DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,069,720, hereafter Patent’720. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because (see below).
Regarding claim 1 of instant application, Patent’720 discloses
A station (STA) comprising: (see claim 1 line 1)
a receiver configured to receive, from an access point (AP), a physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU) in one of an upper frequency band or a lower frequency band, the PPDU comprising a trigger frame, wherein the trigger frame includes information indicating an allocation of a plurality of random access (RA) resource units (RA-RUs), wherein each of the RA-RUs are associated with one of the upper frequency band or the lower frequency band; (see claim 1 lines 2-8)
a processor configured to select one of the plurality of allocated RA-RUs; and (see claim 1 lines 9-13)
a transmitter configured to transmit, to the AP, a message using the selected RA-RU (see claim 1 lines 14-15)
Regarding claim 2 of instant application, claim 1 of Patent’720 discloses similar limitation (see lines 5-8)
Regarding claim 3 of instant application, claim 1 of Patent’720 discloses similar limitation (see lines 11-13)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gosh et al (USPN 20170257887) in view of Choi et al (USPN 20180092032).
Regarding claim 1, Ghosh discloses
a station (STA) comprising: (high efficiency (HE) station comprising [0021, 0097-0100], FIG. 13
a receiver configured to receive, from an access point (AP), a protocol data unit (PPDU) (transceiver circuitry for receiving PLCP PPDU wirelessly transmitted from a master station [0023, 0127, 0033, 0037], FIGs. 2, 8, 9
the PPDU comprising a trigger frame, wherein the trigger frame includes information indicating an allocation of a plurality of random access (RA) resource units (RU) (PLCP PPDU comprising trigger frame, FIG. 2 #210.1 #210.2, comprising resource allocation, e.g. FIG. 2 #214.1 #214.2, for random access [0026, 0037, 0051]
wherein each of the RA-Rus are associated with one of the upper frequency band or the lower frequency band (RA-RUs are associated with lower frequency band, e.g. FIG. 5 #504 20 MHZ [0045]
a processor configured to select one of the plurality of allocated RA-RUs; and (processor, FIG. 13 #1302, operable to select a RU from multiple RUs for random access [0046-0048], Abstract
a transmitter configured to transmit, to the AP, a message using the selected RA-RU (transceiver circuitry operable to transmit to the master station using the selected RU [0046-0048], Abstract.
Ghosh does not expressly disclose a physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU); the PLCP PPDU received in one of an upper frequency band or a lower frequency band
Choi discloses a physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU) (PLCP PPDU format being received over the air by STA [0083-0086, 0180-0185], Tables 1, 2, FIG. 29.
the PLCP PPDU received in one of an upper frequency band or a lower frequency band PPDU/beacon frame carrying triggered frame is received in either 2.4 GHz, lower frequency band, or 5 GHz, upper frequency band [0083, 0003, 0125]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “a physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU); the PLCP PPDU received in one of an upper frequency band or a lower frequency band” as taught by Choi into Ghosh’s system with the motivation to perform resource allocation, e.g. FIG. 2 #214.1 #214.2, for random access (Ghosh, paragraph [0026, 0037, 0051]).
Claim 8 is rejected on similar ground(s) provided in rejection of claim 1.
Claims 2, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gosh in view of Choi as applied to claims 1, 8, and in view of Pascal et al (GB2584885A).
Regarding claims 2, 9, Gosh discloses RA-RUs are associated with lower frequency band, e.g. FIG. 5 #504 20 MHZ [0045].
Combined system of Gosh and Choi does not expressly disclose “wherein the trigger frame includes an indication of a target received signal strength indicator (TRSSI) associated with the upper frequency band or the lower frequency band”
Pascal discloses trigger frame comprising a TRSSI and per RU user info/RA-RU allocation, TRSSI associated with specific RU (pages 10-12, FIGs. 2a-3a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “wherein the trigger frame includes an indication of a target received signal strength indicator (TRSSI) associated with the upper frequency band or the lower frequency band” as taught by Pascal into combined system of Ghosh and Choi with the motivation to perform resource allocation as well as indicating TRSSI for a specific RA-RU with the allocation being received in a particular band (Pascal, pages 10-12, FIGs. 2a-3a).
Claims 3, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gosh in view of Choi as applied to claims 1, 8, and in view of Lou et al (USPN 20180332540).
Regarding claims 3, 10, combined system of Gosh and Choi does not expressly disclose “wherein the processor is configured to calculate an expected received signal strength indicator (ERSSI) at the AP”.
Lou discloses STA processes trigger frame comprising power alignment index comprising expected received power at AP and calculates transmission parameters to achieve this expected received power [0102, 0115, 0116, 0176], FIGs. 6, 8.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “wherein the processor is configured to calculate an expected received signal strength indicator (ERSSI) at the AP” as taught by Lou into combined system of Ghosh and Choi with the motivation to make sure UL transmissions from STA can be received by AP at an appropriate transmission at STA (Lou, [0102, 0116, 0176], FIGs. 6, 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 11-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fang (USPN 20170373736) FIG. 3A
/THAI NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469