifold (left 3B), wherein central straight portions (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) of adjacent tubes within the second set of tubes are at least partially disposed within the space between adjacent tubes of the first set of tubes (1A);
wherein a fluid (refrigerant) that flows (refrigerant) through the first set of tubes (1A) additionally flows through the second set of tubes (1B) before the fluid returns to again flow through the first set of tubes (1A),
wherein each of the tubes within the first set of tubes (1A) includes the straight portion (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) along its length and a curved portion (curved section of tubes see FIG.2) along its length,
wherein a flow path (to clarify, refrigerant flows through straight and curved portions of tubes constructing a flow path) extends through the straight portion (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) and the curved portion (curved section of tubes see FIG.2) through every tube within the first set (1A),
wherein the straight portion (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) of each of the tubes within the first set of tubes (1A) is fixed to the first manifold (right 3A) and the curved portion (curved section of tubes see FIG.2) of each of the tubes within the first set of tubes (1A) is fixed to the second manifold (left 3A), and
wherein each of the tubes within the second set of tubes (1B) includes the straight portion (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) along its length and a curved portion (curved section of tubes see FIG.2) along its length,
wherein a flow path (to clarify, refrigerant flows through straight and curved portions of tubes constructing a flow path) extends through the straight portion (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) and the curved portion (curved section of tubes see FIG.2) through every tube within the second set (1B),
wherein the curved portion (curved section of tubes see FIG.2) of each of the tubes within the second set of tubes (1B) is fixed to the third manifold (right 3B) and the straight portion (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) of each of the tubes within the second set of tubes (1B) is fixed to the fourth manifold (left 3B),
wherein the curved portion extends from an end of the straight portion and is shaped such that different portions of the curved portion extend away from the line in opposite right and left directions from the line.
Jin discloses the claimed limitations in claim 9, but fails to disclose wherein the straight portion of each of the first and second tubes includes top and bottom walls and right and left side walls that all are uniform along the straight portion, wherein a line extends through the straight portion and parallel to the right and left side walls,
wherein the right and left side walls are wider than a width of the top and bottom walls.
However, Ramakrishan teaches the straight portion of each of the first and second tubes (flat tubes 4 as shown in FIG.3 has straight portions) includes top and bottom walls (to clarify, top/bottom faces of tube used as top/bottom walls) and right and left side walls (to clarify, right/left faces of tube used as right/left side walls) that all are uniform along the straight portion (as shown in FIG. 3 faces are uniform), wherein a line extends through the straight portion and parallel to the right and left side walls (annotated FIG.3) for the purpose of achieving an optimum heat exchange between fluids (paragraph [6]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Jin to include the straight portion of each of the first and second tubes includes top and bottom walls and right and left side walls that all are uniform along the straight portion, wherein a line extends through the straight portion and parallel to the right and left side walls as taught by Ramakrishan in order to achieve an optimum heat exchange between fluids.
Further, concerning the right and left side walls are wider than a width of the top and bottom walls. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Ramakrishan to optimize the width of the side walls such that the right and left side walls are wider than a width of the top and bottom wall in order to enhance fluid flow, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art - Optimum value: MPEP 2144.05 II-B.
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (side wall )][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (line through straight portion )][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (side wall )]
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin (CN 111322795 A), in view of Jindou (2018/0135900 A1).
Claim 12: Jin discloses a heat exchange system (i.e., FIG.1) comprising:
a first heat exchange assembly (i.e., 100) that is configured to be disposed in an outdoor space configured for outside air to flow therethrough (i.e., intended use, functional language),
the first heat exchange assembly (i.e., 100) comprising:
a first set of tubes (i.e., 1A) that are arranged in a parallel flow manner between a first manifold (i.e., right 3A) and a second manifold (i.e., left 3A),
wherein straight portions (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) of adjacent tubes within the first set of tubes (i.e., 1A) are disposed with a space therebetween along each tube of the first set of tube (i.e., 1A) between the first and second manifolds (i.e., right 3A) (i.e., left 3A);
a second set of tubes (i.e., 1B) that are arranged in a parallel flow manner between a third manifold (i.e., right 3B) and a fourth manifold (i.e., left 3B), wherein straight portions (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) of adjacent tubes within the second set of tubes (i.e., 1B) are at least partially disposed within the space between straight portions of adjacent tubes of the first set of tubes (i.e., 1A);
wherein each of the tubes within the first set of tubes (i.e., 1A) includes the straight portion (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) along its length and a curved portion (curved section of tubes see FIG.2) along its length,
wherein a flow path (to clarify, refrigerant flows through straight and curved portions of tubes constructing a flow path) extends through the straight portion (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) and the curved portion (curved section of tubes see FIG.2) through every tube within the first set (i.e., 1A),
wherein the straight portion (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) of each of the tubes within the first set of tubes (i.e., 1A) is fixed to the first manifold (i.e., right 3A) and the curved portion (curved section of tubes see FIG.2) of each of the tubes within the first set of tubes (i.e., 1A) is fixed to the second manifold (i.e., left 3A), and
wherein each of the tubes within the second set of tubes (i.e., 1B) includes the straight portion (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) along its length and a curved portion (curved section of tubes see FIG.2) along its length,
wherein a flow path (to clarify, refrigerant flows through straight and curved portions of tubes constructing a flow path) extends through the straight portion (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) and the curved portion (curved section of tubes see FIG.2) through every tube within the second set (i.e., 1B),
wherein the curved portion (curved section of tubes see FIG.2) of each of the tubes within the second set of tubes (i.e., 1B) is fixed to the third manifold (i.e., right 3B) and the straight portion (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) of each of the tubes within the second set of tubes (i.e., 1B) is fixed to the fourth manifold (i.e., left 3B);
a compressor (i.e., paragraph [40]: air conditioning system includes compressor) disposed in the outdoor space (i.e., intended use), and an expansion valve (i.e., paragraph [40]: air conditioning system includes expansion valve),
wherein the curved portion (curved section of tubes see FIG.2) of each of the tubes of the second set (i.e., 1B) extend away from the straight portion (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) with different portions with vector components (to clarify, vectors are arbitrary) in right and left directions,
wherein the curved portion (curved section of tubes see FIG.2) of each of the tubes of the first set (i.e., 1A) extend away from the straight portions (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) with different portions with vector components (to clarify, vectors are arbitrary) in the left and right directions, wherein the right and left directions face out from the respective right and left sides of the tube along the straight portion (straight section of tubes see FIG.2) of the respective tubes within the first (i.e., 1A) and second (i.e., 1B) sets of tubes .
Jin discloses the claimed limitations in claim 12, but fails to disclose a second heat exchanger that is disposed within an interior space, wherein an inlet of the second heat exchanger receives refrigerant that has flowed through both the first set of tubes and the second set of tubes, and an outlet of the second heat exchanger directs flow through the first and second set of tubes before the flow again returns to the second heat exchanger via the inlet.
However, Jindou teaches a second heat exchanger (i.e., paragraph [9]: present invention directed to a heat exchanger including banks 30/40 used as two heat exchangers) that is disposed within an interior space (i.e., intended use), wherein an inlet (i.e., inherent) of the second heat exchanger (i.e., paragraph [9]: two heat exchangers) receives refrigerant that has flowed through both the first set of tubes (i.e., tubes 31 in bank 30 used as first set tubes) and the second set of tubes (i.e., tubes 41 in bank 40 used as second set tubes), and an outlet (i.e., inherent) of the second heat exchanger (i.e., paragraph [9]: two heat exchangers) directs flow through the first and second set of tubes (i.e., 31/41) before the flow again returns to the second heat exchanger (i.e., paragraph [9]: two heat exchangers) via the inlet (i.e., inherent) for the purpose of enhancing the heat transfer, thereby improving cooling/heating operations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Jin to include a second heat exchanger that is disposed within an interior space, wherein an inlet of the second heat exchanger receives refrigerant that has flowed through both the first set of tubes and the second set of tubes, and an outlet of the second heat exchanger directs flow through the first and second set of tubes before the flow again returns to the second heat exchanger via the inlet as taught by Jindou in order to enhance the heat transfer, thereby improving cooling/heating operations.
Claim 13: Jin as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 12, wherein each of the tubes of the first set of tubes (i.e., 1A) and each of the tubes within the second set of tubes (i.e., 1B) are formed with the same geometry and size (i.e., see FIG.2).
Claim 14: Jin as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 12, wherein the third manifold (i.e., right 3B) is offset from the first manifold (i.e., right 3A) such that a first line (i.e., annotated by examiner in FIG.2) through a centerline (i.e., annotated by examiner in FIG.2) of the first manifold (i.e., right 3A) and through a centerline (i.e., annotated by examiner in FIG.2) of the third manifold (i.e., right 3B) is disposed at an acute angle (i.e., as shown in annotated FIG.2 there is an angle between first and second lines) or perpendicular angle to a second line (i.e., annotated by examiner in FIG.2) that extends between the centerline of the first manifold (i.e., right 3A) and a centerline (i.e., annotated by examiner in FIG.2) of the second manifold (left 3A).
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin (CN 111322795 A), in view of Jindou (2018/0135900 A1), and in view of Jin (2015/0107286 A1).
Claim 15: Jin as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 12, wherein, refrigerant that when initially reaches the first heat exchanger assembly (i.e., 100) flows through the first set of tubes (i.e., 1A) and the first (i.e., right 3A) and second (i.e., left 3A) manifolds.
Jin discloses the claimed limitations in claim 15, but fails to disclose the expansion valve that is disposed in the outdoor space and disposed such that in a mode where refrigerant flowing through the first heat exchanger assembly flows through the first and second sets of tubes before reaching the compressor, and then flows through the expansion valve before flowing through the second set of tubes and the third and fourth manifolds.
However, Jin (2015/0107286 A1) teaches the expansion valve (i.e., 50) that is disposed in the outdoor space (i.e., FIG.4 showing outdoor heat exchanger assembly) and disposed such that in a mode where refrigerant flowing through the first heat exchanger assembly (i.e., heat exchanging units 20/30 used as heat exchanger assembly) flows through the first and second sets of tubes (i.e., channels 23 in units 20/ 30 used as first and second sets of tubes) before reaching the compressor (i.e., 1), and then flows through the expansion valve (i.e., 50) before flowing through the second set of tubes (i.e., channels 23 in unit 30 used as second set of tubes) and the third and fourth manifolds (i.e., 22/32 headers used as manifolds) for the purpose of expanding refrigerant between units, thereby enhancing the flow rate in the tubes (paragraph [29]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Jin (CN 111322795 A) to include the expansion valve that is disposed in the outdoor space and disposed such that in a mode where refrigerant flowing through the first heat exchanger assembly flows through the first and second sets of tubes before reaching the compressor, and then flows through the expansion valve before flowing through the second set of tubes and the third and fourth manifolds as taught by Jin (2015/0107286 A1) in order to expand refrigerant between tubes, thereby enhancing the flow rate in the tubes.
Claim 16: Jin as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 15, wherein the first heat exchange assembly (CN111322795A i.e., 100) is configured such that when refrigerant flows through the first set of tubes (CN111322795A i.e., 1A) before flowing through the expansion valve (2015/0107286A1 i.e., 50) the first set of tubes (CN111322795A i.e., 1A) acts to condense the refrigerant flowing therethrough (CN111322795A i.e., paragraph [40]: air conditioning system comprises condenser), and wherein when refrigerant flowing through the second set of tubes (CN111322795A i.e., 1B) after flowing through the expansion valve (2015/0107286A1 i.e., 50) the second set of tubes (CN111322795A i.e., 1B) acts to evaporate the refrigerant flowing therethrough (CN111322795A i.e., paragraph [40]: air conditioning system comprises evaporator).
Claim 17: Jin as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 16, wherein the expansion valve (2015/0107286A1 i.e., 50) is fluidly connected such that an outlet (i.e., inherent) of the expansion valve (2015/0107286A1 i.e., 50) flows through a repositionable four way valve (2015/0107286A1 i.e., 4), wherein the repositionable four way valve (2015/0107286A1 i.e., 4) has a direct refrigerant connection with the second heat exchanger (Jindou i.e., paragraph [9]: two heat exchangers).
Claim 18: Jin as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 12, wherein the first heat exchange assembly (CN111322795A i.e., 100) and the second heat exchanger (Jindou i.e., paragraph [9]: two heat exchangers) are arranged such that in a first configuration the second heat exchanger (Jindou i.e., paragraph [9]: two heat exchangers) operates as a condenser (CN111322795A i.e., intended use; paragraph [40]: air conditioning system comprises condenser), and the first heat exchange assembly (CN111322795A i.e., 100) operates as an evaporator (CN111322795A i.e., intended use; paragraph [40]: air conditioning system comprises evaporator), and such that in a second configuration the second heat exchanger (Jindou i.e., paragraph [9]: two heat exchangers) operates as an evaporator (i.e., intended use) and the first heat exchange assembly (CN111322795A i.e., 100) operates as an condenser (i.e., intended use).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure which is relevant to heat exchanger:
Onaka (2020/0182564 A1).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Len Tran can be reached on (571) 272-1184. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KAMRAN TAVAKOLDAVANI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /PAUL ALVARE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763